BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1999

Moore Automotive

(719) 544-4781601 S Santa Fe Ave, PuebloCO 81003-3541 Send email to Moore AutomotiveView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1999

BBB has determined that Moore Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Moore Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Moore Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My name is ****** *******, and my husband **** and I have been dealing with Moore Automotive, Inc for approximately eight months now. Our 1996 Nissan Altima was taken in for repair mid March, 2012. We explained, in detail, that our clutch was not working, and we couldn't get the car to go into gear. We were told that there was a crack in the transmission and that the clutch would need to be included with this repair. $1,897.08 was paid out on 3/16/12. After a day of driving the car, it was shaking, so we took the car back and they fixed it at no charge. About a week later, the clutch went out again. We took the car back, and it was told to us that it was a problem with the Master Cylinder. $174.12 was paid out on 3/26/12. It was implied at that time that this was an issue seperate from the initial clutch/transmission problem. Two + months went by, and yet again, the same clutch problem occurred. We took the car back, and I was shocked to learn that this time, after they already made the repair, without consent, that it was now the Slave Cylinder that went bad. Again, a seperate issue from the previous ones. Since the repair was made without our consent and without a phone call to tell us what the cost would be prior....I told *******, the receptionist, that we were under the impression this "area" of my car was warrantied, I negotiated a lower payment, from $99+ to $61.97, as I felt we should not have to pay any additional costs. We had been assured, from the start of service, several times, that these parts were "brand new", and that our car "would run another 100 thousand miles". The $30 + adjustment was given with a lot of resistance. Another two months go by, and the same clucth problem occurs. We have never explained the problem any differently since day one. After speaking to the receptionist, *******, I asked to be assured that this problem would be fixed once and for all because this was putting my husband in very dangerous commuting (to and from Pueblo to Canon City)situations. I asked that if we couldn't be given a guarantee, then would it be possible for a refund so we can take our car elsewhere. She said there was "no way for a refund", and told us to bring the car in again. Another master cylider was replaced and were warned that if this happened again, a different part/s would have to be paid for to be replaced. We were also encouraged to keep watch of the clutch fluid. After about a week, my husband **** said that while he was driving that day, it felt like it was going to go out again. I called again, as precaution, and the shop said they'd look at it. ******* drove our car around for a few hours, as she put it, and said nothing was wrong, joked that my husband was "paranoid". There was no paper work for that day. As of recent, the clutch fluid is having to be filled every other day, costing us time and more money. I called yesterday, 10/18/12, and spoke to the "owner" that answered, and exlained that the same problem happened, this time with a leak inside of our car. This man (unknown name) was very accusatory, loud, practically yelling that he "has put all the money he's going to into this car", and that "he doesn't know what else it could be", etc. When I asked out the one year warranty, he said that he "would replace it one more time, but that's it." He was very unprofessional, kept interrupting, and raised his voice several times. I had expressed that this was the worst customer service I had ever received, to which his reply was that "he was done", and hung up on me. At this point, we do not ever want to go back to this shop, and we feel that this is exactly what he/they want. We have all of the invoices/receipts if these are needed to help us get a final and professional resolution.

Desired Settlement
A full refund is desired. $2133.17. We were told by this shop that the crack in the transmission occurred because of us trying to force the car to go into gear. We would have never replaced the transmission if we would have known that this same problem with the clutch was going to keep happening over and over agian. We described the problem as being the same since the first day we talked to this shop. It is not our fault that they cannot, after eight months, figure out the problem. Mechanics are supposed to be able to fix cars, not try to fix, charge, then have the same problem re-occur only to try and charge for other supposed parts that need repairing.

