BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Elizabeth, Beaumont meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Elizabeth, Beaumont include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Elizabeth, Beaumont
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 05/01/1962 Business started locally: 05/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Health Services
110 West 49th Street, Austin TX 78756
https://vo.dshs.state.tx.us/datamart/selSearchTypeTXRAS.do?from=loginPage
Phone Number: (800) 228-1570
infoplcd@dshs.state.tx.us

Business Management
Paul Trevino, Administrator Nancy Bedair, Assistant to Paul Trevino Heather Boler, V.P Marketing & Stratigic Planning Charles Foster, Regional VP of HR Kimberly Franklin, Guest Services Bill Hecht, Regional CFO Ellen Jones, President/CEO Bill Klamfoth, Regional Director, Outpatient Operations Cheryl Larson, Executive Assistant Danielle Pardue, Marketing Manager Karen Stubblefield, Regional Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kimberly Franklin, Guest Services
Principal: Paul Trevino, Administrator
Business Category

Hospitals General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)

Alternate Business Names
Christus Health Foundation of Southeast Texas CHRISTUS Health Southeast Texas Region

Additional Locations

  • 2830 Calder St

    Beaumont, TX 77702 (409) 892-7171

  • 3010 Harrison St Ste 202

    Beaumont, TX 77702

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 Brazos St Ste 1050

    Austin, TX 78701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scheduled for surgery at St Elizabeth Outpatient. My urologist simply told me to take my surgery packet and information down the hall (at St E) and get my labs done and schedule my day surgery. I was in pain from a large kidney stone and on pain medication. St. E admitting department took my info and scheduled my surgery. Four months later they bill me for $21,225.29. They say that they are 'out of network' and that is why I was billed beyond what my insurance paid, which was $1132.00. Who does your pre-certifications? How about send them the bill, as they thoroughly screwed up.

Desired Settlement: Cancel this bill. You are totally wrong for billing me TWENTY ONE THOUSAND dollars!

Business Response:

***,

We have resolved this grievance with the patient.

******** ********

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in their hospital May 4, 5 and 6. Hospital employee tried to get me to pay over $1,000 based on her incorrect information. I finally agreed to and paid $150. Account No. ************ My two insurance policies paid all that was due. The hospital received the final payment on June 18, 2015. Every time that I call the hospital, I am given different information about my refund of $150.. On July 4, 20154 I mailed a letter to Customer Service Billing office in Irving, Texas, that said that if I did not receive my refund check by 7-23-2015, that I would fine a complaint with you. The hospital wants you to give your money to them right now on the spot. But they take months to refund over payments. On 6-24,2015 I called the hospital and was told that I would receive my refund in 7 to 10 business days. On 7-7-2015, I spoke with ***** from their billing office and was told that the information that I received on 6-24, 2015 was incorrect. She said that it usually takes 30 days to process and refund. I asked to speak to her supervisor but she said that he was not availabe. On July 14, 2015, I spoke with their billing office and was told that the process to give me my refund had been started but for some reason was stopped. On that day, I mailed the letter mentioned above.. If you can convince the hospital to refund my money, I would appreciate it. **** S, *****

Desired Settlement: Refund check for $150.00.

8/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $650.00 to enter Hospital on 11-24-2014 for pneumonia stayed till 11-29-2014. In March I received outstanding bill for $1970.19. I then made arrangements to make monthly payments. 1/st payment 600.00,on 03-05-2015. 2nd payment $200.00 on 04-07-2015. 3rd payment 300.00 on05-10-2015. 4th payment 200.00on 06-08-2015. I then received a letter from TLR a collection agency for outstanding balance of $670.19 which I do not dispute. I do feel this was unfair and unreasonable to report me to credit agency as I have made every effort to pay my bill. Christus St. Elizabeth was too eager to report me and ruin my credit.Please be informed. Also I never made an issue that my heart monitor batteries went out twice (dead) during my stay.

Desired Settlement: Stop reporting people who are paying their bill and making an effort. Some people don't even try.

Business Response:

Businesses response to consumer via email to BBB:

TLRA is the collection division of the CHRISTUS Healthcare system.  We provide support to the CHRISTUS regions in collecting and monitoring accounts, but we are not a credit reporting agency nor do we share account information with any outside credit reporting agencies.   It appears that Ms. ****** is under the assumption that TLRA has somehow reported or ruined her credit which we have not done.

3/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They don't bill you for 5-6 months after date of service, I have worked with our insurance company and they have called them and gotten the same answers, which they don't understand either. I have called them and asked why things are not getting billed in a timely manner and all we get is that until the claim is validated. UHC says when the claim is paid thru them it has been validated on their end. When I ask to talk with their insurance dept at Christus I am told we are allowed to speak with them. I have never been billed when something has been processed within two weeks with our insurance 5 months later. I currently have 5 bills that we just received for a procedure that happened in August of 2014. Now they are nasty when you try to find out the issues with their billing. Also when they send a bill there is no explanation of what it is for, when you call and ask they say it will take 7-10 days. Just a sad excuse for a billing department.

Desired Settlement: Would like to know why they are allowed to continue billing 5-6 months later, which causes you to lose and not be able to apply to your health care spending account because the year has closed out months ago. Then they get nasty and demand payment.

