BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2012

AY Realty LLC

(719) 660-7458View Additional Phone Numbers1155 Kelly Johnson Blvd #111, Colorado SpringsCO 80920-3957View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Property Management specializing in single family homes, as well as townhomes and condos - we do full service management including maintenance, rent collection, 24/7 availability and everything associated with renting and managing your home.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2012

BBB has determined that AY Realty LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AY Realty LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on AY Realty LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After doing a walk through with ******* from AY Realty. A verbal and signed agreement made on Friday, Aug. 30,2013 by AY Realty and the Tenants. ******* from AY Realty stated the property was in top condition and AY Realty would be issuing a the full refund in the amount of 650.00. A copy of the signed inspection by both parties was to be mailed to the tenants along with the refund check within 1 business week. Tenants followed up with Andy, the property manager on a weekly basis through voicemail and email. On Sept. 29, 2013 Andy from AY Realty, sent a letter RE: failure to return security deposit stating the Tenants had damages to property and missing items from the home. Very little damage was made to the house prior to the homeowners leaving on July 31, 2012. Homeowners left items in the house and garage from the weekend garage sale. Homeowners also left a piano in the front leaving room that had to be moved and donated by the Tenants. Prior to moving in, Tenants paid the homeowners 750.00 in cash for kitcen furniture, family room furniture and matching accessories. All other items left in home was to be kept or donated except for outdoor patio furniture that was left by the tenants at move out date. Tenants also being charged for stains on the carpet that were prior to move in and reported on inspection. Carpets were professionally cleaned prior to move out date on Sat. Aug.31,2013. Tenants also being charged for cleaning and the tenants had the house professionally cleaned on Friday, Aug. 30, 2013. Property was not in safe working conditions at move in. Tenants paid for weekly lawn services and had the garage door fixed 2 times in the 1 year contract. Tenants fulfilled 1 year contract and decided against renewing lease due to increase of 300.00 per month and false advertising of property having air conditioning, when it did not.

Desired Settlement
650.00 security deposit refund by AY Realty/Homeowners. Tenants have requested ducumentation and receipts from AY Realty and Homeowners of all claims made on them with no response.

Business Response
In this case, our customer was the homeowner, and they did have appropriate grounds to retain this security deposit. The complainants are the renters; they removed curtains from the home, and caused damage to a light fixture, door trim, and stains on carpet among other things. Contrary to their assertion, they've not asked for documentation, and they refused meeting with AY Realty to go over the documentation. The documentation includes photos prior to move in, and during tenancy, as well as a walkthru document, which does not identify the charged damage to the living room carpet as prior. The BBB has been provided documentation showing the claims of $300 rent increase are fabricated, as well as the walkthru document, and other documents proving the damage caused by the renters. Our customer in this transaction was the homeowner, and they had appropriate grounds to retain the security deposit for damage and missing curtains. The homeowners had rented directly with the complainants, and hired AY Realty a few months ago to take over management.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On Friday October 11, 2013. I sent 2 emails to **** at AY Realty. One email was a request for information on the property damages and one was a response to the fabracations to the damanges on the property. **** also called us on the same day according to phone records. Both parties spoke to **** and asked for a meeting with pictures and documentation but he stated to both parties that he had none so the meeting would have done nothing to help the situation. We told **** he would have until Tuesday Oct. 15, 2013 to get information and pictures to us. On Tues. Oct 15, 2013 **** called us and said he is standing by his request in keeping the deposit. Original contract was signed with the home owners on 7/17/2012. On 4/25/2013 Email was sent to renters stating that effective immediately **** Shinn of AY Realty LLC will manage the property of ********************.

Final Business Response
We had the opportunity to meet with the complainant in person on 11/12/2013. We had a good conversation; however the homeowner, our customer in this case, had appropriate grounds to retain the security deposit from the complainant, and we were not able to reach a resolution. We appreciate the complainants agreeing to meet with us. Ultimately, we have a responsibility to our customer, the homeowner, and stand behind their decision to retain this deposit based on the evidence.

08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A verbal agreement was made to refund my deposit after **** ***** did his walkthru was done when we were asked to move out after being in the property after being their less than 2 months. The homeowner lost their landlord insurance and wanted us to move out.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund and a apology from them and the homeowner for the extreme inconvenience they have caused my family.

