BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

D & D Automotive & Transmission

Phone: (409) 727-8672 Fax: (409) 727-8672 View Additional Phone Numbers 3012 Spurlock Road, Nederland, TX 77627

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & D Automotive & Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for D & D Automotive & Transmission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 05, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
David Mann, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: David Mann, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 3012 Spurlock Road

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-8672

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 727-8673(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Dad's truck was brought in to have some repairs. We needed to see what it would need to try and sell it. The owner of this business was the ex-step father of a relative and had worked on her vehicles for years and in fact was working on one at the time my Dad's truck was brought in. It was discussed that this was no hurry, just check it out and let us know what he could do. He had the relatives phone number as well as mine. The truck was there for a little while and he was contacted and told to go ahead and get started on it. He was seen in the truck at his business and we assumed he'd started on it. Next thing I knew, I got a letter in the mail from a tow company that he'd had the truck towed. By the time they sent the letter it was already over $600 and we could not afford to get the vehicle out. The owner of D & D, Mr. ****, has changed the reason he had it towed several times. I was furious to say the least and my Dad had just passed ***** I sued Mr. **** in small claims court and won a judgement. He did not pay it and appealed the decision. When it's appealed it has to go to a higher court and we have been waiting on a court date for months. The tow company held the truck for 6 months and finally got rid of it. There is still a note paid on the truck and now the truck is gone and we have no way to re-coop any money from it, except for court. Product_Or_Service: Repair to truck

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement The blue book value on the truck was around $4000 to $6000. The truck needed some body work and had an oil leak and needed the air conditioner checked for coolant. We had 2 offers for someone to buy the truck. I would like as close to the value of the truck as possible to pay off the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/19) */ ***** ***** picked up her vehicle on 11/7/12 and dropped off Avalanche. Was not her vehicle and someone would contact us to let us what to do. On 1/2/13 we still had not heard from anyone and we had vehicle towed. The vehicle was registered to ****** G. ****. Tow company sent letters and was told $400 and proof of ownership would return truck. On 1/24/13 Ms. **** filed in small claims court but only wanted money from ***** not the truck back. ***** appealed to higher court due to lack of evidence. When higher court demanded evidence, Ms. **** could not produce so it was dismissed. Now she's trying to go through the BBB asking for $4,000-$6,000 from me. I can give you info. to my lawyer if needed. Now it's November. Ms. **** lied, it was $400 until she puts off court date. Court date for higher court was not made due to Ms. **** not having evidence. Why did Ms. **** not contact D & D in the two and a half months truck was here? Ms. **** never produced proof of ownership of vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** ***** was his ex-stepdaughter and still had a relationship with him for the past 10 yrs. The Avalance was her fiance's truck, my son. He was in a bind and my Dad had taken the truck from him and put it in his name, ****** **** several months before. ***** spoke to Mr. **** about working on the Avalance for months while he was working on her vehicle. She told him and has text showing that they discussed what we needed done to the truck. She was driving it while her's was being worked on. She dropped off the truck when when she picked up her vehicle, gave them my # told them what we wanted and that it was no hurry. They even discussed around income tax time would be a good time to get it. He obviously has *****'s #, her Mom's # (his ex-wife), *****'s sister's #, (his daughter with *****'s Mom) and my #. He chose not to call anyone and had it towed. We thought he was working on it. ***** texted him after my Dad passed **** and said we need to go ahead and get started. She observed him in the truck with his co-worker at his place of business and assumed he had started on it, the next thing we know we get a letter from a tow company and the cost to get the truck was already over $600. I filed suit right then. He is not telling you even half the story. He's already lost once in court. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/02) */ By law without a signed repair order or verbal ok form owner we can not work on or have vehicle here. ***** would not sign when avalanche dropped off because it was not her vehicle. ***** was sentenced to 25 years for drugs and she wan't waiting. She won in Judge ********* court with a sob story but no proof. That's why I appealed. I would never tell someone to drop a vehicle off in Now and wait to work on it until April. I am not a storage facility. The vehicle was broken into with 6 other vehicles but it was the only vehicle that was thoroughly gone through because it was known. So I tried contacting ***** but received no response from anyone. The tow company sent out letters as soon as vehicle was hauled off. After 2 1/2 months,it was considered abandoned by law, so I had it towed. No one drove or was in vehicle. I made several attempts to get a response but to no avail.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: paid $1000.00 for repair on transmission that was not done. July 8 Monday I towed my truck to D+D automotive for transmission repair. I told him that it was not going into reverse and slipping, he told me that he knew what it was and that he sees this a lot, and he would go through it and make the necessary repairs and it would be like new. He would work on it that day and the next day, and be finished Tuesday evening. July 11 Thursday I have not heard from ***** so I went to his shop. He showed me some gears that were tore up and had to be replaced, he said everything else looked great and the transmission would be like new, and it would be $300.00 more. The gears that he showed me did not look oily, they were dry. They did not look like they come out of a recent transmission. I told him that would be fine, I wanted it fixed wright and $300.00 would be fine. He asssured me the truck would be ready on July 12 Friday. (I was starting to get a bad feeling about this). July 15 Monday Went to check on truck and ***** said it was not shifting good and it had some metal in the modulator valve, a plastic item that had to clean it. July 18 Thursday D+D called and said it was ready. I paid them $1000.00 and ***** told me everything looked great, that he replaced anything that looked bad and that it had no problem going another 100,000 miles. July 19 Friday notice a slip and thought it might be something in the road (about 5 miles on truck since repair). July 20 Saturday I was going to my son's Jesse's house when it started slipping and motor reving up. It was slipping very bad so I turned around and came home. July 22 Monday drove the truck back to D+D and ***** said it was the computer had some error codes in it and he had to check it. He would have to plug his $10,000.00 instrument in it and reset the computer and he had other job's that came first.