BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/02/1980

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda - Motor City

Phone: (719) 473-4100

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
04/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought the Mazda 3 SI for service since BOBPENKUSMAZA emailed me to bring the car in for 5000 miles service that we bought a service contract from. The 5000 miles check was requested and tire rotation also was added. After returning the car to me the service manager told me that the tire rotation was not needed. I brought the car home and my spouse wanted the tire rotation done. So I brought the car in for a recall from ******** and requested a tire rotation. The brought the car 2 minutes later and the service manager told me everything was done. I had my doubts. I brought the car to ********** Of colorado Springs for tire rotation and to verify the tires and the recall list from ********. all tires were rotated and the technician test all four tires were 50PSI overinflated and the pair was 20PSI underflated. Today at around 1:00 pm Mr. James ******* from BOBPENKUSMAZDA called and asked if we were satisfied with the service we got from the dealership. I explained all of the above to him and
we would like to be reimburse for our service agreement the we bought from BOBPENKUSMAZDA because their is no more
trust in this dealership because of the resulted maintenance issues that I am left with.

Desired Settlement
refund of our service contract

Business Response
We are sorry we have lost your trust.
We will process a prorated contract refund today.

Consumer Response


01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 10/24/14 I contacted Bob Pehkus to enquire about a vehicle. I was then contacted to set up a time to meet. I spoke to the sales man *********** and told him about my situation finically and that my only family car for myself and my husband was totaled, and some other extenuating circumstances. ***** informed me they had a 2002 Mitsubishi Galant for sale. On 10/25/14 my husband and I went to the dealership to take a look at the car. We were told by ***** that the car just needed some general maintenance such as a tune up, spark plugs, oil change. Upon looking at the vehicle my husband noticed some oil leaking and said that they were going to, because of our situation financially; give us a deal on the car of 1500.00. We agreed to this price knowing we could use some of the settlement from the totaled car to tune up this car. We paid $700.00 as a down payment. With the agreement the final payment was due 11/8/14. We paid the remainder of the car off on 11/3/14. After taking the car home we drove a total of 42 miles and the car became inoperable. Due to work schedules and ordering parts to give this vehicle its tune up we started work on the car on 11/18/14. After almost 10 hours of work on the vehicle my husband was informed that the missing a piston head and that it is located in the bottom of the oil pan. We were told by our mechanic that this car would require a new engine to be operational. So we contacted ***** at Bob Penkhus and discussed the concerns that the car was misrepresented and that this big of an issue was not disclosed and ***** proceeded to tell us that there was nothing they would do because it was sold as is. Our problem is not that we purchased a vehicle that needed some work our problem is that we purchased a vehicle that was not what the dealership made it seem if they would have disclosed these issues instead of just telling us it needed a tune up we could have made a more informed decision on the purchase. Our mechanic also spoke with ***** and *****'s floor manager about what was going on with the car and they were rude and kept stating the car was purchased as is. I contacted ***** by e-mail on 11/19/14 and asked that they do something to make this right as we are now stuck with no reliable transportation because of their misrepresentation. ***** e-mailed me back saying he was not going to discuss this situation further with me.

Desired Settlement
Currently we are unclear as to what to do. My husband and I have no transportation so we are in the process of seeing about getting the vehicle fixed because we have no other options. We would either like a refund or purchasing a engine for the vehicle.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your letter dated December 10, 2014 regarding Renee ******'s issue presented to the BBB dated November 20, 2014. Apologies for not responding promptly to your request for a response and regret Mrs. ****** was not satisfied with the purchase of her 2002 Mitsubishi Galant.

The vehicle was sold with "no warranty" and "as is", however, Penkhus Motor Company has since reached out to the customer and offered to trade them out of this into another. The customer has yet to respond to our solution.

We value our consumers trust, and each individual in our Company embraces our corporate responsibility. Our staff endeavors to exceed out customer's expectations and we regret we were unable to meet Mrs. ******'s.

We do value feedback from our customers, the BBB and any other source as an opportunity for us to improve the customer experience.

