BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/15/1986

Pikes Peak Acura Ltd

(719) 633-1500655 Automotive Dr, Colorado SpringsCO 80905-7000 Send email to Pikes Peak Acura Ltd



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/15/1986

BBB has determined that Pikes Peak Acura Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pikes Peak Acura Ltd's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pikes Peak Acura Ltd

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
06/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchase date was March 30 2016 for a BMW 335I 2011, when we agreed on the price of the car I had Bret ****** (Sales Manager) also included in the contract that I had until 5p.m. the following day March 31 2016 to take the car to my mechanic. If there was anything wrong with the BMW 335I Pikes Peak Acura would fix it. I took the car home that night and took the BMW 335I to my mechanic the next day on March 31 2016. That Day on March 31 2016 after my mechanic inspected the BMW 335I he informed me that the BMW had a problem with the thermostat and told me not to drive the car because it could overheat and cause the engine to stop working. As per my contract with Pikes Peak Acura had to fix any major malfunction with the Vehicle as long as I told them before 5p.m. on 31 March 2016 they would fix. which i did at 4pm on 31 March 2016 At this point in time after waiting on my vehicle to get look at Pikes Peak Acura it's 6PM on March 31 2016 the Sales Manager Bret ****** told me that they didn't have anyone to look at the car today since it was after 5p.m. so he told me to bring the car back the next day on 1 April 2016 which i told him that i would and expected them to fix my car that day. April 1st i take the vehicle back to Pikes Peak Acura after their(Pikes Peak Acura) mechanic look over my car they do find that part to be faulty and needs to be replace soon after Bret ****** approaches me and tells me that they can't fix that part because it's not a major malfunction as per the contract and tells me that they could get it fix by Monday April 4 2016 for a price. How is not being able to drive my car because the engine may overheat not a major malfunction Pikes Peak Acura need to fix this since it was on the Contract. It is 4 April 2016 time 6:51 p.m. and i still don't have my car.

Desired Settlement
Pikes Peak Acura and myself had an agreement to fix any problem my 2011 BMW 335I had if i had a mechanic check it before the time line they gave me. i need Pikes Peak Acura to fulfill their part of the deal and fix my car without anything coming out of my pocket.

Business Response
Mr. ********** vehicle was repaired on RO 325151, coolant reservoir leaking at the seal. He was given a vehicle to drive while his car was being serviced and he picked the vehicle up on 4/6/16.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The vehicle was service and I did get a rental car but that's all I could agreed with their reply. I still had to pay out of my pocket 248 dollars for the repair. It was stated in the agreement that pikes peak Acura would pay all my repairs if I had problems with the vehicle within 5pm the next day and they didn't pay for the repairs. I want to get my money back for the repair they made on my car because it was on the contract that pikes peak Acura and myself agreed on.

Final Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ******** this morning by phone and Pikes Peak Acura will reimburse him the $248.00 for the repair.
Carrie *********
Business Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes, pikes peak Acura did send me a check 248.00, but I don't agree with how they handle the the whole thing after going back and forth with them for 2 months and passing me down to Carrie ********* which I have never heard of and is not even on the Pikes peak Acura website. Cautious to everyone who writes to the BBB by me accepting this business proposed resolution it clears pike peak Acura of never doing anything wrong. The BBB needs a better way to keep track and rate the business and show everyone that reads this message what the costumer had to go thru to get a proposed resolve.

01/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
December 15, 2015 I went up to PP Acura with the intent to purchase a vehicle. I was there for several hours and eventually left with a 2011Grand Caravan. I went up to the finance department and signed the paperwork and went back home. I had the vehicle in my possession for roughly a week before getting a phone call from the salesman, Rick. He told me they couldn't find someone to finance my vehicle so they needed it back. After discussing things further, they put me into a 2012 Grand Caravan. The manager, Todd, worked out a deal and they agreed to selling price. I went up to the finance department and signed paperwork and went on my way. The next day I get another phone call from Rick telling me that I needed to bring the vehicle back that the owner wouldn't take the offer that Todd gave me. I go back in to the office and I ask to speak with the General Sales Manager, after waiting for almost two hours he finally comes out to speak with me. He then starts cursing at me in front of my kids and other customers. Yesterday, January 4, 2016, I noticed a $250 withdrawal from Pikes Peak Acura. I placed several calls to the salesman, Rick, and to Olivia who processes payments. I left a voicemail each time I called in and I still have not received a phone call back. The $250 was supposed to be a down payment for the vehicle, that I ended up not being able to get.

