BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Colorado

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1980

Mercedes-Benz of Colorado Springs

(719) 694-3284View Additional Phone Numbers730 Automotive Dr, Colorado SpringsCO 80905-7009 Send email to Mercedes-Benz of Colorado Springs

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1980

BBB has determined that Mercedes-Benz of Colorado Springs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mercedes-Benz of Colorado Springs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mercedes-Benz of Colorado Springs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 20 my 2005 E55 AMG was brought in for service at Phil Long Mercedes to address the two outstanding safety recalls that were out on the car and have a routine safety inspection conducted on the car. The first recall was the reason for the visit, to address a leaking fuel system that was causing fuel to leak from the top of the sending unit. When I dropped the car off I was told of another outstanding warranty issue on the car that involved the (PN:*************) transmission guide-plug. Since the car had no leaks I asked what this would fix. I was told by ************** the service consultant that the existing plug in my car was prone to leaking so I agreed to have it replaced under the warranty campaign.
Yesterday while driving home I noticed smoke billowing from behind the car. I pulled over to check it out to find there was fluid burning on the exhaust pipe. I took it to my independent mechanic and he was able to determine it was the guide plug that failed.
I am very concerned that this failure and resultant transmission fluid starvation could have damaged and will reduce the useful life of the transmission in my car.

Desired Settlement
I have purchased cars from Phil Long Mercedes and have been very pleased with them but have never had a good experience with their service department. With this said I would not take my cars back to Phil Long Mercedes for service and am requesting that Phil Long Mercedes reimburse for having the required replacement of guide plug and transmission fluid replaced and issue a warrantee on the transmission.

Business Response
Please have customer provide repair invoices from Independent service provider for review.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No resolution was proposed from Colorado Springs Mercedes. I can be reached directly at *************, same as on the service invoices, so that any other questions can be answered on the spot and resolution is not further prolonged.

Final Business Response
Normally we would need to verify and rectify a problem with work performed here at Mercedes Benz of Colorado Springs. Depending on a competing repair facility's word can sometimes be problematic and would not constitute reimbursement for repairs. In this case we will reimburse the the total amount of repairs performed elsewhere in the amount of $346.40 as a goodwill gesture. We do appreciate the ******'s as sales customers and hope to win their business as a service customer in the future. If the ******'s are satisfied with this outcome we will process a reimbursement check.

Consumer Response
How is this complaint closed? Seems a resolution should be made or the complaint should remain open. I have not recieved reimbursement for the incomplete service conducted at Phil Long Mercedes. Granted having to have the same item serviced elsewhere because it was not done properly the first time is not my idea of a resolution but I will take the reimburesment and move on.

09/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/14/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2002 Mercedes S500 with 36k miles from
Mercedes of Colorado Springs. They assured me that they checked the vehicle with their so many inspection points and the charged me over $600 of dealer handling in addition to the price. I purchased the vehicle March 2012, the dealer did all the work. I noticed recently that the right front side of the car was leaning, so I took the car to my Mechanic (first time since I purchased the car from the dealer). He opened the hood and immediately discovered that the Driver side Strut was missing all three screw nuts. This is extremely dangerous as I have been driving the car for over a year with this risk! with family, friends and their children? I left my car with my Mechanic, took a photo of the Strut with the missing screw nuts and went to Mercedes of COS and presented the photo to ************ the Mercedes sales manager (719) 337-3656. We went back to the service Desk and they checked and acknowledged that they had preformed repairs on the same strut. My car currently has a little over 38k miles on it. I gave my Mechanic the go ahead to repair my car Mercedes original parts. The parts and repair costs totaled $665 and were completed on Dec. 29, 2013. I requested that the dealership do the right thing and reimburse me for the repair costs and refund me the dealer handling charge of over $600, since they. Did not perform the
Appropriate services which they are responsible for. When you buy a luxury car from a reputable dealer your expectation are a high level of service and safety.

Desired Settlement
I want a reimbursement of both my repair costs and dealer handling charge at the time of purchase.
Thank you,

****

Business Response
This vehicle was purchased "As is-No Warranty" nearly two years ago (Feb.27th, 2012). We have no service history for this customer since purchase.

As a courtesy we have already refunded this customer $295.00 for a lifetime oil and filter package purchased in March, 2012.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are NOT offering any resolution. They have indicated with their response that they will not deal in good faith. time for court. Mercedes Benz of Colorado Springs a division of Phil Long, are a bunch of Crookes.

Thank you,

Imad

Final Business Response
At MBCS we always try to do the right thing for our customers and give them the benefit of the doubt.
In this case the customer's request is just unreasonable and unjustified. We performed a used car inspection prior to sale and found the vehicle to be safe and in good working order.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1980Business started: 11/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1997, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Stanton (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobiles, New
Auto Repair
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mercedes-Benz of Colorado Springs

730 Automotive Dr

Colorado Springs, CO 80905-7009

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 730 Automotive Dr 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80905-7009(719) 694-3284
    (877) 255-2967

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mercedes-Benz of Colorado Springs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 255-2967
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.