BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Colorado

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2012

Triple O Movers

(719) 597-6683View Additional Phone Numbers613 Valley St, Colorado SpringsCO 80915-3719 Send email to Triple O MoversView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Local Moving Company in Colorado Springs. We are family owned and operated doing local moves and long distance moves for the public and military in Colorado Springs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2012

BBB has determined that Triple O Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Triple O Movers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Triple O Movers' rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Triple O Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
01/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: I utilized Triple O Movers in October of 2013. I had a fine experience with them up to the point of moving us in to our new home. At that time I noticed they had broken our Dyson vacuum, broke the top of our dining room table (which they acknowledged), broke 4 frames, a filing cabinet, a dresser, and various other items. I contacted them via email and voice call over 30 times in three months. Various times they had told me my claim was being worked on and that we would be contacted. The Denver office eventually stopped returning my calls so I called the corporate office and founder of the company who I had told my experience. He said he would rectify it and submit our claim to insurance. It has been over a month since this has happened and they continue to answer the phone and make excuses as to why they don't know where things stand. The owner has not returned a call since the initial complaint.

Initial Business Response
Hello Sir This is ************** It has been two weeks since i have talked to you on the phone. I have done, what i told you i would do and turned everything into out insurance agency. ********* (our Insurance agent) has contacted you to rectify the situation. I am sorry for your bad experience and will continue to follow up with **** until it is all figured out. Claims do not settle fast and i am doing everything i possible can to push it through. Once again sir i am sorry for the bad experience and will continue to do what i can for you and your family.

You Should Also Have *********s Information but if not here it is again.
*********
************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I used Triple O Movers to move from Denver to Alaska. In the move we lost a brand new television, an ipod, an ipod shuffle, and a digital camera. Of the items that did arrive one original piece of artwork arrived with the glass shattered and some damage to the piece because of it. We have left emails and voicemails with no response from the company in several months. My husband filed a claim will ***********, the owner, in April. This claim form was not received until 3 weeks after it had been promised and after numerous phone calls. That claim was specifically for the TV before we realized that the other items were missing and/or broken as well. Both my husband and I have tried to call and have sent several emails to all 3 contacts we were given ****, *****, and ********, to try to get new claim forms for the additional missing items and damage. Again, we have had no response about our original claim and the opportunity to add the additional items to our claim.
Product_Or_Service: Movers

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: On June 10th, I filled out a web-based form to gather bids for my move on June 15th. I was contact by someone named ***** & someone named **** from Triple O Movers. I spoke to ***** on the phone who quoted me three men & a large truck for $110 plus one hour for drive time. ***** assured me that all movers are in uniform and professional. I confirmed the reservation by email to **** at which point I listed, again, all the items to be moved. I also stated that due to the short notice of our move, I didn't want the truck to arrive until noon so I could ensure we were ready. **** told me by email that noon wouldn't be a problem.

However, the day before the move, I got a call from ***** who made me feel like it was burdensome for him to have a late start time. He said he usually sends the truck out at 8am. I explained that I could not have my boxes packed and ready by then. Although I had already discussed my move IN DETAIL with ***** on June 10th & followed up with an email to **** on the same day, ***** was under the impression that I was moving a 1 bedroom apartment. Who knows where he got that information. After a lot of guilt tripping & whining on *****'s part, I reluctantly agreed to 10am which resulted in me having to move a lot of things myself because I WAS NOT READY!

Although, I knew I should have canceled the reservation right then & there, I felt I would have had a hard time finding another company on such short notice.

Futhermore, again, although ***** assured me that the crew would show up in uniforms so I would know they weren't off the street, that didn't happen. No one was in uniform. For all I know, they could have been off the street.

When they finally arrived, the first thing I noticed was that they brought a truck that was too small for the furniture I EMAILED to **** on June 10th...thus making the move a 2 trip move. Unacceptable.

3 men began moving furniture at 10:15 am...by 11:30am they were all sitting in or standing by the truck on a smoke break. Barely an hour into the move, they were on a break. They took several breaks thereafter. Unbelievable!

These 3 men moved in slow motion! I absolutely believe that they were milking the time. I have moved several times and have NEVER seen a group of men move so slow. The move took a little more than 8 hours! Unacceptable! I overheard ***** on the phone while he was hanging out on the truck at the new house before leaving for the 2nd (half) load saying that he "should be able to get 3 or 4 more hours out of this". This crew was CLEARLY milking the clock to get a bigger pay day. It should not have taken more than 6 hours...just like the other company I used to use & just like I was quoted by ***** and SEVERAL other companies on June 10th. Unfortunately for me, the company I used to use was no longer in business and I relied on the misrepresentations by ***** when booking the appt.