Desired Settlement
I just want the money back that they took from my account.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience. The $250 deposit was returned to Mr.****** on Jan 5th. Thank you!!

09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
June 09, 2015
Flex Service Contract deal # *****
Agreement #**********
Sales Rep.: ************

To our knowledge, this has yet to be terminated, per refusal by **************.

Please determine WHEN I can expect the full refund of the Service Contract premium: $2,283. ******** did not sign the Contract, the FLEX was traded on July 13th, and the Aventa Credit Union Loan was paid-off on July 20th. The premium is fully refundable if the vehicle is traded in the first sixty days. It can be terminated by the lien-holder, but "****" at Aventa CU cited "inability", in June, despite it being in the Credit Union's and Our best interest.

July 13th, when I traded the FLEX: 49,445 miles.
Here is the link listing the vehicle, with similar mileage:

http://www.cooksubaru.com/used/Ford/2010-Ford-Flex-steamboat-springs-90fa64400a0e0a173bd3674f0ad56fcc.htm?searchDepth=1:2

The loan was paid-in-full on July 20th, and "****" at Aventa has held the account open, since, awaiting the full refund of the Service Contract premium, which we have been looking for in the mail, daily.
Upon examination, we have found the Service Contract to be something we would never use. I, actually, resent that Mr. ****** made it part of the sale; it wasn't our idea, and it pushed the project way over-budget. He has no idea what we can't afford on a fixed income, and he should have asked before drawing-up the paperwork. When I crunched the numbers, it proves to be an absolute DEAL-BREAKER, and I told them we DO NOT WANT TO LOSE THE FLEX !
-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Sales figure discrepancy
From: PreClovis <********************t>
Date: Fri, June 12, 2015 3:49 pm
To: ****************************


Hello, ************,

I have been ordering my thoughts, prior to speaking to Mr********; so I thought I would present the math for you to give to him, as his email address is not listed.

New Loan Amount: $ 14,611.55

minus old loan payoff: $ 8844.45

minus Town Car internet price: $ 1988.00 (corrected)

minus Delivery & Handling: $ 689.00

minus State Tax on Flex: $ 346.69

minus State Tax on Town Car $ 77.92

minus filing fees on Flex $ 27.20

minus filing fees on Town Car $ 27.20

minus FLEX service contract: $ 2283.00
-----------------------------------------------------------------

discrepancy: $ 328.09

minus full tank-of-gas 62.00
------------------

Balance due Customer: $ 266.09

Desired Settlement
We seek cancellation of the Service Contract, as of July 20th, 2015, and full refund of the Service Contract premium: $2,283 This should be paid to Aventa Credit Union so that "***l" can send us a check closing the account opened there in our names by Pikes Peak Acura. We also seek the amount of $266.09 reimbursed separately for a math error against us in the sale.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************t
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****************************
Warranty cancellation was submitted 9/10/15 to First Extended Warranty Company. Refunds generally take 4-6 week for FEWC to process, we will refund Aventa Credit Union as soon as we receive funds from FEWC.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This answer appears to kick resolution into November. Once again, the matter of the math error goes ignored and unaddressed. We don't know if we are to be made whole or tendered fractional payment. This complaint is all about specific performance, and the answer we get is about TWO MORE MONTHS OF PATIENCE. Pike's Peak Acura lacks credibility, so you will have to ask me in November if they have responded.

Final Consumer Response
09-24-2015: We have received the full refund of the Service Contract Premium, and the account with Aventa Credit Union has been closed.

