BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/29/1998

Champion Windows of Colorado Springs

(719) 266-8000View Additional Phone Numbers4610 N Chestnut St, Colorado SpringsCO 80907-3528 Send email to Champion Windows of Colorado SpringsView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Champion provides trusted "Single Source" responsibility - guaranteeing clients "your last investment" (typically including a lifetime warranty) for replacement windows, roofing, siding, entry doors and sunrooms.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/29/1998

BBB has determined that Champion Windows of Colorado Springs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Champion Windows of Colorado Springs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Champion Windows of Colorado Springs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were told that we needed to replace the windows. After spending $17K the Champion inspector said that it was just our seals that were broken. So we could have just had the seals fixed at a much lower cost, and not had these hideous windows with the frames that obstruct our view. The best attribute in this house and reason I bought it was the open feeling from the windows. Now the window frames take up a huge amount of the opening. The salesman had told me, "You won't even notice the difference." I do notice, every day. I called to complain right after the installation and many times since. Finally after about 2 years someone from Champion came out to see us and all he would do was argue with me that it doesn't make that much difference, and said, "We would have to replace all of the windows." Yes, that is correct; the windows would have to be replaced with windows that have narrower frames, like I thought I was getting to begin with. He did not agree to that. He did agree to send someone out to change the caulk to a paintable caulk around the windows because the installers put in the wrong kind and we cannot paint a straight line around the windows. They knew this right away and have told us twice over the years that they would have that fixed. When I try to get it scheduled, I get no response. I am very busy and have tried at times to get these things taken care of, and then months go by and I try again. I have been very unhappy with Champion's service and their product. It has been 4 years now and I am still not getting any response. I have not called daily. I don't have time for that, but I would like this issue resolved. The order was placed in Nov. 2008 and I believe the installation was in Dec.2008. We worked with Brett.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund or replacement of the windows with a product that I actually "will not notice the difference" between the new and the old window openings. I would like them installed using paintable caulk.

Business' Initial Response
In regards to ***** ******, we will gladly recaulk all windows that we installed and are open to any suggestions you might have to further assist this customer. This will be done at the customer's convenience and at no charge to the customer. Thank you for helping us resolve this issue.
*************

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Doors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Home Improvements/Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/16/1998Business started: 03/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pikes Peak Regional Building Department
2880 International Cir
Colorado Springs, CO80910
(719) 327-2880
http://www.pprbd.org

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Basham (Division Manager)
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Doors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Home Improvements/Remodeling

Products & Services

window, windows, roofing, roofs, sun rooms, patio rooms, sun room, doors, entry doors, patio doors, window replacement, window replacements, roof replacement, siding, vinyl siding, siding replacement, vinyl windows, energy efficient windows,

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Greater Southern Colorado Area

BBB Program Participation

Champion Windows of Colorado Springs is a 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, & 2013 recipient of the Better Business Bureau of Southern Colorado's Excellence Awards in Customer Service (EICS). EICS uses Malcolm Baldridge-like criteria to evaluate and recognize businesses that demonstrate excellent customer service.

Industry Tips
Contractor Advice

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Champion Windows of Colorado Springs

4610 N Chestnut St

Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3528

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4610 N Chestnut St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3528(719) 266-8000
    (719) 359-4802
    (719) 623-6585

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Champion Windows of Colorado Springs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 359-4802
  • (719) 623-6585
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service

Contractor Advice
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.