BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Rooter

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 892-2244 Fax: (409) 755-2728 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 8010, Lumberton, TX 77657 http://www.mrrooter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Mr. Rooter Plumbing provides world class plumbing service and repair as well as new construction installations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Rooter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Rooter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Rooter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1987 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 11/19/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

www.tsbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 458-2145

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Wes Howard, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Wes Howard, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Products & Services

Mr. Rooter sells the following brand(s): Rheem, State, Kohler, American Standard, Vorten, Grohe

Mr. Rooter offers the following product(s): Water Heaters, Water Softners, Disposers, All plumbing fixtures

Method(s) of Payment
Checks, Cash, All Major Credit Cards Accepted.
Refund and Exchange Policy
We pride ourselves in making our best effort to understand and appreciate the customer's needs in every situation.
Alternate Business Names
Mr. Rooter Plumbing

Additional Locations

  • 2050 Sabine Pass Ave

    Beaumont, TX 77701

  • PO Box 8010

    Lumberton, TX 77657

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My kitchen drain was not draining. The technician came and tried to unplug the drain pipe but he said he pulled out mud when he snaked it, indicating that pipe had collapsed underneath the slab. He said common practice was to tunnel 25 ft under the house and replace collapsed pipe with pvc. The quote for the work was $8900! I told him that I needed a second opinion, and he said I should be very cautious of any quote that didn't t include the same work. He charged me 185.00 for this assessment. I had another local plumber come by that same day to see if he clear the line. After about 10 minutes, he had snaked the line and it was clear. We ran the water for 15 minutes and everything drained normally. He said there were 2 spots that had plugged the line, but there was no mud in the line. I called Mr Rooter the next morning and talked to the secretary. She took all the information and apologized. She six the owner would return my call asap. It's been 2 days and he has yet to call. Hopefully it was just a mistake by the technician and not a scam. I only want my money back from them. However, it seems like the owner may have more important things to do than to deal with customer complaints.

Desired Settlement: I want my $185 for the service call.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** complaint was reviewed once it came to my attention and a full refund promptly issued on June 10, 2015. It appears the service technician determined the sanitary sewer line to be broken when he found mud on the end of his cable after several attempts to clear the blockage proved unsuccessful.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10653575, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, it seems that the technician was not properly trained to inspect and mitigate the pluggage. The reponse to the complaint from the company does not explain the reason the technician was unable to perform his job satisfactorily.  I fear this may happen again to someone else if the mistakes aren't corrected. 

Sincerely,

******** ******

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service was provided knowing it would not correct the problem. First occurrence 2011 work provided was OK. Drain was snaked and 90 day warranty issued. Second occurrence 8/12/13. Same procedure performed. AFTER payment of bill($195.00), noticed 30 day warranty and questioned why only 30 days. Response "this was not going to work". If technician knew "this was not going to work", why was I not told this before the snake was performed and bill paid. 10/22/13 same problem reoccurred. Called Mr. Rooter and told them I had the same problem I had on 8/12/13. Response was "We will send a technician out". When technician arrived, he ran water thru the washer 3 times and said that if he did anything more I would be charged. I refused and he left. I have heard nothing from company since. Feel this could have been avoided by him telling me that snaking the drain would not alleviate the problem before the work was performed. On 8/12, had we been told snaking the drain would not solve the problem before it was done and the bill paid we could have elected to have additional services performed and not have paid for something the technician knew would not solve the issue. Service that the technician said needed to be done cost $500+. As far as I am concerned, the wasted $195.00 could have been applied to the $500+ charge to correct the problem the right way instead of just collecting it for a service that he knew was in vain.

Desired Settlement: The trust with this company is broken and they will not be allowed on this property again. Did not expect them to come here for nothing but do feel that the $195.00 charge for service performed knowing it would not resolve the issue should be refunded. At a minimum, I feel if they returned $150.00 of the charges, they received compensation for a service call and we can apply that amount to have the problem repaired correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ Contacted the customer to discuss the issue. A resolution was reached and we thank her for bringing this to our attention. Additional information received 11/15/13: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. The only way we may understand and improve our customer experiences is when customers like yourself share their displeasure with our service. Typically we survey our customers after the service is provided in order to make whole any shortfall in service as quickly as possible,. It appears we failed in this regard as well, our we would have been informed well in advance of the third level of resolution. It appears more training is needed to bring the service technician's understanding of how this matter should have been handled in order to resolve your plumbing and service issues. Again, many thanks for your willingness to bring this to our attention and please accept this refund in the amount of $195 as a token of our desire to make right this issue. It is my hope, that someday you give us an opportunity to serve you again in a manner that reflects your true value as a customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Rooter
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)