BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Griffith Maintenance & Irrigation

(719) 574-85627715 Venture St, Colorado SpringsCO 80951-9721http://www.griffithmaintenance.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Griffith Maintenance & Irrigation is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Griffith Maintenance & Irrigation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Griffith Maintenance & Irrigation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In June 2013, Griffith Maintenance and Irrigation adjusted and repaired my sprinkler system to water more efficiently. Following the service, **** (sprinkler technician) contacted me and advised the sprinkler system was good to go and no further work was needed. With the exception of 1 area, improvement was noted. This one area was not receiving enough water and still appeared dry. I contacted Griffith Maintenance and Irrigation and asked them to recheck this sprinkler head as it was obvious the lawn was not getting enough water. When I spoke with ****** and asked for them to recheck the work, I was never advised of the possibility for any additional fees, nor would I assume this being I was asking them to recheck their work.

**** (sprinkler technician) responded an advised the head was operating correctly and more water was needed in this area. I explained to them that I understood that and that was the reason for original call for service was to repair/adjust the sprinkler heads so the grass could get enough water. **** provided no solution other than to add more water via an alternative method.

On July 9, 2013, I received a bill from Griffith Maintenance and Irrigation for a $45 service fee due to them checking the sprinkler a second time. I paid them approximatley $90.00 to check the sprinkler system the first time and make repairs and was told the system was good to go and no further work was recommended. Based on the results of all areas of my lawn but this one section, I could only assume that the technician had not properly adjusted this head. Now I am being charged a second time?

I have made multiple attempt to rectify this issue with Griffith Maintenance and Irrigation with no success. I was advised by the person answering the phones (******) that the owner, ****, would call me to discuss this matter. This occurred on July 9, 2013. He never called me back. I called the company on July 24, and August 4 and left messages asking for **** to call me back with no success. On August 6, 2013 I called Griffith Maintenance and Irrigation inquiring as to why my phone calls were never returned. I spoke with ****** and was told after she spoke with ****, there was nothing for he and I to discuss despite my concerns.

As per their website, "Our policy concerning satisfaction is unmatched in the Front Range area". I cannot help but question this, as **** will not return my phone calls to even explain the reason I am being charged a second time.

Desired Settlement
I do not feel as though I should be charged $45 for a company to recheck their work. Per their website, their policy concerning satifaction is unmatched in the Front Range Area. I was not satisfied with the original service, called them to recheck the work, and was charged again.

Consumer's Final Response
This complaint has been resolved satisfactorily

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB file opened: 02/23/1996Business started: 01/01/1989
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Griffith Maintenance & Irrigation

7715 Venture St

Colorado Springs, CO 80951-9721

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7715 Venture St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80951-9721(719) 574-8562

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Griffith Maintenance & Irrigation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.