BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Colorado

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration

(855) 365-7477View Additional Phone Numbers2123 E Saint Vrain St, Colorado SpringsCO 80909-4723http://www.smdisasterrestorationservices.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Since 1973, ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration has been servicing the Colorado Springs area with quality and excellence. All of our professional services are backed by our commitment to provide the very best customer service every step of the way.

BBB Accreditation

ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Thursday, Sep 12th, I contacted ServiceMaster because we had a couple of wet spots on our carpet in the basement. They were unable to come out that day because Manitou Avenue was closed. During the night we had a mud slide that broke through a basement window, and mud and water poured through the basement, causing extensive damage. Our focus was on diverting the water away from the broken window, and I had forgotten that I called ServiceMaster the day before. They arrived Friday morning, Sep 13th, and went to work extracting water from an actively flooding basement. I never received a quote on estimated costs. Since they were working to extract water, I assumed they believed some of it was salvageable. After they left, the carpet was still saturated with water, and we immediately began removing it to try and save the furniture. There were two men working approximately 3 hours, and the work made absolutely no difference in the results. They charged us $1,085.72. The invoice states the date of loss as 9/12/2013, but the loss when I contacted them was vastly different from the loss when they arrived on 9/13/2013. When they arrived, we were overwhelmed with the flooding, damage and mold mitigation, and I feel they took advantage of us. They knew the carpet was unsalvageable and should have let us know it was a complete loss. They should have informed us of the cost before performing the work so that we could have made an informed decision. We would never have agreed to this amount up front, and we thought they were the professionals and knew their work would make a difference. It did not.

Desired Settlement
Don't want to pay the bill, or at least settle for much much less.

Business Response
10/18/13 ServiceMater response to **************, Case #********
ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration is in the business of assisting homeowners during disasters such as flooding. Our goal is to save the Customer's property as well as save the Customer money, while restoring a safe living environment.
We were called by ************** (the "Customer") on Thursday evening, September 12, to come to her property to assist with water in the basement. A vehicle and crew were dispatched shortly after 6 p.m. After several varied attempts, our crew was unable to get through to the Customer do to numerous road closures (there was no charge for this trip). The Customer was then called again notified of the road closures, and the Customer then specifically instructed us to arrive the next morning, September 13. It is our understanding that further damage occurred between the phone call service request we received and agreed to on the 12th and our arrival at the property on the 13th. Upon arrival at 9 a.m. on the 13th, the property showed a Category 3 loss and there was no apparent active flooding on site.
On the morning of the 13th, ServiceMaster personnel first met with the Customer, and the Customer signed an authorization requesting our services which allowed us to conduct our work. We moved furniture and extracted approximately 1,668 pounds of water from the carpeting and pad in three rooms; the family room, a bedroom, and part of a theater room. These areas collectively covered approximately 960 square feet. Water extraction is a necessary step to aid in the removal of carpet and pad. Extraction is the best industry practice in a flood situation which is what this Customer experienced. A primary purpose of water extraction is to remove as much water as possible as quickly as possible to stop further (secondary) damage to property. Water extraction is also necessary, as an aide in determining if walls, flooring, carpet, and contents are salvageable. In any category 3 water loss carpet is not salvageable. For the record the Customer had other workers on site during ServiceMaster's extraction process who were actively removing and discarding the carpet, directly indicating to us that the Customer was knowingly not saving the carpet.
Our ServiceMaster office uses third party pricing, established by insurers like State Farm, Allstate, and Liberty Mutual. This standard insures fair pricing to the client and we are bound to use this structure of pricing for insurance companies. These prices represent heavily discounted pricing as negotiated by the insurance companies. We extend this same pricing to our uninsured clients because we believe it is the right thing to do. With this tool, we can sometimes discount a large portion of our services, and we were able to discount our pricing for this Customer. We charged the client for a Category 2 water loss, when in fact, this was a Category 3 water loss, and we were able to save the Customer approximately $750.00. In addition, during a follow up phone call to the Customer, our Operations Manager offered to discount the total price by another 10%. We feel confident that we gave this Customer the best pricing possible for the services provided, and have done everything possible to resolve this situation in a fair and reasonable manner. In conclusion, we feel that our technicians responded as quickly as possible to assist this Customer, and we did everything she contracted us to do in a proper and professional manner. We also know that the Customer was given more than a fair price for the work that was completed. We stand by the quality of our work and our pricing.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, we were never informed about our home as a, "Category 3 loss." We were never provided an up-front quote of the work they were to perform. The 960 square foot of flooring is inaccurate. The bathroom floor is tile and needed no extraction. The square footage of the family room is far less than the 528 sf quoted.

In anticipation of the flood the night before, we relocated as much furniture as possible into the home theater room, believing things would be safer in this room. This left only a small passage way into this room. The theater room contained two full size couches, a full size head board and foot board, two recliners, two swivel chairs, three small tables, one round footstool, a popcorn stand and a subwoofer. It was impossible to extract water from the lower level of this room due to all the furniture. We should not have to pay for this room to be extracted.

My calculations show approximately 630-650 s.f. I have offered to pay 1/2 the bill.

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern,
The dispute between ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration and ****** ******* has been resolved in a confidential agreement to the satisfaction of both parties. Please proceed in closing the listed dispute wit your office.

If you have any questions, please contact our office at *************

****** * *******
Office Manager

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB file opened: 12/01/1995Business started: 01/01/1973
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1992, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Rosine (Chief Operating Officer)Mr. Thomas Andres (Office Manager)Ms. Lori Bissell (Sales and Marketing)Mr. Jeff Turner (Operations Manager)Mr. Roger Wood (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Products & Services

Water and Fire Damage Restoration Services; Mold Remediation; Deodorization Services; Trauma/Crime Scene Clean Up; Carpet Cleaning Service;
Janitorial Services

Hours of Operation

24 Hours 7 Days a Week

Service Area

El Paso County and Surrounding Areas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration

2123 E Saint Vrain St

Colorado Springs, CO 80909-4723

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2123 E Saint Vrain St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80909-4723(719) 471-8313
    (855) 365-7477

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ServiceMaster Disaster Restoration is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 471-8313
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Fire & Water Damage Restoration

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.