BBB Accredited Business since

David's Discount Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 962-2447 Fax: (409) 729-4466 View Additional Phone Numbers 2213 Earle St, Port Neches, TX 77651 http://www.davidsplumbingco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that David's Discount Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for David's Discount Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on David's Discount Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 27, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulations
PO Box 12157, Austin TX 78711
Phone Number: (512) 463-6599

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

www.tsbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 458-2145

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
David Rodriguez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: David Rodriguez, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
David's Discount Sewer & Drain Service Discount Plumbing

Additional Locations

  • 2213 Earle St

    Port Neches, TX 77651 (409) 962-2447

  • PO Box 1442

    Groves, TX 77619

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them to install a shower in my home a few weeks ago. I hired them because of their A+ rating on the BBB. The job should only have taken a few days and we are going on 3 weeks now. I never know if they are coming or not. I call them and they tell me they will call me back and then I never hear from them. I called three times last week and each time I am told that they will get back with me. I NEVER hear back. I called again today. Today I was told they were coming to my home to finish the job. They still have not showed up at 4:15 this afternoon. When they show up, I do not have a problem with the quality of work they do. I just don't ever know if they are coming or not.

Desired Settlement: I would like the job to be completed to my satisfaction and done so in a timely manner.

Business Response: David's Discount Plumbing is truly sorry for the miss communication on this job. In the beginning of his job there was a lot of confusion on weather or not the customer wanted to even start the job and we had plumbers waiting for the customer to decide. When the job was finally started our company was so over booked that it was very hard for us to complete this job. We are attempting to complete this job as soon as possible.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10195110

I am rejecting this response because:

This is not accurate.  There has never been any question about them doing the job.  When they first came by to bid, I told them I was getting several bids.  I called them within two days to tell them I would like them to do the job.  They came out on a Thursday first.  They broke up my slab and put in a new pee trap and poured new concrete.  The plumber that day said he would not be back on Friday because he was going out of town. I did not hear from them until Wednesday of the next week and I was the one who called.  

 
They informed me the plumber had been sick.   I am reasonable.  I understand illness.  Just let me know something.  Then they sent a different guy out who capped off the existing pipes and installed my faucet in the sink.  When he left, I was told that he was going out of town and that he was not sure who would be by to finish the job.  I did not hear from them again until the next week and it was only because I called.
 
When they finally came this time,  it was a third person.  This guy moved my existing pipes and got the pipes ready to have the shower head and faucet attached.  This was on a Thursday again.   When this one left, I was told this guy was going out of town and was not sure who would finish my job.   I told this person, I would just like a call if they were coming or not.  That I am not unreasonable, I  understand they have other jobs. I just want to know when and if they are coming.  He said he would personally call me on Friday and let me know something.  I did not hear from him on  Friday.  I called him on Tuesday of the next week and he informed me he was on vacation.  He gave me a number to call to schedule the install.  This brings us to last week.  I called the numbers I had several times and each time the person I spoke with told me they would get back with me and they never did.  The only communication I have with them is the communication I initiate.    
 
There have been a few delays on this job because in tearing out the shower they are installing we discovered my other bathroom was leaking.  I had it repaired and ready for them to complete their job by the next day.  The next delay came when they said I did not have enough of the bathroom torn out.  I started working on it that morning and had it completed before lunch.  The next delay came when we discussed how they were going to install the shower.  I did not agree with how they wanted to do it.  They wanted to install the walls to the studs of the bathroom. The shower walls are very flimsy and I did not agree with that approach.  I wanted some type of backing up first.  They agreed with me and I had things fixed the way I wanted and ready for them by the next day.  This is where we stand now.  Everything is up and ready for them to complete the job.  I have received no communication from them again other than the calls I have made.  When I call, someone is always going to call me back and it NEVER happens.  I am still waiting on them and I can not get them to tell me a time or date as to when they are going to finish my job.  
 
In my complaint, I stated that the work they have done has been good.  I do not have a problem with the quality of their work.  My problem with them is their failure to communicate what is going on.  In their response they stated they are very busy and overbooked.  Why have they not told me that when I call? I am reasonable.  I can understand that.  Why can't they simply  say, we are backed up right now and we cannot get to you until such and such date.  All I want is communication as to where we stand.  The rest of the job they have for me should not take more than a day to complete.  I am beyond frustrated with them and their lack of proper communication.  
 
Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response: When the consumer rejected our response, he had called us.  We apologized for the misunderstanding.

His remedying team finished their part of the job and then we completed the shower.
We gave him a great discount and he paid the invoice.  The customer is satisfied and this is now resolved.

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10195110, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
The work they did was not the problem.  Communication was the main problem.  When I hired them, I showed them the shower.  They told me they could do the plumbing part.  Later when they came back, they stated they don't install the shower, we just do plumbing.   The whole problem was a misunderstanding to begin with.

Sincerely,

Jeff Mckinnon