BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/26/1997

Kaiser Permanente

Phone: (719) 867-2100

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kaiser Permanente received check #:****, which cleared 2/27/2014 for 62.92. They sent a second bill (the same one again), stating payment had not been received. After calling customer service, the recommended action by them was to make the payment again, while they located the first check. A second payment was then made with check #:****, which cleared 3/20/2014, also for 62.92. The medical insurance activated and moved forward. However, no notification was made regarding the first payment within the first 30 days. Calls were made to customer support, since the bank clearly showed Kaiser Permanente had cashed the first check (****) as well as the second check (****). Kaiser Permanente personnel claimed that they could not find confirmation that **** was ever made. As per customer service request, a fax was sent directly to them with a copy of the paid check. Customer service personnel confirmed they did indeed receive the fax showing payment, and would research the problem, with the final goal being to apply the credit of check#: **** as a future payment on the account. Check #:**** still showed it cleared fine. A case # was not offered during that call. Two more calls were made to Kaiser Permanente over the next 27 days (57 days from initial check being cashed by Kaiser Permanente). A rep named ******* stated that there was a problem internally, since so many new customers had signed up, and many customers were having difficulty, but she would work with us to resolve the problem. SHE gave us a case #: **********, stated that check #: **** was still cleared, that check #: **** had been found on 4/21, and that they would apply it within the next 4-5 business days towards the May 2014 premium. When asked why a May statement had not yet been released, she stated they were so overwhelmed with new customers (an estimate of 60,000 new customers was given), that she said all customers were falling behind on receiving their invoices. ******* was firmly told that if the payment issue was not resolved soon, a BBB complaint would be forthcoming, as it was nearly 60 days since confirmed payment had been made to Kaiser with them cashing the check. ******* reassured us, stating that it would be resolved shortly and we would be notified of the confirmation. On May 5, 2014, another call was made to Kaiser Permanente as no notification had been received. ***** answered the telephone this time, stating she would check for us and had us on hold. By this time, more than 3.5 hours plus a roundtrip to the bank had been performed to get a copy of the check, and my patience has been wearing thin. *****************, my husband, was also frustrated, as he had been dealing with many of the calls for me, and said this should have easily been resolved within 30 days. ***** returned, claiming that check #: **** was missing, and that check #: **** was showing posted. She stated they would have to research the problem, and that someone should get back with us. A case #: ***** was assigned. We stated we were filing the BBB complaint at this time, since 65 days had passed without resolution, and there was clear evidence both checks had been paid to Kaiser Permanente, and that (for whatever reason), they were simply continuing to delay the issue. We needed our current invoice, to ensure we pay them on time. We needed confirmation our two previous payments were made. We were very dissatisfied. ***** said she understood, and said she realized we were unhappy with the service, and said it was our right to file the BBB, but she could not do anything else at this time. We hung up, found the appropriate BBB, and are filing our complaint.

Desired Settlement
Fix the billing by appropriately charging the correct amounts to the account (62.92 x 2). Fix the invoicing process, so we get our invoices on time, as we do not wish to have problems with interruptions in service. Fix the internal process of communication, as it appears that one part of Kaiser Permanente (customer service) clearly has no clue what is happening in another part (financial payment processing).

Business Response

Dear **************,

This is in response to your letter received on May 14, 2014, regarding Kaiser Permanente (KP) member, ************. The member has sought the assistance of the Better Business Bureau (BBB) for the resolution of her concerns with Kaiser Permanente (KP).

********* explained in her complaint that she has made two monthly premium payments in the amount of $62.92 each. She states both checks have cleared her bank but KP is only showing that one check has been posted to her account. She further explains that she has spoken to several KP representatives about her premium account issues and more than sixty days has passed without resolving the problem. She also states she does not receive timely invoices from KP and she does not believe the internal communication process within KP is effective and it needs to be corrected.

We value the opportunity you have given us to review and respond to our member's concerns. I have also spoken directly with the ******* regarding the member's concerns. I am also currently researching the status of the member's June invoice, and I will communicate when KP will mail her June invoice, as soon as I am updated with that information.

Please note that KP has documented and shared ************ concerns with KP's On Exchange Individual and Family Plans Financial Analyst and Executive Director of KP Health Plan Strategy. KP acknowledges there was a delay in posting **** ******* monthly premium payments to her KP health plan account. However, this did not impact her KP health care coverage, as she was able to receive health care under her KP covered benefits. Our records indicate that *********'s premium account is paid through May 31, 2014.

KP sincerely apologizes for the inconvenience and frustration **** ***** experienced regarding this matter. The member's feedback is essential to our commitment of continuous improvement in delivering the highest quality, most appropriate and compassionate care. Our goal is to deliver excellent service to our members. Grievances expressed by our members do not affect their coverage in any way. If the above noted member is dissatisfied with the resolution, she has the right to request a second review. Please have her put the request in writing to:

Kaiser Permanente
Member Services
************************************************

Written requests will be reviewed by Member Services Administration who will respond in writing within 14 calendar days of the receipt of the member's request. We may extend this timeframe up to an additional 14 calendar days at the member's request or if there is a need for additional information and the delay is in the best interest of the member.

If the BBB or the member has any questions, please contact me at (***) *********

Also, you may contact Member Services:

Denver/Boulder members may call ************, toll free at **************, between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Deaf, hard of hearing, or speech impaired members who use a TTY may call ***-********.

Colorado Springs members please call ************** or deaf, hard of hearing or speech-impaired members who use TTY may call **************. You may also contact our department through our Web site at ********************.

Please thank **** ***** for her understanding in this matter.

Sincerely,
*****************
Case Resolution Specialist
Kaiser Permanente

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health & Medical - General, Insurance Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.