BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care

Phone: (409) 899-2001 Fax: (409) 895-0902 View Additional Phone Numbers 3270 Eastex Fwy, Beaumont, TX 77703 http://www.autoservicebeaumont.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Val Rayzor, President Dicky Rayzor, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Val Rayzor, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Transmissions - Truck, Tractor Auto Air Conditioning Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Alternate Business Names
AAMCO Complete Car Care
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 3270 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77703 (409) 899-2001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 09/05/14, I brought my vehicle to Aamco after my warranty company advised take the vehicle from Classic Chevrolet to Aamco because they were in network. I advised them of the diagnostic that was given to me from Classic Chevrolet. The next day, I received a phone call from Aamco stating that I needed to get a new battery before any diagnostics could be done. I authorized this repair. 2 days later, I received a call from Aamco stating that only the purge valve needed to be replaced. I asked many times if they were sure because Classic had already told me that I needed the throttle body cleaned and a floor pedal sensor as well as the purge valve. They assured me that I did not need this and they didn't want to charge me for something that I did not need. In December, the vehicle gave me the same error codes, Service stabilitrac system AND engine power reduced. I could barely go 2 miles after resetting the messages by turning the car off and turning it back on before it would give the error messages again. I called Aamco and explained that the car was doing the same thing that I brought it to them for. They asked me to bring it in, which I did. The next day, I received a call from Aamco stating they could not get the issue car to replicate the issue, but they saw a GM bulletin that advised them to remove the kick panel and check to see if there was water damage for $350.00. I declined. Right after removing my car from they facility, the vehicle gave me the same error message. I called chevrolet customer service and they set up an appointment with a GM dealership's service dept. The GM dealership called me and advised that I needed the throttle body box replaced. I was shocked. This is the same diagnostic that Classic gave me and Aamco declined to do by saying that I did not need it. I have an extended warranty and this repair cost me $250. I contacted Aamco to let them know that after all I do need a throttle body replacement and them not doing it put my life as well as my children's life in danger. The owner simply said, when your car was here it was not telling me that your throttle body needed to be replaced. If the dealership is saying that you need it, then let them replace it and I hope it works for you. He did display any accountability that if Aamco would have just done the repair in Sept. I would not have to be having it done now. The car was literally shutting off while I was driving it on the highway in traffic and they told me nothing was wrong with my car, even after I brought it back to them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a portion of my warranty deductible of $250 refunded to me by Aamco.

Business Response:

On 9/19/14 AAMCO RO#****** was opened for ******* ****** 2010 Chevrolet Equinox LT.  **** stated that “reduced engine power and service stabilitrac system is on in the message information center”.  **** also stated Classic Chevrolet had told her that her electronic throttle body, electronic accelerator pedal position sensor and EVAP purse valve needed to be replaced.  **** was referenced to us by her extended warranty company, MaxCare CNA, because AAMCO has a national account with them.  Because electronically controlled vehicles rely on a properly operating electrical system, we performed a battery, starter, and alternator test with the results being that the battery must be replaced.  Codes stored in the vehicle main computer were as follows:

P0442 – EVAP small leak

P0496 – EVAP flow during non-purge function

P0513 – Immobilizer key incorrect

P0690 – Engine control ignition relay feedback Hi B+

P069E – Fuel pump control module request MIL (malfunction indicator lamp)

P2138 – Accelerator pedal position sensor 12 correlation

U0121 – Lost communication with EBCM (electronic brake control module)

U0141 – Lost communication with BCM (body control module)

Because all codes could be related to a bad battery, **** was recommended to replace the battery and retest.  **** approved that repair, battery was replaced, codes were cleared and the vehicle was driven through a drive cycle to force on-board-diagnostic to run.  The codes that reset were P0442 and P0496 and no other condition was noted.  **** was contacted to perform diagnostics for the EVAP codes which was approved showing purge valves needs to be replaced which **** approved.  A second drive cycle was performed with no codes rest and vehicle operating properly at that time.  A total of 12 miles were driven from vehicle check-in and deliver to ****.

12/9/14, AAMCO was contacted by **** stating that the vehicle was in reduced power mode.  I offered to tow vehicle in as it was in Sour Lake, and **** declined and drove the vehicle from Sour Lake.  **** stated, “service stabilitrac system and reduced engine power was on the information center.  Original repair done by AAMCO was done 9/29/14 for the same thing”.  Note that the original repairs were done for battery and EVAP purge valve as other conditions were not present at the time we inspected the vehicle.  I personally scanned this vehicle the day it came to the center and found the following code in history (not currently active):

P2135 – Throttle position sensor (TPS) 1-2 corrolation.