(very rude). July 25 Thursday I went back to D+D and ***** said it wasn't the computer that a bad torque converter and it had 99.9% slippage and it needed a new one and that he would go to Beaumont and get one. July 31 Wednesday went to D+D at 8 am and he said he had to go to Beaumont and get a torque converter and it would be ready that afternoon. (very rude, walked away). He said he had other job's ahead of me and I was number 3. That same day Lowell Angelle my 1st cousin who used ***** before and referred me to him, called ***** to see what the problem was and assured him that he would have it ready Thursday August 1, and he would bill me for the new torque convirter he just replaced or for sure Friday August 2 no problem with a new torque converter and a guarantee that everything looked great. August 2 Friday went to D+D about 4:45 to pick up truck, ***** said that he put the new torque converter in and everything looked good and wanted to do a cold start Monday morning and to pick the truck at 9 am. August 5 Monday 9 am went to D+D to pick up truck and ***** said it wasn't shifting into overdrive but everything else looked great. He said he replaced the torque converter with a new one and there was no slippage at all. I told him I wanted to go for a ride you drive. It started slipping wright away in all gears, motor reving up. Made it back to shop told his helper to get the computer let's check it. He pluged it in the cigarett lighter, what a joke. He told me he came out Saturday and Sunday and worked on the truck. I drove by both days and looked in the window and the truck has not moved at all and it was in the exact same place when I saw it Monday morning at 9 am. It sure was not on the rack where you would do transmission repair. He also said he replaced all the cluches bands new torque converter everything like new. He was getting aggrivated and said he was going to show me how to repair a transmission. I told him that is why I brought it here. That he needs the course in transmission repair. I told him I was taking the truck and he said leave it. I have been lied to from the very beginning and I wasn't leaving it. I do not trust this man. I drove the truck to ****** garage and it barley made it a there about a mile and half away. I coasted in ****** parking lot and the motor reving up and transmission slipping. ***** with out a doubt is the worst person I have ever delt with, he lied from the very beginning about everything. He scammed me out of $1000.00 and 4-weeks of lies and I want my money back. August 13 Picked up truck at ****** garage paid him $1500.00.He said there were a lot of worn parts on it. Oil contaminated with metal and plastic fragment's he had to change all parts including torque converter. **** gave me a 1 year,12,000 guarantee. **** was a man of his word and a pleasure to do business with. My twin brother ******* took me to ****** to pick up my truck so I asked him to go with me to D+D to talk to *****. I told him my truck was repaired and I wanted my money back and that he did not do what he said he was going to do. He was working on a vehicle with this man standing there, he was rude and agitated and said h*** no you ain't getting a f------ refund. I told him about the part's that were replaced and wore out, he also asked my brother if he new anything about hydraulics and he responded "I don't need to know, you do". ***** admitted that he did not change cluches or torque converter and other part's in front of my brother. His reason was I didn't want to pay for them. (He thought he could make it work with junk). He should not get away with treating customers like this. I had a bad feeling early on about D+D so I kept a record as thing's happened.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/16) */ Sometime between July 1st & July 8th 2013, Mr ******* came to D&D Automotive seeking repairs on a trans for an 02 Ford F150 he bought from a neighbor. Mr ******* said he never drove truck but neighbor told him that everything worked good it had just lost reverse, Mr ******* was seeking cheapest way of repairing reverse. I told him that transmission in that year model was common for override clutch to fail causing lose of reverse and that if that was all that was wrong I would replace override clutch and reinstall for $700. After removing transmission & disassembling I found way more damage inside trans than just a bad override clutch. I called Mr ******* for him to come see the damage & recommended at that time that to do it correctly the transmission needed to be rebuilt. Just replacing damaged parts without replacing all internal seals would just be a band-aid. Mr ******* declined rebuild. He just wanted damaged parts replaced & reinstall. Mr ******* picked up truck on Friday & over weekend alternator or battery went out, Mr ******* called Monday (I think) and stated after he took care of battery or alternator that transmission wasn't shifting right. I told him bring it in that electronic transmissions don't work right without proper voltage and amperage. I explained to him after viewing transmission data on diagnostics computer that it was showing slippage like torque convertor failure but would have to inspect to know for sure. Removed transmission & disassembled. Showed Mr ******* transmission had clutch failure. Again Mr ******* declined rebuild. I replaced burnt clutches and forward band. There was no damage to reverse components already installed. Again I told Mr ******* that transmission would not be reliable without complete rebuild. After reinstalling transmission I was not satisfied with the forward shifting, reverse was fine. Did not charge for labor of removing, disassembling, replacing forward clutches & forward band & reinstalling. Did not replace torque convertor or charge for torque convertor. While transmission was out & disassemble recommended rebuild and Mr ******* pay difference of $600 only even though 3rd time. I could not get Mr ******* to understand that the metal contamination would continue to cause problems. Mr ******* & I drove truck. Truck would not go to overdrive. Mr ******* said he didn't care, he was taking truck & pulling low boy trailer to Austin to move son & furniture back. I told him I would not recommend, that trans could go out at anytime, Mr ******* numerous times refused correct repairs. He hired me to repair reverse problem w/transmission, I repaired reverse and it did not fail. He declined my recommendation for correct repairs several times but was not satisfied with his choice and expected me to pay for his mistake. Mr ******* wanted a patch but I told him it would not be reliable. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/10/17) */ I would agree to $500.00 half the money I paid D+D automitive for repairs he did not do, and I will close this case. ******* J ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/10/29) */ 99 F150 R&R Trans 4.6 hrs Labor, R&I 4.0 hrs, R/OH 10.4 hrs. I did not charge Mr ******* for the 3 times I removed & worked on trans or for the fluid used 3 times. I cannot warranty something when the customer refuses to do the job correctly. If I did I would no loner have a business. If a customer only agrees to a patch job I cannot go ahead and do extra and give my time & parts away. I understand Mr ******* is not happy but he was happy when he finally did what I said it needed & had it rebuilt and he did pay more to have it done. If he had agreed to do the job correctly we would not have this issue in the first place.