08/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During the test drive of a 2003 Acura MDX a vibrating noise was heard by myself, my wife and the salesman (*****). When I as*ed about the noise during the test drive, ***** stated that "the service department goes over the cars with a fine tooth comb", and they are aware of the noise, and that the noise was coming from the tires due to the previous owners not rotating the tires li*e they were suppose to. ***** stated that because the tires currently have little wear, and "Because the noise will not hurt anything" it would be best for us to use them up, and replace the tires by this winter and the noise will go away. We agreed, and purchased the MDX, and the noise actually got worse, so I contacted *****, He told me that he would loo* into replacement tires to resolve the noise problem. He then recommended to me that I purchase a specific set of tires that would fix the noise problem. I then purchased the exact tires he recommended and the noise did not go away. I then as*ed ***** to double chec* with the Service Department to confirm whether or not the noise could be something else other than the tires, He told me that he did double chec* with the service manager, and the Service Manager told him that "nothing else would be wrong". A couple of wee*s later, the noise was getting even worse, and I expressed to ***** that we are worried about something going wrong when our grand children are in the car, He assured me that there is nothing seriously wrong and that there is no safety issue whatsoever, and since I purchased the exact tires that he recommended, I should bring it in and have it loo*ed at. ***** stated that if we bring it in to the service department, they would fix the problem for the "best price possible". My wife brought the car in to the service department, and after they chec*ed it out, the Service Manager (****) told my wife that a wheel bearing failed and that it is very dangerous to drive, because the wheel could come off while driving. This scared her and she agreed to the repair. I called a shop in Pueblo West to chec* the price of the exact same repair, and the Pueblo West shop quoted much less, it turned out that Pi*es Pea* Acura overcharged us instead of giving us the "best deal possible". I have since then contacted the Service Manager and left messages for the General Sales manager, but they will not return my calls. Because of the false statements made by Pi*es Pea* Acura during the sales of this vehicle, I incurred unnecessary expenses for the tires and the bearing repair.

And to add to all of this, I receive regular emails from this dealership tal*ing about how they appreciate my business and how my satisfaction is important to them, but they do not even return my calls as promised, so this is all a bunch of lies. And to ma*e matters even worse, I recommended my son and his wife to them, and they actually purchased an even newer MDX from them, and now I very much so regret recommending my family to this Dealership.

Desired Settlement
Because of the false statements made by Pikes Peak Acura during the sales of this vehicle, I incurred unnecessary expenses for the tires and the bearing repair.

I would like to be reimbursed for these expenses.

Business Response
I JUST SPOKE WITH*********** AND RESOLVED THE ISSUE. WE ARE SENDING HIM A CHECK TO PAY FOR THE WHEEL BEARING $354.00.....HE IS HAPPY, THANK YOU AGAIN!!!!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an 2007 Acura MDX in October of 2014 from the used sales lot. I was unhappy with my decision 24 hours later and tried to take the vehicle back to dealer but was told nothing could be done. Between the manager ***** and sales rep ******* we agreed upon them providing me with the programming disc (navigation) to update my controls of the car since it was not in vehicle when they sold it and also they both promised to replace the passenger side running board since it was also damaged before I purchased it. After numerous attempts to receive these 2 promised items I am beyond frustrated. I have spoken to every manager in both buildings, including ***** and *****. Everyone has passed me off onto the next. I have since had many services done to my MDX at their service center over the months and the service guys have tried to help me get in touch with the right person to correct my issue but no one seems to have an answer for my problem.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my disc so I can program my car and be able to use the amenities it offers and I would also like to have my running board replaced as promised in October 2014 from manager *****.

Business Response
We have called ********** , and have an appointment Monday to handle this issue. Thank you!!!!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The promised work has been done. Thank you.

