BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2004

Black Label Restoration & Cleaning

(719) 277-0707View Additional Phone Numbers4960 Northpark Dr, Colorado SpringsCO 80918-3820 Send email to Black Label Restoration & Cleaning

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Black Label Restoration and Cleaning has been proudly serving the greater Colorado Springs and Castle Rock metro and surrounding communities, since 2003. Black Label is completely committed to serving you with distinction 24 hours a day, every day

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2004

BBB has determined that Black Label Restoration & Cleaning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Black Label Restoration & Cleaning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Black Label Restoration & Cleaning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 7 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On the phone with ****(?), management I was interrupted several times while I tried to explain the following charges that I felt were justified based on the service and experience I had with their service:

Equipment Rental $192.00 + $208.00
Anti-microbial $22.40
EQ Check $100.00
1.5 Man Hours $135.00
Total amount I agreed to pay = $657.40

As the attached original invoice shows Black Label charged for man hours and itemized specific fees for work done within those same man hours. On the phone I calmly expressed how I felt I was being double billed. **** said they made a mistake and offered to remove the man hour fee but not the itemized fees.

I also asked for an explanation of the "Emergency Service Call" fee of $125 because their crew did not come to our home outside of business hours. I did call their 24-hour line (posted on their website) and in about a 5 min conversation the women said they would place our case first thing on the next morning route but never did she mention that the call was billable for $125. If a business advertises a 24-hr call service it's implied not to be billable. If not, then state the fee on the website and at the time of the call.

During rental equip removal, the dehumidifier was rolled down my stairs from our upper level laundry room where the water damage was from a washer overflow and it poured water back onto my carpet and hardwood entry. I have photos to prove it. The men attempted to wipe up water from the carpet but it soaked into the carpet pad and I used towels and pressure to absorb it all - after they left. The same man who explained the invoice asked if I wanted them to professional clean my carpet, I declined, and he said "some people do, some don't" which implied to me this must occur frequently. It seemed odd.

I did not agree to pay the invoice as presented and the man arranged that I talk with management which I did only to arrange that **** would call me back the next morning to discuss.

**** did call the next morning and the conversation started off amiable as I calmly and simply explained the equip removal water issue and then I asked for an explanation of the itemized invoice items. At first, **** said they made a mistake and that he would remove the "man hours" only. After I explained the water leak from the de-humidifier **** said it only holds a quart and implied that it was impossible that it could leak much. Only later, did he agree to remove the equip removal fee. **** said he would submit a revised invoice for an amount around $850 and said if I did not agree to that he would bill me a new invoice based on higher insurance claim rates plus the "22 minutes of his time for this phone call" because he said his time was 'billable.' **** grew more frustrated and made a comment that the background noise was too distracting (the "noise" was from my playful 3 yr old twin boys) and I felt insulted. **** also said "he didn't care if I felt I was double charged." ****'s final offer was to "round it down to $800." To end the downhill spiral of what was our conversation I agreed that he could send a revised invoice for $800 and I did say I felt it was sad that they didn't care about their customer's concerns, and that's when **** quickly interrupted to say "don't put words in my mouth" and at that point I didn't feel it was productive to continue the conversation.

Desired Settlement
On the phone with **** (?), management I tried several times to explain the following charges that I felt were justified based on the service and experience I had with their service:

Equipment Rental $192.00 + $208.00
Anti-microbial $22.40
EQ Check $100.00
1.5 Man Hours $135.00
Total offer to pay $657.40

But given the nature of our phone conversation I felt they did not demonstrate integrity. I saw a Black Label spokesman talk about their services and friendliness to moms and family on the "Moms Everyday" TV segment and was given the impression they would provide outstanding customer service. My trust in Black Label is not the same after my experience.



Business Response
When Ms. ***** called, she asked if the man hours listed on the invoice was a duplicate charge for the other itemized services. I confirmed that it was an error and told her that I was removing it. The duplication was a simple error, nothing more. Invoices are often hand written on-site because it is impossible to know ahead what the circumstance is. In writing the invoice, the technician made a mistake. Ms. ***** insisted that I remove the itemized charges and not the man hours. I attempted to explain to her that man hours was an error and that the other charges were proper charges several times but she was not satisfied.

