BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2016

Express Auto Repair & Engine Exchange

Find a Location

Phone: (719) 630-8729Fax: (719) 630-87323655 Galley Rd, Colorado SpringsCO 80909-4315 Send email to Express Auto Repair & Engine Exchange

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Express Auto Repair in Colorado Springs is a family owned business delivering honest and professional auto repair and maintenance services to the people of Colorado Springs. Express Auto Repair, come by and visit our clean and professional shop.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2016

BBB has determined that Express Auto Repair & Engine Exchange meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Express Auto Repair & Engine Exchange

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

on February 25 2014, I had a 1972 Ford Ranchero towed to Express Auto repair and engine, to have a lot of work done on the vehicle. The work that was done was completed withno issues at all. I have NO complaints about work that was actually completed. The sho ended up having some issues I was called by one of the mechanics (****) to come pick up my car. All but one of the mechanics had quit working at the shop. So I had to have my vehicle towed to another shop (Buds Muffler-719-643-8089 Jeff) to have work completed. I just recentl found out that work that I was billed for by the previous shop was NOT completed as it was stated on the invoice. According to **** at Bud's Muffler The fuel tank was not cleaned and looked like it was never even removed. The wiring was NOT completed and some of the wiring was not hooked up correctly, the EFI electronic fuel injection system was not working, in total for those three items I was billed 1,694.48 in which I am having to pay another shop to do. On the receipt from Expres auto you will see I was charged $719.60 for the engine and dash/whole unit completed, I was billed $143.92 and $80.96 for the fuel tank remove and replace and to clean according to the other shop it was not done it that is stated on thier receipt, then I was billed $750.00 for the throttle injection sysytem install. It was put on but it was never set, then we find out that the fuel pump that was installed in the gas tank didnt have the right wires and they ended up disintigrating and touching each other, picture is included. I have both receipts attached and pictures as proof. I feel bad Because **** at Express auto repair seemed to be a genuine person and went I had these issues he stated to me that we settled when I picked up my car, he offered but I didnt accept anyting at the time because I said to him I wasnt a mechanic and couldnt tell anything by just looking at the car and that I had to wait until the new mechanics got to work on it. The fact that it was towed from thier shop was also prrof that the car was NOT running when I got it back.

Desired Settlement
I would like ot see about getting compensated for some of the money I paid out for the work that wasnt completed. For the Record I do NOT believe I was taken advantage of. This is hard for me to do because the Mechanic **** has worked on my car several times and NEVER had issues, **** has always been very good to me as well I just believe there was a mis-communication some where. I dont know what happened (nor do I want to know) I just know there was a falling out and all but one mechanic left and I was asked to have my car towed somewhere else. So in all the confusion I believe there was some confusion as to what was completed and what wasnt. With that being said, I feel I should get re-imbursed the money I paid for work marked as completed when it wasnt in fact done. I have attched the receipts from Express Auto showing the work was completed and paid for as well as the receipt from Buds Muffler. I have also attahced some pictures.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: **************
Contact Email: ***********
******* I agree that last the situation came as a surprise to both of us. But I called you at that time and told you everything up front that your vehicle is not completed and I did not feel comfortable having another one of my new technicians completing the work at that time. But knowing that I discounted your bill $1050.00 plus I paid you another check a couple of weeks later. I understand your situation, I really do but I feel I was upfront with you and resolved those additional expenses your talking about. I understand there are two side to every story and I am sure if we were able to talk with **** at that time he would stand by his workmanship as he always did.***Again*** I want to stress, I felt terrible last February about the ordeal and things are much better now. But nd I had a handshake agreement knowing that the vehicle was not completed and I did discount and refund money at that time due to that. I do not believe I am untitled to owe more money but am willing to work with
88888888 to get this unfortunate event made satisfactorily to ******..****** I am glad your vehicle is work great now.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
For starters the discount that was on the receipt I was told by the lady at the front desk was for two reason, 1st part being a military discount and 2ndly because I supplied a lot of the parts. Rick is true in his words that he said he would send a check. I NEVER received a check in the mail or anything like that. So if he has proof that he sent a check show me where it was cashed. Because I did not get it. As gar as any other discount goes when I picked up my car he told me that there was a $250 (not 1050) difference in the bill and that he was letting that go. He offered me then and there a check for a $1000 dollars I believe it was but I told him I wanted to wait and see what the new mechanics said need to be done because I didn't want to take MORE then what was necessary. Again I have nothing against *****or ***** because they treated me great and the work that WAS done was great.

Final Consumer Response
**** got with me today and this issue is now resolved. How do I close this case?

Final Business Response
We would like to get this behind us. I would offer ***** a check of $850.00 towards the other repairs he had done and consider the case closed.

04/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

we took our vehicle in a bout a month ago for squeaking of the front passenger brakes, which the rotors and brakes were fixed at this place, when taken in they said it was the back brakes, when clearly it was the front. the sound got too bad to deal with and when we took it back in they said the back was fine now the front calipers are needing replaced and it would cost $321.00. multiple mechanics we have spoken with told us that the front brakes were making the noise and that this would be the cause of the calpiers going out. when we spoke with "****" the manager he said "we honestly overlooked that the first time you brought it in" if the rotors were the cause of the calipers going out and they over looked it before and this issue could have been avoided we feel that falls under the warranty of the rotors and brakes.

Desired Settlement
with the amount of running around they have caused us a refund of all money spent fixing the car in the first place should be refunded so we can get a mechanic who won't try dodge the issue until its to late then over charge us

Business Response
Why we do not agree with the resolution this person is requesting. We do not like to see anybody not happy with our services. Last Wednesday April 9th, 2014 we offered to do the non-warranty repair work at a more than fair price to replace a brake caliper and we would cover the costs of the brake pads and rotor repairs. Customer would only have to pay for a brake caliper $71.00 as well as $32.00 a in labor plus tax( A 50% savings). *********** declined. We have not ever spoken with a ************* but sure he is probably representing her. As a goodwill gesture Express Auto Repair would be willing to replace the one caliper and brake pads at no charge to ***********. Call our office anytime and schedule an appointment to drop it off.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Services

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/11/2005Business started: 08/23/2004Business started locally: 09/30/2004
Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 2004, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Meadows (President)
Related Businesses

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Services

Products & Services

Express Auto Repair in Colorado Springs is a certified Napa Auto Care Select Center, we are able to provide the benefits of an established national entity while maintaining the personal touch of a family owned business.

Hours of Operation

8:00-6:00p.m. Mon.-Fri.

Refund and Exchange Policy

Lifetime Local Parts & Labor Warranty on our repair work.

24 month/ 24,000 Mile Nationwide Parts and Labor warranty outside of Colorado Springs, CO.

Service Area

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Alternate Business Names
Express Engine Exchange Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair
Auto Service Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Express Auto Repair & Engine Exchange has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Express Auto Repair & Engine Exchange

3655 Galley Rd

Colorado Springs, CO 80909-4315

To | From


2 Locations

  • 3655 Galley Rd 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80909-4315(719) 630-8729

  • 5360 Montebello Ln 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80918-1956(719) 358-9109
    Fax: (719) 375-3416

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Express Auto Repair & Engine Exchange is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair
Auto Service Contracts

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.