All these things I may have ignored until I found 3 single shot bottles hidden among my sons bedroom items. They were freshly opened and drank. And no, it wasn't my son. He hadn't even been at the house at that time with those items. I am 100% positive that the men from Triple O Movers were drinking then stashed the bottles in my sons room so I would think it was him and so they wouldn't accidentally leave their evidence in the truck. That, of course, would explain why everything was done in slow motion.

I contacted **** at Triple O Movers on June 16th to complain about the service. On Monday, June 17th, **** told me by email that they "just pulled the crew that was on your job and had the men breath tested. No one tested positive." I can't imagine that anyone has ever been drunk enough to test positive more 36 hours later! This was a ridiculous explaination.

**** stated by email over and over again that they wanted to resolve this issue, but in the end, made more misrepresentations and dismissed my concerns altogether.

Business' Initial Response
I am sorry to hear of your distress and your dissatisfaction. We take pride in our service here at Triple O Movers and hope to provide you with some explaination and some resolution to the above listed matters.

Over the phone quotes are an easy and convenient way to obtain and give estimates for both parties involved. However they are conducted over the phone and have their limitations. I understand you also provided a list of your items. This does provide us with more information and is helpful but still has it's limitations. For example: you may list a desk. But what are the dimensions of the desk? Is it a 3 piece corner desk? Or does the desk have shelving attached? It is hard to be entirely accurate without accually seeing all of your possessions, job sight conditions, etc. The estimate you were provided (3 men, 1 truck) wasn't too far of. The truck that was dispatched for your job was a 24 ft truck. This is not a small truck and is a standard size moving truck for local moving companies. This size truck is the biggest size we have in our fleet. Most boxes bigger than this are required to be hauled by a semi-truck. It did take an additional trip for the truck to complete the job but as you indicated in your submission, it was less than half a truck on the last trip. The total time estimated did exceed 6 hours but not by a lot considering a second trip was required. That would make the estimate you were given not too far off. It is important to remember that an estimate is always just that: an estimate.

***** is in charge of operations in our Denver office and has 27 years of experience in this industry. This is not to say that there are never going to be miscommunications in the office during a work day. The information not smoothly being passed between **** and him can be considered human error. I do understand you feeling pressed into an earlier start time than desired. The reason ***** desired an earlier start was he figured it would be a convenience for you. Moving is stressful and depending on the job, a late start can mean the move lasting until the evening. This means rather than relaxing after a long day and musing over how nice the drapes will look over the kitchen sink, you are worried about locating blankets so you can finally go to bed. Most people assure us they would've wished they'd started earlier in the day. His persistance was his belief that the crew could still effectively work while you packed your remaining items. I apologize if it was taken as anything other than courtesy. We are here to serve you any time, day or night.

Our crews are extremely qualified. During the application process they are required to provide us with 2 years verifiable work experience to even be considered. They must also pass a criminal history background check and a drug screening. After they are hired , our workers must past random drug screenings as well. It is company policy for our employees to wear their provided uniforms. I am not sure why they weren't dressed as required that day but the 3 individuals that were on your job that day were repremanded for their decision to not dress appropriately. It is also proceedure for the Lead on the job to call in and provide status reports on how their jobs are going. I believe you may have misheard his comment and that he was probably informing us how much time there was left on the job. We are a family run business whom prides itself on our customer satisfaction. We took your feedback about our workers very seriously. They were placed on a probationary period where all of their conduct could be reviewed and further actions could be taken if deemed necessary. It is our proceedure to administer breath tests and drug screens if we receive information such as that which you gave us. We abided by our proceedure which resulted in no positive results. We were unable to test the crew until we received word from you of their possible conduct which was the following day. Had we received an earlier notifacation, we would have certainly responded quicker. As mentioned above, these individuals were placed on probation so they could be further evaluated by the company.
**** notified you wrongly of the time frame in which the tests were given. I've reviewed the staff logs and each of the personnel files of those involved and see that the tests were conducted the following day. **** is our Sales Manager and most likely just didn't understand what he was told. I apologize for the misinformation.

Since this situation we have implemented some office practices that have ensured miscommunications such as the ones above will not happen again. We have also started dispatching our crews with customer feedback sheets. This gives us quick, on the spot feedback from our customers in regards to the entire move.

