BBB Accredited Business since

Southern Lawn & Landscapes, LLC

Phone: (409) 385-0708 Fax: (409) 385-0854 View Additional Phone Numbers 1370 Highway 96 S, Silsbee, TX 77656 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.southernlawntexas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Southern Lawn & Landscapes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southern Lawn & Landscapes, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Southern Lawn & Landscapes, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 2007 Business started: 06/01/1999 Business started locally: 06/01/1999 Business incorporated 03/22/2006 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress Fl 11, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (512) 463-7476

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Kevin Kirkland, Owner Tina Fondren, Office/Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Kevin Kirkland, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Artificial Flowers & Plants - Manufacturer Supplies Fountains - Garden, Display Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Furniture - Outdoor Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Garden Centers Topsoil Gardening Hand Tools Landscape Architectural Services (NAICS: 541320)

Products & Services

Southern Lawn & Lanscapes also offers wooden rocking chairs, rock and stone for yard and patio, window-boxes, wire trestles, birdbaths, pine needles and other bed mulches for flower bed building along with a variety of seasonal items.


Additional Locations

  • 1370 Highway 96 S

    Silsbee, TX 77656 (409) 385-0708 (409) 386-0204 (409) 363-9864

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Southern Lawn has been maitaining my yard for almost one year. Their crew accendentally ran ove a small Mayhaw tree. The company representative call to inform me of the accident promptly. A replacement tree was offered. I commended them for their good behavior. When I got home to inspect the damage I noticed that the two grafts that I had paid an expert to make on this tree were destroyed. I called Southern Lawn to inform them of this condition. The representative offered a $50 gift card. I assumed it was in addition to the replacement tree previously offered. I went to their place of business to select a tree and gift card. Upon my arrival the representative informed me that the offer was for a $50 gift card only. The representative understood my losses but stood firm on the $50 gift card only offer. I took the gift card with the condition that the settlement was not finished until I discussed it with the owner, ***** ********. I wrote email to Mr ********. An abrasive response was sent from the representative denying an further compensation for my losses. I immediately (Jan 22, 2015) gave a 30 day termination notice per the contract terms. It was acknowledged by company.

Desired Settlement: Since I have already received the $50 gift card, I would like Southern Lawn & Landscape to provide an equivalent size Mayhaw tree and plant it in my yard.

Business Response:

February 6, 2015

 

In response to Mr. *******'s complaint to the Better Business Bureau:

 

We have a lawn maintenance contract with Mr., *** *******. On a scheduled maintenance visit our worker called immediately upon accidently mowing over the 2 to 3 foot tree in Mr. *******’s yard.  I instantly called Mr. ******* to make him aware of the incident.  He wasn't able to answer the call and returned my call later.  I advised him of the situation and asked him if he would identify what type of fruit tree it was.  He said it was a Mayhaw tree.  I then mentioned to Mr. ******* that we would replace the Mayhaw tree and install it at no charge to him.  He agreed to this.  Later in the week he emailed us asking if we could replace it with a Super Texas Star Mayhaw.  I made him aware that the only variety we can get from our local growers is the Native Mayhaw.  He later sent an email of a wholesale nursery from the Houston area where we could acquire the requested Super Texas Star Mayhaw. We purchase from local reputable growers and not online nurseries.

 

We offered him the native Mayhaw plus installation at no charge once again.  He said he wanted $50 for the 2 grafts @ $25.00 each that he had done to the Mayhaw on his property.  We again, offered him the Mayhaw tree or the $50 as a credit to his lawn maintenance account.  He made us aware that his company paid for his lawn maintenance and he would rather have the $50 as a check.  We offered him a $50 gift card.  He agreed to this.  On 1/22/15 Mr. ******* visited our nursery and upon his arrival we offered him the $50 gift card which he gladly accepted.  

 

As Mr. ******* was being checked out he assumed at this time that he was getting the $50 gift card PLUS the Mayhaw tree and installation.  We made him aware that he had chosen to accept the $50 gift card.  He requested at that time to speak to Mr. ********.  Mr. ******** was off premises at a job site.  Mr. ******* insisted on waiting for Mr. ********.  He continued to wait well over half an hour.  We advised him that Mr. ******** would not be back due to the fact he was on an existing job site. And made Mr. ******* full aware that we would give a message to Mr. ******** to contact him.  

 

Mr. ******* left the nursery.  We received the email attached below later that same day.  