11/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Sept 19th my family & I made the drive from Centennial to Colorado Springs to test drive a used Jeep I had seen online at the Bob Penkhus dealership at *************** Dr. We arrived midafternoon & I went in the showroom while my wife stayed in the car with our three young boys (3 year old twins & a newborn) who had fallen asleep on the drive. ************* greeted me & offered to take me for a test drive. The Jeep wouldn't start & we soon realized it was out of gas so **** called on someone to put some gas in it. I used the opportunity to check on my family, who at this point was walking through the car lot. I helped my wife with the infant's car seat as we went back to the Jeep. One of my twins insisted I pick him up so I carried him as we looked over the Jeep while the lot attendant put some gas in it. I asked **** if it had been in any accidents & he said he didn't think so but we could look at the CarFax to make sure. I drove the Jeep for 20 minutes & liked how it drove. Once we got back I offered to let my wife drive it while I watched the boys. She declined & said the kids were starting to get cranky. I then sat down with **** & we talked numbers & reviewed the clean CarFax report. This soon became a family affair as the twins were getting restless & hungry & we eventually ended up needing to leave. I apologized & said "it wasn't going to happen today, we need to get the kids home." **** wanted to make the deal, he asked ***** if she could take the kids home & leave me behind to buy the car. I initially turned away his offer. **** then said, "Just make an offer that you would be willing to do tonight, I can't guarantee we'll be able to take it but there must be some number you would be willing to stick around for." I made an offer, & we eventually agreed on a price. I said goodbye to the family & stayed behind. I didn't get to spend much time getting to know my new purchase (*****************), it is usually dark when I go into work & dark by the time get home in the fall. In the three weeks after the purchase we went to an out of state wedding (Santa Barbara) & I went on a business trip to Houston. It wasn't until Oct 10th that I went about washing & waxing the Jeep. When I got around to waxing the roof, with the help of a step stool, I was met with dozens of hail divots. I have become very familiar with hail damage as we had our roof & one of our other cars deemed a total loss by the storm that came through Centennial on Sept 29th. The new Jeep was left in the garage, safe & sound during the storm while we were away in Santa Barbara. The Jeep had been protected so the damage must have been pre-existing. As luck would have it, we had an insurance adjuster with MetLife stopping by to look at our other car on Oct 10th so I asked him if he could look at my new purchase. He agreed & confirmed the damage on the roof was indeed hail & we began looking over the rest of the car. We discovered the bolts that mount the hood had chipped paint, a sure sign the hood had been removed, & we assumed this had been done to repair the hail damage to the hood. He said he would estimate the total damage around $4,000 give or take $1,000 for paint-less dent repair. He also said he would be happy to collaborate & offer his professional opinion. After he left I called the dealership & asked to speak with a manger, I was directed to ************ & told him my story. He said they sold used cars "as-is." I understood where he was coming from but I didn't think the average car buyer is tall enough to survey the roof of an SUV without some assistance. It was obvious to me that someone had intentionally only repaired the hail damage that was easily visible. I don't know if Penkhus made the partial repairs or not but I believe they knew about the hail damage & should have disclosed it in the internet ad or in person. Further correspondence with **** has been unproductive as he offers no compromise & has since taken to not returning my voicemails

Desired Settlement
I want them to pay for the paintless dent repair on the roof of my Jeep and be more more forthcoming with future customers.

Business Response
Please see attached online.

Final Consumer Response
Bob Penkhus had their body shop make the repairs to my satisfaction and I consider my complaint closed.

****************

10/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a used 2008 VW Touareg from Bob Penkhus in Oct. of 2013. The vehicle did not have the GPS navigation DVD with the vehicle at the time of the sale. The salesman said that he would locate the most updated OEM GPS DVD and provide it to me as soon as it was found. The missing/owed DVD was documented on a "We Owe" form, which was then signed. After about a month and a half to two months I called the dealership to get a status update. I wasn't able to talk to the salesman, however it was relayed to me that he was aware I was still waiting for the DVD and he would call me as soon as he got it. After about another month I called again and was again unable to speak to the salesman, however I was told he would call me back; he never did. I then emailed the dealership through their web-site in January to let them know about the issue at hand and the response I received said that the salesman was looking into the issue and I would receive a call back. I received another email a few days later and was told that the service department was keeping an eye out for the same year Touareg so they could make a copy of the Navigation DVD to give to me. I was originally told it would be OEM, not a copy, which I have my doubts would work anyway, although that isn't really an issue because I never heard back from anyone after that. I tried calling once more after that, but was unable to speak to the salesman. On 10/03/2014 I emailed the dealership from their web-site once more to say that it had been a year and there was still no resolution; as of 10/07/2014 I have received no response. At this point, even if I did receive a response I would have a hard time believing the situation is going to be resolved. I offered to locate the DVD myself, buy it and then bring in the receipt to be reimbursed, but heard nothing back on that idea. The navigation in the vehicle does not work at all without the DVD so it is basically a very large cd player/radio at this point.

Desired Settlement
Since the navigation unit in the Touareg was one of the reasons I bought that particular vehicle I would like to get it working. I would like Penkhus to either provide me with the signed upon OEM DVD for the vehicle, or monetary compensation that would allow me to purchase the DVD. They can easily be found and seem to range between $115-$150 before shipping. I have been told that VW dealerships can sometimes order them cheaper than that through their parts department, however I have not verified that.