Page 1 of 2
03/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This was my first vehicle I ever purchased on my own at 19 years of age; I purchased the vehicle May 2014. Within a week of purchasing the vehicle, the engine coils went bad. My mother and I both called Pikes Peak Acura (PPA) to discuss the issue and were treated rudely by the service manager, Greg ******* who hung up on us and refused to help. Since the vehicle had been purchased a week earlier, the recent inspection they performed should have detected that. After much haggling, PPA, reluctantly fixed the engine coils at no cost.
September 2014, the vehicles engine immobilizer goes bad and the vehicle will not start leaving me stranded in Denver. Once again, a call was placed to Greg but we were referred to the VW dealership as (per Greg) "PPA is not authorized to work on VW's." The vehicle was towed to *****'s ************, CO where the vehicle was disassembled and it was said the codes needed to be cleared - $358. October 2014 the same issue occurred and the vehicle was at *********** for diagnostic testing for approximately one week. The warranty would not cover the tear down expense which was over $800 before covering anything. ******** got vehicle to start paid $280. Vehicle still will periodically not start.
December 2014 the engine blew. We contacted the warranty provider, ASC, who informed us that there was a aggregate limit according to the vehicles value. The vehicle was valued at $8860; I financed the vehicle for @ $17,000 seven months prior. The engine and labor cost approximately $14000; ASC paid $8860 and I had to pay the remaining $4200 out of pocket. Rich ********, service manager at ***********, asked me to have Greg ******* give him a call so they could see if there was a way for PPA to assist as the warranty was awful and he felt they could help; as Rich did in waiving a portion of the labor due to PPA's lack of cooperation. After several failed attempts to speak with Greg ******* over the phone; on February 20, 2015 my mother, D'Antoinette ******, and I decided to go try and resolve this in person. Due to the resistance from Greg, we decided to start at the lot I purchased the vehicle. We spoke with Corey and he was very apologetic and said to go see Greg ******* first and if no resolution was reached to come back to him as he wanted to make this right. We went to the main location where Greg is located. We began discussing the vehicle and naming the numerous issues and costs that we had incurred due to the vehicle; we felt they sold us a lemon; did not conduct the thorough 100+ point inspection they stated they performed; or they overpriced the vehicle by not disclosing the problems the inspection detected. Greg immediately said there was nothing he could do or would do for that matter. We began heavily disagreeing on our issues when he said he had enough and told us to get out of his office. My mother stated that we weren't finished; we weren't being rude or causing a seen so she wasn't going to leave until we had finished our discussion. At that point, Greg called the receptionist and told her to call the police. My mother and I got up and asked Greg for a copy of the work performed prior to my purchase and he declined and literally threw another piece of paper at me. I told him that wasn't necessary and exited his office. I don't remember much after that as I fell down and had a seizure seconds after leaving his office. I do not have a history of seizures. I left the dealership by ambulance; underwent a series of tests; and saw a neurologist on 2 occasions in which it was determined stress triggered the seizure. However, this has cost over $9900 in doctor bills. My mother called owner, Jeff ******, on several occasions to try and resolve this matter as I was instructed by the neurologist to limit stress and not deal with PPA. However, he was unresponsive. With help from my mom, I paid the $4200 and replaced the engine.
November 2015, the transmission is now out and another $7000 is required

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a settlement from PPA for half of the repairs of the vehicle. Not only has the inspection negligence costs been excessive considering all maintenance has been performed and almost every major component of the vehicle has gone out. But, I have also incurred debt from hospital bills that could've been avoided without the stress. I'm not asking for a settlement on the medical, against advice received. However, it is only fair that PPA assume partial liability for selling a vehicle they clearly did not inspect, as advertised, or these issues would have been detected. Since I was young and making my first car purchase, they simply saw an opportunity for predatory selling practices and an opportunity to unload a lemon.
Settlement amount requested- $4300
$2100 - for half of cost of engine replacement
$900 - half cost for used transmission
$1100 - cost for half of the labor for Al Serra VW to install transmission
$200 - cost for half of engine immobilizer issue

Business Response
We are very sorry for what happened to Mr. *******. Here at Pikes Peak Acura we strive for excellence. We will not pay anymore money to Mr. ******* used vehicle because we feel we have done nothing wrong. He bought a used vehicle. He did purchase a warranty that covered up to $8860( that the warrant company did pay) for the motor issue, unfortunately the warranty will only pay a percentage of the value of the car, and it 100% clearly reads this on the paperwork he signed. Thank you!!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response. I understand I purchased the vehicle with a limited warranty. However, the repairs incurred within the first year is not normal and PPA claims to have performed an inspection which was not thorough or they would've caught the first issue and the others. Minimum, if any, inspection was conducted on the vehicle per the service records, Greg, showed me and my mother on 2-20-15. I'm fm the full inspection they guarantee and advertise was performed on the 20007 VW Touareg, the vehicle may not have been priced so high. However, that was not the case. They sold a $16K vehicle only worth $8600 to a first-time car buyer; with serious mechanical problems.
Not only that but I have a stress induced seizure in their dealership- incurred more unnecessary debt due to hospital bills and visits to the neurologist. Their response is indicative of the treatment that I have received since purchasing the vehicle from them.
If not half of the car repairs, they should at least be willing to pay 1/3 of the repairs. A decent business would have even offered to help with the medical expenses. Again, at this point, I am not requesting compensation for my medical bills, in spite of the seizure being ruled as triggered by stress and the incident involving PPA's Service manager, Greg *******.
Response not accepted - we need to come to a resolution on this matter and it's simply not acceptable for PPA to not accept some responsibility in this.

