BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/1998

Front Range Honda

(719) 597-4500View Additional Phone Numbers1103 Academy Park Loop, Colorado SpringsCO 80910-3704View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/1998

BBB has determined that Front Range Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Front Range Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Front Range Honda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On February 16, 013 I was scammed out of $215 by Frontrange Honda's Service Department for an automobile problem that was incorrectly diagnosed and never fixed. My car is still running rough and the 'engine check light' still comes on! This is not the first time this I encountered the same problem with this dealership.
I called Frontrange Honda Service Department on February 15, 2013 about the 'engine check light' on my 2004 Honda CRV remaining on and the engine running rough. They told me to bring it in for a diagnosis and appointment wasn't necessary. When I took it in the next morning I was told the electronic diagnosis costs approximately $120 to find the cause of the problem, which I agreed to. About two hours later I was told by the service technician that the cause of the problem was detected without performing the 'full' diagnosis therefore I wouldn't be charged the full cost. According to the service technician the car required the replacement of the "VTEC switch" located in the engine. The total costs of the partial diagnosis, VTEC switch and labor totaled $215. On February 23, 2013 exactly same problem occurred again with the engine check light. Rather that take it back to Frontrange Honda I've limited my driving to short distances until I could contact the Better Business Bureau for assistance in refunding my money so I can have my car repaired by an honest, reputable establishment.
A similar situation arose with the Honda's engine check light in 2011 and its improper diagnosis by Frontrange Honda. After they had 'milked' me for over $700 it was finally fixed. I don't want to have this same experience again with these unscrupulous people.

Consumer's Final Response


My complaint was resolved with this business on 28 February 2013.

Sent from my iPhone

09/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased vehicle ask to fix clicking noise was told it was just oil issue noise has not gone away took to out side mechanic stated burns oil fast: Through research found ticking noise often cause by a broken retaining pin on the rocker arm shaft. I want vehicle fixed free of charge or myy $500.00 down payment refunded due to lack of good faith.

Business' Initial Response
I show no contact from Mr. ****** since February, and at that time we performed a srevice at No Charge and have not heard anything about a problem since then. If Mr. ****** has a problem, whom did he speak to since the? And giving him $500 is not an option in this case. What is the real problem?Mr. ****** purchased this vehicle in January of 2013. Thanks

Consumer's Final Response
Dear: Representative of Front Range Honda
In January as your response stated I did purchased a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica also as stated in February I brought it in for service I advised the sales person that there was a clicking noise and it could be the rockers or the lifters that had an issue with the intent that the service department would check these things out. They sent the vehicle to the service department and told me that it was just the oil that needed to be changed.
I made this purchase in good faith thinking that Front Range Honda would take care of me and my family unfortunately, that was not the case. The reason I did not contact Front Range Honda is due to the fact that I felt I was either lied to or the service department was incompetent or inadequate at best and I was being ignored with my concerns. Furthermore a diagnostic was performed three months later and the outcome was that the clicking noise as I reported was the rockers and the lifters the problem I stated in February.
To resolve the problem, I would appreciate the vehicle to be fixed free of charge or a portion of my down payment refunded to me. ! have already paid out of pocket expenses due to the fact the car broke down. The vehicle has been partially fixed.
As a veteran and a person who has worked in customer service for over 18 years when someone gives me there word on something I try my best to trust them I give them the benefit of the doubt.
Let me state that there is no doubt that if this matter is not resolved that I will report these actions to the post Commander of Fort Carson and any other appropriate agencies on Fort Carson so soldiers and veterans are not treated this way in the future,
I look forward to your reply and resolution of my problem.
Sincerely,

******* * ******


Business' Final Response
I have reviewed the repair order for 2/06/13. The vehicle came in with a ticking noise, the noise was isolated to lifter noise in engine. Using special chemicals to clean the engine, the noise was successfully eliminated and an oil change was performed on your vehicle all at no charge. We have not had any complaints or have heard from you since the repairs on 2/06/13. After we received your complaint our Used Car Manager spoke to you many times and asked you to bring your vehicle back to Front Range Honda, we have yet to look at your vehicle. You decided to take it to your own mechanic to have the repairs done. Attached is the repair order for your visit with the amount of $161.09, that was at no charge to you. We feel that is more than sufficient since you did not give us the opportunity to look at your vehicle and rectify the situation.

07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I own a Honda Pilot Touring 2012, purchased last June 9, 2012 from Front Range Honda sales person ***** ********. Purchase price of $41,873.24 with financing only $19,083.24. Open case # with Honda Cooperation ******************. In July, the Trip A odometer just started randomly resetting itself when it is only meant to reset with fuel fill-ups. I took it into FR Honda to be told by the then service manager that I didn't know what I was talking about and I must be doing something wrong. My next trip into FR got me a service guy who had another vehicle doing the same thing. I was told they would talk to Honda and get back to me. In August I contacted Honda Corporation and filed a complaint to be told they would look into it. On and off again I have spoken to the current service manager Mr.****** at Front Range Honda, only to be told he is relaying the problem to Corporate Honda to get this fixed. It is nearly a year later and Honda has yet to touch my vehicle to even try to fix it. In the past three months my vehicle has started randomly have this message pop up on the navigation screen and I have not hit a button. It will state Voice recognition ins now available for this device. Say"HDD Search" to begin. I have attached a picture of this message. I have recently notified the dealership of this and he said he will pass this along to Honda.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that they either fix my vehicle and stop putting me off or they replace it with the same vehicle.

Business' Initial Response
********* ******* was in the dealership today and we had someone go over her system for her, and made some changes to her settings. We are still monitoring the situation thru ********* to make sure everything is working as designed and that she is completly satisfied. *************

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, they did do some resets with the HDD Search thing that randomly pops up on my navigation screen. I am sorry to say that on Wednesday while driving home, it did it again. Nothing was done with the Trip A odometer reset that I have been dealing with since last August. I was told they will continue to keep in contact with Honda Cooperate Technicians. I am proceeding with opening a case with Honda Cooperate.

08/06/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/11/1999Business started: 10/05/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1998, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Baldridge (Owner/General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobiles, New

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Front Range Honda

1103 Academy Park Loop

Colorado Springs, CO 80910-3704

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1103 Academy Park Loop 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80910-3704(719) 597-4500
    (719) 785-5060

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Front Range Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 785-5060
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Automobiles, New
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.