Business Response
The customer is correct. We have in writing that he should get a navigation disk for his vehicle. This part has been ordered as of 10/22/2014. We will contact the customer to arrange installation. There will be no charge to the customer.

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bob Penkhus (known as "seller") unilaterally erred to discover and/or disclose material facts of one 2007 Pontiac G5, VIN # ***************** (known as "purchased vehicle"). ****** **** (known as "buyer") has suffered measurable damages due to the seller's misrepresentation and unilateral mistake. Further details are outlined below. On October 6, 2012 the buyer visited the Bob Penkhus in Motor City, Colorado Springs. The purchased vehicle was advertised to have a clean driving record and no accidents and backed by the "Bob Penkhus Promise." The car was listed at Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price. The sales team brokered the car deal that involved purchasing the vehicle with $2500 cash down payment and a trade in credit of $100. On April 2, 2014 the buyer contact her bank to refinance the vehicle for a lower interest rate. The bank notified the buyer that they would be unable to finalize the deal based on the ********* history reporting Frame Damage in 2011. The car was ineligible for any loan and valued the car around 50% of full MSRP with the frame damage. The bank was unable to fully value the car based on the fact that they did not know how extensive the damage was. The buyer ran the ********* and ****** reports by the vehicle's VIN number. The ********* history does in fact report frame and unibody damage in January 2011. This was added to the *********'s history prior to the purchase date of the vehicle. The ****** History reports one accident in 2008. This was also added to the history prior to the buyer purchasing the vehicle. The buyer personally contacted and disputed the reported frame damage through *********. The email response received states, "Unfortunately, the Frame/unibody damage record has been confirmed due to a rocker post and a B pillar damaged. In order to dispute this record further, you will need to seek out a general manager at any auction house that uses ********* and start a frame/unibody dispute with them. Please note that even if the dispute ends in your favor, the original frame/unibody damage record(s) will remain on the report for legal reasons. A new record may be added, if the dispute is valid stating that "Auction announced as frame/unibody damage disputed-inspection shows no frame/unibody damage." Once the report was confirmed by *********, the buyer went to two separate third party companies to confirm the frame and unibody damage. The local GM dealer referred the buyer to ***************** located at ****** Garden of the Gods Road. The service advisor, ****** *******, inspected the vehicle and confirmed what was reported on both history reports. "After inspecting the vehicle there is obvious weld work to the left "A" pillar that is starting to rust. The left rocker panel has either been repaired or replaced as the factory spots are no longer visible as well as paint peeling and signs of rust in the new weld. In addition there is a hard tape line to the "B" Pillar and paint is peeling. This is an obvious sign of prior paint & body work." The buyer also took the vehicle to the local ****** Co, located off of Tutt Ave. The appraisal was completed by *****. on May 6, 2014. The condition of the car was noted on the appraisal offer. This third party company noted as follows: Driver Fender: Not original, Hood: Prior Paintwork, Driver Front Door: Prior Paintwork, Driver Quarter: Prior Paintwork, Frame: Prior Repair, Apron: Repaired. If the seller properly disclosed these facts prior to the sale of the purchased vehicle, the buyer would not have entered into the sales contract. Had the seller presented **************** with the history report, the lien holder would have rejected any financing based on the reported frame damage.

Desired Settlement
After 6 unsuccessful weeks of trying to resolve this issue with the employees of Bob Penkhus, I seek the immediate rescission of sales contract, recover all monetary measurable damages in the amount of $13,785.82 and immediately return the purchased vehicle upon payment.

