BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2000

Prime Roofing Inc

(719) 599-402015706 Jackson Creek Pkwy #100, MonumentCO 80132 Send email to Prime Roofing Inc



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Prime Roofing, Inc. has earned the reputation of roofing excellence, stellar customer service and the knowledge and expertise that has made us leaders in the roofing industry. We realize knowing how to build a successful relationship with our clients

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2000

BBB has determined that Prime Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Prime Roofing Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Prime Roofing Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a contract for insurance claimed siding repair and dryer vent replacement on 3 Sep 2015. I was told the work would be completed multiple times and it still is not fixed. I have called the company multiple times and have been told multiple times that the fix would be completed within the week. I called 2 weeks prior to Thanksgiving, the week after Thanksgiving, and every week since then. After Christmas I have called every other day and been told someone would be out to fix my siding and dryer vent. Since it has been over 4 months since the contract has been signed I am filing a complaint. I need the work completed very soon as we are in the process of selling our home. I have notified Prime Roofing about selling the home. They told me on 11 Jan 2016 that someone would be out the next day. This did not occur. I called again the next day and left a message. I called on 13 Jan 2016 and was told that I would have someone fix it today and it is now 4 PM and still no fix. I assured them if it was not fixed I would submit a complaint through the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I need the work completed by 22 January. I also believe I should get the work completed at a discounted rate due to the amount of times I have been lied to about the work being completed multiple times and the length of time I have had damaged siding. I also need to know the exact date they will be fixing my house.

On 16 January 2016, Prime Roofing completed all of the siding work required by the original contract. I was happy with the resolution provided by Prime Roofing once they received the complaint. At this time, the complaint can be closed as resolved.

03/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted with Prime Roofing on 9-21-2014 for roof replacement only. We also contracted with All Windows & Doors, Plus, LLC for window replacement on 10-7-2014. Roof work was paid in full on 10-25-2014 per contract. Windows were paid in full and Release of Lien issued by All Windows & Doors, Plus, LLC on 11-19-2014.

Prime Roofing is attempting to collect fees for window contract, claiming they acted as general contractor for window installation. The only contracts in existence are the roof contract between homeowner and Prime Roofing, and a second contract between homeowner and All Windows & Doors, Plus, LLC. Prime Roofing was never hired nor authorized to act as a general contractor in the transaction for window replacement, nor does a written contract exist to authorize this.

Homeowner called Prime Roofing on 11-21-2014 to question billing of windows which had been previously paid in full. An explanation could not be given to the homeowner regarding details of the invoice, and office staff became angry and informed homeowner to just pay the bill, as this is "how we do it." ********** (owner of Prime Roofing) left a voice mail dated 11-21-2014 on homeowner's cell phone stating that Prime Roofing does not have a contract with the homeowner for windows. Homeowner has this recording in their possession.

Homeowner received email from Prime Roofing demanding payment of $10,142.46 and threatening to place a lien on the property should payment not be made by 3:00PM on the following day.

According to Pikes Peak Regional Building Department website (http://www.pprbd.org/PublicAccess/ContractorDetails.aspx?name=PRIME+ROOFING), Prime Roofing has a single trade contractor license (B-D-1) and per conversation Regional Building Department of Colorado Springs, Prime Roofing is not licensed to act as a general contractor even if we had authorized such representation.

Homeowner continues to receive threats for legal action from Prime Roofing and their attorneys, including breach of contract. There is no contract for window replacement between homeowner and Prime Roofing. Contracts exist only between homeowner and Prime Roofing for roof replacement only, and a contract between homeowner and All Windows & Doors, Plus, LLC for window replacement.

Desired Settlement
Homeowner requests Prime Roofing to cease and desist all actions of collection, and provide written confirmation that no lien is active or will be filled on homeowners property, and that no civil or any other legal actions will be pursued now or in the future.

