BBB Accredited Business since

Rayburn Country Timeshare Association

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 698-2444 Fax: (409) 698-8326 117 CR 6070, Brookeland, TX 75931 http://www.lakerayburncountry.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rayburn Country Timeshare Association meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rayburn Country Timeshare Association include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rayburn Country Timeshare Association
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2006 Business started: 09/01/1982 Business started locally: 09/01/1982 Business incorporated 09/12/1982 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Bill Hall, General Manager Clyde Pederson, CEO Sissie Kilcrease, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Bill Hall, General Manager
Principal: Clyde Pederson, CEO
Business Category

Timeshare Companies Associations


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    117 CR 6070

    Brookeland, TX 75931

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2376 Wingate Blvd.

    Brookeland, TX 75931 (409) 698-2444

  • PO Box 5218

    Jasper, TX 75951

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a timeshare for one week at this location. With the new management this year I have received an assessment fee and my yearly maintenance fees for (one week ownership)j were raised from $349 to $600. There are also owners that live in some units all year . I would like to find out how much they pay for each month for association fees. and the recent assessments I have called and left messages with them with no response. I need to get a copy of accounting information to include detailed income and expenses for the past five years so I can get a better understanding tried to call them with no response.

Desired Settlement: reasonable increase if any inline with inflation.

Business Response:

The complaint involves an increase in annual maintenance fees on a Timeshare week owned in Rayburn Country. There are several thousand Timeshare owners in 45 Timeshare Condos in Rayburn Country. The vast majority of increases in this years Maintenance Fees were from 10% to 15%.  The Gentleman complaining about the increase owns a week in one of six (6) condos in which we did substantially increase the fees.  The reason for the increase was two fold. 1. These units are the largest Condos in the inventory (2 BR & 3 BR) and are the most inaccessible Condos for Housekeeping/Maintenance etc. (i.e. They are the largest and most expensive to maintain) and 2. The fees being changed on these units were the least of even the one-bedroom units. In other words, these fees should have gone up long ago and everyone owning weeks in these units have not been paying their fair share of the Association Expenses for a very long time.

Hoping the above helps explain the increase in the complaint, I am

Very Sincerely Yours,

***** ********

CEO

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11003287

I am rejecting this response because:

a. There are no financial data to substantiate the  answer

b. No financial data has ever been provided yet to show the expanse and income of association

c. General statements are not acceptable for the increase of 90% percent to the yearly maintenance fee

d. There is also an assessment fee on top of the 90% increase.

e. The new management may have a conflict of interest to manage the timeshare when they operate a hotel on the same facility that completes with the timeshare rental.

There are many other reasons that I can provide but it is wrong to discriminate between owners and penalize a few of them.

I would like to see what the historical maintenance fee for each time share along with expense and income data prior to final judgement. 

 

 

Sincerely,

****** ****

Business Response:

We were asked several years ago by the founder of Rayburn Country Timeshare, Inc. to take over the management of his Timeshare Operation.  We did so in about May of last year… so my responses are only regarding these past few months.

In this digital age (I am 66 and not involved in the “digital age”) anyone can complain about anything and the arguments go on forever; therefore, this is my final “rebuttal” to his complaint:

1.                    We are required to manage this Association under the Articles, By-laws and Restrictive Covenants filed when this company was founded. We believe we are doing this.

a.     I have talked to this Gentleman –at length- on the phone and have offered to send him our financials. We are required to submit them at our Annual Meeting which will be sometime in October of 2016.

He will get a notice of the meeting and is welcome to come and argue his points to the Board of Directors.

b.     I can only speak to these last few months. Please see my above answer.

c.      This is his opinion.

d.     True. We did impose a $100 special assessment this past summer.

e.     There is no competition. Rayburn Country Timeshare, Inc. does not own any rental properties and is not in the rental business.

He is absolutely correct that it is wrong to discriminate between owners and penalize a few.

That is exactly what has happened the last 20+ years as the 2-bedroom unit in which his owned week is located has been paying only about the same annual maintenance fee as our 1-bedroom units.

We have simply corrected this discrepancy. Mr. **** is welcome to his opinion and since I work for him and all of the owners, I certainly respect it.

Very Sincerely Yours,

***** ******** - CEO

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11003287

I am rejecting this response because:

I was able to contact Mr. ******** on the phone after several voice mails and email in several weeks .