Business Response
Dear
Ms.
****:
we
are
in
receipt
of
your
letter
d{e{
May
13
,
2014,
regarding
your,,pleading
Initiating
Action
and
Demand
for
immediate
Rescission
of
Sales
Contract,'.
After
review
ofthe
vehicle's
history
reporl
and
sales
documents,
it
is
our
beliefBob
penkhus
Volvo
Mazda,
Inc.
("Bob
Penkhus")
has
not
violated
any
colorado
Revised
Statutes,
anJin
particular,
c,R.s.
6-1-708
(1)
(b)
Motor
vehicle
Sales
&
Leases
-
Deceptive
Trade
practices.
Thus,
we
certainly
do
not
agree
with
your
allegations
that
our
company;,unilaterally
ened
to
discover
and/or
disclose
material
facts"
with
respect
to
your
octobe,
s,
zotz
purchise
ofthe
2007
Pontiac
c5
(V.I.N,
*******************).
Backsround
Information
1
.
Bob
Penkhus
acquired
the
vBhicle
via
a
trade-in
from
a
private
party
and
obtained
an
"Affidavit
&
Representation
Regarding
Trade-In
vehicG"
(the-,,Afhdavit,,)
from
the
vehicle
owner.
The
Affidavit
includes
the
followins:
a.
"I
represent
and
warrant
that
the
Vehicle
is
not
a
salvaged,
wrecked,
totaled,
destroyed,
damaged
by
flood,
fire,
collision,
accident,
hespass
ot
other
occunence,
reconstructed
or
reassembled
vehicle
as
defined
under
colorado
Law
(or
the
law
ofany
state
in
which
the
vehicle
was
used,
titled,
legistered,
rented.
or
leased).
I
acknowledge
that
Dealer
has
not
had
the
opportunitylo
examine
the
cuffent
or
former
certificate(s)
of
ritle
to
the
vehicle
and
that
Dealer
is
relvins
upon
this
written
affidavit
and
representation
on
accepting
the
Vehic1e.,,
1101
Motor
City
Drive
Colorado
SpriDgs,
Colorado
80905-7312
(7
19)
473-4100
FAX
(?
l9)
389-1004
4391
Austin
Bluffs
Parkway
Colorado
Spddgs,
CO
80918-2931
(7r9)
955-s000
FAX
(719)
457-7232
7455
Test
Drive
Colorado
Spdngs,
CO
80923-8846
(1te)
18s-zooM
(9666)
FAX
('7
19)
185-9667
b.
Has
not
suffered
any
material
damage;
Has
not
been
rebuilt
or
substantially
altered;
Factory
installed
emissions
control
system
has
not
been
altered,
removed,
or
reduced
in
efficiency
other
than
through
ordinary
wear
aad
tear;
(4)
Airbags
have
not
been
used,
deployed
or
stolen.
In
the
event
they
have
been
used,
deployed
or
stolen,
I
had
the
airbag(s)
replaced
according
to
factory
specifications;
(5)
Has
all
safety
equipment
required
to
make
car
roadworthv:
(6)
Has
not
been
subject
to
a
manufacturer,s
recall
under
fedlral
or
state
law;
(7)
Has
not
been
repurchased
under
a
state
,,lemon
law,,
or
similar
raw;
(8)
Has
not
had
its
odometer
repaired
or
replaced;
(9)
Is
not
now
nor
has
it
ever
been
stolen;
(10)Is
not
"Rebuilt
fiom
Salvage',
as
defined
under
C.R.S.
Section
42_
6-102
or
as
defined
by
the
laws
of
other
states
conceming
salvage
vehicles".
collision
related
lnatters
are
limited
to
visual
inspection
by
our
technicians.
A,
"iai"
date
of
this
letter,
I
was
unable
to
locate
the
insnection
worksheef
within
rhe
eqle
inspection
worksheet
within
the
sale
documents
file.
However,
I
did
review
our
internal
service
t
icket
#
49366
dated
August
12,2012,
and
noted
the
following
repairs
to
the
2007
pontiac
G5:
(1)
Used
vehicle
inspection;
(2)
Oil
frlter,
gasket
and
5W30
Oil;
(3)
Wiper
blades;
(4)
Filter;
(5)
Exhaust
leak
repair;
(6)
Check
engine
codes;
9:1:g*1
17,^2012,
Bob
Penkhus
obtained
a
CarFax
Vehicle
History
Reporl
for
the
2007
P.ontiac
Gl.
The
carFax
reporled
that
this
vehicle
had
3
private
party
owners
(excluding
Ms.
$ull);
damage
was
reporled
on
April
19,
200g,
via
a
New
il4exico
damage,report
-
"damage
reported
after
accident
or
other
incident,,.
The
carFax
report
does
not
cite
anq
dollar
amount
of
damages,
nor
does
it
report
any
frame/unibody
^
camage.
It
appears
from
tfre
carFax
vehicle
History
Report,
the
vehicle
traded-in
to
Bob
penkhus
was
purchased
from
Colorado
Springs
Used
Cars
and
Truck
on
Apil4,20ll.
Bob
Penkhus
seivice
technicians
performed
a
multi-point
vehicle
inspection
ofpre-
owned
vehicles
$rimarily
for
safety
and
mechanical
items;
frame/unitody
and
other
(2)
(3)
3.
There
were
no
frame/unibody
/l
Bob
Penkhus
di
process
at
the
ti
accident
6.
Bob
Penthus
so
1G2ALI5F3
Bob
Penkhus
Vista
Bo
evidence
of
following:
(7)
Four
new
tires;
(8)
Replaced
front
brake
pads;
(9)
Replace
oil
dipstick
and
washer
reservoir:
(10)Complete
detail
of
the
vehicle.
The
total
of
the
ing
repairs
totaled
$1,680.57.
noted
regarding
any
possible
collision
damase
or
not
utilize
AutoCheck
Vehicle
History
Report
for
its
sales
and
leasing
e
the
2007
Pontiac
G5
was
sold.
please
note
AutoCheck
reported
no
but
did
report
frame/unibody
damage.
a_2007
Pontiac
G5
to
you
on
October
6,2012,
(V.LN.
#
****).
rested
***********************
&
paint
(AR
)
located
on
4635
park
Coiorado
Springs,
Colorado
to
ascerlain
whether
the
vehicle
had
any
ibody
damage
or
any
material
damage.
Arthur,s
reported
the
a
fulher
telephone
conversation
with
Afthur,s
regarding
the
vehicle
r
stated
the
suspension
system
and
front-end
components
were
original
a.
Shop
fo
no
evidence
of
any
major
frame
or
structwal
damages
or
repairs.
b.
Frame
asured
within
OEM
specifications
and
suspension
alignment
within
ons
as
well,
A
All
LT
and
welded
on
panels
have
factory
spot
weld
and
seams.
rocker
panel
damages
appeax
to
be
hoist
damage
or
floorjack.
e.
Vehicle
have
brake
pads
replaced.
My
staff
did
ard
it
was
OEM
us,
in
their
op
As
of
the
date
7.
of
this
letter,
the
2007
Pontiac
G5,wttha72,69g
mileage
adjustment,
has
consistent
with
the
model
year
and
mileage
of
the
vehicle.
As
sta6d
to
,
the
accident
was
categorized
as
,,minor,,.
Third
Partv
Kelley
NADA
lue
Book
Retail
Value
$8,154
$7,675
Trade-In
Value
$6,0s9
$5,500
8.
Unfortunately,
AutoCheck
nor
CarFax
is
reputed
to
be
100%
accuratel
nor
is
the
remediation
to
corect
any
false
information
consumer-friendly.
In
addition,
there
is
wide
vehicle
auction
lenders
disclosi
exists,
solely
to
owners.
We
regret
Ms.
****
not
able
to
refinance
her
