BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/27/1997

Climate Technology Inc

(719) 442-6934View Additional Phone Numbers3348 N El Paso St, Colorado SpringsCO 80907-5419 Send email to Climate Technology IncView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/27/1997

BBB has determined that Climate Technology Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Climate Technology Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Climate Technology Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Below is my formal complaint concerning Climate Technologies (CT) of Colorado Springs. There are several complaints but the reason I decided to formally put in a complaint is due to clear and undeniable attempt at fraud and price gouging.
1) A few months ago I contacted CT to have my fireplace repaired/cleaned and furnace winter cleaned to get ready for the winter months. I called CT to book the service and got a price quote. I had the filled out check ready the day of the service. The service technician came and performed the service on time and without complaint. When the technician gave me the bill it was more than what was quoted. I told the technician and he stated that the receptionist was new and that she was mistaken. The price was not that much more so I just wrote a new check without complaint
2) Last week, I called CT to book a humidifier repair and cleaning. I asked the receptionist for the first appt at 0800 so I would not have to miss much of work. I asked her if the service would start at 0800 and she stated yes. I also asked how much the cleaning was and she stated $25.
3) On the 30th, at 0812 the technician was late so I called CT. They stated I had a 0800-1000 block and that even though it was the “First appt” any time. I told them what the receptionist had told me and they state, she “was new” and mistaken. At this point, I am wondering how many times the receptionist has been blamed for mistakes and misdirection. So, I told them that this was the second time I had had a problem with them and that I should cut my losses and try a different company. They put me on hold and when they came back they stated that they could come out the next day at 0800-0900 and they would waive the $90 diagnostic fee for the humidifier to see what was wrong with it. I reluctantly agreed. (My Mistake).
4) On 31 Jan, the technician showed up promptly at 0800. I took him to the humidifier and told him what was wrong (I tried to clean it on my own and it would not drain). He asked to look at the manual. This was my first clue he had no idea what to do or what was wrong. I told him that I already consulted the manual and that did not help, which is why I consulted a professional service. He looked at the manual with me there and it stated that if it would not drain then maybe a certain part needed to be replaced. He told me there was nothing he could do at that point but order that part and reschedule to come back. I asked him “What if this part is not the reason it is broke?” He assured me that was the most likely reason and there was nothing else he could do. He went out to his truck to get me a price quote.
5) When he came back, he told me that someone he talked to on the phone told him he needed to do a diagnostic first and told him how to do it without getting the hot water on him. I asked him to be careful and that I would not incur any liability if he hurt himself. So he ran the diagnosis, and low and behold the part he was telling me to buy was not broken and the real reason why it was not draining was because it was clogged. He showed me the clog and cleaned it out. He also told me that “someone on the phone” told him another part (water sensor) may be broken or cracked and to check it. I told him ok. He checked it and showed it to me. It did looked cracked so I agree to a replacement part before he reassembled the humidifier.
6) He told me he called around to 4 local places for the part and that only one place downtown (25 mins away) had it. He said it cost ~$50. He stated he would drive to get the part and that my “labor and time fee” would not start until after he got back to replace the part. He told me this three separate times (REMEMBER: The diagnostic so far was free).
7) He returned with the part about 45 minutes later and installed the part in about 30 minutes. So, with my calculations, so far I have incurred charges for a $50 part, $25 cleaning, and 30 minutes of labor.
8) He then told me he was going to his truck to write up the invoice. He returned with the invoice and it was $440. ARE YOU KIDDING ME! So I calmly asked him to break out the charges (which he had not done) and to tell what everything cost. I also asked him what the hourly labor fee was. He stated they did not “do the pricing that way” and that he could not itemize the charges.
9) He then proceeded to tell me that he had made a mistake prior to going to get the part and had “forgot” to show me the contract for repair and that I should have authorized or denied the repair (in writing on the contract) prior to him doing it. He told me he remembered in the car that he had forgot to tell me and also forgot to have me sign the authorization/denial contract.
10) He told me that he had taken $70 off the $440 charge due to the mistake and that the cleaning service along with the diagnostic fee was not charged. So he was pretty much telling me that he charged me $400 for a half hour of labor. It was also very clear he was trying to make it look like he was doing me a favor by taking $70 off with no cleaning charge.
11) I refused to pay the non-signed authorization contract and told him to tell his owner to call me to resolve. I signed that I had received the requested price on the contract. The attached contract will fully show what was requested.
12) The technician was polite and respectable the entire time and did not argue when I told him I would not pay at that point.
13) The next day the CT owner called me at my work and left me a message that they were sorry I was disputing the price and hopefully we could come to a resolution.
14) BOTTOMLINE:
a. It is clear and undeniable that the technician was attempting to price gouge by “forgetting” to tell me a contracted price and not having me sign the contract. He might have forgotten once in the car but when he returned with the part he AGAIN failed to tell me.
b. It is clear he pulled an outrageous (unlawful) price out of the air and hoped I (a single female) would be stupid enough to concur. When asked to itemize the price and what the hourly rate was, he could not and failed to answer. In what world does a service company charge $390 for 30 mins of labor? Yes, the entire process took about 3 hours, but remember, the diagnosis was told to me to be free, he told me the labor fee would start AFTER her returned from getting the part, and he also told me he cleaned it for free (on the contract he showed me). So taking $50 off for the part, that is ~$390 for 30 minute of labor.
15) At this point, I no longer wish to deal with CT directly and feel that the entirety of this complaint deserves to be resolved and looked at through the BBB. The BBB also has on file another complaint in 2011 for the same company.
a. I feel it is appropriate that CT be fined for attempted price gouging by the BBB and that in good faith, all fees and charges for the humidifier repair/part/labor/cleaning be dropped.
16) As an Air Force officer and military member, INTEGRITY is our first and foremost Core Value. It is inconceivable to me that this could happen from a BBB fully-rated company. Please let me know how this will proceed and it you need any more information. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Desired Settlement
Request company is fined for attempted price goughing and all requested charges for part/labor/cleaning dropped.

Consumer's Final Response
I spoke with the owner today and the complaint has been resolved to my satisfaction. While the owner takes full responsibility for an undertrained employee, I do not feel now that they tried to price gouge me intentionally. They have dropped all the charges and apologized. Thanks!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Restaurant Equipment & Supplies, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Restaurant Equipment - Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/02/1996Business started: 10/02/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1998, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Jeff & Lisa Coffy (Owners)
Business Category

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Restaurant Equipment & Supplies, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Restaurant Equipment - Repair & Service

Service Area

El Paso County

Industry Tips
Heating Service Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Climate Technology Inc

3348 N El Paso St

Colorado Springs, CO 80907-5419

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3348 N El Paso St 

    Colorado Springs, CO 80907-5419(719) 442-6934

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Colorado. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Climate Technology Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 442-6936
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Beginning August 1, 2013, the BBB of Southern Colorado began publishing complaint details for any written or electronic complaint received AFTER October 20, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Heating Service Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.