BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1980

Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing Inc

(719) 594-0991View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 25596, Colorado SpringsCO 80936-5596 Send email to Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Parkey's Heating and Air Conditioning provides HVAC service and installation. Whether it's heating, Air Conditioning or plumbing we are here for you.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1980

BBB has determined that Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $218.64 plus $16.68 tax for a furnace hot surface flame igniter
(Honeywell Q 3200U). This part is generally priced for less than $40.00. Parkey's service tech Jason, stated "this is a very expensive part". This statement is a complete fabrication. This part is one of the lowest priced parts in the furnace system. After the service call I obtained the exact same part from another source for $25.00. I placed 3 calls to the company and requested the owner ( *** *****) to contact me. Now after 5 days still no response.
In researching Parkey's company I was able to find the exact same complaint from another customer.
I am not disputing Parkey's trip fee of $ 79.00, that charge is about normal. I am requesting a refund of $175.00 for the gouging over price of the part, and possibly labor flat rate. The two prices are combined as one total on the invoice as flat rate, so I am unable to determine actual cost of labor versus part. Tax appears to be charged on the total amount of the $218.64, so I am viewing the $218.64 as being for the part, as tax should not be charged on labor. This refund request amount still leaves Parkey's plenty of money on the table for their fair mark up on the price of the part.
I had diagnosed the problem before the tech's arrival, and I also installed the part with tech's supervision. Installation is a very easy and straight forward process. All Jason did was to provide the part and twist adjust the mounting bracket of the igniter to insure gas ignition fire up after I installed the part. Jason's total time in participation of completing the actual repair amounted to less than 15 minutes. The remainder time on site was spent in his service vehicle completing the invoice. I have no issue with Jason's skill set, only the gross overcharge for the part, and the deceptive misleading statement concerning the price.
It is unfortunate that *** Parkey's company chooses to defraud customers rather than build customer confidence.
Parkey's invoice #***** - Dated 03-31-16. (actual service date was on 03-30-16), not 03-31-16.
Total invoice is $314.32 Paid by check #****

Desired Settlement
Requesting refund of $175.00 for gouging overcharge.

Business Response
May 4, 2016

In dispute regarding the above case number our response is as follows:
Our company, as many do industry wide, use a flat rate book to charge for the services we provide. The book is produced by a reputable company called **************. The flat rate book prices are not dictated by Parkey‪s. included in The price of providing the service are also diagnostic fees, travel time involved, Vehicle maintence, operating costs for the business i.e. office personnel. Understandably Mr. ****** made a diagnosis of his unit but our tech did have to verify that it was the correct diagnosis as a trained professional. Many parts can be purchased by consumers over the internet for a less amount than the parts we provide, however in keeping with the quality of our service we only use OEM replacement parts as they have warranties and parts are purchased locally to lessen the down time a homeowner has to wait for a repair. Prior to any work being done once the diagnostic is made and repair costs are estimated, we require the homeowner to sign the authorization part of the invoice so that the homeowner is aware of the cost before the repair is completed. At any time prior to the repair the homeowner can decline the cost of the repair and only be charged the trip fee. Mr. ****** did sign the invoice prior to the repair. Our proposal to this issue is to deduct 10% from the invoice if Mr. ****** will agree that this matter is settled.


Consumer Response
05-06-2016
RE Parkey's response 05-04-2016 to my complaint with BBB case # ********.

Another false statement from Parkey's.
I was not informed of cost of replacement other than the statement of "it's very expensive, I might have on on the truck". I did not sign nor was asked to sign any authorization for repair order before work was done. My only signature was on the final invoice after completion.

As far as their 10% deduction to "settle issue", that is the discount they offer to senior citizens as I am, so the offer is inconsequential. I was not offered the 10% senior discount on the original invoice, I had to contact them for the discount. I declined the discount because they wanted to keep the original check I provided at the time of the repair until I sent another check, then they would destroy the original. If I had sent another check with the %10 discount I firmly believe I would still be fighting for the refund of the original check.

As I stated in my first filing of the complaint, I do not disagree with the trip fee charges.

The final invoice at the time of service combines the cost of the repair part with a labor charge as a total, no separation of the two charges. Tax charges of $16.68 listed are for the total excluding the trip fee. If the combined tax charge for the $218.64 is for labor and parts assessed together it is incorrect. Labor is not taxed.

The 10% discount for settlement is rejected.

Final Business Response
As there was no second check sent and the original check was deposited Parkey's would like to resolve this by offering the following resolution. The difference in the original amount and the senior discount price is $10.00, in addition we will take an additional 10% off the adjusted price for a total refund of $40.44 PROVIDING Mr ****** rescinds his complaint and agrees that Parkey's handled his complaint in a fair manor

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05-278-16
BBB Case ********

In the interest of resolving this issue, as I and Parkey's do not have the time to continue prolonging this complaint I will accept their offer of $40.44.

