BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2005

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

Find a Location

(719) 593-78887087 N Academy Blvd, Colorado SpringsCO 80920-3184 Send email to La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2005

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

BBB serving Longwood, FL maintains a report on this company's headquarters location. Please visit for details or call (407) 621-3300.

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

On Nov 13th 2014 my husband and I went into La-Z boy (Colorado Springs 7087 N Academy) to buy 2 matching brown Recliners. (tic# *********)Total was $1249.51 this included delivery. We put down $375 as a deposit, remainder due was $874.51.Around Feb 21st 2015- Finally our chairs were in but we had to pay the final balance of $874.51 before they could delivery- did so over the phone using my Visa credit card. Delivery was schedule and my Husband was home to deal with this. The problem was One chair was brown (the right color) and the other was a green. A call was place to the store and notes were made on our receipt that we were keeping the green and to reorder the RIGHT shade of brown. On April 4th we received our brown chair - problem -wrong shade of brown (a lot lighter). Again notes and phone calls were made.On April 8 @ 11:05 am I called and left a message to please call us back. A lot of back and forth conversations between my husband and our sales rep Sam. My husband sent emails with photos of both chair. Sam Emailed us back letting us know that he received word back from La-z-boy that "the shading was normal". We informed Sam that this was unacceptable and that the company needs to send someone up to inspect them. On April 25th we received an email from Sam that he can re-order the brown chair. On May 4th @ 6pm we both went into the Showroom. Talked with sales rep Mark explained what went on-seemed very surprised at this kind of service. I asked to speak to the Store Manager Ben Warden. We explained again what was going on and my husband even showed the photos of the chair from his phone. Ben assured us (and we saw him typing on the computer) that he will re-order a brown (using the same SKU #) and he will also talk to his boss about a refund of some sort for all this inconvenience they have put us through. No contact from the company was made untilOn OCTOBER 8th 2015 round 6 pm Both Husband and I went into the showroom again. This time we dealt with 'Chase" explained to him what was going on and he pulled up our file- couldn't give us a YES or NO answer on re-ordering. He sent Ben an email asking him to call my husband on sat( Ben's next day in work) Chase also made note that we wanted just to cancel everything and get a full re-fund. Sat NO call from Ben. October 12th Called Head office @ 2:14 and left a v.mail for Robert- head of customer service. Explained all, left contact # and mentioned if I didn't hear back my next step was to the Small Claims court.No call from Robert.October 14th. Call HQ talked to the receptionist who took down my information and was going to pass it onto a "Peggy" and that I will hear back before 5 o'clock. October 15th no call back- this is why I'm submitting this complaint to the BBB. I will wait 3 weeks if there is not a satisfactory outcome my next step will be Small Claims court. If we head into court I will be tagging on $$$ for my husband's and my time in dealing with all of this.
Product_Or_Service: 2 Asher recliners
Account_Number: ticket # *********

Desired Settlement
A FULL refund and an apology. Please

Business Response
We have offered to refund the full amount of one of the recliners and let the customer keep both of them. They accepted the offer. The customer needs to call or come by in order for us to refund their credit card.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/16/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Office Furniture & Equipment, Interior Decorators & Designers, Home Theater

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/12/1997Business started: 01/01/1990Business started locally: 01/01/2005New Owner Date: 03/07/2005
Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 2005, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Hendren (President)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Office Furniture & Equipment, Interior Decorators & Designers, Home Theater

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

7087 N Academy Blvd

Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3184

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.


Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.