BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/29/1998

Champion Windows of Colorado Springs

(719) 266-8000View Additional Phone Numbers4610 N Chestnut St, Colorado SpringsCO 80907-3528View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Champion provides trusted "Single Source" responsibility - guaranteeing clients "your last investment" (typically including a lifetime warranty) for replacement windows, roofing, siding, entry doors and sunrooms.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/29/1998

BBB has determined that Champion Windows of Colorado Springs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Champion Windows of Colorado Springs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Champion Windows of Colorado Springs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed an agreement with Champion Windows sales rep. ************ 8/2/13 to build a patio room. They finally started in Nov. and were paid in full.
***** was supposed to plan and inspect final product, but he failed to see that the roof had no drainage.
2/27/15, I saw rain pouring from a light and center seal the length of the room.
It was Friday eve; I left a message.
I called back Monday, and was told ***** would come out and check it Thursday.
He looked inside the room and said they forgot to put (something) on the roof.
He climbed up and told me there was snow on the roof, so he'd have to come back.
It was sunny several days after, and I didn't see snow on the roof, so I called again.
By the time I called back the week after that,
I was angry about the water damage and worried about the light involved.
I talked to *****'s Supervisor, who assured me the light was okay and that ****** would be out
Thursday, March 14. ****** left a msg. that evening that there was too much ice and snow on the patio room roof to do anything.
I haven't heard from them since.
Meanwhile, I've been busy with home repair on my plumbing, then I walked into my kitchen 4/23, and water was pouring through a light that is located directly under where the patio roof, my roof, and is aligned with another light they installed outside the patio room.
I believe the outside light Champion hooked into, and their lack of proper roof drainage is responsible.
My roof was completely redone after the hail storm in late 2010.
I want to know if I should have a roofing company come out and check what needs to be done, because I don't trust Champion Windows at all now.
Ive had too many misunderstandings with ***** from the beginning of this process to even go into, but he seems to be the only one they offer to fix this problem.
Meanwhile, I have long plastic containers across the patio room floor, and a huge bucket under the Kitchen light.
As a result of their hooking into an outlet that caused the fuses to blow, I had to hire
The Wirenut to completely check out the problem and install new ground rods, and update the circuit box, ending up with a $16,000+ bill I am trying to pay off before the 27.9% home improvement interest rate catches up with me.
I've never had any problems with repair or building projects in the past, so I'm not sure how to proceed.
I have photos of the leaks in my phone, but haven't found any paperwork past the initial contract, and haven't found the roof repair information, but I hope to have found it by the time you get back to me.
Thank you for all the work you do for consumers.
************

Desired Settlement
I want Champion Windows to complete what was supposed to be applied to the patio room roof for drainage and repair any damage ******* negligence in his final inspection has caused.
I want them to pay for an independent contractor to inspect both leaks to determine if the second leak was caused by the lack of proper workmanship.

Business Response
We have called ************ on multiple occasions and not received timely return calls, then we do get a call and a demand to come out immediately. When she requested us to come up previously, there was considerable snow on the roof. We would be happy to schedule a time to come up and address all issues. Please feel free to contact me anytime, ************************

Consumer Response
Champion Windows manager *********** has replied to you that they have called me numerous times, which is not true.
I just read ************ reply with a telephone number he says to call at any time.
I called that number just now, and it is not a working number.

Final Consumer Response
***** and his boss, ****, came out today at 1:30.
***** is on the roof repairing and putting flashing on
where the workers forgot to apply.
**** showed me that my gutters are packed with mud and pine needles, and cleared them out around the back of the house as a courtesy.
He also showed me some things that I need to do with my drainage system.
I apologized for my anger on the phone with *****, and want you to know they are doing a good job.
The fact that a worker forgot the flashing, and my clogged gutters is why my inside light started leaking.
I am a first time home owner, so now I know more about taking care of my home.
Thank you for your help. ************

Final Business Response
It was our pleasure, glad we could help.

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Roofing Contractors, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows, Doors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/16/1998Business started: 03/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pikes Peak Regional Building Department
2880 International Cir
Colorado Springs, CO 80910
(719) 327-2880
http://www.pprbd.org

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Basham (Division Manager)
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Roofing Contractors, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows, Doors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Home Improvements

Products & Services

window, windows, roofing, roofs, sun rooms, patio rooms, sun room, doors, entry doors, patio doors, window replacement, window replacements, roof replacement, siding, vinyl siding, siding replacement, vinyl windows, energy efficient windows,

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Greater Southern Colorado Area

BBB Program Participation

Champion Windows of Colorado Springs is a 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, & 2013 recipient of the Better Business Bureau of Southern Colorado's Excellence Awards in Customer Service (EICS). EICS uses Malcolm Baldridge-like criteria to evaluate and recognize businesses that demonstrate excellent customer service.

Industry Tips
Contractor Advice

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Champion Windows of Colorado Springs

4610 N Chestnut St

Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3528

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4610 N Chestnut St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3528(719) 266-8000
    (719) 359-4802
    (719) 623-6585

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Champion Windows of Colorado Springs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 359-4802
  • (719) 623-6585
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service

Contractor Advice
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.