BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/16/2009

Helton Auto Inc

Find a Location

(719) 633-5557View Additional Phone Numbers806 S 8th St, Colorado SpringsCO 80905-1814 Send email to Helton Auto Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/16/2009

BBB has determined that Helton Auto Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Helton Auto Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Helton Auto Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We bought a 2001 Jaguar from Helton Auto February 8, 2016. After purchasing the vehicle we drove to a service station to fill the gas tank. We were unable to open the cover to the gas cap so we telephoned Helton Auto. The said to bring the vehicle back to them, which we did. On the way back the fuel gauge which had indicated half full went to empty and the check coolant light also came on. At Helton Auto they took our Jaguar to a service station and brought it back with a full tank of gas and filled the coolant. They informed us that everything was all right now. We then drove the Jaguar to our home in Clearfield, Utah. On our return home I discovered that the fuel sending unit was defective, and that there were other minor problems i.e. sunroof inoperable, motorized radio antenna stuck, keyless entry inoperable, trunk release button inoperable. On February 19, 2016, I submitted a negative review to ********, where Helton Auto had advertised the vehicle we purchased. As a result of this review I received a phone call from Steve *****, Sales Rep for Helton Auto. He asked what Helton Auto could do to correct the problem. I responded that if they would replace the fuel sending unit I would take care of everything else. At the request of Steve ***** I obtained an estimate for services for replacing the fuel tank sending unit, which is $602.70. He questioned the validity of the auto repair mechanic so I faxed the estimate to him at his request along with the name, address and phone number of ***********, Layton, Utah, with the recommendation to telephone *********** for verification. He then said he would need approval from the owner of Helton Auto for the cost of the repair. For the past 2 1/2 months I have telephoned Steve ***** every week, and every time I have been told that when he gets the approval of the owner of Helton Auto he will let me know. Also, *********** has never been contacted by Helton Auto for any verification. I have also recently discovered that the front shock absorbers are broken, which I intend to have replaced.

Desired Settlement
Replace the Fuel Tank Sending Unit pursuant to verbal agreement by Steve *****, for Helton Auto "to correct the problem", the cost for which is $602.70.

Business Response

The 2001 Jaguar had been given a thorough and complete mechanical inspection. The braking system, suspension, tires, engine and trans-axle were all found to be working and in safe condition.

The only correspondence I have ever received from the ******'s after they drove their car home on 8th February 2016 was a phone call to let me know they made the trip home uneventfully.

One month later I was surprised to find a negative review posted on ********** website accusing me of being a crook and advising the public "not to trust these guys".

The ******'s signed a Federal Trade Commission notice that this car had been purchased "As Is - no Warranty. This notice clearly states " The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs".

Patrick should have contacted me regarding any problems he had with the car prior to posting a message defaming our good reputation in a public forum. I don't mind helping to keep a customer happy but in this way I feel like we are being held hostage by a customer that appears will never be happy.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help.

Steve *****
Helton Auto
*****************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Truck Dealers, Motor Homes

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/13/2003Business started: 12/03/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1992, CO

Business Management
Bob Drake (Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Helton (Owner/Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Connie Helton (Office Manager)
Related Businesses

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Truck Dealers, Motor Homes

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Helton Auto Inc

806 S 8th St

Colorado Springs, CO 80905-1814

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1403 S Tejon St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80905-7408(719) 635-5861

  • 806 S 8th St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80905-1814(719) 633-5557
    (719) 633-4221

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Helton Auto Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 633-4221
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.