BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Springs Transmission & Automotive Service

(719) 591-6501View Additional Phone Numbers3310 Chelton Loop N, Colorado SpringsCO 80909-6423

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Springs Transmission & Automotive Service is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Springs Transmission & Automotive Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
12/03/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made a cash payment on 3-25-2011 of $650.00 toward the repair on the 94 Park Ave. with the balance to be $850.00 due on completion. This receipt is in my possession with ********** handwriting. The Final receipt #5649 has the total $1501.68 which was also paid in cash in the amount of $850.00 on 3-30-2011. Driving home the Overdrive slipped back down into Drive only and would not go back into Overdrive after that and multiple attempts. I returned the vehicle the next day with the problem not being solved and proceeded to tell me that there are occasions where a rebuild may encounter an error that can be adjusted on the service rack and that his technician will look at it. His technician drove the Park Ave for part of the day to make sure it was ready for my pickup previous to the second delivery, this took a week The transmission failed again just after two days being the overdrive not staying engaged and then not engaging at all. ********** held the park Ave for another 4 weeks saying he was waiting for the "brain" to me in. I asked if this was an electronic issue and he said that it is what makes the transmission shift up and down according to your speed. After three weeks of not receiving "the right part" ,he did call back he mentioned that the "new part" was being installed. I later learned that this "brain" was a "valve-body" that regulated the speed going into overdrive via fluid pressure. I may have more to add in this section. I have a journal during this period that I can review for more details. In addition, 1988 Dodge Dakota was taken in by his towing service for a locked up 5 speed manual transmission. His attempts in finding a suitable replacement did not come without a high price of $1,400 or more with out the labor to install it. I viewed the 1988 Dakota in his lower storage lot on November 1, 2012. I decided not to confront ********** untill I had spoken with the CSPD ***********************. ********* called me on November 6, regarding my voice mail. He said that I could ask about the Dakota if it is still there otherwise call to file a vehicle theft report.
In talking with the owner, **********, he told me that his shop recently rebuilt a Park Ave. transmission with the overdrive that went out and had no problem in restoring it to service. I also asked if his business was BBB rated? Yes, in fact I have customers like ***********************, ********* and other prominent members of the community that have used my services over the years as repeat customers. I would like to add more to this at a later date.

Desired Settlement
Returning $1,500.00 paid to him aka Springs Transmission. Loss of use of the Park Ave.for a period of about 2 months: 1) Having to pay for a car rental during that period when I worked in Pueblo. 2) Having to spend $650.00 for tires on a 1983 Ford F-150 that was only to be used as a recreational vehicle due to the weight. 3) Having to spend on fuel usage of $35.00 or more in fuel daily to drive to work in Pueblo. An incredible amount of money spent, while waiting for the Park Ave to be fixed, which should have done in a week or so. I may have further information in this section that will affect the "Amount in dispute" of 3,740.00 which may be higher or lower upon further research. Also if 1988 Dakota is also missing from the Springs Transmission. I will provide the receipts and bank statements as I find them with the work history pay stubs to show my job attendance. i would like to update or revise this section at a later date.

11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The undersigned, ***************, having been first duly sworn, states the following:
1. I live at************************************************. My phone number is***************.
1, I own a 1998 Jaguar XJ8. In October 20101 was experiencing problems with the transmission in my car, so I called **** ***** from Springs Transmission and Automotive to diagnose the problem.
3. I decided to take my cy to Springs Transmission because their advertisement said they had been in the auto service industry for 30 years, that they offered free towing, and that they were willing to negotiate payment plans.
4. Mr. ***** quoted me and I paid $2,500 to repair my transmission. My ear was at Springs Transmission for approximately 3 to 4 months getting the necessary repairs. Whenever I called to check on the status of the repairs, Mr. ***** would either tell me that he didn™t receive the right parts, or if he did they were broken and he had to order new ones. Wlien he did finish the repairs, he told me that he did not have the proper transmission fluid, so i purchased the right fluid at a local ******** and delivered it to Mr.***** to finish the job.
5. On or around April 2011, after driving my car for approximately ‘HXM00 miles, the transmission failed again. I returned to Springs Transmission and Mr. ***** agreed to repaff the transmission a second time at no cost.
6. My ear was at Spring Transmission for approximately 12 months for the second round of repairs. Every time 1 asked Mr. ****** for a status update he again repeatedly told me that he didn™t have the correct parts for the repair.
7. On January 147 20121 went to Springs Transmission to retrieve sorae personal belongings from the car. Mr. ***** informed me that the wheels and tires had been stolen from my car approximately 1 54 months prior. Mr. ***** said he had not yet filed a police report, so i immediately contacted the police to report the incident.
S. When i went to sec the off, k was sitting on two car jacks and two batteries in a field several blocks from Springs Transmission™s shop and parking lot.
9. On or around July 2012, my car was later moved to the lot immediately we^ of Springs Transmission where used replacement tkes were installed on my car. I was later informed that that lot was owned by the owner of a nearby That restaurant.

