BBB Accredited Business since

Shoppa's Farm Supply

Additional Locations

Phone: (936) 336-7226 Fax: (936) 336-9222 View Additional Phone Numbers 2210 Highway 90, Liberty, TX 77575 http://www.sfstractor.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shoppa's Farm Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shoppa's Farm Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 11, 1995 Business started: 06/01/1970 Business started locally: 06/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Darrell Berotte, Marketing Kelby Bradley, Store Manager-Beaumont John Reitan, Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kelby Bradley, Store Manager-Beaumont
Business Category

Tractor Dealers Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lawn and Garden Tractor and Home Lawn and Garden Equipment Manufacturing (NAICS: 333112)

Alternate Business Names
Eastex Farm & Home

Additional Locations

  • 2210 Highway 90

    Liberty, TX 77575 (936) 336-7226

  • 9135 College St

    Beaumont, TX 77707 (409) 842-1128 (877) 301-0111

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 502-1888(Phone)
  • (888) 869-6202(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several Issues: Repair Issues - An improper or inferior repair Service Issues - An unreasonable or excessive delay in completing service We took our John Deere z-turn to Eastex Farm & Home on or about July 25, 2014 due to the engine losing RPMs and not throttling up. It would only run at low idle which prevented the unit from cutting grass. When we dropped it off we were told that they did not know what could be causing the issue and were advised that there would be up to a three week delay before they would get to even looking at it. Three weeks later, on a Friday, they called and told us that the motor (engine) of the unit went out. They said that they were going to check out the engine to determine if that was the issue. Due to a communication issue with understanding over the phone, we decided to go to the business on Saturday to clarify the issue. When we arrived, the service manager, told us that fortunately it was not the engine. He said that the bush rods were bent and that they were going to replace them and run the unit to see if that is what was wrong with it. He told us that it was going to be around $300 for parts plus labor. We told him to go ahead and move forward with replacing the bush rods. Later that week, they called me and told me that in addition to the bush rods, that the two deck idlers and the hydraulic pump drive belt needed to be replaced and that the cost would be up to around $600 for parts plus labor. I agreed to have the work performed. On Aug 29, we went and picked up the unit and paid a total of $644.74 with a Visa card on invoice # 229188. Due to the rain, I was unable to use the unit until Sept 3 and at which point I was able to mow the entire 4.6 acres. On Sept 9, I used the unit again and mowed about 1/2 an acre when it started doing the same thing (slow idle/inability to cut). On Sept 10, we called the service manager again at around 11:52am to advise that the unit was performing the same way. We got his voicemail and left message to call me back. We did not receive a call back so we decided to take the unit back on Sept 11. Service manager had us unload the unit and he took it in. After 10 minutes, he came back out with the rods removed and told us that they were bent again. He explained that since the rods were bent already that it was probably that the cylinders were getting stuck and that we would have to replace the cylinders heads. He said that it would be around $700. He said that since the rods were guaranteed, those would be replaced at no charge since that work was under a 3 month warranty. He said that we could take the unit home and mow but that it would eventually happen again. Since the cylinder heads were not part of the original job, that would not be covered under the warranty and we would be responsible for paying for the work. We told him to go ahead and fix the rods. My problem with this is: one, the length of time that the unit was left at the business (a total of almost 5 weeks) should have been more than a sufficient amount of time to determine the root problem(s) with the unit. Two, if the root cause, given the length of time, was determined for more work, I could have expected a more realistic labor cost estimate rather than being blindsided by another near $700 additional payment for repair which includes the labor.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is for is a break on the labor costs in replacing the cylinder heads. I am willing to pay for all parts needed.

Business Response: We have the machine repaired and running .We will deliver the machine to this customer for no delivery charges. We are working with this customer to make sure his concerns have been resolved.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10219590, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *********

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of knowledge and skills to do basic maintenance. After they kept delaying giving back my tractor/mower. My John Deere mower went in for basic up keep they ended up keeping it well over a week. They broke things and had no stock to replace anything. Once I received my mower back it leaked oil missing bolts, screws and did not stay running. Ended up calling another company to fix my mower!

