Beaumont Freightliner & Western Star

Phone: (409) 951-8300 Fax: (409) 951-8399 View Additional Phone Numbers 7390 Ih 10 S, Beaumont, TX 77705 http://www.beaumontfreightliner.com ! BBB Business Review on Beaumont Freightliner & Western Star is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 7390 Ih 10 S

    Beaumont, TX 77705 (409) 951-8300 (888) 830-1733

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Driving our motorhome into beaumont on 2/27/15 it started driving very slow on the Highway. We drove about 25 miles and called a tow to bring it to Freightliner assuming it needed a new fuel filter. Freight liner had done previous preventitive maintenance on the vehicle in April 2014 changing filters oil checking hoses etc. Freight liner said they changed the filter which was plugged up with something they couldn't identify and the second filter immediately plugged again with this substance they called gelled fuel. We asked if it was gelled fuel (diesel) then it should be able to warm up and it should un-gell according to what we have heard, They said our fuel had gelled and had some type of algae in it they had never seen before. They said the only way to correct the issue was to replace all filters, fuel pumps and gas lines, pull the tank, drain the fuel and rebuild. Estimate was 10K. We said well if thats the only way to fix it then ok fix it. They said they would call our good sams maintenance policy which they never did after repeated request. We looked up our policy and it appeared it wasn't covered anyway. We got to thinking and figured if it was something they "mechanics" at a major repair company for diesel engines had never seen it must have been bad/contaminated gas. We called our regular insurance company for comprehensive coverage. Our insurance company denied the claim 3 times for 3 different reasons based on the tech's explanations of the issue. First it was because we let it sit up so long that there was water in the gas, however was no proof of water in it. Then it was because of Algae due to sitting up to long, which needs water to grow. There is no proof of Algae in the gas. Then it was for rust in the bottom on the tank (trash) and mold. We had the insurance company send us pictures of the gas and the tank since Freightliner didn't have equipment to take pictures. The gas looks great like perfectly clear gas no algae no water and it had been in ***** gal drum left open for weeks. I would think algae would have multiplied in that amount of time in our humid climate. The tank did have minor rust and trash typical of what would be in a 12 year old tank. My complaint is that I believe we were taken advantage of by Freightliner and the extent of the repairs was extreme and unecessary. We believe there had to be other options and they had to have seen situations like this before. We have been getting a different story every time we call. It took them over a week to pull the tank because they couldn't figure out a safe way to pull it. Now the tank treads have been cross treaded by their tech's and they are waiting on a tap to fix this. They have put a dent in the right rear door and the transmission will not engage. We told them the batteries must be dead by now and have to be charged for the system to read the transmission yesterday morning (4/15/15) and brought keys to the bays to access the batteries. They hadn't tried to charge the batteries as of 4:30 that evening but had tried something else and was going to call ****** to see if they could trouble shoot what was wrong because they don't believe it's the batteries. I asked them to charge the batteries anyway because we will need them to drive the vehicle home. This was all explained that morning about how they run the backup camera and the steps and other stuff. Our MH went into the shop 2/27/15 and it is still not finished as of 4/16/15. The tank and gas was left open to the elements and possible trash for at least 3 weeks maybe longer. We are ready to pay our bill and get our MH out of there but have no doubt we have been taken advantage of this entire time. I only hope they are not going to try and say something else is wrong with it like the transmission. It drove like a dream for 9K miles up the east coast thru the blue ridge mountains. We have proof of mileage and RV camps this RV has not sat up. I would have thought the insurance company could have shed some light on what repairs were necessary but they basically went with whatever the tech told them, which is why we received the 3 different reasons for denial. I don't blame them for not paying but I think the reason should have been "unnecessary repairs"

Desired Settlement: We would like work completed on our MH so we can get on with our lives. We would like the dent repaired at a shop of our choice at Freightliners cost, and we would like partial reimbursement for the unnecessary repairs and additional labor for them not knowing what they are doing and dragging their heals. The fuel alone was worth $300.

Business Response:

As per phone conversation with ***** *******: 

We are working with the consumer to resolve this issue.  The consumer is actively involved with the process.

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service