Owen ******
05-27-16

10/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 9/11/201 a technician from Parkey's Plumbing replaced an outdoor water faucet at my home. The estimated cost was $241.00 (on top of a $79 service call charge). I asked why it was so expensive and the technician told me that it was a big job and required him to go in and out of the house frequently. I agreed to the estimate. The job took 50 minutes and the technician had me do the work from the outside while he did the work from the inside! This involved holding the new faucet in place while he set it on the inside. This cut down considerably on his "in and out". Had he told me the job would take 50 minutes and that I was going to have to help, I would never have agreed to the $241 charge. The inside site was very accessible and he said that he did not realize this until he started the job. I asked him if he could lower the charge due to 1) unexpected easy accessibility and 2) that I had to assist him in completing the job. He said that he could not change the charge but that I could call *** ****** (owner). I have left 2 messages with the receptionist explaining the situation asking **. ****** to call me. To date, he has not returned my call. I think I was charged too much for the job that took only 50 minutes, and that the technician should have told me prior to my agreeing to the estimate that he would need me to assist since it was a two person job. When asked, the technician said that he could not have done the job by himself and that he knew this prior to my signing the estimate.

Desired Settlement
I would like a call from **. ****** to discuss the situation and a partial refund. Invoice #*****

Business Response
I spoke with our customer and I believe we came to an agreement that is more than satisfactory to both parties.

Consumer Response
I received a call from **. ****** and this issue has been resolved to my satisfaction. He is providing me with a partial refund. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Final Consumer Response

03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1/12/15 I noticed the backup of the drain by the heater and the drain to the downstairs shower. I called Parkey's and a technician showed up on 1/13/15 about 1:00pm. I showed him where the water was backing up, in both drains. The technician immediately said "It was roots" and ran the clean-out mechanism from the garage to the street. He saw the sewer lid in the street and knew about where the line had to go. After running his line he ran water from the bathroom sink and saw bubbles coming from the toilet and said it was still clogged. He ran 120 feet of his clean-out mechanism and said "I know this is enough line to the street sewer" he said his line wasn't coming back as fast as it should so there was a problem in the line out to the main sewer. He ran water in the sink again and said it was still clogged and told me "you need to have a video done to see what the problem is". He recommended another plumber that had video. He recommended to me not to run water so the video plumber could see clearly what the problem was. The same plumber about half hour later called me up to ask how well I knew my neighbors, to talk to them to see if they were having any problems. I spoke to both neighbors on either side of me and neither were having problems with their drains. I had to weight 2 days before the new plumber was able to come out. When they came unfortunately the minimum charge to run the video is over $100.00. This would not bother me if there was a problem there. They ran the video and I watched some of that, and they said there was no problem out to the sewer. The new plumber found another access hole and cleaned out that part of the drain and charging a little over $100.00 for that clean-out which fixed the problem. I called Parkey's up on Friday 1/16/15 they told me someone would get back to me. No one called, on Tuesday 1/20/15 I called Parkey's again and talked to (*) explained to him I paid $327.61 with my Visa credit card, Invoice #***** and the problem still existed. I explained I would be ok with paying them the initial $79.00 (show up fee) but I didn't feel comfortable with paying the $248.61 fee for misdiagnosing and not fixing the problem. He said someone would call me! No one called. On 1/23/15 Friday at 1:11 pm (*) said she would give the information back to (*) when he returned. At 2:06 (*) called back and said he gave the information to (*) and I would get a call back, he said "He would not leave me hanging for the weekend with this problem" NO CALL BACK! On 1/28/15 Wednesday at 10:49am I called again (*) said he would talk to Mr. Parkey and (*) would call me back. At 11:20 (*) called me back and said he wanted my copies of me receipts to the other plumbing company, I explained to him again the problem was with what they had done!

Desired Settlement
I paid $327.61. The problem was misdiagnosed and not fixed. I agree to pay the initial $79.00 show-up/diagnostic fee. I expect to be refunded $248.61

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** Admin. Asst.
Contact Phone:*************
Contact Email: *****************
03/23/2015: After receiving the letter from the BBB regarding this complaint, **********, owner of Parkey's spoke with Mr. **** and they have resolved this issue. With an apology for not getting back to Mr. **** in a timely manner, they agreed it was misdiagnosed, unfortunately, and Parkey's has refunded not only the $ 248.61 Mr. **** requested but the entire amount of $327.61 with our apologies.

Also, thank you to the BBB for working with Parkey's on this and updating our business contact information so if there is another complaint, it will come to the right person to be addressed.

Sincerely,

***********
Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing
************


07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Boilers - New & Used, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Basement Finishing, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/18/1996Business started: 02/12/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Parkey (President)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Boilers - New & Used, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Basement Finishing, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

Forced air units, furnaces, air conditioning, heat pumps, rooftop units, wall & floor heaters, controls & motors, boilers, radiant floors, central air conditioning, mini split systems, electrostatic air cleaners, evaporative coolers

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

El Paso, Teller, Douglas and Park Counties

Alternate Business Names
Parkey's Heating & A/C, Parkey's Refrigeration Company Inc, Parkey's Heating, Plumbing & Air Conditioning Inc
Industry Tips
Heating Service Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing Inc has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 25596 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80936-5596(719) 687-8878
    (719) 594-0991
    (719) 594-0911
    (719) 362-5268
    (719) 355-8902
    (719) 359-4506

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Parkey's Heating, Air Conditioning & Plumbing Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 687-8878
  • (719) 594-0911
  • (719) 362-5268
  • (719) 355-8902
  • (719) 359-4506
  • (719) 362-5267
  • (719) 362-5265
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating Service Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.