BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2004

Spa Palace Inc

Find a Location

(719) 528-1881View Additional Phone Numbers4275 N Nevada Ave, Colorado SpringsCO 80907-4305 Send email to Spa Palace Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2004

BBB has determined that Spa Palace Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Spa Palace Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Spa Palace Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 28th 2015, my husband and I called Spa Palace to have a service done on our hot tub. We were promised an hour of service for someone to come and tell us our exact issues with our spa. The agreement was $120.00 per hour for someone to tell us what "exactly " was wrong with our hot tub. That afternoon someone came, looked at our spa and told us it was completely broken and not worth fixing. I was repeatedly told the prices for a new spa at their facility and that they couldn't tell us the problem. I was told," It's broken, you need a new one." After the service provider left I called another spa service provider and got a second opinion. Within 20 minutes the problem was diagnosed and price given to fix it. I feel like Spa Palace just wanted to pull a scam and manipulate our current situation. We are disappointed by the service they give and the lack of follow up communication. I called the manager and talked to Pam ***** , one of the associates and was told the same line. We won't be coming back to this business, buying future spas or recommending them. In fact, we plan on telling anyone in need of Spa services to go another company. It's a shame such a long standing company would be so rude and treat people this way.

Desired Settlement
I'm asking that their bill of $119.00 be taken off our record and an apology for such behavior. In the future I hope that they would have better customer service and not be so militant.

Business Response
Ms. ******** called our service department on June 4, 2015, stating that her spa was not doing anything, and asked that we provide service to determine the problem.

We sent a service technician to this location on June 5th. After running a diagnostic test on the hot tub, he determined that it was only getting 110 volts. He noted that they needed an electrician as the spa only has one leg, or 110 volts. The spa requires 220 volts.

When Ms. ******** was notified of the problem, she stated that she has a relative who is an electrician and she would ask them to come correct the electrical problem.

We charged $119.00 for the service call, which is our standard fee. No repairs were provided to the spa, as our company does not provide any electrical services to the main power coming to the hot tub, which is part of the house wiring and must be done by a licensed electrician. It was our work in diagnosing the hot tub that identified the problem even though we are not licensed to do work on that part of the electrical hook-up. Ms. ******** provided a credit card number to pay this fee, but the card was declined. We noted on her service ticker that she refused to make the payment on this invoice. (see attached)

Mr. ******** references speaking to Pam *****, who is our Controller. Pam would have no knowledge of the work performed or a conversation regarding her need to replace her spa. Pam stated that she has never spoken to Ms. ********; her only contact was to send a letter requesting payment. Our Service Technician did not discuss the need to replace her spa. Please review the service order and the note he made about the electrical issue.

Ms. ******** contacted us to provide the service. At the time of her call, she was informed of the service call fee of $119.00. She provided a credit card (which was declined) at the time the work was scheduled.

We do not feel that our staff handled this situation poorly. We regret that we were unable to get the spa up and running, but we do not have licensed electricians on our staff to handle issues with the main power coming to the tub.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1987Business started: 01/01/1984Business started locally: 10/05/1987
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1987, CO

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mike Wiege (President)Dan Teeter (Sales Manager)
Contact Information
Russel Case (Manager)Mr. Joe Reynolds (Manager)Mr. Justin Wiege (General Manager)
Related Businesses


Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Spa Palace Inc

4275 N Nevada Ave

Colorado Springs, CO 80907-4305

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Spa Palace Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 432-8900

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (303) 432-8900
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.