BBB Accredited Business since

Cigna HealthSpring

Phone: (800) 280-8888 Fax: (832) 553-3489 View Additional Phone Numbers 2900 North Loop W Ste 1300, Houston, TX 77092

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cigna HealthSpring meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cigna HealthSpring
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2006 Business started: 11/01/2000 Business started locally: 11/01/2000
Type of Entity


Business Management
Jane Crain, Administrative Asstistant Jay Hurt, COO Nicola Matthews, Member Grievences Department Vickie Rasmus, Sr. Field Sales Rep Dr. Keith Stout, Medical Advisor
Contact Information
Principal: Jane Crain, Administrative Asstistant
Customer Contact: Nicola Matthews, Member Grievences Department
Business Category

Insurance Consultants Medical Service Organizations All Other Insurance Related Activities (NAICS: 524298)

Alternate Business Names
Cigna Health & Renaissance Texas Health Spring

Additional Locations


    2900 North Loop W Ste 1300

    Houston, TX 77092 (832) 553-3300 (800) 280-8888


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a cpap machine for 8 years. 3 months ago my machine went out. I contacted Cigna and did everything they asked to get my machine fixed. They denied my request then I filed an appeal. I did everything they wanted including sleep study and doctor report. I called and was told they had filed the paperwork under another patients number. This is endangering my life as I have Obstructive Sleep Apnea.

Desired Settlement: I wish to get a new cpap machine so as to get the quality of health from sleep I need

Business Response:

We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We reached out to the customer and assisted him with his need. Investigation of his grievances has been initiated and is still in process. We are a Medicare Advantage Plan and we are processing this complaint as a grievance according to the guidelines established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). We have 30 days to research and respond to the customer’s grievance. Once we have completed our investigation, we will mail him a letter with the outcome of our findings. 

Consumer Response:  Cigna has replaced the  Cpap machine and apologized
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10744451, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

**** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cigna HealthSpring
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)