 

We are in business to completely satisfy our customers and feel as though we have been more than fair and generous with our offer to Mr. ******* which he accepted in the gift card.

 

Respectfully,


***** ********

SOUTHERN LAWN & LANDSCAPES, LLC.

409-385-0708 

 

 

Ms ******** 

I confirm that there was a misunderstanding. Southern Lawn did the honest act of informing me of the accident promptly. I commend this behavior. 

Please recall that I first accepted your offer to replace the tree. Later Southern Lawn offered a $50 gift, but only after I had informed them that the tree had been grafted with two high quality Mayhaw species at a cost of $25 each. Grafting cost may be confirmed by ****** ******** (Lumberton, TX) who I hired to perform the graftings. When the $50 gift card was offered I assumed that it was in addition to the tree replacement. At this point the misunderstanding began. 
However, it can be easily understood that my losses were greater than a single tree. Southern Lawn is liable for the total loss; not just a tree. The Southern Lawn workers have trimmed around this tree for several months prior to the accident. I accept that this event was accidental and hold no bad feeling against the crew. 

The decision of Southern Lawn's management is where the rub exist. At the time of writing my first email to Mr. ******** I had no intention of terminating our contract. However I find your letter so abrasive that termination is appropriate now. Furthermore, I will file a claim with the Better Business Bureau and tell my story to all family members, neighbors, friends and business associates. 

This email is to notify Southern Lawn & Landscape, LLC that I wish to terminate our contract. Last day of services will be Feb. 28, 2015 

Please acknowledge receipt of this notification. 

Respectfully, 
*** *******







Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10426318

I am rejecting this response because:

My total loss due to the incident has not been recovered. I expect Southern Lawn & Landscape to reimburse me for a Mayhaw tree and two $25 grafts. Thusfar, I have only received a $50 gift card. 
Southern Lawn may deliver a tree to my house or provide another gift card of equivalent value as the retail price of their Mayhaw tree. 
Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response: We apologize for any lingering issues about the agreement we made with Mr. *******, however, we have no other offers on this matter.

Business Response:

We are sorry for any inconvenience we have caused Mr. *******, however, our offer still stands as previously agreed upon and that is the following:

 

We have a lawn maintenance contract with Mr., *** *******. On a scheduled maintenance visit our worker called immediately upon accidently mowing over the 2 foot tree in Mr. *******’s yard.  I instantly called Mr. ******* to make him aware of the incident.  He wasn't able to answer the call and returned my call later.  I advised him of the situation and asked him if he would identify what type of fruit tree it was.  He said it was a Mayhaw tree.  I then mentioned to Mr. ******* that we would not only replace the Mayhaw tree but install it at no charge to him.  He agreed to this.  Later in the week he emailed us asking if we could replace it with a Super Texas Star Mayhaw.  I made him aware that the only variety we can get from our local growers is the Native Mayhaw.  He later sent an email of a wholesale nursery from the Houston area where we could acquire the requested Super Texas Star Mayhaw. We purchase from local reputable growers and not online nurseries.

 

We offered him the native Mayhaw plus installation once again.  He said he wanted $50 for the 2 grafts @ $25.00 each that he had done to the Mayhaw on his property.  We again, offered him the Mayhaw tree or the $50 as a credit to his lawn maintenance account.  He made us aware that his company paid for his lawn maintenance and he would rather have the $50 as a check.  We offered him a $50 gift card.  He agreed to this.  On 1/22/15 Mr. ******* visited our nursery and upon his arrival we offered him the $50 gift card which he gladly accepted.  

 

As Mr. ******* was being checked out he assumed at this time that he was getting the $50 gift card PLUS the Mayhaw tree and installation.  We made him aware that he had chosen to accept the $50 gift card.  He requested at that time to speak to Mr. ********.  Mr. ******** was off premises at a job site.  Mr. ******* insisted on waiting for Mr. ********.  He continued to wait well over half an hour.  We advised him that Mr. ******** would not be back due to the fact he was on an existing job site. And made Mr. ******* full aware that we would give a message to Mr. ******** to contact him.    

 

We are in business to completely satisfy our customers and feel as though we have been more than fair and generous with our offer to Mr. ******* which he accepted in the gift card.

 

Again, we apologize for any lingering issues about the agreement we made with Mr. *******, however, we have no other offers on this matter.

 

Respectfully,

 

SOUTHERN LAWN & LANDSCAPES, LLC.