When Ms. ***** asked about the emergency service fee, I told her that it is a normal and customary in this industry as it is in many industries that provide 24 hour emergency service. There are 2 customary emergency service fees; a during regular hours emergency service fee that is $152.46 per the insurance industry pricing model and an after hours emergency service fee that is $246.36 per the insurance industry pricing model. The customer was billed less than the customary fee. Notes indicate that the emergency service fee was discussed when she first called and she opted for service the following day because the emergency service fee, as well as all of the other fees were less and there was not a significant event that would warrant immediate response. The customer is incorrect in assuming that advertised 24 hour emergency service implies no fee for the service call. There are many industries that either charge an emergency service fee or an increased fee for service that is not scheduled.

The emergency service fee as defined by the insurance industry is "Administrative/labor costs associated with allocating resources for an emergency response during normal business hours as needed. An emergency service charge is representative of costs resulting from reassigning employees from a job in progress or maintaining employees on call for emergency response." During the evening, management had to re-allocate resources from other scheduled events and in the morning, make arrangements for an employee who was scheduled to be off that day and had to contact other customers to re-arrange schedules, and make arrangement with other customers who were previously scheduled. The charge is customary and proper. I have referred to the insurance industry pricing because the insurance industry has done extensive research regarding customary and reasonable charges and has developed a pricing model accordingly because it often has to pay these fees.

Regarding the amount of water that spilled on the carpets and hardwood entry, the equipment holds less than a quart of water when full. The water is vaporized water wicked from the atmosphere, it is not polluted water. It is in fact the same water vapor that is taken with every breath. The water was cleaned up.

Regarding cleaning carpets, Ms. ***** was asked if she wanted the service. Some people have concerns with possible lingering odors or other adverse effects when water from a washing machine soaks carpets so it is offered. She declined. It is not at all odd that some people want the service and some do not.

Regarding the background noise that made the call difficult, there were two young children screaming close to the phone; so loud that she had to repeat herself several times. The screaming was so loud that people in the office more than 15 feet away could hear it thru the ear piece. Yes, boys will be boys and part of being a boy is making a lot of noise but Ms. *****, who has been in business for 17 years knows reasonable phone etiquette and this was just not at all reasonable.

Ms. ***** stated a final amount that she would pay. That amount was not satisfactory for the service performed and the company is not obligated to accept it. The company is obligated to remove the billing error and I did so immediately. That was not satisfactory so I reduced the fee by about 15%. Ms. ***** was still not satisfied. As Ms. ***** continued to press the point that she would not pay the invoice, I had to take a less friendly approach and tell her that I would not make any more concessions. I did round the invoice down by about another $50 giving her about a 1/5 discount, still not enough to satisfy Ms. *****. At that point, any further conversation was pointless and the screaming from her boys had gotten out of hand.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. **** *******, Operations Manager: During our phone conversation, I calmly attempted multiple times to explain how I genuinely agreed to pay specific line items that totaled $657.40 but you interrupted me multiple times and demonstrated impatience and disrespect. I calmly asked that you remove the itemized labor charges because they were completed during the man hours billed. It did feel like I was being double billed, so I clearly expressed that I would pay for the man hours only. Here is exactly how the invoice was written:
4 Blowers @ $24/each = $192.00
1 De-humidifier @ $104/day x 2 days = $208
Antimicrobial (82 sq. ft.) = $22.40
Trim Removal (MDF) = $55.71
Vinyl Removal = $67.62
1.5 Man Hours x 2 men x $45/hr = $135.00
Equipment Checks x 2 (separate visits by 1 man) = $100.00
Equipment Removal x 2 men = $90.00
1 Emergency Service Call = $125.00
Washer/Dryer (moved out of laundry room) = $64.00
Total = $1,059.73

In your reply, you stated I "continued to press the point that (I) would not pay the invoice" and that Mr. *******, is false. I calmly and clearly said multiple times that I agreed to pay $657.40 because it totaled what was accurate and fair based on the experience of service I received. The $657.40 includes:

4 Blowers @ $24/each = $192.00
1 De-humidifier @ $104/day x 2 days = $208
Antimicrobial (82 sq. ft.) = $22.40
1.5 Man Hours x 2 men x $45/hr = $135.00
Equipment Checks x 2 (separate visits by 1 man) = $100.00

As for the "Emergency Service Call" billed at $125.00 the insurance industry quotes and explanation you state would have been "customary and proper" if explained at the time of the call so that I was not surprised when I received the invoice. This goes beyond what maybe common practice in your industry and offers you an opportunity to rise above the standard and be forthright with your prospective customers about this fee. I was not told you had to shuffle appointments and staff so how am I to understand otherwise? You may have had no appointments the morning of our service for all I know. The emergency phone number posted on your website went straight to a VM and it would be clearer if on that message it is explained that $125 fee will be charged if the call is continued and to avoid this fee please call back and arrange a service time during normal business hours. But because this was not the case, it contributed to my distrust of your billing practices and questionable honesty.