vehicle
because
of
the
AutoCheck
information
stating
the
vehicle
has
damage.
We
understand
your
fiustration
in
trying
to
remedy
the
AutoCheck
to
refute
the
frame
issue.
We
offer
our
assistance
in
submittine
the
****************
&
Paint
reporl
of
their
frame
measurements,
photos
and
written
etation
as
to
what
constitutes
frame/
unibody
damage
throughout
the
insr.rance
industry.
In
certain
cases,
I
have
persona.iy
exper:ienced
frame/unibody
damage
during
the
auction
process,
where
no
damage
rvide
a
safe
harbor
from
any
fuither
liability
from
subsequent
vehicle
report.
This
reporl.
third
parly
inspection
and
measurement
clearly
refutes
the
AutoCheck
offered
by
Bob
Penkhus.
The
$834.00
may
also
be
added
to
the
value
your
sole
discretion.
Regardless
of
our
be
your
assertions
are
without
merit,
we
wish
to
propose
the
following
resolution
options
as
a
gesnre
to
you:
Ontion
I
-
in
the
2007
Pontiac
G5
on
a
new
or
used
Bob
penkhus
vehicle
with
the
trade-in
value
towards
the
or
other
$6,059.00
for
the
2007
Pontiac
G5
plus
a
credit
of
$g34.00
to
be
applied
rase
of
any
ancillary
service
contract,
pre-paid
maintenance
agreemem
of
the
trade-in
option
2
-
Ifyop
desire
to
keep
your
vehicle,
we
will
(1)
offer
a
cash
settlement
of
$1,834.00
paid
directly
to
the
lienholder,
(2)
assist
you
by
providing
support
from
Bob
Penkhus
and
A(hur's
collision
in
an
attempt
to
update
the
Autocheck
and
carFax
reports,
at
a
minimum,
incorporate
the
comments
regarding
the
frame
measurements
being
within
oEM
specification
with
aay
evidence
of
prior
damage
and
(3)
assist
you
in
your
attempt
to
qefinance
your
vehicle.
corpolate
we
were
not
able
to
Sincerely,
WL
Marvin
A.
Boyd
Chief
Operating
In
summary,
we
value
Please
inform
me
as
to
any
questions
please
Ms.
Hull
expectations.
I
consumels'trust
and
each
individuat
in
our
Company
embraces
our
Our
staff
endeavors
to
exceed
our
customers
expectations
and
we
regret
hich
option,
i{qy,
Ir
acceptable
to
you
by
June
20,
2014.
Ifyou
have
me
on
my
cell
phone
*************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. **** and the Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for your response, please note that my address has changed since I purchased the Pontiac in 2012. Please send any other further correspondence to *********************************************************
As to option number one of the goodwill resolution; my faith and trust in Bob Penkhus' quality of vehicles is non-existent and I would not be able to proceed with confidence to trade the Pontiac in for another vehicle on their lot. Not only do I doubt the service I would receive walking back into their business, but, based on my experience in dealing with numerous employees and the very questionable quality of the current vehicle, I am extremely doubtful that Bob Penkhus fully checks or inspects over all of their vehicles for major issues prior to sale.
As to option number two; the amount of $1834 does not cover the damages that I have suffered. I am unsure how they reached that amount. I would be inclined to hear how they specifically reached that settlement amount to explore this option further.
I appreciate they want to help "assist" me in an "attempt" to clear the issue with *********. The only way to continue to dispute the frame damage is "through a general manager at any auction house that uses *********," but even if the frame damage is found to be non-existent, ********* will not be able to remove it "for legal reasons."
As for the "attempt" to refinance the vehicle, I am 100% not willing to proceed. My understanding of the refinancing is that Bob Penkhus is able to obtain financing because they are not required to provide the history reports to lenders. I do not wish to proceed in this unethical way of not disclosing the reported damage to any financial institution, especially my own bank. I believe it is an immoral and an unethical business practice.
Unfortunately, neither of the proposed options are reasonable or equitable resolutions.
I do agree with Mr. **** that ********* and******* are not 100% accurate and the interpretation of what constitutes frame damage is wide spread. However, the frame damage listed on the vehicle's history will remain on the history and banks, car dealers and private parties rely heavily on these sources to accurately value the vehicle, and based on this consumer reliance, this vehicle's value will be greatly diminished by those interpreting the damage and the history. Even now, Bob Penkhus and our separate third parties reports (all who have inspected the vehicle) have different interpretations of the frame damage.
Regardless, of the amount of damage to the frame and unibody, Bob Penkhus has a duty and Per C.R.S. 6/1/708(1) (b), "knowingly failed to disclose in writing, prior to sale, to the purchaser that a motor vehicle has sustained material damage at any one time from any one incident.
No evidence has been provided by Bob Penkhus that they conducted any further inspections after the single******* report was ran and before the sale of the vehicle. Two seperate and reputable third parties have reported and documented that the frame was either repaired or replaced and that the repair work was "obvious." If Bob Penkhus disputes knowing about the damage before hand it is because their own negligence.
For the reasons stated above, I continue to demand for the rescission of the contract.
Furthermore, the only expectation I ever had of Bob Penkhus was to be able to purchase a reliable and dependable vehicle, free from material damage from a reputable and ethical dealer. I would hope that based on Bob Penkhus' reputation which they advertise, that these standards are not unattainable and my expectations are not unreasonable.
Thank You,
***********