In regards to your request for financial reimbursement I have found no conclusive evidence that would support such action. Although you are obviously dissatisfied, I believe your job was carried out effectively and in it's entirety nor was anything damaged and/or broken. I apologize that the estimated time was exceeded but no estimate made is a binding one unless stipulated or agreed to. We took action with the crew and made corrective actions to improve office communications. But these miscommunications did not affect your bill. I hope that I have been able to provide you with some insight and explaination and that our actions are in fact sufficient. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: This company calls me constantly. I've told them I do not require their services at this time but they continue to call and irritate me. They leave urgently marked messages in my voicemail as well. I have received 13 calls within 3 hours before from them.

Business' Initial Response
We receive information from internet lead sources who sell these leads to many different companies. We contact these people to give them requested information about moving. We generally receive between 15 to 40 leads a day, because of that volume we don't have staff to contact anyone that many times. We believe that she had received calls from multiple companies, not just us. Attached is the email of the lead that we contacted.

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer supplied email: Trailblazer1792@hotmail.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Triple O Movers crew helped me move July 19th scheduled for 1300 arrived at 1700. My patio set is bent. My hand carved statue was dropped on concrete and laughed about it as if it would be ok. This move has cost us more distress then relieve. I don't condone your employee dropping my belongings and being under the influence during work hours. He felt so comfortable that he told me and my friend " yeah i was getting high on break!" I gave the crew the benefit of the doubt. I could not talk to the person in charge, because he suddenly disappeared and disbanding his crew and leaving somebody inexperienced in charge. As the lead being responsible for the delivery and the condition of delivery of my belongings. My boxes were stacked insecure and without any sense. Fragile stuff at the bottom of stacked boxes or fragile on top of slightly tilted boxes. We requested boxes and they never brought them. my plants died and where broken. Simply very bad work ethics and no respect for my belongings. No walk through after unloading. The truck was not swept out and my belongings were dirtier then before. I ordered the truck for 1pm. It would have been a simple move and max 3 hours. But it took 5 hours and thats what they charged me too. From 5pm to 10pm. My whole day was wasted and I had to cancel appt. no courtesy call and rude customer service talking to the reception. Even though all the information triple o movers were provided the receptionist asked again for it. She seemed like there were no notes taken for our appt

Business' Initial Response
****,
we here at Triple O Movers would like to apologize for the way in which your move was conducted and address each issue you raised so that we can in turn reach a resolution.

I do show that your original move time was set at 1 pm on the 19th of July. Due to events happening that day our dispatcher was going to be hard pressed to meet the initial start time. You were contacted by phone and informed of the situation and asked if we could move your start time out. You kindly consented.

When availability presented itself, a crew was dispatched to your residence but with an alteration. The dispatcher added himself to the job for the inconvenience with no added charge. This means you received an extra man with no additional charge which would allow your job to finish faster thus save you money. You were informed of the courtesy and once again thanked for your patience.

After the crew of 3 finished the load portion of the job, the dispatch removed himself from the job to attend to some other business related matters. The original Lead on the job was reinstated as the active Lead. My dispatcher notified you that he was leaving and whom the Lead would now be on the job. He gave you his number and let you know he could be contacted with any questions.

The Lead on the job is well qualified and has been assigned his position for a reason. This is not to say that human error will never occur on a job. Accidents can happen. The crew admitted that there had been some laughter that had occurred when an item was dropped. I know these men and I know they were not laughing it off or laughing at you. Sometimes when people become nervous or anxious they laugh. I understand how irritated one would become if they had the impression something wasn't being taken seriously that should be. I apologize for the way their laughter made you feel.

Upon hearing that the crew was possibly involved in narcotics activity they were immediately drug tested as is company policy. Both men passed their tests (results were negative). Upon questioning the crew stated that there had been some drug activity being conducted on the residence and that they were invited to participate in. Put on the spot but not wanting to be rude, one of the movers made a remark that was not professional. Due to his lack of professionalism this individual was in fact reprimanded. Our employees are expected to conduct themselves professionally regardless of the situation.

In regards to the way your boxes were unloaded and stacked the crew and dispatcher have all stated that you were rushing the crew to leave as fast as possible. You were upset about an item that they had dropped (the statue you mentioned in your submission) and wanted the crew to leave. I understand your distress. I also understand that when people are moving as fast as they can, quality is often sacrificed. They were however following your direction.

Concerning your interaction with the "receptionist" I think you're a bit off course with your claim. It was actually our Office Manager whom you were speaking with that day and whom was just trying to ensure customer satisfaction. Making sure she has all of the details correct hardly seems like grounds for you to accuse her of being rude. She is a highly respected professional in this industry.