Business' Initial Response
In March 2012 the ******** brought their 96 Nissan
in with a noise in the trans and shifting issue. Mr ******* stated that someone had replaced the clutch master cylinder and they had leak troubles with it since then. We inspected car at that time and determined there was internal problem with transmission. At that time the clutch master cylinder was not leaking. We gave them a price to fix transmission and replace clutch. We did repairs and gave car back to them. Mr. ******* had
a problem with car at work a few days later. I went to his work in Canon City to look at vehicle. The clutch master cylinder was leaking. I was able to put fluid in vehicle to get the pedal back. I started vehicle and noticed vibration. I talked to Mr. ******* and told him he
could drive vehicle home but I wanted vehicle back to find why it was vibrating and look at leak. We found that the flywheel had been machined wrong by the machine shop. I found another flywheel and repaired vibration at no charge to them. We inspected clutch master cylinder and informed customer. I could see no obvious reason for it leaking. So instead of taking it back to who did it for them before we did replace it. Car was shifting fine and no noises. In June they brought it back with the pedal down again. We inspected the vehicle and determined clutch slave cylinder was leaking. I felt that they should pay for this repair because it had not been replaced. In July it came back with the pedal down again and the clutch master cylinder was leaking. We replaced it again at no charge. We also flushed fluid in hydraulic system.
I personally looked at system but could not see any obvious for this happening again. In August it was back again with same problem. Master cylinder was leaking again. I then talked to some other mechanics I know to see if they ever had any trouble with Nissan's having this problem. No one had. In late 1980's Jeep had this type of problem and they determined the lines were causing a problem with the fluid and deteriorating the seals in the system. They wanted all the lines replaced. I determined at that point we would flush the system again and replace the master cylinder. I also told *******
to tell customer if this happened again we would have to pursue other avenues to try to fix this problem. ******* informed customer on this and it is also stated on repair that was done in August.
Through all of this I have not charged them any more money. On 10-18 I was contacted by Ms. ******* and I will admit now that I was short with her. The conversation with her was never about what we needed to do to fix her problem. I feel we have done everything possible so far. It's unfortunate that the master cylinder is leaking again. I agreed on the phone to replace it again but I also told her that we need
to pursue other avenues to fix this problem. She is under the assumption that everything is under warranty. She also states she wants a full refund.
We repaired the transmission for a noise and shifting problem and put a clutch in for 1900.00. The transmission and clutch are working properly. The issue is with the clutch master cylinder. This problem existed when the vehicle was brought to my shop. I tried to explain this on the phone to her but she would not listen. She states that she was assured her car would run for a 100,000 miles after the repairs. As far as I know there are no guarantees in anything we do that we won't have problems. You can buy a brand new car and it's not guaranteed you won't have problems. In my opinion I have done everything I can do to help them. If I had the answer at this time to repair this problem I would do it, but I don't and at some point I have to find other ways to fix it. At which point I feel I need compensated for my time.
I feel if she wants a refund for the master cylinder repair I would gladly do that, or I will gladly pursue trying to fix the problem. I have been in business for over 18 years and have made alot of mistakes, but I have always felt I did my best to make it right.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The exact repairs, in order, was transmission/clutch, then a master cylinder, then a slave cylinder, then another master cylinder... and yes, I was under the impression that all of these parts were warranited (parts/labor) for one year, because this is what was told to us (by *******). Leak troubles were never reported in the beginning. The vibrations happened after the transmission installation, so yes, there should not have been any charges to us for that repair that is now being made out to have been done as a favor. My husband was almost in a car accident the day the owner drove to Canon City to look at the car. Fluid was added... again, being made out to be a favor; however, it was just a bandade fix. The fact that the clutch/pedal wasn't working was what we reported each and every single time. I was never under the "assumption" that the entire car was warrantied as this man implies. It seemed really odd that we had to keep taking the car back, explaining the SAME issue, to then have other parts needing repair. And now after several months have went by, the problem is unknown and they don't know what else to do. The reason we took our car to this shop was to have the problem fixed once and for all. Yes, we did have a private-retired mechanic work on our car prior, and we explained that, in detail, up front. We entrusted Moore Automotive because we thought it was in our better interest to take our car to an actual business/shop, and, we were assured by Moore Automotive that they woud fix our car, but they have not fully done so. They were compensated. Over $2000.00 was paid to them, and our car is still not funcional. At this point, we will accept a refund for the master cylinder and cut our losses with the rest. We will hire another mechanic to fix this as we no longer wish to do any business with Moore Automotive ever again! Especially because of the way the owner spoke to me. Nobody deserves that! I did a lot of listening when this man spoke; practically yelled at me. He wouldn't allow me to speak, and when I did, he interrupted and spoke over me as though I didn't know what I was talking about. A friendlier tone with an apology would have gone a long way from this owner of a business for over 18 years! How and when can we expect our refund for the $174.12?

Business' Final Response
*****, I sent a refund to Ms. ******* a month ago. I thought this was resolved. I am not happy with the outcome of this. This vehicle has had an issue
with this problem for awhile. When she called she had no intention of bringing vehicle back. All she wanted was her money back. We repaired the transmision
and put a clutch in and to my knowledge those parts are fine. I offered to put another master cylinder in but she refused. I did tell her that we really need to look
further into the problem and try to figure out what was wrong. I did tell her if I found anything else wrong that she would have to pay for it, and she wanted no part of it.
I have always been more than fair with my customers and would have done everything I could to help her but that was not possible. Thanks ***

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/25/2003Business started: 01/01/1994
Contact Information
Principal: Ted Skube (President) Larry McConnell Mike Wagner Steve Gonzales
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Moore Automotive

601 S Santa Fe Ave

Pueblo, CO 81003-3541

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 601 S Santa Fe Ave 

    Pueblo, CO 81003-3541(719) 544-4781

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Moore Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.