Mr. *******, you are in the business of restoring homes; personal spaces where customers live. And some of your customers, like me, are Mothers with small children - living, thriving, and playing within our homes. You stated that I have "... been in business for 17 years (and understand) reasonable phone etiquette and this was just not all reasonable." My personal home is not an office and since your employees entered into my private home is it unfair to expect that I and my home be treated with respect at every point during our transaction? The "background noise" you experienced was no different than what you'd find at a licensed daycare and would your conduct and response be the same with a daycare facility customer?

As for our phone conversation, never once did I raise my voice, or demonstrate anything that could be interpreted as less than "reasonable phone etiquette" so your rebuttal to my complaint holds no merit, Mr.*******, because you are still using my children to negate our conversation and your behavior.

Mr. ******* clearly crossed the line far beyond what you describe as "a less friendly approach" when you made a verbal threat to me in stating "if I did not accept your final offer, you would re-bill me at the higher insurance rates and bill me for the 22-minutes of time we were on the phone, because your time is billable." These are your words, Mr. ******* and you have yet to offer an apology for your verbal threat and intensified tone of voice. You threatened me, Mr. ******* and without acknowledgement or apology, your behavior was no different than a common bully.

The de-humidifier was removed with so much water pouring out of it that it saturated the carpet pad along a hallway, down two flights of stairs, and to my front door. This is fact and I have photograph proof. My compliant has nothing to do with the quality of the water that was left behind but rather that the Technicians, **** & *****, allowed the water to overflow onto my carpet. It showed a lack of professionalism, care, and respect for my personal property and home environment. Mr. ******* said they are not used to entering 'finished spaces' in a home which is no excuse given our case was a water leak in an upper level laundry room where the only access is through finished space. Your website shows many before-and-after photos of work you've completed within interior finished spaces so once again, your rebuttal holds no merit.

Mr. *******, your response clearly demonstrates that you have yet to acknowledge your wrongs of verbal threats and hostile verbal tones to me and comments about my children. This is most disturbing, coming from a company who has appeared on "Mom's Everyday" television segments with a façade of promoting their friendly care and service.

Do I hope that you will apologize? Do I hope that you would refund the $142.60 disputed difference? If you were to show such maturity and ethical conviction, it would be a graciously and warmly welcomed resolution.

But until then, we submitted payment for the $800 bill that you threatened me with Mr. *******, so you have your money, but in the process (up to this point) you've lost my respect. In the meantime, I hold onto the hope that you will rise above and demonstrate your true nature as a gentleman and business professional.


Final Business Response
Black Label Restoration would like to apologize for any concerning communications that have happened with you as a client. We value customer feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and concerns. We continuously work to improve our services as customer satisfaction is our priority. We wish to work with you to come to an acceptable agreement. We will be contacting you shortly to discuss a resolution.

02/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Inspection, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up, Fire Damage Restoration, Mold Inspection & Removal, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/29/2004Business started: 03/17/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2004, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith R. Coleman (Owner)
Related Businesses
Rapid Response Plumbing, LLC - 4960 Northpark Drive, Colorado Springs, CO
Business Category

Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Inspection, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up, Fire Damage Restoration, Mold Inspection & Removal, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Repair

Products & Services

* Water Damage, Leaks, Overflows, broken pipes and clean-up
* Fire Damage, Clean-up and Restoration
* Mold Inspection, Removal and Clean-up
* Sewage Clean-up and Remediation
* Smoke Damage, Clean-up and Restoration

Hours of Operation
Mon: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMTue: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMWed: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMThu: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMFri: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSat: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSun: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AM
Refund and Exchange Policy

All work and materials guaranteed depending upon service performed!

Service Area

Serving all of Colorado


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Black Label Restoration & Cleaning has received 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 7 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Black Label Restoration & Cleaning

4960 Northpark Dr

Colorado Springs, CO 80918-3820

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4960 Northpark Dr 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80918-3820(719) 277-0707
    (877) 967-0707
    (303) 688-0788

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Black Label Restoration & Cleaning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 967-0707
  • (303) 688-0788
  • (719) 645-4463
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Water Damage Restoration

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.