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. Poorly run service department.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/07/10) */ OUR**EALERHSIP**ID PERFORM SERVICE AND REPAIRS TO MR. *******'S JOHN**EERE LAWN TRACTOR, MODEL NO. X300, SERIAL NO. M0X300CXXXXXX.**URING THE SERVICE PROCESS IT WAS**ETERMINED THE SPINDLE HOUSING HAD FAILED AND THE OIL PAN GASKET WAS LEAKING, WHICH WERE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. *** ******, SERVICE MANAGER, ******'S EASTEX FARM & HOME, BEAUMONT ******EERE**EALERSHIP, WAS IN CONTACT WITH MR. *******, AN ELDERLY GENTLEMAN, THROUGHOUT THE REPAIR PROCESS. HOWEVER, AT TIMES IT SEEMED MR. *********ID NOT RETAIN THE INFORMATION THAT WAS GIVEN TO HIM REGARDING HIS LAWN TRACTOR. MR. ****** ALSO SPOKE WITH MR. **********AUGHTER AS TO THE STATUS OF THE UNIT. THE WORK ORDER WAS OPENED ON MAY 11, 2013 AND CLOSED MAY 24, 2013. WHEN THE X300 LAWN TRACTOR WAS BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP, THE CUSTOMER WAS ADVISED IT MAY BE 4-7 BUSINESS**AYS BEFORE IT WOULD BE ASSESSED. ALSO, ONCE THE ESTIMATE WAS APPROVED THE COMPLETION OF THE SERVICE AND REPAIRS COULD TAKE AN ADDITIONAL 2-4 BUSINESS**AYS AS WE WERE SIMULTANEOUSLY WORKING ON OTHER CUSTOMERS' UNITS. THE TECHNICIAN ASSESSED THE LAWN TRACTOR ON MAY 14, 2013 AND SUBMITTED AN ESTIMATE FOR SERVICE AND REPAIRS. THE CUSTOMER WAS CONTACTED FOR APPROVAL TO MOVE FORWARD WITH REPAIRS. THE SERVICE PORTION TO THE LAWN TRACTOR WAS COMPLETED ON MAY 16, 2013 WHICH CONSISTED OF CHANGING THE ENGINE OIL, OIL FILTER, AIR FILTER, FUEL FILTER AND SPARK PLUGS, SHARPENING BLADES, GREASING AND WASHING UNIT, LEVELING**ECK, AND BATTERY REPLACEMENT. UPON COMPLETION OF THE SERVICE, THE TECHNICIAN**ETERMINED THE SPINDLE HOUSING FAILED AND THE OIL PAN GASKET LEAKED, PARTS WERE ORDERED FOR THE ADDITIONAL WARRANTY ISSUES. ONCE THE PARTS WERE RECEIVED, THE SPINDLE HOUSING WAS REPAIRED MAY 22, 2013 AND THE OIL PAN GASKET LEAK WAS REPAIRED ON MAY 23, 2013. THE LAWN TRACTOR WAS INSPECTED AND TESTED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER PRIOR TO CLOSING THE WORK ORDER AND ADVISING THE CUSTOMER. THERE WERE NO LEAKS AND THE LAWN MOWER WAS WORKING PROPERLY. MR. *******'S**AUGHTER CONTACTED OUR**EALERSHIP SEVERAL**AYS AFTER HIS LAWN TRACTOR WAS RETURNED AND STATED THERE WERE SOME BOLTS MISSING AND THERE WAS A LEAK. J** ******, SERVICE MANAGER, ASKED WHICH BOLTS WERE MISSING, SHE STATED SHE**ID NOT KNOW. MR. ****** ALSO ASKED ABOUT THE LEAK, AGAIN, SHE SAID SHE**ID NOT KNOW BUT THERE WAS OIL ALL OVER THE LAWN TRACTOR. (AS AN ASIDE, THE LAWN TRACTOR WAS WASHED AND CHECKED FOR LEAKS BEFORE IT LEFT THE**EALERSHIP.) MR. ****** SUGGESTED SENDING A TECHNICIAN TO MR. *******'S RESIDENCE TO CONFIRM AND ADDRESS THE ISSUES WITH NO CHARGE, TO WHICH SHE REPLIED, HER FATHER SAID IF ANYONE FROM OUR**EALERSHIP CAME TO HIS RESIDENCE HE (MR. *******) WOULD SHOOT THEM ON THE SPOT. IF GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY, THIS**EALERSHIP WOULD**ISPACTCH A TECHNICIAN TO MR. *******'S RESIDENCE TO ADDRESS THE ISSUES ON SITE, OR BRING THE LAWN TRACTOR BACK TO OUR SHOP, CORRECT THE ISSUES AND RETURN THE LAWN TRACTION TO MR. ******* WITH NO CHARGE TO THE CUSTOMER. ALSO, WE HAVE ADDRESSED THE CORRECTION OF OUR CURRENT E-MAIL ADDRESS. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR REQUIRE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION PLEASE**O NOT HESITATE IN CONTACTING OUR**EALERSHIP. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she**ID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business did not continue to contact us about mower we continually contacted them. And as for him not recalling converstions is incorrect being most of the talks were wiith his son which is only 46! We would not allow them to mess the mower up any further. ** told us that they broke the oil seal and had to replace it but they don't keep the parts. Once they got the part in they broke it again! That is done by over tightening from inexperience! We will never do business with this company nor refer anyone we know. The company that came to fix all the mistakes stated it was not his first time coming behind Eastex Farm & Home to repair their mistakes! I can provide that company information if need.. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/07/15) */ The service manager, **** ******, did indeed have telephone conversations with Mr *******'s son as to the status of the X300 lawn tractor, some of which consisted of repeating the same information previously given to Mr *******. As such, Mr ****** gave his cell phone number to Mr *******'s son as a courtesy so he could speak directly to the Service Manager. Additionally, Mr ****** potentially received a telephone call from Mr *******'s son several times a week as to the ongoing repairs to the lawn tractor. **ue diligence was exercised by Mr ****** as to the status of the lawn tractor during each conversation initiated by Mr *******'s son. During the installation of the bottom crankshaft seal, the seal did not seat properly possibly due to damage during the shipping process. Also, this particular seal is not "tightened" but seated in the bottom of the oil pan. Another seal was ordered and installed with no additional charge to the customer. Moreover, there was not reference of any kind made by Mr ****** to an incorrect installation of the seal, or inexperience of a technician. Pursuant to the Customer Rebuttal, "The company that came to fix all the mistakes stated it was not his first time coming behind Eastex Farm & Home to repair their mistakes! I can provide that company information if need." Please allow this to serve as a formal request for the contact information regarding the "company" that made such potentially slanderous, libelous and fraudulent statements directed toward this dealership. Once again, ******'s Eastex Farm and Home was not given the opportunity to address the issues pertaining to Mr *******'s X300 lawn tractor. In fact, a verbal threat was conveyed via Mr *******'s daughter should we dispatch a technician to the residence, he (Mr *******) "would shoot them on the spot". Consequently, no further contact was made with the customer due to the hostile nature of the conversation. However, if given the chance we would address any issue with Mr *******'s X300 lawn tractor.

11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service