BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Rooter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Rooter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated: 11/19/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

www.tsbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 458-2145

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Wes Howard, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Wes Howard, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Cladwes Enterprises, Inc. Mr. Rooter Plumbing

Additional Locations

  • 1211 S Main St

    Lumberton, TX 77657 (409) 755-3536

  • PO Box 8010

    Lumberton, TX 77657

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 727-3777(Phone)
  • (409) 755-2200(Phone)
  • (409) 755-3536(Phone)
  • (409) 883-2244(Phone)
  • (409) 982-2244(Phone)
  • (800) 757-3536(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service was provided knowing it would not correct the problem. First occurrence 2011 work provided was OK. Drain was snaked and 90 day warranty issued. Second occurrence 8/12/13. Same procedure performed. AFTER payment of bill($195.00), noticed 30 day warranty and questioned why only 30 days. Response "this was not going to work". If technician knew "this was not going to work", why was I not told this before the snake was performed and bill paid. 10/22/13 same problem reoccurred. Called Mr. Rooter and told them I had the same problem I had on 8/12/13. Response was "We will send a technician out". When technician arrived, he ran water thru the washer 3 times and said that if he did anything more I would be charged. I refused and he left. I have heard nothing from company since. Feel this could have been avoided by him telling me that snaking the drain would not alleviate the problem before the work was performed. On 8/12, had we been told snaking the drain would not solve the problem before it was done and the bill paid we could have elected to have additional services performed and not have paid for something the technician knew would not solve the issue. Service that the technician said needed to be done cost $500+. As far as I am concerned, the wasted $195.00 could have been applied to the $500+ charge to correct the problem the right way instead of just collecting it for a service that he knew was in vain.

Desired Settlement: The trust with this company is broken and they will not be allowed on this property again. Did not expect them to come here for nothing but do feel that the $195.00 charge for service performed knowing it would not resolve the issue should be refunded. At a minimum, I feel if they returned $150.00 of the charges, they received compensation for a service call and we can apply that amount to have the problem repaired correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ Contacted the customer to discuss the issue. A resolution was reached and we thank her for bringing this to our attention. Additional information received 11/15/13: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. The only way we may understand and improve our customer experiences is when customers like yourself share their displeasure with our service. Typically we survey our customers after the service is provided in order to make whole any shortfall in service as quickly as possible,. It appears we failed in this regard as well, our we would have been informed well in advance of the third level of resolution. It appears more training is needed to bring the service technician's understanding of how this matter should have been handled in order to resolve your plumbing and service issues. Again, many thanks for your willingness to bring this to our attention and please accept this refund in the amount of $195 as a token of our desire to make right this issue. It is my hope, that someday you give us an opportunity to serve you again in a manner that reflects your true value as a customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.