BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/16/2012

Freedom Honda

(719) 258-25004955 New Car Dr, Colorado SpringsCO 80923-8813 Send email to Freedom Honda



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/16/2012

BBB has determined that Freedom Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Freedom Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Freedom Honda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On June 20th I had a 2010 Honda Insight towed to Freedom Honda because of a broken serpentine belt. The belt was replace and the car was ready for pick up on June 21. I was not available to pick up the car until June 22. When the car was picked up my husband did not even make it 2 miles from the dealership when the car over heated. After replacing the serpentine belt the tech working on the vehicle did not check the cars coolant level. It is standard procedure to do so when this belt breaks. My husband noticed that there was no coolant in the vehicle and purchased some and put it in the vehicle and it did not over heat again. We contacted the dealership and they told us that Honda requires a special coolant and that if we brought the car in they would replace the coolant with the proper coolant. On Tuesday June 23 they called to tell us that the vehicle was ready for pick up. They also informed us that there was an issue with warping of the radiator cap and that the radiator would no long hold correct pressure because of over heating. This issue was not on the invoice from June 20th but is included on the invoice from June 23.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund for the replacement of the serpentine belt. So that I can apply it to the new issue cause by over heating.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********************
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: dmoran@freedomhonda.net
Freedom Honda understands the customer's request. Even though the customer had clearly asked for only the serpentine belt to be replaced and not for a full inspection of the cooling system as a goodwill gesture we will issue a refund of $176.16. This vehicle was previously involved in a front end collision that caused significant damage to the radiator, air conditioning condenser and more. This damage is what caused the serpentine belt to break and the engine to overheat. This overheating is what caused the radiator to melt. Freedom Honda also flushed the engine coolant at no charge to the customer as a goodwill. We hope that this resolution satisfies the customer and that they will choose to do business with us again in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The response is the resolution that was asked for in the complaint.

02/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July 2, 2013, purchased a vehicle from Freedom Honda. The finance manager, **************, stated that my bank would not approve financing unless I obtained an extended warranty from them. I had explained that I couldn't afford the extra payment but ***** insisted I wouldn't be able to purchase the vehicle without it. I never received any paperwork from Freedom or the warranty company stating that I had a warranty in place, and Air Academy Credit Union financed the vehicle.

I have just learned that it is illegal for a car dealership to sell a warranty under the pretense of obtaining financing.

Freedom Honda has been paid for the vehicle through my deposit of $1,000 and $5821.25 from Air Academy Credit Union. Total agreed upon purchase price on the vehicle is $6748.96 They are now trying to collect an additional $1800 for the warranty that I did not want. I had written a check per *****'s instruction to cover the warranty he claimed the bank needed. This was a post dated check and was deposited by Freedom prior to the agreed upon hold date of July 27th. The check was returned insufficient. I wrote a replacement check and did not get notice of return, nor have I had any contact from Freedom since. I assumed they did not write the vehicle warranty.

I received notice from 4th Judicial District Bad Check program stating that I owed Freedom Honda $2,085 or that I would face prosecution if not paid and I did not attend a finance class.

I learned today from the warranty company that Freedom Honda retained the $1877.30 warranty fee and no monies had been forwarded to American Guardian Warranty Services.

In addition to the warranty issue, there were two service items that were noted and never taken care of by Freedom Honda as promised. The door mirror switch was broken, as well as the center console latch. The salesman explained their service department would contact me and never has.

Freedom Honda has been overpaid for the vehicle in the amount of $72.29.

Desired Settlement
Freedom Honda needs to cancel the warranty they forced me to obtain.

Freedom Honda needs to cancel the criminal case with the 4th Judicial District DA.

Freedom Honda needs to reimburse me in the amount of $72.29.

Freedom Honda needs to honor their promise to repair the two items that were noted upon sale, that they agreed to repair, at no cost to me.

Business Response
Based on the information in our file. Ms. ******** check appears to have been cashed one day early. I am not sure if we were notified by her of bounced check fees charged by her bank. If we were notified we would have gladly paid them and re-deposited the original check. What we do know is that the check was returned and re-deposited on August 6th 2013. 10 Days after the funds were supposed to be available. It concerns me that Ms, ******** states that the finance manager asked her to write a check for the service contract. Based on the fact that she specifically wrote on the face of the check that it was for "2000 Monte Carlo Down". That leads me to believe that she knew it was down payment. At no time did we receive a replacement check from Ms. ********. We would have attempted to notify Ms. ******** several times that her check had bounced before we turned to the court system. Ms. ******** also states that Mr. ******** stated that she is required to purchase a service contract to obtain financing. Based on our training and required compliance documentation our finance managers clearly understand that is not a requirement. Freedom Honda sent payment to American Guardian for the service contract on August 8th 2013. At this point I am willing to cancel the service contract. The prorated amount is $1449.27. Leaving a difference of $350.73 owed to Freedom Honda. When the refund is received from American Guardian we will cut a check to Ms. ******** that she will need to sign back over to Freedom Honda. At that point we will stop pursing collection of the $1800.00 and cancel the criminal case against her. We will also forgo the $350.73 in lieu of any repairs she feels she was promised. We have a due bill with her signature stating that nothing further was due to her. At that point she will not owe Freedom Honda any money. I feel this is a very reasonable solution.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, I hand delivered a replacement check to *****. This replacement check was not posted to my bank account. I assumed that my wishes were honored and I did not have a service contract.

