BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2002

Campbell Clarke Inc

(719) 686-1339Non-Published, Woodland ParkCO 80863 Send email to Campbell Clarke Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Specializing in all types of residential and commercial roofing systems. Estimates, Insurance Claims Support, Complete Turn-Key Project Management, installed to meet/exceed all specifications and codes.
Referral bonus program.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2002

BBB has determined that Campbell Clarke Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Campbell Clarke Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Campbell Clarke Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
10/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

6 April 2015 I called *************** to inform him that we had a leak between the flashing and gutters in several places (5). He came tour house in about one hour.he repaired 4 of the5,the 5th one still leaks(never stopped leaking).I pointed out that the heater exhaust cap was bent tilted to one side.He said it was all ratted out, that he would get a new one tomorrow and would be back on wednesday 8 april to replace it he would bring a light guy that knew how to walk on the tile without breaking one showed up! We waited

Desired Settlement
Replace the heater vent cap as promised on 6 April2015 and repair the leak that did not get fixed correctly the first time. I have tried since 3july to get this done.they have told me 3 different dates that they would be here, still no one has been here. see attached papers to be delivered in person

Business Response
Customer's gutter issue has been taken care of. RE: the heater vent cap, roofing contractors are not permitted to work on ventilation pipes. I have attached building department guidelines regarding same. I most definitely spoke with customer week of August 3rd in addition to previous times. We were in Ohio July 28 back on evening of August 2nd and as we were driving in from DIA we received a text alert about road closure at Hwy 24 and 31st street in the Springs. Shortly thereafter we received call from family member that it was a vehicle accident that caused closure involving our granddaughter and her grandfather on her mother's side. Grandfather was killed, etc. The only reason I bring this up is because I told customer about this accident and he expressed his shock and condolences.

Consumer Response

Final Business Response
Re: customer vent cap. The cap is quite old and rusted out. This is not due to work we performed. We are not permitted by the Pikes Peak Regional Building Department to replace this type of vent cap nor can we purchase this type of cap without being an HVAC contractor. That being said, I have contacted an HVAC company and will schedule and pay to have cap replaced. The gutter issues were pre-existing and not included in our contract. The issue is with the gutter run in rear of house. When the gutter fills with water the nails holding the gutter to the house pull away from the house and water runs between the gutter and facia board. We have performed gutter repair and will repair the one gutter issue remaining. Overall it has been a pleasure working with customer and it is my goal to make sure he is completely satisfied with Campbell Clarke. We value our relationship with him and will be available should he need us in the future.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Only if completed within the next 7 days and is satisfied with the replacement. the cap was damaged during the roof repair and now leaks water down the heater exhaust pipe into the heater and hot water exhaust piping. The new cap should also resolve this problem also.

06/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Campbell-Clarke installed the metal roof in 2006. We noticed watermarks on the interior of the house in 2010, but were told by the Realtor and owner that it was caused by power washing. We did not live there during the winter months however, every time it snows water runs into the house. In February 2014 I contacted our insurance agent and Campbell-Clarke about the problem. **************** came out and indicated the issue was ice damming and offered a solution which involved electrical heating elements. Attempts to*********** to return emails or phone calls were unsuccessful. I contacted several roofers as the water damage was getting much worse. Both roofers I had inspect the roof said the Metal roof had been inproperly installed and was NOT up to ***************** I then contacted ************************************** and they said permits for the roof were never issued and inspections by the County were never accomplished.

Desired Settlement
The roof will have to be entirely replaced as the water comes in from various places and is not installed properly in multiple places. The replacement cost will be in the neighborhood of $*****0-$****** based on estimates from two roofers.

Business Response
Our contract (dated February 2006) was with previous owner of this property. We were never contacted by previous owner regarding any issues whatsoever with roof. We were never contacted by previous owner regarding sale of house. We were not contacted requesting a transfer of warranty or given information regarding new owner. I have attached a copy of our workmanship warranty that includes who is covered and how transfer is to be handled if and when requested. Again, transfer was never requested so there is no warranty. Given this, we responded to current homeowner a year ago and as recently as February of this year. Our recommendation to current homeowner was to remove the snow and ice from rear of house and/or install a heat cable system as this area is experiencing ice damming. Campbell Clarke is not contractually responsible to this homeowner and we dispute his claim that roof was improperly installed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted the ********************************** and filed a complaint with them as well. The ******************* verified that NO permit was pulled and NO county inspection was performed as REQUIRED by Law. Building codes were NOT followed and subsequent inspections by two different roofing companies have verified that the roof was improperly installed and NOT up to *********** code. ************************ is also investigating the legality of why Campbell-Clarke told them the roof was properly installed when in fact is was not prior to our purchase of the home. The last contact I had from Campbell-Clarke was on Oct 8, 2014 when they verified that the warranty had not been transferred. I have had NO contact with since that time so them stating they contacted me this year is not true. I am not looking for warranty work here, this was a failure by the contractor to properly and legally install the roof and as a homeowner I will see this situation rectified.