NO messages were displayed in the Information Center.  I drove the vehicle through a drive cycle and no active codes were set and the vehicle operation was normal.  The actual appointment for a technician to recheck the vehicle was the following day with the same result.  Although unable to duplicate ****** concern, I researched the condition and found a GM Technical Service Bulletin 07-06-04-019B which addressed the condition **** was stating.  This intermittent condition could be caused by water intrusion to a connector in the driver side kick panel.  Based on this information from General Motors, I made the recommendation to perform this service as there was no other diagnostic routine because the condition was not occurring at that time.  The cost would be $345.24 to remove the kick panel, inspect the connection for water intrusion, re-install the kick panel and update the main computer software to the latest calibration.  This recommendation was declined and the vehicle was released to ****.

Additional Note:  This vehicle was referred to AAMCO because we have a National Fleet Agreement with ****** extended warranty provider.  Selling repairs that can not be duplicated and verified would be fraudulent as we would have to state to MaxCare CAN that we experienced and verified a condition that we could not duplicate.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10362543

I am rejecting this response because: Please note, my extended warranty company approved the work order to replace purge valve, to replace the floor pedal sensor, and to replace the throttle body at Classic. However, Classic felt that the warranty company was making their labor too cheap because it was supposed to be based on a report for the labor times in my area and not their expected labor time to repair. It was then that I contacted my warranty company and they asked me to bring it to Aamco since Classic did not want to accept their labor costs. Upon my arrival to Aamco from Classic, I presented the work order from Classic to Aamco. I explained what needed to be done as this repair order is from a CHEVROLET dealership who specializes in my make of vehicle! After approving them to replace the battery as Classic did also advise of this, 2 days later I got a phone call from Aamco stating that I only needed the purge valve replaced. I asked multiple times if they were sure that I didn't need the floor pedal sensor replaced because the Service Manager at Classic advised me that the throttle body and the floor pedal sensor where the most important and that if I did not get them repaired the car would eventually not be able to go far at all. I specifically asked Aamco if they were sure as I have children and did not want to have this same issue months down the road and them be in the car when it does happen. They assured me that I did not need the floor pedal sensor or throttle body. Sure enough, in December, it happened again. I called them and brought the car back on my lunch break. I did not hear from them so around 4 pm I called Aamco and asked if my vehicle had been looked at and I was told that it had NOT as they were short on technicians and that it would have to be looked at in the morning. The next day, I received a phone call stating that they could not duplicate the issue. However, there was a GM bulletin to remove the kick panel and do a diagnostic for over $300 with no assurance that this could be the issue. I declined. The moment that I left Aamco in the vehicle, the reduced engine power, service stabilitrac system warning came one. I was feet from there building. I was furious and vowed never to bring it back there again. I called Chevrolet customer service and explained the situation to them. The soonest appointment that I could have was 12/30/14 with Cowboy Chevrolet in Silsbee. On 12/30/14, I received a call from Cowboy explaining that I needed the throttle body replaced as well as the floor pedal sensor. She explained that the technician was easily able to diagnose this. My vehicle was not able to be driven until after I picked it up from Cowboy on 12/31/14. If Aamco would have replaced the throttle body as well as the floor pedal sensor, I would have only had to pay the deductible of $250.00 once, but since they did not, I had to not only pay them, but pay the deductible of $250 to have what should have been done back in September repaired in December. Initially, when I called to complain that Cowboy advised that the throttle body and floor pedal sensor needed to be replaced. I spoke to a gentlemen who said that he understood and he apologized and asked how much my deductible was. He said that he was going to see what he could do and call me back. Instead, I received a phone call from someone else and  his theory:  "If i come to him and say I have the flu and he says no you don't have the flu, but I call him 2 weeks later and say I definitely have the flu. All he could say is that I didn't have the flu when he saw me 2 weeks ago." I find it very hard to believe that Classic was able to determine that I need to have the floor pedal sensor and the throttle body replaced and Cowboy was able to determine the same thing, but Aamco wasn't able to and I brought my vehicle to them on 2 separate occasions after Classic and before Cowboy. 

Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response:

Dear *** ****,

As explained in our response to the initial complaint the condition expressed by the customer and allegedly confirmed by Classic Chevrolet was not occurring on Ms. ****'s initial visit.  On the first visit a DTC (Diagnostic Trouble Code) for the Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor was present along with two loss of communication codes and the battery test was so low volts/amps the tester could not print the results. We charged the battery for 45 minutes and still could not print test results due to low volts/amps.  This battery condition will cause multiple FALSE ELECTRONIC DTC's.  After replacing the battery, which was approved by Ms. ****, the only DTC's reset were the the EVAP codes, which she also approved. Ms. **** made three visits for her complaint of REDUCED ENGINE POWER & STABILITRAC SYSTEM and on our test and drive there were no ACTIVE DTC's and NO REDUCED ENGINE POWER OR STABILITRAC SYSTEM LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER.  If an INTERMITTENT ELECTRICAL CONDITION IS NOT PRESENT WHEN TESTING A VEHICLE WE CAN NOT MAKE AN ACCURATE RECOMMENDATION FOR REPAIR.

