BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2009

Service Engineering LLC

(719) 471-1111975 Garden of the Gods Rd #I, Colorado SpringsCO 80907-3434 Send email to Service Engineering LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2009

BBB has determined that Service Engineering LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Service Engineering LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Service Engineering LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have rental house in CS. we live out of town. There is an active duty couple currently living there.
The Serivce Engineering service was called initially by our tenants for nonfunction furnace 2/28/13. service technician told us nothing was wrong, but charged us for limited cleaning.
On April 8th, furnace was not working again. Initially the same technician proposed inducer motor was the problems so we ok'ed the repair. Then April 9th he said it could be the capacitor. We wanted to obtain an second opinion at that time with all the discrepancy. However it was during the snow storm week,we wanted to have heat as soon as we can for the tenants. We authrized them for the repair. Next day service man called and states now it's the blower motor, it will cost us over $900 for fixing the furnace in order to work. That is included all labor/parts. He also states will wave our diagnostic fees since they were just called on 2/28/13. We asked him at what point needs new furnace? and price? He said it will cost little over $3000 to get a new furnace. Due to the emergency weather and finance , we decided to go ahead to change the blower motor as he recommended .

On April 10th, he called back said the blower motor did not fix the furnace, now needs to change to a new furnase which will cost us over $4500. I told him we are not happy with that answer for several reasons ( inablity to figure out the problem, delaying the repair, and huge fluctuation of the price.) I told him I will discuss with husband and let them know if any service will need.
We decided to have a second opinion. ****** ******* service came that afternoon, initally thought maybe due to the blower motor, but shortly decided the furnace needs to be replaced at cost of $2300 include labor and parts. New furnace was changed next day. We did not hear anything else further from Service engineering. We got a credit card charge of $921 on April 16th.
We called them back, states we are not paying for a service that did not fix our furnace problem. They told us 3 different problems at different times, delayed the repair that made our tenants lived in the house without heat during the snow storm. She states she understands that but her blower motor was installed, now it's missing, and she is unable to get that back now.She required us to split the bill to cover for the motor cost. We attempted to call the ****** ******* service to verify the motor status, initially they states they did not see any new motor. Then Monday AM, **** from family service called us, and told us found the motor. Will be glad to return the motor to them.
We called service engineer again Monday AM, give her that piece of informtion,was hoping she can wave the motor fee. However she did not reason with us, still demand the half price to cover the motor.
I have called ****** ******* service back, told them to hold on to that motor till we have more resolution. I also asked him the status of the motor, he said it's good since it's not been used at all. He is even willing to buy from us.
We are seeking your help. We are the harmed consumers. We have never delayed any bill payments, and have always payed them fully in past . The service is taking advange of us that we are not intown.They take advantage of the bad weather. Their unskilled service caused us/tenants so much inconvience. And their signficant cost variation is also a very important concern.
Please help us

Desired Settlement
we are willing to have ****** ******* service return the motor, and will not pursue further legal action/claims again them, if Service engineering will not charge us for reasons include:
1. Undelivered service/repair as promised would
2. recent call on 2/28 which we already paid close to $200 for a limited cleaning. He told us it will cover under warranty.
3. physical, emotion harm they have cost us , and our tenants suffered due to their incompentency.