10/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I were looking for a used SUV. Test drove a 2006 Acura MDX. Was told before we left the parking lot it was $12,000. When returning from the test drive, was told it was $12, 998. We told them we were able to pay only $12,000. I wanted a warranty and Brinn quoted us $1000.00 for bumper to bumper warranty. We were very pressured by Brinn. We asked for 2 yr. loan and put down $7000.00 on the car. When we were due to sign the papers, Jay the financial man, had a pile of papers, and had me initial and sign papers without explaining anything to us. He was so quick, we were unable to look at the papers. We left the SUV with them because there was a problem with the fan for the heater and air conditioner. We left there with out the car and without any paperwork, but they had a $7000.00 down payment from us. We returned the following day, 9-10-15 to pick up the car, which was not fixed and the paperwork. Never was it discussed that our loan was 66 months instead of 24 mos. Nor was it disclosed that the $1000.00 warranty went up to $3499. Acura took advantage of us because of our age. I returned on 9-11-15 with the car and paperwork and wanted the warranty taken off and the loan back to 2 yrs. Leif ******* was speaking to us and left to speak to a GM. I believe he waited until the check cleared the bank and was gone for over 25 minutes. When he returned he told us that they would not help us in anyway. They now have $7000.00 and we are financed for $12,000 because of all the hidden fees. What awful service from Acura. The car is still with them, and no one there is willing to help us. I would like to return the car and get our $7000.00 back. We were taken advantage because we are senior citizens. They did what that wanted to do.

Desired Settlement
We would like our $7000.00 returned and we will return the car. They are an awful company to work with. As soon as my check cleared their attitude changed completely. There was no talking to them.

Business Response
We have talked to customers to resolve this matter. We agree we could of handled it differently. We have taken the steps, and have 100% handled this matter with the customers. Thank you!!!

06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On November 13, 2014, Pikes Peak Acura promised to store my summer tires free of charge if I purchased new winter tires from them, which I did. I made an appointment to have the summer tires re-installed (and have them readdress some work on the fender liner that was initially repaired on April 23, 2015) on May 15, 2015 at 12:30pm. After an hour and a half of waiting the service representative came to tell me that they did not have my tires in storage, but offered to help me out of the situation by putting new tires on if I would only pay $865 (which amounts to Pikes Peak Acura picking up the tab for one of the new tires). I told him I did not think this was fair compensation and that the entire situation seemed like something between fraud and outright theft. At no point did any management of Pikes Peak Acura attempt to speak with me. I left the dealership after two hours without any of the scheduled work being done (including them repairing the work on the fender liner which was not adequately completed on April 23rd). I had to leave town for a couple days, but called back to speak to the service manager, ************, on the afternoon of May 19th. I told **** that I didn't think the dealership had seemed very apologetic about the entire situation and that the offered compensation did not seem adequate given the fact that I am out four good tires and now in the position of having to purchase new ones. **** offered me the same deal, where the dealership would purchase one tire and I would have to only pay $865 for a new set. ****'s rationale is that he does not have record of, or know, the condition of the summer tires that they took off my car (and supposedly stored) on Nov 13, 2014. He postulates that the tires were probably close to being completely worn out and needed to be replaced anyway; concluding that offering to buy me one tire is a great deal for me. However, I did inspect the tires prior to getting them stored and know that I had at least a full season left on them and wouldn't need to replace them until after the next winter season. I know this because I try to manage when I replace tires on all of my vehicles so that they all don't need replacement at the same time. Presumably the dealership wouldn't have offered to store tires that were close to the tread wear indicators and needed to be replaced. It wouldn't make sense spend money on storing bad tires and it would make sense to be up front with the customer about what the vehicle needs are. Given that, at this point I'm now out four good tires and Pikes Peak Acura has offered to make it right by giving me one good tire. I'm not sure if this was an honest mistake, a scam to allow the dealership to sell more tires, or straight up theft of my summer tires from their storage facility - I could reasonably argue any of those scenarios. However, I am sure that one good tire as compensation for four good tires is unacceptable. From a customer service standpoint I am also a bit disturbed that no manager attempted to speak with me on May 15th, and there was no attempted follow up from a manager until I initiated communication with the dealership on May 19th even though I had been a fairly consistent customer.

Desired Settlement
Ideally I would just have my original 4 summer tires back on the car per our original agreement, knowing that I felt safe driving them for another season (including factoring in more than minimal tread depth to mitigate the potential of hydroplaning).

