BBB Accredited Business since

CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Mary, Port Arthur

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 985-7431 Fax: (409) 989-1033 3600 Gates Blvd, Port Arthur, TX 77642 http://www.christushospital.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Mary, Port Arthur meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Mary, Port Arthur include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Mary, Port Arthur
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1930 Business started locally: 01/01/1930
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Health Services
110 West 49th Street, Austin TX 78756
https://vo.dshs.state.tx.us/datamart/selSearchTypeTXRAS.do?from=loginPage
Phone Number: (800) 228-1570
infoplcd@dshs.state.tx.us

Business Management
Wayne Moore, Administrator Karen Stubblefield, Regional Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Wayne Moore, Administrator
Business Category

Hospitals General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)


Additional Locations

  • 3600 Gates Blvd

    Port Arthur, TX 77642 (409) 985-7431

  • PO Box 3696

    Port Arthur, TX 77643

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 5th I went to the Christus St. Mary MINOR care facility located at 8445 Memorial Blvd, Port Arthur, TX 77640. The doctor saw me and looked in my ears and throat, and I was given a shot. I had NO tests, NO X-Rays, NO treatments--nothing. Upon checking out I was told by the receptionist that I owed a $50 co-pay for minor care facilities, which I paid before leaving. Today I received a bill that I owed an additional $50. I called their business office and was told it was because I had an ER visit. I told them it was a minor care visit, but they told me the insurance told them it was an ER visit. I called my insurance and they said that Christus billed an ER visit at Christus St. Mary HOSPITAL. This is the second time Christus has done this. The last time I agreed to pay the extra money because they said it was considered an ER visit due to the level of care (x-rays, breathing treatments, and shots). This time however, I did not receive any higher level of care than I would in and doctor's office. I called my insurance and they called the business office and was told that they would "review" my case and possibly resubmit it. I am furious, Christus billed me over $1000 for a doctor's visit. They billed for two ER visits and an additional $586 in "general medical services." I tried to resolve it with them, my insurance tried to resolve it with them, and all they will tell us is that they will "look into it." At best, Christus made a mistake which they should immediately remedy, at worst they perpetrated fraud by billing for services at facilities that I was no where near.

Desired Settlement: I expect Christus to re-submit the bill with proper information, and refund what they over-billed my insurance. I also expect them to remove the $50 balance due on my account, AND to send me a letter that they were in error and that ALL I owe is the $50 I've already paid. I do not want to get a bill, or a call from a collection agency, 2-3 years down the road claiming that I owe Christus $50.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. Cobb,

We have completed the investigation for the Complaint reported by ******** ******* ID10846170.  As Ms. ******* reported, she paid $50 at the time of visit.  We found the charges to be appropriate with the services delivered.  Ms. ******* also reported there remains a balance of $50 on her account for this visit.  As a gesture of goodwill, we have made the decision to adjust this balance to zero.  We would like to apologize to Ms. ******* for the delayed communication and follow up she experienced when questioning the bill.

 

Thanks,

******** ********

CHRISTUS Hospital St. Mary



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Mary, Port Arthur
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)