BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2012

Synergy Property Management LLC

(719) 633-5078View Additional Phone Numbers5745 Industrial Pl #F, Colorado SpringsCO 80916-1726 Send email to Synergy Property Management LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Property Management, buying and selling Real Estate

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2012

BBB has determined that Synergy Property Management LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Synergy Property Management LLC's rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Synergy Property Management LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Synergy Property Management LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
05/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
5 HUNDRED DOLLARS IN FOOD BAD, NO ONE TO FIX REFRIGIRATOR FOR 3 DAYS? NO RETURN CALLS, FENCE FALLING DOWN MAIN HOUSE BEAM NOT ATTACHED TO FOUNDATION, SATY HAZARD REPORTED TO COMPANY AND MAITANCE PEOPLE FROM MY 21 YR OLD WHOM IS ALSO ON THE LEASE. CONTINOUOUS PROBLEMS AND NOT RESOLVED AFTER 6 MOS OF RESIDING ON PROPERTY, MY ONE YR OLD GRANDAUGHTER HAS NO MILK TO DRINK MY 8 YR OLD IS EATING OUT, AND MYSELF AND OLDER CHILDREN NOT MUCH AT ALL, MOST OUT FOOD WAS RUINED IN THE REFRIGIRATOR AND FREEZER, EATING CUBORD ITEMS BREADS INSTEAD. NO ONE CALLED TO INDICAT THEY WOULD COME OUT MONDAY AFTER A 9AM CALL WAS PALCED AND I HAD TO CALL AT 5 PM ON A SAT. IT IS UNREASONABLE, MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH THIS PROPERTY.

Desired Settlement
REPAIR OF OR REPLACEMENT OF ALL ITEMS INCLUDING LOSS OF GROCEY ITEMS WHICH RECIEPPTS ARE AVALIBLE, APROX 500 DOLLARS IN MEATS AND GROCERY ITEMS DISTROYED, NO CALL BACKS TO ANY OF THE 3 NUMBERS PROVIDED, THE ONE LINE NO LONGER IN SERVICE WAS INDICATED WHEN RENT WAS DUE, STILL NO CALLS TO THE WORKING NUMBERS UNTIL I HAD TO LOCATE A MANAGER THROUGH THE EMERGENCY CALL THAT SAID " WELL THERES NO ONE TO FIX IT TILL MONDAY" PER ********. ******? WHOM EVER THIS IS DID NOT COMPLETE THE SERVICE REQUEST OR EVEN CALL BACK. I EXPECT THIS TO BE RESOLVED BETTER WITH THE STAFF THEY HAVE ON HAND ITS ALWAYS A DELAYED PROCESS.

Business' Initial Response
My name is ****, I am the Property Manager. I called the tenant personally and left her a VM, the same day she talked to our emergency service. She did not reply or call me back,I left her my cell number, the vendor was trying to get a hold of her on Saturday(the day she complained) and on Sunday, no response.

The grocery items can be replaced through her renters insurance.

01/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As home owners we count on the rent money paid by the Renters on the 1st of month to be posted to our account minus the 10% fee from agency. We had to pay for utilities for month of NOV b/c the renters failed to put these into their name. We were told by the agent that the untilities would be paid back within couple days. (took 20 days) and would be posted with the rent in DEC but rent has yet to be posted.

Desired Settlement
Fix the SYNERGY PROPERTY booking issues and pay our monies that are due to your clients and make the renters pay for their own utilities.

Business' Initial Response
This issue has been resolved.
They did get paid on time, and tenants did pay utilities. They were billed wrong by Utility Company.

09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did not receive my full deposit back from the Property Management company. In my lease it stated that at the time of me moving out I clean the Townhouse and have the carpets professionally cleaned. I am on a budget so when Groupon had a special I purchased it. $55.00 for a 4 room carpet cleaning. I had to pay an extra $15 for the stairs. I sent a copy of the invoice with the keys when I moved out. The company switched hand and the are giving me the run around with my deposit stating the carpets were not cleaned. I moved out 5/9/2014. My lease wasn't up until 5/31/2014.They had plenty of time to let me know the cleaning was not up to their standards. Which is was cleaner then when I moved in. Plus the company that I had clean the carpets gave a 30day guarantee.

Desired Settlement
The rest of my deposit 500.00Deposit amount 950.00My return was 450.00

Business Response
Not our customer

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have my receipt-check stub of the Company from my partial deposit and emails from the company that clearly states that I was one of their customers.

Final Business Response
She has never had a signed lease with us. We took over management from another company. SHe cleaned the carpets for $15. They were filthy and smelled like dog urine after one week.

