BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Nevada

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Audi of Las Vegas

Phone: (702) 822-7000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
03/08/2013Delivery Issues
04/20/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
03/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 20, 2011, I stopped in at Audi of Las Vegas and purchased a 2005 Audi A6 VIN# WAUDG74F95NXXXXXX. While going through the test drive and through the sales process I asked the salesman if the vehicle had any accidents. The sales person told me that the vehicle had had one accident early during the vehicle life that was very minor damage and assured me that all the vehicles on their lot have no accidents or only minor ones as they do not sell vehicles with salvage titles or any with major damage including frame/unibody. He also mentioned that the vehicle had been on the their lot twice as the person who previously purchased it used bought it from there I ended up taking delivery of the vehicle. I recently took the car to Carmax in order to possibly sell/trade-in the vehicle and Carmax offered me a fraction of what would normally be the value because an Autocheck report showed that the vehicle had had frame/unibody damage. I also found that there was a second accident that the vehicle had suffered that was not disclosed. I contacted the dealership that same day and spoke to ****** and explained the situation. After returning my call, he spoke to his manager and told me that the vehicle would have had to have the frame damage occur after the sale or elsewhere as they inspect ALL vehicles and don't sell cars with that type of damage. I sent him the Autocheck report and he was supposed to get to his manager and find resolution. After a few days, I contacted ****** again who mentioned his manager had left and that they were not willing to do anything about the situation. I feel ripped off by what's supposed to be a reputable dealership as there was a failure to disclose damage that not only affects the performance of the vehicle if involved in any future accidents, but also significantly lowers the value of the vehicle.
Product_Or_Service: Audi A6

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** General Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@autonation.com
The carfax report shows an accident in 02/26/2006. (damange exceeds $750.00) Audi Las vegas would consider buying the car back but not at KBB Fair. Thnak you!

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I have contacted the sales manager on several occasions and have yet to receive a call back. Looking to discuss and negotiate sales price for the vehicle.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: In May 2011 I specifically came to Las Vegas from California (CA) to trade in my A4 to lease an A5 from Desert Audi. ****** in Finance assisted me with the lease documents. Upon return to CA, I was notified by ****** that there were errors by Desert Audi on my lease documents that would change my monthly payment amount and due date. After discussing this over the next month on the phone and email, final documents were sent back and forth via FedEx. I had attempted to call the Sales Representative and the Finance Manager several times who both declined my phone calls and emails to address these issues. Almost (2) years later I wanted to purchase my A5 utilizing JP Morgan Chase to find out Audi Financial had my name on the title rather than Audi Financial. On March 15, 2013 Audi Financial sent the vehicle title back to Desert Audi to correct the title with no supporting documents explaining what needed to be done to the vehicle title. Myself and JP Morgan Chase representatives have called daily to weekly for (2) months as it is now May 9, 2013 and we still do not have title and I'm making payments to JP Morgan Chase. The operator at Desert Audi transfers me to Toyota when I ask for Audi Title Clerk. Toyota transfers me to the Audi Financial Manager and I get placed to voicemail. I was notified today that my vehicles title sat unattended for over a month and finally went to DMV yesterday (May 8, 2013) where it was rejected due to improper documentation by Audi. This is just to correct Audi's mistake of contract documentation from (2) years ago to place them on the title in order to transfer it to JP Morgan Chase. I am currently paying another financial institution for a vehicle I do not have title on because Desert Audi cannot produce correct documentation and when I call them they cannot provide proper customer service to answer simple questions regarding paperwork they produced on a vehicle they leased/sold me. The only reason I purchased this vehicle was because I am moving and a third party wanted to purchase from me. Audi will not allow a third party to purchase a lease therefore I had to purchase my lease and then sell to a third party.

Business' Initial Response
Better Business Bureau

***** ****
Case # XXXXXXXX

We have read through the customer's story and understand the frustration regarding getting the title legalities corrected. Once the issue was brought to the attention of ******, Title Clerk, the customer has been kept apprised of everything we were doing to fix the problem. ****** communicated regularly with the customer.