I would feel somewhat compensated for the loss of 4 good tires by reversing Pikes Peak Acura's offer, where I would purchase 1 new tire (~$281) and the dealership picked up the cost for the additional 3 tires (~$865).

Pikes Peak Acura could win my business back by a) seeming genuinely apologetic about the situation, b) including an alignment with the tires, and c) updating their procedures to include; 1) better documentation about tire condition and the storage agreement on their service invoices, 2)to include digital pictures of the tires being stored, and 3) more clearly marking the tires being stored to avoid future confusion.

Business Response
We strive for customer satisfaction and loyalty with each transaction. Sometimes we fall short. This is one of those times. We would rather have reinstalled Mr.******* old tires than have put him through this predicament. Based on like models that we see come through the service department, these take off tires with 37394 miles on them, would have had 3/32 nds of tread life. We recommend replacement with this measurement, but we no longer have this set of take off tires. We believe that they were discarded around 11-14-14 by mistake. Most likely happened since they were down to 10% of useful tread. We do not use tire disposal as a way of selling tires. We would like to retain Mr. ***** as a customer. We label each set of tires with customer names and vehicle descriptions, but we have added a process of documenting the remaining tire tread. This process was added after reading Mr.******* recommendations. Thank you. We have reconsidered our initial offer. The offer is that Pikes Peak Acura will mount and balance 4 new tires/ check alignment/ and his total out the door price is $600.00. Thank you for your time in this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept Pike Peak Acura's updated offer for me to pay $600 for a new set of tires after they lost (or stole) my tires as it does not appear to be a good faith effort to correct a problem that was 100% their fault. Their initial offer was to absorb the cost of one tire, and I would have to purchase the other three. The OEM tires for this vehicle (Michelin Pilot HX) are available on tirerack.com for $200.46 per tire. So, their "updated" offer really still has me paying for three tires, with the dealership paying for one tire and labor. However, I have to believe that the dealership has a better arrangement with tire suppliers than the general consumer on tirerack.com, so in reality the $600 offer could cover the entire cost to the dealer of installing four new tires on my car at which point the only loss to the dealership is the profit they would gain by selling me four tires which I shouldn't even need in the first place, and I'm out $600 which I shouldn't need to spend. The tires that were on my vehicle came with a 50,000 mile warranty and there are numerous reviews on the internet of people getting more than 60,000 miles out of these tires. Pikes Peak Acura's presumption that my tires needed to be replaced anyway is unfounded as the warranty and user reviews indicate that I could easily have had between 13,000 and 23,000 miles, or more, left on the tires. There has been absolutely no attempt by Pikes Peak Acura to conduct any follow-up customer service concerning this situation or to even apologize. At this point it appears that my best bet is to just purchase tires from a company that appreciates business and escalate my grievance with Pikes Peak Acura.

Final Business Response
We value every customer here at Pikes Peak Acura and want to make this right. Mr. ***** has to understand that Tire Rack charges $35 per tire for shipping and plus we have to mount and balance them. Its $1150.00 to put 4 new tires on the vehicle. The tires we stored that were thrown away had 40,000 miles on them, and were on there last leg. We are wanting to help out but 2 tires is more than fair. We do apologize for the inconvenience but we are helping more than enough.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Tire Rack tires can be shipped for $15 each or picked up for free from their Denver distribution warehouse. Average mount/balance charge from various shops is $90. I understand Pike Peak Acura's business logic in this situation but I do not understand their customer service logic. Admitting and owning up to your mistakes is a trait that we work to instill in our children and is a characteristic that defines adulthood. If they had not lost or stole my tires in the first place I would be a happy customer who probably would be in the market for tires later this summer. If they had originally owned up to their mistake and were genuinely apologetic with a reasonable solution I would have been understanding. However, my business logic now tells me that my patronage of Pikes Peak Acura has cost me $1150 (by their math), for which I have nothing to show. At this point I would accept cash compensation for the liability that Pikes Peak Acura has admitted to - $550, but I can honestly not see a benefit of continuing a business relationship.

06/03/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/29/1986Business started: 03/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1985, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Jensen (Owner/General Manager) Greg Hoffman (Service Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Industry Tips
Automobiles, New
Auto Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pikes Peak Acura Ltd has received 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pikes Peak Acura Ltd

655 Automotive Dr

Colorado Springs, CO 80905-7000

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 655 Automotive Dr 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80905-7000(719) 633-1500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pikes Peak Acura Ltd is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Automobiles, New
Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.