Business' Initial Response
Complainant had not yet reached AY Realty prior to filing the complaint. When he did reach us Friday night, we had the issue resolved in less than 24 hours, and he said he was withdrawing the complaint.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We asked AY Realty if we could get out of our lease a month early because I was transferring jobs. First they said it would be okay since it was only 1 month and we gave plenty of notice so they could find a new tenant with as they put it "the lowest vacancy rate in 12 years"
We were notified by B****** ********* that AY REALTY had found a new tenant for our leased condo. So we made arrangements to move. The day of the final walk thru.....B****** told that they had a new tenant and we'd get our deposit back....so we did the walk through and between all of the calls she was taking rather than paying any attention to the issue at hand. B****** assured us that the house was in good condition....which it was and that there would be no problems getting our deposit back.
After we moved....we got the letter from AY REALTY say NONE OF OUR DEPOSIT WOULD BE REFUNDED. ****** lied to us about having a new tenant. She may have THOUGHT they did but they did not. So she LIED to us and we ended up moving out early due to her LIEs. She said the house looked great and no damage deposit would be taken out. But she lied again. THEY TOOK IT ALL. They said they found nail holes and the place needed to be professionally cleaned. WAH? I called ****** and expressed my dismay with her lying to us. She said the tenant agreement fell through so they didn't have a tenant. But ******....WE MOVED! Because of what you told us. And what about the damage deposit that you told us we'd get back. She again told me that she would get AY REALTY to cut us a check for the damage (that just did NOT EXIST) But....that was a lie as well. Never heard a word from ****** again nor AY Realty.
So she lied to us about having new tenant agreement. Then lied about the damage deposit refund and we are out $1400. These people are criminals and ****** is totally incompetent.
I've given them months and months to communicate with us....but to no avail.
I was a realtor for 20 years and these people are a disgrace to the profession. ****** is a scatter brained busy body who should not be allowed to scam people like she does.

Desired Settlement
We want our last month rent refunded because we would have stayed the last month so we wouldn't have double rent payments....but because ******* ********* assured us they had a new tenant (which means to me that they had a LEASE AGREEMENT with a new tenant) which was a lie.....else we wouldn't be having to do this process. We repaired over 90 nail holes to that condo in 1 room alone. Then painted it.....only to have our damage deposit held because of nail holes. We signed a form that said our deposit would be refunded at walk thru.....but never received a copy and only to find out that ******* lied and AY REALTY refused to pay. We want a full refund of $1400 last month rent and damage deposit because we were misled at best by ******* ********* of AY REALTY. Next step is to file suit in small claims court.

Business Response
AY Realty's customer is the owner of this home, who did appropriately retain the renter's security deposit (AY Realty gained nothing from this retention).

Earlier this year, the complainant let us know he was breaking his lease early. Under normal circumstances, he would be responsible for the rest of the lease term until we found another renter, as well as the fee to re-rent the home. In this case, we allowed that the only charge would be for rent since we were getting close to end of the normal lease term, and that if we could find another renter, he would only be charged any amount of vacancy. As it turned out, we were able to find a renter to move in May 5, and we lost the entire month of April's rent. The complainant's deposit was provided to the homeowner to compensate for the lost April rent. While we did have an earlier potential applicant, they did not follow through (nor did they ever fill out an application or pay funds). It should be noted the complainant's move out timing was not reliant on this (they set up the move out regardless for an out of state job move).

The BBB has been provided a copy of the document that ******* signed that the complainant says told him he'd get his deposit back. The document is nothing of the sort. It is a condition report whereby the complainant signs acknowledging he didn't have the carpets cleaned (he lived there almost a year with a dog), and it does not in any way address his deposit.

