BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Colorado

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/16/2011

Happy Harry's Auto Sales

(719) 473-89992002 E Platte Ave, Colorado SpringsCO 80909-5829 Send email to Happy Harry's Auto Sales

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/16/2011

BBB has determined that Happy Harry's Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Happy Harry's Auto Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Happy Harry's Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: We purchased the Jeep from Happy Harry's. We bought new tires, then brought it to *********** for an alignemnt. They informed us of a slew of problems, one being the water pump that was repaired under warranty at ***********. The major problem was the leaking oil that Happy Harry's claimed to fix for us. It was not repaired. Since then, a week ago, the check engine light comes on, and the alternator has gone out as well. This is our family vehicle and the only one we have. We spent all of our cash on it, and they refuse to help us with the problems. They claimed to have fixed the oil leak, yet there is no documentation saying they did it, and it still leaks. How can we make payments on a vehicle if we can not get to work. They took advantage of us.

Business' Initial Response
MR. ****** RECEIVED A 3 MONTH 3,000 MILE WARRANTY AT NO CHARGE. THIS IS A WARRANTY THAT WE GIVE ALL OUR CUSTOMERS AS A WAY SAYING THANK YOU. THIS WARRANTY COVERS MAJOR POWER TRAIN. IE..MOTOR,INTERNAL, TRANS, 4X4, BUT NOT GASKETS, AND SAID OIL LEAKS. HOWEVER AS I TRY AND KEEP MY CUSTOMERS HAPPY, I LET THEM BRING IN THERE VEHICLE. I REPLACED VALUE COVER GASKET, OIL FILL CAP,LICENCE PLATE LAMP, AND E-BRAKE LEVER. PARTS AND LABOR, MY COST CAME TO $238. THEY ALSO SAID THEY HAD A COOLANT LEAK WHICH WE DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO FIX RIGHT AWAY SO I CALLED THE WARRANTY COMPANY AND HAD THEM PAY THE BILL FOR THE ******S.
THEY NOW SAID THE'RE HAVING A PROBLEM WITH A DOOR AND WE MADE APPOINTMENT FOR THEM TO BRING THE CAR IN ON FRI MAY 3RD. BUT NOW THAT THEY HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT I DON'T WHAT TO DO AS THEY DON'T SEEM TO APPRICATE ANYTHING I'VE DONE AT NO COST TO THEM.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The emergency bake was fixed. However, they DID NOT repair it after we purchased the vehicle.We arrived one day to test drive the vehicle and the lever was broken and stuck in the brake position. They had to repair it in order for ANYONE to TEST DRIVE it. As far as the liscense plate lamp, well it was just sitting in the trunk, clearly removed by them, it is only right that they had to put it back on.
They claimed to have fixed the oil leak, yet it is STILL LEAKING in the same two spots. We asked for documentation for the "repair," they informed us they DO NOT KEEP DOCUMENTATION. In my opinion, the repair was not done as it CONTINUES TO LEAK.
When we dropped of the vehicle to be "fixed" by Happy Harry's we left our documentation from *********** on the passenger seat. When we picked up the car, they said they lost it.
Since we got the car, the water pump needed to be replaced, new tires, and the driver side door broke. We had to get an alternator put in the car and had to borrow money for it to be replaced. 2 days later every door on the vehicle either would not open, and the back drivers side door did not close. Our children ride in the back seat. We had to have a friend fix the doors in order for them to work again.
Happy Harry's Auto Sales are extremely rude to us and are wholey unprofessional. We want all of the repairs done, and reimbursment for the money we have had to dump into it since we bought it. We want our documentation back that they lost.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

06/21/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
02/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/04/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/15/2006Business started: 02/03/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2005, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harold Katz (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Happy Harry's Auto Sales

2002 E Platte Ave

Colorado Springs, CO 80909-5829

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2002 E Platte Ave 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80909-5829(719) 473-8999

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Happy Harry's Auto Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.