Page 1 of 2
04/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On February 19th, 2016 myself, my wife and two kids came in to look at a vehicle to buy out right with cash. We were helped by a sales man by the name of Mathew ****** and although he had great costumer service,he offered to pay our insurance down payment of $165 with his credit card and we gave him the cash for it, then when we left he cancelled the payment and kept our cash. We ended up buying the car he was persistent on us buying due to its reliability, safety and 200,000 miles we were told it would continue to give us. It is a 1995 Honda civic with 183000 miles on it. We were told it was inspected and it would be reliable and safe, not just once was I told that but multiple times. The car is kbb at 1500 in fair but running condition but with the condition we bought it in after being lied to it was only worth 500 if that, we paid $2000 for a vehicle to only drive it less then 20 miles before it broke down. I spent $300 in the first 2 days of having it to replace the radiator, thermostat, battery, battery cables and fluids to refill car then it had problems again and it is still at the mechanic as it has a list of things wrong that are not even worth the car to fix including transmission problems and a bad head gasket, which the bill is over 700$ for. I was finally able to speak to David a manager today after multiple messages and call transfers and he told me that i could not return it and get a refund. That was allllllllll of our tax refund and some of our bill money wasted on a lie by a reputable dealership and now I clearly understand why you have to come back and get another one.

Desired Settlement
A full refund of the vehicle that we were tricked and lied into purchasing.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your complaint presented to the Better Business Bureau ("BBB") dated March 7th, 2016 regarding customer Brittany Andrews and the purchase of the 1995 Honda Civic.