Business Response
We would like to begin by explaining how roofing companies being the primary contractor on hail related homeowner insurance claims has become the industry standard. On nearly all hail related insurance claims the majority of the claim is roof related the small remainder being window, paint, and gutter related. This distribution of insurance claims has made it cost ineffective for larger window companies to complete insurance work. These conditions have created a market for small, sole-proprietor contractors with little to no overhead running cost to subcontract for larger roofing contractors who can afford larger overhead costs. When roofing contractors subcontract 3 or more trades the insurance company provides a 20% overhead and profit based off the gross of each trade. This helps to cover the roofing contractor's overhead costs. Prime Roofing can subcontract out each of these trades as they do not require a license or permit with the Pikes Peak Regional Building Department PPRBD. Prime Roofing clearly displays our license number at the top left of all of our contracts but do not advertise ourselves as a licensed general contractor because we do not build houses, we only provide exterior repair services.
When *********** was originally sent to the *******'s residence he offered Prime Roofing's services as a primary contractor to assist in doing her paint and replacing her windows. She denied the additional help at this time and requested only the re-roof estimate for the residence. She was provided the quote along with contact information for ***** ******* ***** from All Windows and Doors a knowledgeable and trustworthy window contractor. She contacted ***** to come and inspect her windows and provide an estimate on the insurance scope of work and asked for the remaining windows to be added into the total. Upon inspection ***** determined twelve windows had hail damage that had been overlooked by the insurance claim. Mrs. ******* asked ***** to work with the insurance company to get the necessary supplemental to pay to replace the twelve windows missed. ***** then informed her he was a subcontractor and is not set up to negotiate with insurance companies for supplemental funds. He referred her back to Prime Roofing to settle any additional supplemental for the windows. Mrs. ******* then contacted Prime Roofing and set a time for *********** to meet with her insurance adjuster. *********** then contacted ***** to provide his professional opinion on why replacement was necessary. The insurance adjuster determined that she could not verify the validity of the claim without her preferred contractor coming to review the damage. At that time she asked Prime Roofing to provide a price and scope of work estimate on the additional twelve windows. Prime Roofing's office manager emailed the original estimate from ***** with all 19 replacement windows. This estimate listed the hail damage in the center column. During the scan it became difficult to identify and separate which windows were part of the insurance claim and the homeowners request for the remaining replacements. In our findings the insurance company overpaid on the following:
2 windows @ 23 3/8 x 71 3/8 totaling $832.00
1 window @ 23 3/8 x 59 3/8 totaling $371.00
1 window @ 23 3/8 x 59 1/8 totaling $371.00
This is a total overpayment of $ 1574.00. The total amount released was $9254.00 when only $7681.00 was necessary for hail damaged items. Confusion existed because there was also a supplemental that had been submitted for the roof on the following:
25' of valley flashing totaling $104.75
125' of drip edge flashing totaling $220.00
1 air vent totaling $41.23
84' of Ridge Cap $463.68
Additionally, the office manager had considered that perhaps the insurance had released O&P on the job even though 3 trades had not been completed. Had O&P been released it would have been $1536.20 which is within variation range of the windows job.
It is Prime Roofing policy that all supplementals negotiated by Prime Roofing due to a verbal or written contract are paid to Prime Roofing. This keeps all parties honest as overpayment can occur and Prime Roofing returns any money overpaid to the insurance companies. In our 15 years of working with insurance companies we have developed a strong reputation as a trustworthy contractor by working with insurance companies on a daily basis. This policy protects our reputation, and our ability to effectively negotiate on behalf of homeowners with insurance agencies. Prime Roofing does an average of $1.6 million in only insurance work every year and would not jeopardize that for the $1574.00 of oversight involved in the *******'s case. In this instance the *******'s expected $7681.00 in supplemental payments for the windows. It wasn't until the settlement was finished at $9254.00 and Prime Roofing requested that all money be released to them until such a time that the subcontractors be paid out and the remaining balance be settled with the insurance company that the *******'s stopped all communication. To date, Prime Roofing has paid All Windows and Doors the $7681.00 involved in the insurance portion of the window replacement. It clearly states on the Certificate of Completion that ***** returned the check 13461 the *******'s are claiming to have paid him in full for work rendered. The *******'s refusal to pay Prime Roofing the supplemental funds released for work rendered and services completed has resulted in an illegal profit on loss for the benefit of the *******s themselves. Prime Roofing is only seeking the $7681.00 that All Windows and Doors DID NOT receive from the *******s that Prime Roofing paid to All Windows and Doors for the services rendered at *****************. Prime Roofing is also waiving any supplemental payments that they had been seeking in regards to the roof items listed above. Once paid in full all current legal actions in motion by Prime Roofing will be ceased. The additional amount of $1754.00 will be reported to the insurance company for them to attempt to collect from the homeowner. Prime Roofing would like to amicably resolve the issue and hopes to repair and retain positive customer relations with the ******* Household. Prime Roofing stands beside their integrity in hopes that the *******s can meet them to resolve the issue in all fairness as stated above.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Skylights, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/19/2000Business started: 12/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pikes Peak Regional Building Department
2880 International Cir
Colorado Springs, CO 80910
(719) 327-2880
http://www.pprbd.org

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Moran (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Cail Hernandez (Office Manager)Ms. Cindy Moran (Owner)
Related Businesses
Tri-Lakes Fitness Center - 1728 Lake Woodmoor Dr, Monument, CO
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Skylights, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing

Products & Services

New Roof Installations (New Construction)
Re-Roofs (Roof Replacements)
Roof Maintenance
Roof Repairs
Roof Ventilation

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Service Area

Southern Colorado and Douglas counties

Industry Tips
Contractor Advice

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Prime Roofing Inc has received 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prime Roofing Inc

15706 Jackson Creek Pkwy #100

Monument, CO 80132

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15706 Jackson Creek Pkwy #100 

    Monument, CO 80132

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prime Roofing Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Contractor Advice
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.