This business is not BBB accredited.

Mello Plumbing Company

Phone: (409) 886-1383 Fax: (409) 886-0491 410 Broad St, Orange, TX 77630 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mello Plumbing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mello Plumbing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2000 Business started: 01/05/1987 Business started locally: 01/05/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

www.tsbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 458-2145

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Bill Mello, Owner Whitney Coleman, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Whitney Coleman, Executive Assistant
Principal: Bill Mello, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Water Heaters - Dealers Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mello Plumbing Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    410 Broad St

    Orange, TX 77630 (409) 886-1383

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was over charged and refused a refund. On June 8th an employee was sent out to repair my water heater. He arrived a little after 9AM. He recommended a new one, so My husband said agreed to a new one. He ask him if it would be possible to reconnect my dryer vent since it runs under the water heater. The man said he would do it and only charge him for the parts needed since it would only take a couple of minutes. The men left to go get the new water heater and their connections. They came back and did the work, when they finished they came in the house and talked a bit while they figured the ****. It took and young a while to get it figured out but once he did I paid him. He left and I went out to look at the heater and went in to call my husband to tell him it was done. That was at 11:46 according to my cell phone. I later was looking at the **** and noticed I was charged for 4 hours instead of the 3 pt took. I called and left messages for the owner. I finally talked to him and he ask me to give him the invoice number so he could check on this. I did not hear from him, so I continued to call. I took a copy into the office for him, still nothing. I mailed him a 17.50 for his helper. The plumber went to school with my daughter and was talking to me while making out the ****. I think he just made a honest mistake, but the owner is a whole other matter. I just want what is owed to me.

Desired Settlement: I Just want the $101.50 I was overcharged.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/06/21) */ We were called out to the *******'s on June 8th to check out their water heater. It wasn't staying lit. The plumber left the office at 8:00am in route to the residence. Upon arrival, he inspected the water heater to find that it needed to be replaced. It was discussed with Mr ******* the cost would be $906 and he agreed and then asked if the plumber could reconnect the vent while he was there. The plumber agreed to do that at not extra labor expense, then left the residence and came back to the shop to pick up a water heater. After he left the shop he then went to ********** where he purchased parts for the job. He was checking out of ********** at 9:21. He arrived back at the resident to proceed with the job. Once the job was finished, their invoice was filled out. They were given a senior citizen discount, not charged for a part, nor were they charged for the old water heater haul off. Our time starts when the plumber phones the customer to get the okay to go to their house. It also includes travel time to the residence and all time spent going to get parts. Mrs ******* stated they arrived a little after 9. The time frame is not feasible. The plumber had already been to the house, worked on the old water heater, spoke with the customer about a new installation, came back to the shop to pick up a new water heater, and went to ********** for the parts he needed. He can't do all of that in 21 minutes. Mrs ******* also stated she called and left several messages. Our first record showing she called was July 21st in which she left the invoice number. In conclusion, it looks as if they were given a price of $906 that was agreed on by Mr *******. They weren't charged for all materials or haul off fee. They were given a senior discount when senior discounts are for those with only social security as an income. Please see all attached paperwork. Thank you, **** ***** Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all If they called at 8:00 why did they not get there until a little after 9:00. I should have to pay for them to be running everywhere else. I paid for all the parts he used and also was not quoted that price up front. We did not know that amount until he figured it up setting in my home. I did call several times, mail several copies of the invoice and even came into the office twice. with copies. We never agreed on that amount, haul off is part of the job and they offered the senior citizen discount. I got cheated out of $100.00 whether by accident or not but he needs to make it right. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/07/17) */ Our answering service was called by Phillip ******* at 6:44 p.m. the day before. (Needing someone to come out today in the a.m. Someone came out today and now they are prepared to have the hot water fixed. They removed the debris that was in the way.) This is exactly how the call was taken word for word and came into our office from the answering service. Our first calls are scheduled for 8:00 a.m. and we went to the ******* job first. We checked the heater and after discussion with Mr. ******* he decided to change the heater. We went back to the shop and picked up the correct heater for the job, then ********** for a dryer vent and then the second time that day we arrived at the ******* job it was after 9:21 a.m. because that was the check out time at **********. Mrs. ******* was charged $91.25 per hour for two men and our profit on the job was less than $100.00 she wants from us.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mello Plumbing Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart