BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/02/2011

High Plains Veterinary Hospital Inc

(719) 574-89204007 Tutt Blvd, Colorado SpringsCO 80922-2508 Send email to High Plains Veterinary Hospital Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

At High Plains Colorado Springs our veterinarians offer internal medicine, surgical, dental, wellness, and geriatric care for dogs, cats, and exotic small mammals, reptiles and birds. We provide the best care possible for your furry family friends.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/02/2011

BBB has determined that High Plains Veterinary Hospital Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for High Plains Veterinary Hospital Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on High Plains Veterinary Hospital Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In November of 2014 we took our dog Daisy to the vet for a UTI and she needed shots as well. However, because of the medicine she was not able to get her shots. So they told my husband to pay for the visit and then come back in a week to get her shots and we would pay for the remainder of it then. Well we never went back to get her shots, so we should not have to pay for them. Every month since then they have billed us 50.00 that we owe and I have called to let them know that we do not owe that because that was for the shots. I have pulled my phone records and I have called them 12-8-2014 at 12:12 pm,12-17-2014 at 8:59am, 4-10- at 12:49pm, 8-6-2015 at 4:29pm and then finally on 10-16-2015. All of those times I was told that Don would call me back in regards to this and to solve the issue. I have never spoke to Don and Don never called me back. It wasn't until 10-23-2015 that Dr. ******** called me back and left a degrading message. She never even apologized for the length of time it took o get back to me or not returning any of my phone calls. She acted like I have ignored this issue for the past year and now would like to talk to her. I called her back 10-29-2015 and she refused to talk to me. No one at anytime has talked to me about this issue other than the message Dr. ******** left.

Desired Settlement
I would like to talk to someone about this and understand why they feel the need to ignore someone when they have tried to make it right, and to why they feel it is ok not to talk to me when I have called trying to talk to them. I feel that the bill should be removed since they have failed to call me back or even talk to me at any given time I have called. I am more than happy to given them my Verizon records for the past year showing my outgoing calls to them and no incoming calls from them.

Business Response
I am very sorry this client is upset, but I feel we have made every effort to deal with this in a reasonable manner. We saw the client's pet in November 2014 for not feeling well. We did an exam, urinalysis, and prescribed medications. We offered other diagnostic that the client declined. The owner was unable to pay the bill so I offered for them to put what they could down and pay the balance in a week. The pet was due for vaccines but due to the infection that it had I could not give the vaccines. Out of generosity I offered to do the vaccines in a week at no charge. The client never came in for the vaccines and was never charged for the vaccines.
The owner made appointments to be seen in December of 2014 and April 2015 but never showed for the appointments or called to cancel them. These dates may correlate with some of the times the owner claimed to call. If the owner called otherwise to discuss the matter she either did not communicate well or was told she was not being charged for vaccines. The client did call in Oct 2015 Don was out of the office and he gave me the message when he returned. I called the client when I had the opportunity and the message I had was the owner thought I was going to zero the charges. I called and left a message that my documentation showed I agreed to let them pay the bill in a week not that I was going to zero out the charges. I did not try to leave a hostile or degrading message.
We have tried to be understanding and flexible in this situation. We provided services to the client and I could have refused to give medications until they paid the bill, but I did not. I gave them an option to make payments, out of generosity offered to do vaccines at no charge; we gave them itemized bills for almost a year to try to resolve the issue. Again I am sorry the client is upset but I think we have been more than fair and understanding. The client chose not to pay for the services given so we had to take other measures to receive payment and send them to collections. I am happy to provide records and financial statements to back my statements and actions, but for privacy issues would request the clients consent first.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Finally, after all this time I have explanation and can see where the miscommunication happened. We thought we had paid the bill in full and that the vaccinations were what we were charged for. We have been a long time customer and have never asked for a payment plan so I believe it was just a communication error. I wish that it could of been explained to us any of the times I called because I would have paid right away. The receptionist never could tell me what it was for she would only say that Don would have to call me back with an explaination. I think there is a huge gap of miscommunication in what was said. I called every time just asking for an explanation of what the bill was for because the statement just said balance forward and then the amount and I kept thinking it was for the vaccinations and that's why I had kept calling. At no time did I ask the my account be set to zero I just wanted to talk to someone about my account because the receptionist never knew what my bill was for. I really wish that Dr. ******** or Don would have talked to me because it could of prevented this instead of refusing to talk to me. I am still willing to pay this however I called and they would not take a payment and I do not know which collection agency they are using to call and talk to them. Again I hope that Dr. ******** can clear up communication with future customers because I would hate for this to happen to anyone else. Again I never asked that my account be set to zero or thought Dr. ******** would I just wanted to know what it was for. If you need a bill that they sent me saying balance forward I am happy to provide those as well.

Final Business Response
We saw the client's dog November 25, 2014. We did an exam, urinalysis, and prescribed medications. The total charges were 108.99. The owner specifically told me they only had $60 to put towards the bill. I told them and documented in the records they could pay the balance in a week, and because they were long term clients I would do the vaccines at no charge. When the owner left they were given an itemized invoice showing their balance. The following month they were sent another itemized invoice and bill. After the first 30 days of not paying we started sending bills that were not itemized. I spoke with my staff that said when the client called and wanted to know what the charges were for they told her it was for an exam, urinalysis, and medication. If the client had asked for an itemized bill at any time it would have been given to her. I returned the client's call the first time she called Oct 16, 2015 and asked to speak with Don. I left a message. The second time she called I was busy with a patient procedure and had to relay messages. Which my staff told her what the bill was for and never told her she could not pay the bill.

Reasons for not paying this bill have been they thought we were zeroing the charges, they were being charged for vaccines they were not given, and now miscommunication on our part. I feel we did everything within reason to make it clear what was expected. The client came to the clinic and was offered services and received services. The client could not pay the bill and we extend some flexibility. I think there is a point where it is their responsibility to just pay the bill, and we don't have to keep hounding them. If they had paid the itemized invoice the week after we saw them like they agreed to none of this would be an issue. They made an agreement and they broke it not us, and you can make all the excuses in the world, but sometimes it is up to you to be responsible and do what is right.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Animal Hospitals, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Veterinarians, Veterinary Emergency

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/22/2007Business started: 01/30/2007Business started locally: 10/08/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado are located here

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2007, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Jessica McKenney (Vice President)Customer Contact: Mr. Don Gretter (Business Manager)
Business Category

Animal Hospitals, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Veterinarians, Veterinary Emergency

Products & Services

At High Plains Colorado Springs our veterinarians offer internal medicine, surgical, dental, wellness, and geriatric care for dogs, cats, and exotic small mammals, reptiles and birds. We provide the best care possible for your furry family friends.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 06:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 06:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 06:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 06:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 06:30 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Service Area

Metro Colorado Springs and surrounding area

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for High Plains Veterinary Hospital Inc

4007 Tutt Blvd

Colorado Springs, CO 80922-2508

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4007 Tutt Blvd 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80922-2508(719) 574-8920

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*High Plains Veterinary Hospital Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Animal Hospitals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.