As far as the requested "approach" from us in regards to your damaged items, we already solved this issue with you over the phone the evening of the move. Due to the damages we agreed to not charge you the full $467.50 you owed. We agreed to charge you for 3 hours of work rather than the 5 1/2 it took. We only charged your credit card $255 as agreed. This "reimbursed" you $212.50 for the damages. We already made an arrangement and would ask you to honor it. Thank you

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Triple O Movers,
Thank you for your response. I appreciated the dispatcher taking it upon himself to assist with our move. However, as I was reading your response it became apparent to me that you may not have been aware that there were a total of four men assisting with our move not just three (which would have been the two men that were originally promised plus the dispatcher). The dispatcher presented himself as the lead on the job, until later when he turned the Lead position over to the other gentleman. At the end of the move we asked the 'Lead' if we could speak to who was in charge, he quickly referred us to the 'dispatcher', and got him on the phone.
The fourth man on the job was the one that was causing most, if not all, of our dismay. At no point during the move were your employees invited to partake in any drug usage. This fourth man outright stated that he had been using drugs in the truck (while they were waiting for the rain to stop) and laughing about it. This fourth man needs to be drug tested as well. This was the same man that had dropped our items and then laughed about it. We had asked him to no longer handle any of the fragile items, to which he said "Well I can just leave if you want me to then" in a sarcastic and rude manner. The lead quickly told him to be quiet and get to work. This had happened while they were unloading our items. At this point it was around 830 p.m. so we told them to put the furniture in the house and the boxes in the garage, making it easier on them and us. It should be understandable on why we may have been rushing them.
During our move it rained very hard for about 45 min- 1 hr. At this time the men stopped working and went inside the dispatchers SUV. No one told us that they would be charging us for this time. If I knew that Triple O Movers was going to try and charge us for that hour of no work then I would have had a tarp ready for them to keep working. I understand that we cannot control the weather and that they did not want to damage our furniture with the rain. I do not understand why they would try to charge us for this time. The "reimbursement", as you call it, that we received was not offered to us but rather we had to ask to speak to the person in charge - the dispatcher.
I appreciate the receptionist trying to ensure our satisfaction, and as a highly respected professional in the industry I would expect the receptionist to know who and why she was calling. I hope the receptionist will gather that information next time in future customer interaction.
Overall, I will not use or recommend Triple O Movers to anyone. However, I will recommend that the Union take them off of their recommendation lists so that no one will have to go through this trouble. It appears that Triple O Movers needs to take a second look at their communication skills and their position descriptions. I would also like to request that you speak to your crew about the fourth man that was assisting. It appears that he may not have even been a Triple O Mover by his actions, which would not be acceptable.

Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

05/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: These guys are horrible and downright criminal they didn't know how to pack anything, didn't bring tools to take things apart (they asked to use my tools) and didn't put anything back together upon arrival. The movers asked for gratuity and didn't even know how to pronounce it and then asked for weed instead. They packed stuff that wasn't supposed to go to inflate the shipping weight. They stole an I-pad, a wifi docking station, and speakers. They never called me back and emailed the claim form 4 days after they said they would. They ripped my king size bed, took my daughters doll house apart and then lost the screws, took apart my daughters wagon and lost the parts to put it back together, destroyed my mountain bike and a bike stroller, they put a hole in my daughters dresser, they destroyed her little kitchen all in all they destroyed over $5000.00 worth of my stuff! They told me all fees had been paid and then charged me a "stair" fee of $28.00.

Business' Initial Response
This customer signed an estimate at $0.10 per pound coverage. He did not pay for additional insurance, for full replacement value. His shipment went to Hawaii, and another company handled his items there. As far as missing items, nothing he listed as missing was on the inventories. His shipment weighed 1300 lbs, and the weight including the containers it was shipped in, weighed 1700 lbs. At that weight and the agreed insurance coverage, he is entitled to $130 as a claim.

Consumer's Final Response
Not satisfied they need to replace my damaged stuff they broke they hired the other company to move my stuff into my Hawaii home and need to take responsibility for the damage. As I was unaware they would even be using a different company here in Hawaii.***** my sales rep with tripe o said "we take care of everything" not some other company.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Supplies, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/14/2011Business started: 04/02/2010
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joshua Osborne (Owner)
Business Category

Movers, Moving Supplies, Moving & Storage Company

Products & Services

Local Colorado Springs Moves, Long Distance Colorado Springs Moves, Moving Boxes For Sale, Moving Supplies For Sale.

Alternate Business Names
Dedication Movers, Dedication Ultd LLC
Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Triple O Movers

613 Valley St

Colorado Springs, CO 80915-3719

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 613 Valley St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80915-3719(719) 684-3212

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Triple O Movers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 684-3212
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.