Business' Initial Response
We were contacted on 2/27 to respond to a no heat call.Upon arrival we found the furnace and sensors were dirty and recommended a comprehensive service and cleaning.The client declined,but approved a basic service.The service was performed and the unit was operating properly.On 4/8 we responded to a no heat call at the same property, we arrived on site and found a defective capacitor. Client agreed to have us make the repair. Once the capacitor was replaced, it was apparent the blower motor was defective as well. We called the client and they approved the motor replacement and gave us her credit card with the authorization code. We explained we would return the next day as the motor was a direct replacement from the manufacturer. We returned on 4/9 and replaced the motor. Upon start up it was determined that since the motor had failed it had also caused the blower relay on the control board to fail. We spoke with Ms. *** regarding replacement of the furnace and explained that we would deduct the amount of the repairs from the cost of a new furnace if they had us replace the furnace. Ms. *** said she would like to speak with her husband and would call us back. We never received a return call. At that time we processed the payment and invoice for the work that was performed. On 4/16 verified that there was a permit pulled through Regional Building to replace the furnace. At this point we had not heard back from the client regarding the furnace replacement. On 4/15 we received a call from Mr. **** questioning the charge. I explained to him that the service had been performed. We do not hold a crystal ball and could not have seen that the control board was defective without replacing the blower motor. I also explained the Mr. **** that I had spoken with *** from ****** ******* and their diagnosis was the same. Originally a defective blower motor, ****** ******* replaced the blower motor (the one we installed the day before) and determined the control board was bad. At that point ****** ******* quoted a new furnace and received authorization to replace. I do not know what it costs the other company to replace a furnace, only what it costs for my company to replace a furnace so we can remain in business. Service Engineering did what we said we were going to do. We replaced the blower motor and capacitor. Just because it was removed the following day, and is in good shape doesn't mean I can sell it to another consumer. That would be the true dis-service. Having the motor returned to us will not help us at this point, it is used, and in good conscience I will not sell it again. Service Engineering offered to split the bill with Mr. **** in good faith. We did perform a service, Mr. **** has every right to use the company of his choice to replace the furnace based on whatever reason he chooses. However, it does NOT change the fact that we did replace the motor and capacitor as we said we would. I appreciate Mr. ****'s frustration.I understand Mr. **** doesn't want to pay Service Engineering in addition to the fees he paid for the furnace replacement, however, we did perform a service. We did do what we said we were going to do and we deserve to get paid for the services that were rendered. In response to Mr. ****'s desired resolution: 1. Whether the motor is returned or not, we can not ethically re-install it as it has been used. 2. Regarding "undelivered service/repair as promised would" - We did deliver a service. 3. Recent call on 2/28 was almost $200, incorrect, Mr. **** paid $139. 3. "physical,emotion harm they have cost us, and our tenants suffered due to their incompentency" - Please note when ****** ******* responded, they also determined the blower motor was defective, once they replaced it, they determined the control board was also defective, at that point they quoted a new furnace. Stating that we are "taking advantage", "incompatent", and that our pricing is a "significant cost variation" are all accusations that I take very seriously. We are here to provide a service and I am well aware that without our clients, we will be unable to do that. I feel we have tried to be fair in this situation with our resolutions, however, they obviously have not been acceptable to Mr. ****. Please contact me for any additional information that may be needed. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not accept the rsponse from the business. Our main purpose to contact service engenieering was to fix the broken furnance that is urgently needed to provide heat for our tenant. Service engenieer initial diagnositc outcome was that motor is bad and need to be repair. Service engineer provided us a quote to replace motor and STATED that will fix the problem. As a honest consumer, we agree for service engenieer to repair the motor for our furnace under the understanding that this will fix our furnace. However, technician call us back on April,10, 2013 stating that not just motor is bad but new controlle board will need to be repair and recommend replacing the whole furnace which would reult in 4720 dollars. Under no circustance, were My wife and or I told initial 921 dollars will be replied to the total charge on the date of 4/10/13. Discussion of deduction occur only after we filed complain against the service engeneer with american express and BBB. From a cusumer stand point. We are willing to pay for the motor if it fixed our furnace. However, this is definately not the case. By following service engineer's recommendation, it leades to bigger repair. It is at that point we feel service engineering's technician might not be up to the job. I believe that tecninican from Service engineer should have use used motor instead of new motor to run the furance and see if it will work before recommending us to install the new motor. Therefore we asked family heating to take look at our furnace and give us second opinion on this. ****** heating technician told us the furnace need to be repair and give us much lower cost to replace the furnace. At this point, We denied Service Engineering's charge for a motor that cost 921 becuase we do not believe that new motor fix our furnace. If replacing motor acutally result in fixing our furance we will not be filing this complaint. I have tried to contact Service Enginneringo on nemours occasion to explain this. However, Serice Engineering responded back that charge was for to repair the motor which cost 921 not the furnace. And Service Enginner state they dont have crystal ball when doing diagnostic evalution and additional repair and cost may occur. I am a honest consumer who believed that cost to repair/replace furnace should only be charge after problem is fixed. We do not accept Service Engeineering's view that just because a "service is provided" then it should be reimbursed for; even when that service which was charged for did not result in fixing the problem.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Water Heaters - Installation/Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1986Business started: 11/01/1979New Owner Date: 04/13/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brandi Walters (Managing Director)Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Koski (Client Services Manager)Mr. Jared Ledford (Member)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Water Heaters - Installation/Repair

Industry Tips
Heating Service Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Service Engineering LLC

975 Garden of the Gods Rd #I

Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3434

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 975 Garden of the Gods Rd #I 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3434(719) 471-1111

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Service Engineering LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating Service Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.