BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1986

Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado

Find a Location

(719) 635-44831460 Garden of the Gods Rd, Colorado SpringsCO 80907-3414 Send email to Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1986

BBB has determined that Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Report date: 5/01
Expiration date: 5/03

Goodwill Industries of Colorado Springs meets the BBB of the Pikes Peak Region's Standards for Charitable Solicitations.
As a percentage of total income, expenses are:

programs: 90%
fundraising: .1%
management anmd general: .9%
excess of income over expenses: .5%

The BBB Charity Review Program reports on charities and determines if they meet 16 voluntary standards. This report should not be interpreted as approval or disapproval, but solely to aid donors in exercising their own judgement.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/28/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Won an auction on 06/24/15 and paid on 06/29/15. Upon payment I didn't receive a receipt like I typically do, I received a message that said that my payment went through and to make sure that I contacted the company to make sure that I got my item. So perplexed (I shop at various goodwills and have NEVER had this problem) I contacted them with a copy of the bank charge of $20.09 to ask what the problem was and for them to issue a receipt and to show my items as PAID! Well a couple of days later it still wasn't done so I contacted again and finally got it shown as paid! So I thought good, but when I looked at the actual receipt to print it out I noticed that it was FAKED! It shows the right product but NOT the amount that I paid NOR that this was a to be shipped item and NOT a to be picked up item. My contact person was listed as "****" via their internal contact system. It "looks" as if someone is trying to "cook the book" and the upper management and authorities need to be notified. IMMEDIATELY! I pay, I get a receipt that accurately reflects my payment and my item shipped within the 5 stated days. That's not what happened and it needs to be corrected. The fact that I had a problem getting a receipt was questionable, but to receive a receipt that was faked is TOTALLY unacceptable!
Product_Or_Service: Bracelet
Order_Number: ********
Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement
I want a receipt that reflects the correct amount that I paid. If they are crediting me for shipping it late, the receipt still needs to be show that my item is getting shipped and NOT that it is a pickup order! In addition, THE RECEIPT SYSTEM NEED TO BE FIXED so that this is not an issue in subsequent transactions.

Business Response
Thank you for alerting us to Complaint Case #*********. The complaint noted an irregularity in charging the credit card, an inappropriate indication of a "pickup order versus a shipped order" and the possibility of a "faked" receipt leading to a concern of fraud by one of our employees.

Discover Goodwill is noting and taking the following actions:

1. The item was shipped on July 6, tracking # **************************, UPS/USPS Mail Innovations.
2. The customer will be sent a refund of $ 4.43, the shipping & handling charge
3. The customer will be sent a receipt for the total amount originally paid, $ 20.09.
4. The receipt will acknowledge a "shipped" order versus a "picked up" order.

Second, we would like to thank the customer for alerting us to possible irregularities with the order.

Third, by way of an explanation, on the order in question, we experienced a payment processor system server outage which caused delays in processing the order and the inappropriate indication of a "pickup" order versus a "shipped" order. Due to the information delay, the shipping and handling charge was not included in the manual receipt processed by our employee as requested. We can assure you that there was no intent to defraud the customer and/or Discover Goodwill by our employee.

Again, thank you for your bringing this issue to our attention.

Sincerely,

***************
********
Discover Goodwill


10/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I don't think think they were on fair with me because I had the reicept for the product and so I should receive my money back which is $1.49.

Desired Settlement
my money back or refund

Business Response
The $1.50 refund was issued to the customer on September 13, 2014.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a $50 receiver and returned it because it didn't work. There was a 7 day warranty tag attached to the receiver and it was within 7 days when it was.

Desired Settlement
Refund or store credit.

Business Response
As a Manager, as a store and as a company, we at Discover Goodwill of Southern and Western Colorado strive to provide quality customer service and are always disappointed when anyone feels that they were not treated well in any way, shape or form.
In our pursuit to provide good customer service, we are very upfront concerning our return policy on all merchandise. The return policy is printed on all receipts and is posted at each register in clear view of all customers. In addition, our cashiers are trained to reiterate the return policy especially on high priced items and/or non-returnable items. On our return policy, it clearly states that a receipt is required for any and all returns. Because we deal in slightly used merchandise, it is very important that customers return items with the tag still attached and with the original receipt in order to establish that the merchandise was purchased at Goodwill and that the purchase was made within the seven days as our return policy states.
Unfortunately, in the case of ****** *******,he attempted to return a receiver without a receipt. This created two issues: 1) We could not prove that the receiver he was returning came from our store, and 2) we could not validate that the purchase had been made within seven days.
Without the validation of these two crucial pieces of information that the original receipt would provide, we were unable to return the item. When Mr. ******* attempted to return the item on Novemver 27, 2013, our cashier and Supervisor both politely explained why we could not take back the receiver. Mr. *******, at that time was angry and told our Supervisor to just keep the receiver and left.
For convenience of veiwing, I have attached a copy of our return policy.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Non Profit Organizations - General Membership, Day Care - Adults, Employment Agencies, Home Health Services, Rehabilitation Services

Additional Information

top

When evaluating complaint information, please consider the company's size and volume of business. The number of complaints filed against the company may not be as important as the type of complaints and how the company handled them.

Closed Complaints
Number of complaints processed by the BBB in the last 36 months: 2
Number of complaints processed by the BBB in the last 12 months: 2

Complaints Concerned
Credit or Billing Disputes: 1
Outcome of all complaints -
No response from the consumer, assumed
resolved.

Selling Practices: 1
Outcome of all Complaints -
Company made good faith effort to resolve
the complaint.

BBB file opened: 08/01/1980Business started: 11/01/1961
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Nonprofit Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Holly Maakestad (Communication Coordinatio)Jeanne Conder (Vice President)Joe CunninghamMs. Melissa Lyby (VP of Marketing & Advertising)Store ManagerGeneral ManagerJessica MayoDanette Nelson
Contact Information
Karla Grazier (President/CEO) Tim Pliszka Steven Tooke
Related Businesses


















Business Category

Non Profit Organizations - General Membership, Day Care - Adults, Employment Agencies, Home Health Services, Rehabilitation Services

Alternate Business Names
Voyages, Your Life Your Way at Home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado

1460 Garden of the Gods Rd

Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3414

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Discover Goodwill of Southern & Western Colorado is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Non Profit Organizations - General Membership

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.