This business is not BBB accredited.

Shoppa's Farm Supply

Additional Locations

Phone: (936) 336-7226 Fax: (936) 336-9222 View Additional Phone Numbers 2210 Highway 90, Liberty, TX 77575 http://www.sfstractor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Shoppa's Farm Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shoppa's Farm Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 11, 1995 Business started: 06/01/1970 Business started locally: 06/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Darrell Berotte, Marketing Kelby Bradley, Store Manager-Beaumont John Reitan, Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kelby Bradley, Store Manager-Beaumont
Business Category

Tractor Dealers Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lawn and Garden Tractor and Home Lawn and Garden Equipment Manufacturing (NAICS: 333112)

Alternate Business Names
Eastex Farm & Home

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2210 Highway 90

    Liberty, TX 77575 (936) 336-7226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9135 College St

    Beaumont, TX 77707 (409) 842-1128 (877) 301-0111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several Issues: Repair Issues - An improper or inferior repair Service Issues - An unreasonable or excessive delay in completing service We took our John Deere z-turn to Eastex Farm & Home on or about July 25, 2014 due to the engine losing RPMs and not throttling up. It would only run at low idle which prevented the unit from cutting grass. When we dropped it off we were told that they did not know what could be causing the issue and were advised that there would be up to a three week delay before they would get to even looking at it. Three weeks later, on a Friday, they called and told us that the motor (engine) of the unit went out. They said that they were going to check out the engine to determine if that was the issue. Due to a communication issue with understanding over the phone, we decided to go to the business on Saturday to clarify the issue. When we arrived, the service manager, told us that fortunately it was not the engine. He said that the bush rods were bent and that they were going to replace them and run the unit to see if that is what was wrong with it. He told us that it was going to be around $300 for parts plus labor. We told him to go ahead and move forward with replacing the bush rods. Later that week, they called me and told me that in addition to the bush rods, that the two deck idlers and the hydraulic pump drive belt needed to be replaced and that the cost would be up to around $600 for parts plus labor. I agreed to have the work performed. On Aug 29, we went and picked up the unit and paid a total of $644.74 with a Visa card on invoice # 229188. Due to the rain, I was unable to use the unit until Sept 3 and at which point I was able to mow the entire 4.6 acres. On Sept 9, I used the unit again and mowed about 1/2 an acre when it started doing the same thing (slow idle/inability to cut). On Sept 10, we called the service manager again at around 11:52am to advise that the unit was performing the same way. We got his voicemail and left message to call me back. We did not receive a call back so we decided to take the unit back on Sept 11. Service manager had us unload the unit and he took it in. After 10 minutes, he came back out with the rods removed and told us that they were bent again. He explained that since the rods were bent already that it was probably that the cylinders were getting stuck and that we would have to replace the cylinders heads. He said that it would be around $700. He said that since the rods were guaranteed, those would be replaced at no charge since that work was under a 3 month warranty. He said that we could take the unit home and mow but that it would eventually happen again. Since the cylinder heads were not part of the original job, that would not be covered under the warranty and we would be responsible for paying for the work. We told him to go ahead and fix the rods. My problem with this is: one, the length of time that the unit was left at the business (a total of almost 5 weeks) should have been more than a sufficient amount of time to determine the root problem(s) with the unit. Two, if the root cause, given the length of time, was determined for more work, I could have expected a more realistic labor cost estimate rather than being blindsided by another near $700 additional payment for repair which includes the labor.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is for is a break on the labor costs in replacing the cylinder heads. I am willing to pay for all parts needed.

Business Response: We have the machine repaired and running .We will deliver the machine to this customer for no delivery charges. We are working with this customer to make sure his concerns have been resolved.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10219590, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shoppa's Farm Supply
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)