With respect to the 1995 Honda Civic, this vehicle was sold "AS IS" with NO Warranty to customer Ashley *****, wife of Brittany *******, who signed the following supporting documentation:

Disclaimer of Used Vehicles which clearly states:
"I understand that the use of the vehicle is at my sole risk, Bob Penkhus is making no representations, warranties or guarantees of any kind. I understand that this vehicle has had no mechanical inspection whatsoever performed on it. I understand and agree that I am making a full release and waiver of all claims against the Dealership, including but not limited to, property damages, personal injury, bodily injury, and economic injury. I understand and agree that I have purchased the vehicle 'AS-IS' with all faults known and unknown".
Disclosures Required as Part of a Motor Vehicle
AS-IS - NO Warranty
Acknowledgement of AS-IS Sale
List of Major Defects that may occur in Used Motor Vehicles

Brittany ******* also made extreme allegations in regard to one of our employees Matthew ******, claiming that he kept $165 in cash from the customer to pay the insurance premium on his debit card, and then cancelled the transaction. This is not the case. Matthew has provided a bank statement that confirms the transaction.

Based on the attached copies of supporting documentation and false claims made against our Company, Bob Penkhus is unable to refund the customer.


In summary, we value our consumers' trust, and each individual in our Company embraces our corporate responsibility. We do value feedback from our consumers, the BBB and any other source as an opportunity for us to improve the customer experience.


02/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car had just been a year old in July of 2015- a 2014 Jetta hybrid, great on gas, but unfortunately I have been in VW once or twice a month for the engine light immediately turning on after service, my cup holders falling apart, constant oil leaking from the bottom of my car, the outlet plug not being able to hold a charge in the front, and buttons keep falling through. Overtime I go in and its a waste of time because the service guys "say" they fix the issue but it keeps occurring. What is really inappropriate is they practically blame the issues on me by saying I'm to rough with my vehicle or I'm a woman and I don't understand that cars do that- completely taken advantage of, and that I should continue to bring my vehicle in. If only they knew I work on vehicles changing tires, oil pans, review mirrors, etc with my dad since I was 15 AND I clean my car once a week to ensure cleanliness and my car is taken care of. So I am complaining about the service being sexist towards my knowledge and how well I do take care of my car as well as faulty issues with the physical car and it being cheap and falling apart on the inside and the fixing of the service they provide isn't enough. One time the top light in the front of my car where the emergency button on the ceiling fell right out on top of me WHILE driving. This car for being practically new should not be falling apart let alone serviced this often.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a replacement, but I wouldn't have to start my payments on the new vehicle over again. I think its necessary for a replacement because of the multiple issues I have had in the past year for a BRAND NEW VEHICLE. I have wasted my own days, hours, and money to be in vw- the company knows me by first and last name personally for how many times I'm in there. I have been a loyal customer since 2006 with having 3 VW vehicles, and service then was great. As the years went on service has become lazy, rude, and unable to solve the issues with the vehicle. I have continued to put my trust into VW because I have been with them for years but I have recently noticed that this particular car and my other vw cars haven't had the car completely taken care of- like all of my cars had to go in twice in one week to have the oil pan tightened again because the issue was taken care of properly in the first place. How am I to ensure that my cars are safe to drive when I am in here getting them fixed because of mechanic failure? Now with my current car and its issue- I love the gas milage but I feel as if i was sold a cheap car. To have stuff falling apart while driving is unsafe and ridiculous, and to blame the falling apart on the costumer is inappropriate when I care for my cars because they are expensive to maintain. With the issues the vehicle has- oil leakage constant, engine light constantly on, tire pressure constantly low, buttons/cupholder falling apart- my time and money to even drive from monument is being wasted and I don't have that money to also keep fixing it. The feeling of being scammed into a cheap material car and an uneasy feeling about my safety to even drive the vehicle is what VW has left me pondering thinking about.

Business Response
Customer's complaint stated she had to come back once or twice a month for the engine light turning on after service, cup holder falling apart, constant oil leak, outlet plug not being able to hold a charge, and the buttons keep falling through.

The vehicle has six repair orders since the in service date of 6/28/14. Car has been driven approximately 40000 miles. First repair was 11/29/14 9092 miles for 10K maintenance (N/C). Second was 1/23/15 11688 miles cup holder, and CarNet button fell out, parts were ordered. Third repair 5/29/15 19630 miles for 20K service (N/C), install special order CarNet button and console cup holder. Forth repair 8/29/15 28904 miles for tire pressure light on, pressures okay, customer advised of proper reset procedure. Cup holder came apart again, and was reinstalled, oil change & tire rotation completed (declined full 30K service). Fifth repair 12/07/15 37117 miles performed oil change, checked for cause of tire pressure light and found tire pressure was 10 psi low, recommended 4 new tires and alignment (declined). Sixth repair 1/13/16 40182 miles, complaint of tire pressure light on, found car had three old, worn tires <2/32" and one new tire causing problem, complained that cup holder keeps coming out, requested the engine maintenance light be turned out (declined 40K maintenance). Please note: there have been no complaints of oil leaks, and no inspection notes of oil leaks detected. There has been no requests to repair the outlet plug, and no documentation of engine light coming on after service. The one complaint about the CarNet button has been resolved.