Final Business Response
Campbell Clarke, Inc. had 2 metal roof manufacturer reps inspect this roof on April 1, 2015 at approximately 1:30pm. Unfortunately, homeowner was not at residence when we arrived. Both reps agreed that the roof was installed as per 2006 manufacturers specifications. We requested letters from reps stating their findings and letters are forthcoming. Campbell Clarke met with and addressed homeowner issues regarding ice damming last year and suggested installation of heat tape and/or manual removal of ice and snow in problem area. The roof is intact 9 years after installation. The only time issue has arisen is when ice and snow build up in one valley on rear of house. I have attached pictures of roof including one showing the problem area where ice damming occurs. Campbell Clarke has acted in good faith with current homeowner even though we have no contractual agreement with him. There is no need for a complete reroof of this house.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What proposed solution? All Campbell-Clarke has done is DENY they FAILED to do their job correctly, legally, or ethically!

I had TWO licensed and certified roof installers, from two prominent companies in Colorado Springs and Woodland Park "inspect" and "report" to me that the roof was NOT in stalled to code back in 2006.

Example: Look it up, per code, this is a "high wind" area and requires screws to be 18" apart, not 10 Feet! That code has NOT changed in 10 years!

Do you really want someone installing your roof who does NOT understand building code?

I have filed a complaint (including this BBB one) with *********** building who agreed with me the roof was installed ILLEGALLY and WITHOUT a permit or inspection. they have placed this report into their file as proof!

To date:

Campbell-Clarke FAILED to get a Permit as required by law.

Campbell-Clarke FAILED to get the roof inspected by *********** Building Inspectors as required by law.

Campbell-Clarke FAILED to call me and let me know they were bring "manufactures" onto my property and FAILED to get my permission FIRST!

Campbell-Clarke FAILED to install the roof correctly and still will not admit their negligence.

When the roof is finally replaced I will take pictures during the process and see if an "ice shield" was installed and report back any other "oversights" as they are uncovered.

I will be sending this report to ************************* building offices as part of my "Due Diligence" as a consumer.



03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This roof was installed 6/27/2004, and carries a 10 yr. limited warranty. I contacted this company in the fall of 2013, after a home inspector noted the mold, and pointed to the roof which was installed flush w/ the soffit, instead of an overhang , which is present on the rest of the roof. This has allowed moisture to seep into the wall. I feel this is probably a warranty issue, but I simply would like the co. to come and inspect the problem. I get no response from my calls and voice mails. They did respond to an email I sent Wed, Feb 12, 2014, saying that they would be out the following Sat. No one called or showed up. I simply would like this company to respond to my request for inspection. If it is a warranty issue, even this late, I would like them to honor it. If it is not, I would at least like an estimate for repair. All I have for verification is a receipt/work order, from the co. dated 6/27/1004. I can't help but feel that they are trying to wait me out, 'til the warranty date expires. I will hold that thought 'til someone says differently, by responding to my request.

Desired Settlement
I would like this company to get in touch with me, schedule an inspection of the problem in my presence,arrive and state if it's still covered by the warranty. If it is, I'd like them to repair the area that is causing the problem. If it is not then I's like an estimate for repair. I AM SIMPLY TIRED OF BEING IGNORED! I need to address this problem of mold before it becomes pervasive.

Business Response
*************** is more than willing to schedule with homeowner to check corner of roof. I scheduled for a rep to check roof this past Saturday 2/15 and was off for 3 day weekend. When I got back in office Tuesday 2/18 I responded to message from************ re: whether rep had been at her home Saturday. I emailed that I had been out of office Monday 2/17 and would check. Due to crews working on a very large project in north Colorado Springs I did not hear back until Wednesday evening 2/19 which was after I received complaint filed by homeowner. We are available to meet with homeowner Monday 2/24 in the morning if that works. I have a work report that we checked this roof in mid January and tightened loosened screws (metal roof) in a valley and left our business card in her door. This is not uncommon maintenance on metal roof and there was no charge to homeowner. Again, we are available to check roof and are not ignoring homeowner.

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I am writing this letter in regards to a complaint I have against one of your members.
On October 5th 2012 I signed a contract with Campbell Clarke to install a new Deca Villa tile roof for $29, 840.

An addendum dated October 5th, stated that project would be completed 2 weeks from material ordering “barring inclement weather and/or acts of God”. There was no inclement weather or acts of God during this period.

It was finally completed just before I had to leave for 6 months, November 12th. The final inspection, unknown to me, was done on December 3rd, 2012. Final payment by USAA was released on December 10th, 2012 and Campbell Clarke was paid in full.

As a note, only with my daily help and continually calling Campbell Clarke was this project completed before my deadline of November 12th, 2012 well beyond the two weeks originally stated in the addendum. Despite *************** assertion that my daily help was not needed, without my help and persistence larger problems would have occurred on this project and we would talking far more problems that a $150 gutter box!