This main issue was that the original title was issued incorrectly by California DMV. Our dealership never saw the title that was actually issued so we would not have known about the error. When Volkswagen Credit (VCI) received the title, they did not notice the error. I think the error was discovered when a payoff was made and VCI pulled the title. At this point, VCI sent Desert Audi the title. However, they did not send any instructions. Our Title Department handles over 2,000 title per month and our process, although not perfect, is streamlined and efficient for the volume that we handle. If VCI would have provided instructions, then we would have acted sooner on getting the title corrected. Once we received instructions, we worked to resolve the issue and communicated regularly with the customer.

The customer's assertions that we hindered the sale of the vehicle is not true. We have done all we can do based on the information we had and the timing of when that information was provided to us. We understand the frustrations of the customer because they have had to help coordinate with multiple parties to get this resolved (VCI, JP Morgan Chase, Desert Audi, Third Party Purchaser). It is my understanding that the title was corrected and sent to the DMV. The DMV will issue a corrected title based on their timing and processes and will send the title back to VCI. Once VCI receives the title, they will process it back to the customer or JP Morgan Chase depending on the instructions provided to them.

The customer is asking for $4,151.56. The purchase taxes and fees are do on any lease buyout because on a lease, taxes are only paid on the monthly payment, not the entire value of the vehicle. So when the vehicle is purchased, taxes are due the same as any other vehicle purchase. As for the registration and payments to JP Morgan Chase, we do not feel we have an obligation or duty to pay for these. However, to help the customer, we are willing to make a one time goodwill gesture and offer to pay $1254.82 which represents the 2 payments to JP Morgan Chase. This offer is not an admission of any fault but rather a goodwill gesture to assist in relieving some of the frustrations the customer has endured during this process.

Please let us know how to proceed once you communicate back with our mutual customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Audi's is incorrect, however, they do blame and point fingers at everyone which is essentially pointing fingers within their own organization.

1. The original problem stemmed from my first lease paperwork at Desert Audi Financial. Which Represents Audi/VW Financial as an organization. This paperwork was not done correctly and it took ****** a month to correct it. Which changed my payment amount and my payment date. Every time I called to ask for assistance, no one would step up and assist me.

2. Desert Audi utilizes a third party organization in California to register vehicles for them. This business represents Audi if they are contracted on their behalf. If paperwork is not given to this organization properly, they cannot submit it properly to the DMV. Likewise, if this organization does not fill it out that paperwork properly, the DMV will not process it correctly. Audi should not blame that organization as they are the ones who contract them on their behalf to represent them.

3. The original title was not issued incorrectly by CA DMV unless the paperwork was filled out incorrectly by Audi representatives. Stop pointing fingers elsewhere from your organization.

4. ******, your title clerk, at Desert Audi is the only Audi representative who has spoken with me. I'm the person who has taken any initiative and I call every week to check progress. My title documents sat on her desk for two months untouched. While I understand she processes numerous titles and VW/Audi Financial did not give her instructions on what to do with my title, I go back to my original statement of you are one and the same organization. Please take responsibility for that. They could have sent instructions or a phone call could have been made to ask what needed to be done with it rather than sitting for 2 months.

My point is, it's now 05/30/13 and I'm into my 4th month and I still do not have title on my vehicle. I will be making a 3rd payment now without title. Here is the break down of the compensation I am requesting.

-(3) payments is self explanatory
-I had to pay my car registration as it was due under Audi Lease since it's an annual fee

I will drop asking to the purchase tax and fee to be paid.


Business' Final Response
Audi did not hinder the sale of the vehicle and worked diligently to asist customer to resolve an issue from a couple years ago when the title error occurred at no fault of the Audi dealership. However, in an effort to appease the customer, Audi offers to reimburse the customer for the registration and 2 payments. Purchase tax and fees are part of any lease buyout and would have been incurred regardless of any issues. Total goodwill offer is $1,575.82. Please notify us if this resolves the issue.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/07/2013Delivery Issues
11/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.