We have scheduled an appointment for 8:00 am Friday, 1/22/16, to inspect the vehicle with Jordan and the Service Manager, with the intention of identifying the cause of the repeat repairs to the cup holder, and enlisting the help of our Volkswagen Field Operations Manager to assist with a final goodwill repair. In addition, we will complete a free multi point inspection to identify any other visible maintenance or repair needs, and provide a written copy of the findings to the customer.


12/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband (Edward) made an appointment for my Volvo to get 2 keyfobs & 1 key. (I already had 1 key in a broken fob to go in one of them.) He got a quote of $275.67 from Monique with a dealer discount as the dealer we bought the car from promised to help get the key situation corrected so I had a working remote fob. I went to my appointment at Bob Penkhus 10/13/15 1:00pm, waited over 2 hours with my 2 children for the work to be completed. Then was presented with a bill for $366.28 and only ONE key & remote/fob made. The quote for 2 was $275.67. Subtracting 1 of the $88.40 quoted remotes from it would have been a quoted price for work completed of $187.27 rather than the $366.28 charged. I complained at the time to my service technician about not getting the dealer discount but had to sign and pay to retrieve my car to get my children and mother the 4 hours drive to our house. I also complained the same day in person to the Service Manager who apologized and said the 2nd remote had been sold since my appointment was made and he couldn't do anything about the price charged to me.



Now three weeks later 11/2/2015 the General Manager has finally returned our multiple calls to his office and offered a $46 refund. However, the difference in quote (of work done) versus the charge is $179.01. My service appointment was for 2 remotes & 1 Volvo key & cut, I was charged a $105 "Volvo Maintenance" labor fee that was not on my quote, as well as a lesser $7.91 lightbulb that was not work I ordered. I did not authorize any maintenance only key programming and cutting.

Desired Settlement
Full refund since we've had to chase this situation around for over 3 weeks now, or the $179.01 overcharged from quote.

Business Response
Customer did get a quote as stated, but failed to call back Monique in parts to verify an appointment was set. Included here is the request for call back with updated quote: Hi, Ed it's monique with Bob Pinkus Volvo so your sales guy from Denver. Just give me a call and so we added all his dealership information on his tax Id stuff and so your price comes out too well instead of before It was $324.32, but now it comes to $275.67 so we do have everything in stock, so everything is ready to go did you make an appointment with the service to get the key program. If you could give me a call back and let me know our number here is ********. Thank you.

The appointment was made thru the service department for key to be cut and programmed. When Mrs. ***** arrived for the appointment she advised the Service Advisor that parts knows all about it. Since the parts department did not get a call back, one of the two keys in stock at the time of the quoute, was sold before they got here. The customer was charged retail, not dealer rates, with a 10% parts & labor discount. The quote from parts did not include the $105 labor charge for programming the key.

With the 10% parts and labor discount, and the $46 credit, there is no other refund or credit due.

We also offered to program the second key (labor only) at no charge, should they decide to buy it from us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ***** did confirm with Monique in parts that he had made an appointment for service. When Mrs. ***** arrived she was not asked what was to be performed and did not tell them "parts knew all about it". She simply handed her keys over after confirming who she was, no questions were asked. I (Mrs *****) was contacted half-way through my appointment, an hour after arriving, asking me where my "other" key was that they were told it was supposed to be left in the cup holder. I told my service assistant I was confused as all parts were to be ordered I only had my broken remote with key in it that I had handed him. He said there must be a mix-up with some other customer at parts then and left. He didn't tell me all parts weren't in or that there were any issues.

We did receive a 10% discount but no $46 credit. We did everything we were asked PRIOR to our appointment. Mr. ***** did call Monique and let her know our service appointment was set. We were billed & charged for a key cut fee of $25, a key program app fee of $55.88 and a "VOlvo maintenance fee" Of $105 which seems to be an overcharge as it was not on the quote and I didn't request maintenance. I was given the 10% discount my service guy said as an apology for the over-long wait and my patience. I have received no credit other than that small discount he gave me when I was leaving with the 2 remotes he handed me that I thought were both new, before I lodged a complaint with management about the work not getting completed and the overcharge since I was charged more than quoted for 2 remotes and only received 1.THe quote for 2 remotes was 275, I was charged 366 for 1 remote - which already has the 10% off of it, it would have been more than 366 without the 10% courtesy discount for the long wait.

03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service
08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Body Repair & Painting

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.