03-05-2005 05: £8 BILL 5917021
PAGE2
10. After taking my car to Springs Transmission for a second round of transmi^on repairs, and leaving it there for approxmiately 1 year, Mr. ***** never returned my car to me.
It. I eventually sold the vehicle for $#00 and the buyer removed the cm from Mr.
Eimes7 lot.

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 7/10/2012 I took my vehicle to the business for transmission service. The vehicle was not perating correctly and repairs/service had not been adequately completed. The vehicle was returned to business. The car was returned from business on 8/4/2012 and it exhibited the same problems in drivability. Car was returned to business on 8/6/2012. On 8/8/2012 the owner of business called and told us that the engine or vehicle had seized and was inoperable. As of 101/2012 my vehicle has not been adequately repaired (engine/transmission) and I have not received any explanation from business as to why the difficulty was encountered with my vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I would consider the return of all monies paid to Springs Transmission & Automotive Service ($1500) plus the full cost of replacement engine and transmission (and all associated expenses) for my vehicle replacement engine – install costs to be included.

11/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Transmissions - Automobile

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB file opened: 10/02/1997Business started: 01/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado are located here

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory Ehnes (President)
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Springs Towing, Springs Auto Pawn
Industry Tips
Auto Repair
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3310 Chelton Loop N 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80909-6423(719) 325-7562
    (719) 591-6501
    (719) 596-2318
    (719) 591-4914
    (719) 362-2184

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Springs Transmission & Automotive Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 325-7562
  • (719) 596-2318
  • (719) 591-4914
  • (719) 362-2184
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Transmissions - Automobile

Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

November 29, 2012

DISTRICT COURT, EL PASO COUNTY,
COLORADO
270 South Tejon Street, Room
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903
STATE OF COLORADO,
ex rel.
JOHN W. SUTHERS, ATTORNEY GENERAL
Plaintiffs,
v.
STATE OF COLORADO, ex rel. JOHN W.
SUTHERS, ATTORNEY GENERAL,
Plaintiffs,
v.
SPRINGS TRANSMISSION AND AUTOMOTIVE,
GREG EHNES, INDIVIDUALLY, AND JESSICA
WHITE, INDIVIDUALLY,

Plaintiff, the State of Colorado, upon relation of John W. Suthers, Attorney General for
the State of Colorado, by and through undersigned counsel, and Defendants, Springs
Transmission and Automotive, Greg Ehnes and Jessica White ("Defendants"), having each
consented to the entry of this Stipulated Preliminary Injunction, without any admission of
wrong doing by the Defendants or any prejudice to Plaintiffs ability to prosecute the claims
against Defendants in Plaintiff's Complaint; and the Court having considered this matter and
being fully advised in the premises, FINDS, CONCLUDES AND ORDERS AS FOLLOWS: SO ORDERED
The moving party is hereby ORDERED
to provide a copy of this Order to any pro
se parties who have entered an
appearance in this action within 10 days
from the date of this order.
Thomas K. Kane
District Court Judge
DATE OF ORDER INDICATED ON ATTACHMENT
EFILED Document
CO El Paso County District Court 4th JD
Filing Date: Nov 29 2012 01:17PM MST
Filing ID: 48035673
Review Clerk: Jeanne Golding

To review the entire document, please go to:
http://www.coloradoattorneygeneral.gov/sites/default/files/uploads/CP/Cases/Springs%20Transmission%20%26%20Automotive%20Preliminary%20Injunction.pdf

Springs Transmission and Automotive

November 28, 2012

DENVER - Colorado Attorney General John Suthers announced that the Consumer Fraud Unit secured a Stipulated Preliminary Injunction with Springs Transmission and Automotive, Greg Ehnes, and Jessica White of Colorado Springs, Colorado. The injunction was consented to by the defendants and without admission of any wrong doing. It prohibits the defendants from owning or operating any automotive services businesses. For the actual court filings, please go to:
http://www.coloradoattorneygeneral.gov/sites/default/files/uploads/CP/Cases/Springs%20Transmission%20%26%20Automotive%20Preliminary%20Injunction.pdf

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.