It is NOT our responsibility to call tenants after they move out and tell them to come and re-clean the property.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called at least once a week to see if they did they did the inspection. They gave me the run around. Plus the tenant before me were evicted because of dogs. The owner can vouch for me on that matter. I did not pay $15 for the cleaning, I purchased a Groupon voucher for $55 and had to pay an additional $15 for the stairs. The carpet company who has a B rating with the BBB can vouch for me with that.

09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I have two properties that Synergy property is managing. Twice in the past we've told them enough and we want to leave and twice they have begged us to stay and given us discounts to try to rectify the issue explaining that things will be different, but they are not. We have had a tenant leave and their full deposit refunded just to find out that the property was left with cables running throughout the place, durty, things were left inside and to make matters worse, they were showing the property for lease in those conditions. It took for me to ask to see the propety because it was not being leased to find it like that. Little things like the statements are late or not sent at all. For months I requested copies until I just gave up and stopped asking. We were promised that pictures would be sent if there were problems and that we would be contacted if something needed to be fixed and that never happened. We wouldn't find out about an issue until it was subtracted from our payments. Almost a year ago a tenant placed a work order regarding water coming into the property everytime it rained hard, and a maintenance person was sent over to fix it. I was charged over two hundred dollars for weather stripping that was installed incorrectly. (have pictures to prove it, door frame adjustments that were never made, and a deadbolt. I sent a picture of the weather strip and the way it was installed to ************ and on a text message he replied with "WTH it will be done tomorrow" tomorrow became Monday and monday nothing was done. Today, she is trying to say that the issue was resolved. I have contact information for the tenants who are furious about the way Synergy property handles their work orders. Tenants state that months go by without answers and when they call no one answers the phones. I too have issue getting a hold of them via phone. if it wasn't for the fact that I have ************'s personal cell phone I would not be able to get a hold of anyone. Tenants also complain that when someone finally answers the phone, they are redirected to the website and told that there is no work order in the system. I am very upset because my tenants are not taken care of. I also want to end the agreement with Synergy property and they have told me that I need to give them a 30 day notice. I shouldn't have to give them a 30 day notice if they are not doing their job. I also feel like they over charged me for the work that was not accomplished in December. I was told that it was but I don't see how this was accomplished when the weather strip is installed incorrectly and it is weather strip you can find for 5 dollars a role at Lowes and the deadbolt could not have been more than 30-40 dollars. I am completely disappointed and unhappy. I no longer want this property management and want to be able to part ways now.

Desired Settlement
I would like to part ways with this company now, and I would like for them to properly fix what they charged me for. I tried to attach more than one document but I cannot. I have statements and her text messages from this last issue.

Business Response
We have had those customers for a while now. Everytime there was something that needed to be done to the property, they tried to shorten us on the bill. I have re-funded monies on almost every invoice that we did.
I have NOT begged them to stay with us, I just tried to do customer service and somerimes that means refunding money back.
The issue that **** is talking about accured in December 2013. We had to go out to the property and "fix" weather stripping. We then told them, in an email, that they would need to put in a storm door, because is destroying the door frame and weather stripping.
That has not been done, only a temporary fix to the weather stripping has been performed. Now its 8+ months after we did the work and they want if fixed again or a full refund? I will not do that this time.
I will close out this owner this week and they can pick up the paperwork incl.deposits at our office

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company has approved to close everything out tomorrow afternoon, but her statements are false. I had no idea that a storm door and a new door was needed. If she can provide an email stating that I will leave it alone, Why would I pay over 200 dollars for a temporary fix when I can utilize that money to go to a permanent fix. They lacked communication and the only reason why my husband and I found out about this door issue was because the tenant explained that it was never fixed. I had never met the tenants until the end of August, a few weeks ago. I had not heard about all the complains the tenants had until now that I am involved and have met them. The tenant is willing to write a full report explaining this issue. Also, They may say that we were not begged, it is just a word, but we did go to the office at least twice wanting to terminate the contract with this company because their lack of communication, and inability to take care of the issues in a timely matter. There were very poor desions made as well, just recently we were charged over 200 to fix an old toilet in a unit, when a new toilet would have cost about the same. We never received information about things that needed to be done until they were completed without our approval or input. At this point I am done with Synergy Property. Their online reviews are very poor and we still regret not doing more research before going with them. this was a choice made because someone gave us a referral and that was poor judgement on our part. Synergy property has agreed to cancel my contract and that is mainly what I wanted, so I will take care of the door and be done with them. I will be sure to tell everyone about my experience with this company. Thank you for submitting my claim, I am done being involved with them. **** **

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint includes detailed specifics and quotations which I had issues paring down; therefore it is more than 4000 characters and I have attached it under "additional supporting documentation".