Two different brokers at AY Realty have spoken with the complainant in an attempt to resolve his concerns. We're frustrated that he does not understand the reason for the retention, but his assertions are not truthful in terms of his conversation with **** (she talked to him at the move out, not prior to them deciding to move early - they were the ones who told us they were leaving early), and the document he references which I've provided to the BBB that he misrepresented in his complaint. He was not asked to leave his lease early, and neither AY Realty nor the homeowner gained anything by him breaking his lease contract.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No I don't accept their lies. ******* lied to us when she said they had a renter. Having a renter to me means a lease agreement was signed. They had nothing but HOPE from ****. My girlfriend had a job at Home Depot and would have stayed in the home for another month so we didn't have to pay 2 rentals but ******* said they had a tenant. BOLD FACED LIE. Then to say that the damage deposit was withheld because we didn't clean the carpet? REALLY? There was ONLY carpet up the stairs and the carpet WAS NOT cleaned before we moved in. We pointed it out to the owner of AY Realty who made note of it when we pointed it out....but he was so hung over that day he couldn't wait to get out. The carpet wasn't cleaned and we returned it uncleaned but cleaner than it was before we moved in.
When I called ******* after the letter stating that we wouldn't get ANY of our deposit back....******* yet again LIED to me saying she agreed and would be getting us a check for the damage deposit. Only to realize she was lying yet again just to appease me and get me off the phone. She is incompetent and untrustworthy. AY REALTY leased that property to us with unclean carpet....90+ nail holes in 1 bedroom alone that I filled and painted the room. These people are liars I intend on filing a complaint with the Board of Realtors and I intend on finding out if******** is actually a licensed agent. He initially said we could get out of our lease a month early with no problem because we'd always paid on time and it was only 1 month and we gave plenty of notice to get it rented by the first of the month. But....he failed to advertise it...as we were checking daily. No sign...No Nothing. So we called******** and he said he'd get a sign out and start advertising it. He still didn't get a sign in front of the property and he ran ads without any pictures. Really********. About zero effort to assist us when we did everything we could to give them notice....keep the house clean all the time for showings (which never happened because no effort was put in to rent the place out) Then******** FINALLY told us that we'd be responsible for the time that the place didn't rent. Different from his first statement. But to be expected. ******** better be a licensed agent or AY Realty will have some real problems on their hands.
They've got our money. They've got no conscience and obviously justify their inept agency....but I intend on making my voice heard about their misrepresentation for a long time and especially to the board of realtors regarding ******* and********. I want to see the form that we signed when moving in that noted the scratches in the flooring and the unclean carpet, nail holes and electrical plate missing from the light switch in the bedroom. Dangerous to say the least...but I put a plate on for them when I painted the room. I will file in small claims court to collect from these people and show the pictures that I have of the less than perfect rental. Claiming the carpets weren't cleaned is their way of scamming people out of money and I'd bet money that they didn't clean them before the new tenant moved in. Please forward the move in sheet from the new tenant if you dare.
Bottom line....I don't accept the response from this company.

Final Business Response
AY Realty has a commitment to resolving complaints; but our contracted customer in this case is the owner of this home, who rightfully withheld this deposit primarily for an early lease break. AY Realty gains nothing from a retained deposit and has no financial interest in the complainant's deposit.

I have sent the BBB the initial walk through sheet, signed by the complainant at move in, that proves he not being truthful with the documentation at move in that he states in his complaint. I previously sent the BBB the move out document showing he was not truthful in his initial complaint about what ******* signed (complainant chose not to address this in his counter-response).

The complainant indicates the home was not shown or advertised. This is untrue, and belies the idea that he thought we had rented the home (you can't have it both ways). In fact we showed the home several times in an effort to rent before he left, but ultimately, he signed a lease, a binding contract, to be responsible until the end of the lease term.

AY Realty enforces leases for its homeowners, and the statements from the complainant are untrue regarding ******* telling him the property was leased,******** initial telling him he could just break the lease early, and the actions at the move in of the property.




Final Consumer Response
I never saw their response until I received this message. I am not satisfied with their response as it is filled with lies. My girlfriend
and I were both present at the final walk thru with ******* who made all the false statements as to deposits being returned. She
was on the phone most of the time giving other people her attention and ignoring us. We aren't young children. We're both 55yo
give or take and have rented several places in the past several years with outstanding reviews of our cooperation to rent a property,
the condition of the property when we left. This company has the owners son working and representing himself as a licensed agent.
******* straight up lied to both of our faces and denies she ever spoke to me. Obviously the BBB is unable to do anything to resolve
the issues as it is one persons word against another. But I will make my voice heard on every review sight I can find and hopefully
steer others away from these incompetent and fraudulent liars that obviously will do anything for the $$$. Amazing to me that one
of the reasons they kept our damage deposit was because of a few nails holes that we'd told ******* we were leaving since they
were in obvious places for pictures which she said was okay.......but the fact of the matter I patched over 90 holes in 1 bedroom and
therefore had to repaint the entire room to make it acceptable. But it is what it is.....and I will deal with them in other ways.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/04/2012Business started: 11/18/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Shinn (Owner/Broker)Ms. Yvette Shinn (Accountant)
Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate

Products & Services

Property management - home rental and monthly management; 9.5% (110 min) all inclusive monthly management with no extras; 44% new renter placement including first month management.

Hours of Operation

24/7

Refund and Exchange Policy

Monthly management can be canceled by customer at any time with no notice required.

Service Area

El Paso County to Denver/Aurora


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AY Realty LLC has received 4.12 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AY Realty LLC

1155 Kelly Johnson Blvd #111

Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3957

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1155 Kelly Johnson Blvd #111 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3957

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AY Realty LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 213-7384
  • (800) 488-0952
  • (719) 213-7384
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.