This was all explained in my initial response to Ms. ****'s original complaint.  Please let me know what additional steps we can take to resolve this issue.
Respectfully,
***** ******
AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care
3270 Eastex Fwy
Beaumont, Texas 77703

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10362543

I am rejecting this response because: Again, Classic and Cowboy both determined that I needed the throttle body replaced as well as the floor pedal sensor. There is no way that Aamco should have missed this diagnosis unless they are not properly equipped to make an accurate diagnosis.  On both occasions that my vehicle was brought to Aamco, the service stabilitrac system as well as the check engine light were on. The vehicle was in reduced engine power mode on BOTH occasions.  If they could not properly diagnose my vehicle, they should have advised me of this and I could have taken it somewhere else. In the end, Aamco didn't do anything but cost me more money and put the lives of me and my children at risk.  I spoke to Aamco customer service regarding this and was also advised that I should NOT have had an diagnostic fee since the repairs were done at Aamco. The only solution I want is half of the $250 deductible that I had to pay to Cowboy Chevrolet to get my vehicle fixed, since Aamco could not do so.

Sincerely,

******* ****

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I desired to have a brake line repaired shown on the complaint form, which never took place. On 9/10/2013 my vehicle was transported by tow truck from my home to AAMCO for a brake line leak, parking brake cables replaced, speedometer repair and possible battery replacement. On 9/12/2013 the vehicle was delivered to me saying all repairs have been made. Without looking at the vehicle i drove it around for about two or three days and parked it. On 9/19/13 I intended on driving the vehicle to Port Arthur, TX for a test at Lamar. While checking my fluids i noticed the brake fluid was almost empty or empty, without thinking i drove the vehicle back to AAMCO to address the problem. The technician came back and said the fluid was low and filled it. I brought to the attention of the owner the fact that a proper inspection was not conducted. When the vehicle was received a proper inspection should have caught the low brake fluid in the first place. In my opinion i think the tech didn't check the fluid at all, plus they completely overlooked the fact my first statement was the brake line issue. I drove an unsafe vehicle around and didn't know it. After the fluid was put in the vehicle i pressed the brake pedal 15 times to let the fluid circulate and behold fluid started shooting out of the line. How the brakes was working before that point still baffles me, by gods grace they didn't fail and cause me to wreck the vehicle. The vehicle is 91 ford mustang the invoice number is XXXXXX of AAMCO. As a medically retired soldier of 15 and half years i never seen this type of neglect. The owner could have offered to fix the vehicle for free or discounted price. I'm partially to blame for not doing my due diligence and checking the work but after not driving my car for two months i was excited to have a reliable mode of transportation. Now im stuck with no vehicle. In addition the guy at the front desk told me the speedometer didn't work because of gears inside the speedometer itself, and i was told today it was a gear inside the transmission. He told me two days in a row he was getting quotes for the parts in which he never called. Also the fact they left out telling me about the additional parking brake part that was needed, the tech stated that another cable was stretched and couldn't be adjusted further without being replaced. The lack of communication between the front desk and the techs need to vastly improve.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of 62.50 for the towing fee and partial fee for the speedometer which was never fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/07) */ Vehicle was towed and checked in on 9/10/2013. Customers original concern was broken brake line, parking brake cable needs replaced, and speedometer inop, battery dead. Initial check of the vehicle showed parking brake cables seized up, and no speedometer operation, and no brake fluid leaks. Customer approved replacing parking brake cables (supplied by customer), and time to remove the speed sensor at the transmission to determine cause of no speedometer, brake fluid checked as needing service soon and no brake lines leaking although there was rust on the entire underside of the vehicle. After removing the speed sensor from the transmission the speedometer cable and the speedometer in the instrument cluster were found to be good with the problem being in the speed sensor and drive gear whick is on the rear shaft of the transmission. Due to the age of the vehicle it was difficult to locate the needed parts for the speed sensor and drive gear. The customer did not approve the speedometer repair and never questioned our not recommending any brake line replacement. All repairs were completed as approved and a final check and drive was performed and the vehcile was released to the customer on 9/12/2013. Customer called on 9/19/2013, one week later, and asked if we could check his brake fluid. After customer drove vehicle to our shop and brake fluid was checked and found low in the resivour. Resivour was topped off and vehicle was placed on a lift and found a brake line now leaking. Due to undercar rust I made the recommendation to replace all brake lines, fuel lines , and front parking brake cable. Customer declined the repair and said he wanted his vehicle towed to his house which we did at no charge. I have no proble refunding the customer $62.50 for the tow to our shop for the original repair. The charge for the speedometer was to determine the cause of its failure and he declined the repair so there should have been no expectation it would have been repaired.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)