Upon returning on May 10th, 2013 I noticed that there were water spots under the patio roof. I called Campbell Clarke and asked that they please call me when they would be out to fix the leak(s). Approximately 4 1/2 months later after numerous calls with no return calls, I sent a letter dated September 20lh to Campbell Clarke. After someone at Campbell Clarke received my letter I actually received a call from ************* to make an appointment to look at the roof. At that time*********** stated that he had been in Texas for two months because of the death of his father. I stated that if he or someone would just have called me once during past 4 1/2months and told me of the situation, I would certainly have understood. When I mentioned that to ************* I got the reply, “ it was his problem and not mine”.

During these 4 1/2 months, after always having to leave several messages each time, someone from Campbell Clarke would eventually show up. 5 times an attempt was made to find the leak and one was actually found; however after another rain on September 15th the leak reappeared.

Finally, on 9-28-13 ************* visited the site. He stated that he and a “crew” would have to take apart sections of the roof and flood them to try and find the leak. Monday 9-30-13 was set. At 10am I received a call from ********* saying that ****** would not be available. So Wednesday, 10-2-13 was set. At 10am on 10-2-13 I called to tiy and find out where ****** was? After leaving a message with ********* I received a call at 3:30pm from her stating that ****** was busy on another job! (I thought that is why we have cell phones available?) I told ********* that I rescheduled a tree trimmer that day so as not to disrupt ******™s work. Constant disregard to my time has been a constant theme trying to work with Campbell Clarke since inception of this contract. So then Monday 10-7-13 was set.

On Monday 10-7-13 ****** with my help started to flood the lower overhangs of the roof. After filling the gutter box, he stated that the problem was that the gutter box was too small. ****** stated that he would " “take care of it” since he couldn™t reach ***, his gutter guy. He would stop at ***™s and explain the problem. Further, ****** stated he would call me back that same day and also have the gutter guy call me. No calls for two days from anyone again until I called ********* to leave a message. The gutter guy showed up at 4:30pm on Thursday stating he would give me an estimate the next day. I stated that since ****** had called him and explained the problem that ****** was accepting responsibility in an attempt to solve the problem. After having to call *** on Monday I was told that ****** would not pay for the gutter box.

I had to leave a message as usual for ********* for ****** to call me on Monday October 14th. ****** called me at 6:15pm on 10-14. During this intense conversation, which was mostly one-sided, ****** stated that I had contracted for a new roof and not a gutter box. I stated that the gutter box was not a problem for many years until he replaced my roof. I further stated that replacing the gutter box was no guarantee that the leak was fixed! (How can replacing a gutter box fix a leak in the roof?)

****** continued to stress that I need to pay for a new gutter box; however, despite my futile effort to explain to him that even if the box is replaced, no matter how much water gets in it, there is STILL A LEAK IN THE ROOF. ******™s reply, “I know every inch of that roof and we have completely sealed it3™! The abrupt ending of this conversation as stated by ******, “you call me only if you have a leak in the roof and not a leak because of the gutter box” and he hung up!

The rational that I tried to convey to ****** remains valid. If the roof was completely sealed as stated by ******, then why is there water under my patio roof on the floor? So no matter what size the box , there is still a leak somewhere in the roof. So the argument of who is going to pay for a different gutter box is not the main issue, the issue is, there will still be a leak in my roof and replacing the existing box will not find the leak nor solve the problem of the leak,
The simple solution is remove the sections of the roof until a leak is found and not pursue any other issues.

Thank you,

Business Response
It is our mission to treat all customers professionally and respond to any concerns in a timely manner. We have responded to Mr. ******'s calls numerous times and determined that his leak issue is not the roof on his house. Mr. ****** has a small gutter section on an unenclosed patio that is not sufficient to collect heavy rain water. When water rushes off roof and collects in this small gutter it overflows and drips on patio concrete. The gutter is too small to collect water without over-spill. We had ***, owner of K's Gutters, meet with Mr. ****** to explain the gutter issue and give him cost for installation of a larger gutter box to remedy this issue. Mr. ****** believes that Campbell Clarke should pay for gutter repair though we did not perform any previous gutter work on this project. I have attached original contract between Campbell Clarke and Mr. ****** for review. Mr. ******, because of past "bad" experiences with contractors (unrelated to Campbell Clarke) was present during his roofing project. Our roofing crew did not require his assistance but Mr. ****** insisted on his involvement. Work was completed and the Pikes Peak Regional Building Department passed final inspection without issue on December 3, 2012.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Insurance Claim Processing Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Skylights, Roofing Service Consultants, Commercial Roofing, Roof Structures, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/08/1997Business started: 04/11/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pikes Peak Regional Building Department
2880 International Cir
Colorado Springs, CO 80910
(719) 327-2880

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christina Clarke (President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Insurance Claim Processing Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Skylights, Roofing Service Consultants, Commercial Roofing, Roof Structures, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

We provide Free Estimates and Consultations, Hail & Storm Damage Insurance Claims Support, Referral Bonus Program, 10 Year Workmanship Warranty on Complete Roof Replacements and Complete Turn-Key Project Management.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSun: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

10 year workmanship warranty with complete re-roof

Service Area

Mid & Southern Colorado, including Douglas County

Industry Tips
Contractor Advice

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Campbell Clarke Inc


Woodland Park, CO 80863

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Campbell Clarke Inc is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.


Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Contractor Advice

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.