Desired Settlement
We are not asking for anything more than we originally paid in deposits. We would like the 417.46 we were ambiguously charged refunded to us--not just the $120.00 "prep fee" that Dodi offered in our meeting.

Business Response
Per the meeting all items were discussed and are the tenants charges and the tenant will be only refunded the 120.00 move out pre-fee this will be completed and tenants will be notified when they can pick up the check.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Prep fee return was discussed with us at the meeting but we never agreed to this as a resolution, which is why we turned to the BBB for assistance. We have still not received the initial check although it has been sixty plus days. We were told that they sent the check to our last known address but we never received a call to find out our current address or to schedule a pick up instead. A polite email was sent to Dodi to find out if they had gotten the check returned in the mail (two weeks after the meeting--we still hadn't heard anything) and/or when we could expect to pick up or look for the check in the mail. Dodi's response to the email was: "Well, you went and complained about us at BBB. How do you think that will affect our communication?" She did not answer the question and, in addition, now we are suffering backlash for reaching out to a third party. Another polite email was sent, again asking about the status of the check, and she responded that they had not received it (over five days ago). We are not asking for more than we feel that we deserve and are entitled to based on the evidence provided in the initial complaint.

07/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Synergy has managed our home since 2010. We received a call in early May 2013 stating that the hot tub (which is only 4 years old) in the back yard was leaking. I sent a repair man out to look at it and he called me stating that someone had improperly drained that hot tub and allowed all the pipes to freeze. He stated that it would cost at least $3000 to fix the tub. I called the management company to alert them of this issue. I received a call back the next day from the manager stating that there was a note in our file that no one was allowed to use the hot tub. I questioned who wrote this note and what the date was because we had NEVER said that. He called me later stating once he fully reviewed our file that there was no such note but on the other hand there was also nothing stating that they are to oversee the hot tub.....well, the hot tub was there, running, and functional when we signed this contract for them to manage our property as we live in another state. Every time there has been a new tenant, I specifically ask about the hot tub and I have been reassured on several occassions that everything is fine. I have never once been told that the hot tub was not part of our contract. I also was never told that it was drained, not being used, not functional, etc. But now that they have failed to do their job and complete a proper inspection, they want to say that the hot tub is not included in the management contract. Well there is also nothing that says it isn't. I feel like it is their responsibility to have this problem fixed, if they had done their job properly, the could have billed the tenant that did this.

Desired Settlement
I want the cost of the repairs to be paid for in full by the property manager as they have already released the responsible tenant from liability.

Business' Initial Response
We are working with Mrs *******, to remove the Hot Tub.

She said she will take off complaint, once resolved.
We do not take care of hot tubs, we have it in the management agreement.

Consumer's Final Response
We are not satisfied nor is the problem resolved. He states that it is in my management contract that hot tubs are not covered, I would like for him to produce this because the signed copy that I have says NO SUCH THING! The hot tub is he reason that we hired a property manager. Every new tenant and every walk through, we ask about the hot tub and are always told that it is fine. We have never been told either in writing or verbally that they do not cover and/or manage hot tubs. If this were the case, we would have never hired them to begin with. But now that they have FAILED to do their job by performing a thorough walk through and not noting that a prior tenant RUINED the hot tub, they want to say it's not covered instead of be an honest company and pay for their lack of attention.
He has offered to pay to remove the hot tub from the property. What good does that do me? This is a $10,000 that is only 4 years old. He expects us to settle for him paying $400 to have it removed?

Business' Final Response
The owner of the company was working with ***** to figure out what to do with the hot tub.
As I stated before, we are not responsible for it. We do not take care of hot tubs or do any maintenance on it.
I have not heard from ***** since she stared talking to the owner.

**** Property Manager

09/24/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/25/2011Business started: 06/29/2004Business started locally: 01/25/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Dodi D'Alessio (Employing Broker)
Contact Information
Mr. Charles D'Alessio (Managing Broker)
Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Real Estate

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 AM
Service Area

All of Colorado Springs, Fountain, Monument, Woodland Park, Peyton, Falcon

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Synergy Property Management LLC

5745 Industrial Pl #F

Colorado Springs, CO 80916-1726

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5745 Industrial Pl #F 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80916-1726(866) 833-5078

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Synergy Property Management LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 833-5078
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.