Mr. ******** indicated that he will send me a copy of the financial information that supports the

increase of weekly maintenance and an updated copy of the current bylaws. I have not received any information as of  today. 

In his response he offers that he will send me an invitation to the next board meeting so I can argue my position in front of the board.

He knows well that this is not an option for me to travel from Philadelphia PA, to Texas to attend a meeting. This alone tells me that this is not a real option and he knows it

 

My position as a remote owner is to have proper (disclosure) information that supports their extra ordinary increase (about 90 percent) of yearly maintenance fee

for one week of ownership. 

 

Sincerely,

****** ****

Business Response: Please find the Timeshare Budget. I apologize for the delay.  Thank you so much for your patience.


Sincerely,  ******* *********

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11003287

I am rejecting this response because:

I was provided with only partial information which is budget for 2016. This an estimate for 2016 does not show any actual expenses or income for the prior years.

I need to have itemized (detail) income and expense statements plus balance sheet for the past three years.

Also a summary of current timeshare units and full time resident units and their maintenance fee structures.

This will help to see the financial picture and if the major increase is justifiable.

I believe the above information should be readily available and should be provided to an owner when requested.

 

Thanks,

Sincerely,


****** ****

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they didn't submit timeshare points to RCI for years-gave me erroneous information, hung up on me , rude. Unbelievably rude service. My mom has owned a timeshare week unit *** week 11 for many many years that was supposed to be bankspaced into RCI for points to use for vacations. I paid maintenance for mom. They apparently have not spacebanked the points for years. Mom deeded the week to me 2 years ago, and I asked Rayburn to space bank as usual to the RCI account. Rayburn county refused, as RCI was in my moms name. I told her to do it anyway. No spacebanks have been done. I finally changed the RCI account to be in my name,called Rayburn to now transfer. She says they don't do points, only weeks, and that the information I was given before was wrong-0she was the one who I talked with. Rayburn did spacebank the week-into weeks account, but its supposed to be into points. RCI took care of it, but needs Rayburn to verify. I called back to Rayburn to verify. Im told she might do it tomorrow, she only does it once a day. etc. RUDE, Ive lost maintenance fees for YEARS (current fees are 314) where they did NOT space bank the week even when specifcally asked. I am owed one week of points deposited to my rCI account for the last 5 years.

Desired Settlement: I want the weeks they didnt spacebank put into my account -as I was told they couldnt do that,Or I will accept a refund of maintenance fees from 2009-2013. I would also be happy with a refund or spacebank of 2 years and they buy back my unit for $10 so I am done with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/21) */ We regret the misunderstanding that Ms. **** ****** has concerning her Rayburn Country Timeshare condominium ownership. To my knowledge this is the first complaint that Rayburn Country Timeshare has received since the beginning of Timeshare at Rayburn Country in 1982. Please find enclosed a copy of the WARRANTY DEED for Ms **** ****** which was recorded at the Jasper County Clerk's office on June 22, 2010. As the WARRANTY DEED states Ms **** ****** became a Rayburn Country Timeshare condominium owner in condominium-Club Walk Villa# *** for Week #11 on June 22, 2010. Also enclosed is a Timeshare Weeks Calendar. Please note that Week # 11 is the second week of March each year. At the time that Ms **** ****** became an owner in 2010; week #11 for 2010 had already passed. Rayburn Country Timeshare Association is an RCI affiliate. RCI is an exchange company which Rayburn Country Timeshare owners may join and become a member if they elect to do so; however, it is not a requirement. There is some confusion as to Ms **** ******'s RCI membership to whether she is a points member or a weeks member. The points for # ******** #11 were verified by RCI as being deposited for the years of 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. On March 13, 2014, we received information from RCI that Ms **** ****** had joined RCI as an RCI weeks member and Ms **** ****** Spacebanked Week # 11 in condo **** for 2014. As if this date, Ms **** ****** is a RCI weeks member. RCI does not permit a member to be a points and a weeks member for the same week. Does she want to be a RCI points owner rather than a weeks owner? We will be pleased to be of any assistance for Ms **** ****** to receive everything she is entitled concerning per Rayburn Country Timeshare ownership. We are delighted to have Ms **** ****** as a Rayburn Country Timeshare owner and we will do our utmost to ensure that she becomes a satisfied owner. Sincerely, **** ****, General Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rayburn Country Timeshare Association
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)