I have two invoices from Freedom Honda. One invoice includes the service contract ***** stated was mandatory if financed through Air Academy Credit Union, the second invoice shows no service contract in the event he could get financing without the need of a service contract. I retained both invoices and have my pink copies in my possession, both dated the same day. I will be happy to forward copies of the invoices to Freedom Honda so that they can see that their employee may not have abided by their code of ethics, and violated Freedom Honda policies and procedures.

Freedom Honda states that they "would have attempted to notify Ms. ******** several times that her check had bounced" however, I received no notice, verbal or written. Notice from the 4th Judicial District Attorney's office was my first indication.

***** was told that I did not want a service contract, and that I could not afford a service contract. The vehicle in question is a 2000 with over 120,000 miles on it at time of sale. Current NADA value is $4200. I was forced into obtaining the service contract through Freedom by *****, despite Freedom Honda policies and procedures.

I had emailed my concerns to the general manager at the time, ***, without any response, although receipt of my email was confirmed by *****.

I feel my transaction was handled with less than proper business conduct. This could be an isolated incident. However, I do have proof of the misconduct, and have actually 3 sales invoices in my possession for this transaction. The original showing only $1,000 down payment, and two others, one showing $2,800 down payment which covers the service contract, and another for the same date without the service contract.

Having said this, I am willing to accept Freedom Honda closing the matter by refunding the price of the service contract, in the amount of $1877.30 or however they want to clear this matter. But, I have already paid the district attorney's office $342.50 that I paid immediately until I had a chance to dispute the matter with the DA's office. This payment is also going to Freedom Honda, leaving an overpayment of $342.50.

I appreciate Freedom willing to look into this matter and hopefully this assists all parties involved in improving their systems.


Final Business Response
1.27.14 We are settling this with them client today.

thanks

*************

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 14 Sep 2013 I made a deal on a used GMC pickup with Freedom Honda because the salesman(Jason Logan) and his boss (Johnny) both told me the truck had 8 new injectors installed between 1400 and 1800 miles from the current miles on the truck, even after I pointed out that the injectors looked as if they had factory markings on them. I was told several times by both the salesman and his boss that they had paperwork showing the work had been done and due to the fact that it was later in the day on a Saturday the paperwork was in the back and they could not get it that day. I agreed on a price due to the truck supposedly have had the injectors installed and I had them put in writing they would provide proof that the work was done. I went back to the dealer on Monday the 16th of Sep. 2013 and asked for the paperwork which they said they had not got yet and was told that they would get the paperwork and call me. In the mean time I contacted a shop and found in their records that in fact some, but not all the injectors were replaced by them many miles more that the 1400-1800 as stated by the dealer.I thought that maybe there was more paperwork from another source that I could not find so I waited for the dealer to contact me. After waiting for almost two weeks I went back to the dealer on the 27th of Sep 2013 and again asked for the paperwork at which time they told me they could not get the paperwork due to the fact that the injectors were not done as they said. I feel as though I was miss led by the salesman and his boss as they both stated that they had paperwork in the back when evidently they must have never had any paperwork but they were just trying to close the deal. I would not have paid what I did for the truck unless I was reassured and it was put in writing that the injectors had been replaced. New injectors for this truck would be between $4200.00 and $5000.00 depending on if it also needed new lines at the time. I bought this truck for a purpose, based on what they told me and I feel they need to stand by what they put in writing. I have contacted them several times and offered to try and resolve this and all they want to do is back out of our contract. I have spent my time and more money on the truck I purchased from them due to the fact that I thought they would abide by their word and contract.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see either them have new injectors installed at a GM dealer that they pay for or they can issue me a check for $4000.00 (this is roughly figuring some wear for what the injectors should have had if they had been installed as they said) the minimum that it would cost to get new injectors as they stated that it had.

Final Consumer Response
This was resolved on 4 Oct 2013 Thank you for your time

03/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/15/2011Business started: 10/22/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2010, CO

Business Management
Dan Moran (Service Director)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bret Petersen (General Manager)Ms. Vicky McManus (Business Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobiles, New

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Freedom Honda

4955 New Car Dr

Colorado Springs, CO 80923-8813

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4955 New Car Dr 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80923-8813(719) 258-2500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Freedom Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Automobiles, New
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.