Business Response:

I represent CHRISTUS St. Elizabeth Hospital with respect to the above referenced matter.  I have investigated the facts concerning the issues addressed and respectfully submit the following response:

 

Mr. ******** is correct in his statement that it took approximately 3 to 4 months before he received a bill for his share of his hospital bill from CHRISTUS St. Elizabeth Hospital.  As a courtesy to our patients, we generally do not submit a bill to them until we have first received payment from their insurance company and validated that payment for accuracy to verify that we are billing them only for the correct amount that is their portion of the charges.  It appears that the billing in this situation did not take place in a timely manner, and for this we would like to offer our apology for any inconvenience that this may have caused Mr. ********.

 

Our records indicate that a copy of the billing was sent to the patient on or about 1/13/15.  The account is currently set up in a payment plan status and payments are being received according to the plan terms.

 

We hope that this communication provides a satisfactory explanation to Mr. ********.  Should you need further assistance or require additional information, please contact me directly at the number listed below.

 

Yours truly,

 

 

**** *. ***

CHRISTUS/TLRA Legal Counsel

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10442448

I am rejecting this response because:  they were paid within two weeks of submitting their claim to UHC so it is not accurate that they are laying blame with the insurance company.  As a matter of fact our insurance company contacted to ask them the same question we did and they couldn't tell them why either, gave them the same excuse they gave me, it was on their side and that is not correct.  What I have found out is that Christus keeps sending the same claim back to UHC trying to get more mo*** from them which UHC is going to pay according to the plan as well as what they have contracted with Christus, Christus had to agree when they choose to accept UHC their terms but yet they do not and that makes the people that are insured suffer in regards to being billed to late to apply to their Health Care spending account.  

Sincerely,

******* ********

Business Response:

Here are the facts regarding the two CHRIST'S accounts of Mr. ********:

1.  Account number *********:  Date of service 8/15/14; claim filed with health insurance on 8/24/14 and insurance paid on 9/4/14.  The patient was sent a bill for his portion on 12/18/14.

2.  Account Number *********:  Date of service 9/4/14; claim was filed with health insurance on 9/11/14 and insurance paid on 10/9/14.  The patient was sent a bill for his portion on 1/4/15.

There was no attempt to re-bill UHC multiple times to "get more money from them" as Mr. ******** suggests in his complaint.  Each claim was sent once and payment was subsequently received from the payer.  There was a delay in sending the bill to the patient based on a system error as previously explained.  Once again we offer our apology to the patient for this delay.  There were other options available to obtain the amount owed by the patient.  When the payments were processed, UHC sent Mr. ******** an explanation of benefits form which would have been informed him of the exact amount that was due from him after their payment.  In addition, this information would have been provided to him if he had contacted our Customer Service Dept. to inquire about the amount that was owed.

By way of this response, we respectfully request that you close your file in this matter. 

**** ***, CHRISTUS/TLRA Legal Counsel

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10442448

I am rejecting this response because:  They are not being truthful when I spoke with UHC they showed in their system where Christus resubmitted so I don't appreciate being told we are not telling the truth, also I don't know of anyone that pays without a statement and/or bill from any business/company, also it does not show the remitting address on the insurance claim.  Also if we are supposed to pay off of the insurance claim why do they bill at all based on his response, in all of my years with different insurance companies and living in different states and working with Hospitals, Specialists have we ever been treated and billed in such a manner.  We were told to file a complaint by our insurance company because they also coud not get an answer as to what happened.  This does not require an additonal reponse from their legal counsel because he is now being snide and snarky.  At no point in time has anyone said they are sorry, it took talking to several people who kept passing me on to others before I could get an arrangement made of which I would not have had to do if billing had been done in a timely manner it could have been paid via our health care spending account but due to their negligence the timeframe had passed to file against that for payment.  

Sincerely,

******* ********

1/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife ***** ***** had 2 visits to Dr. ****** at Beaumont Bone and Joint. The billing included 2 office visits and charges for a shot all done in the doctors office. The charges from Dr. ****** were reasonable and consistent compared to bills received from other doctors. the charges were paid in full. Christus is also billing for the same office visit and services that were paid for to Dr. ******. The dates of the service provided were 10-13-2014. The charges for the regular office visit and shot were $310, negotiated by Aetna to $190, which I paid in full. Christus Hospital is now charging another $205 and want the negotiated rate of $123 for the same service that I paid for to Dr. ******. This happened again on the follow up visit on 11-12-2014. This was a 5 minute follow up office visit. Dr. ****** billed $89 and I paid the negotiated insurance rate. Christus Hospital also billed $85 for the same services. The hospital claims they can double bill because they own the facility. Christus Hospital needs to remove the charges because they were already paid to Dr. ******. If Dr ****** owes Christus for his office space, he needs to pay that bill and Christus has no right to bill me.

Desired Settlement: Remove the charges on Account **0001613879.

Business Response:

Per phone conversation with BBB:

We are investigating this issue right now and will be in touch soon.

******** *******, CHRISTUS

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

In reference to complaint ID 10356694.  I had further conversation with ****** ****** of St Elizabeth Hospital and they have agreed to remove the $18.36 due from the service provided on 11/12/2015.  Although I agreed with this settlement, I am not happy with their overall billing process and the magnitude of their charges.  Mr. ****** also agreed to provide me with the cost of charges prior to providing future services if needed.  I appreciated being able to discuss my issues with Mr. ******.

Sincerely,

**** *****

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Christus on 2/24/14 for cataract surgery. I prepaid for surgery at the hospital. $814 on receipt and had the surgery. On March 24, 2014, I had another surgery on the other eye. When I prepaid for the surgery, I was told that I owed $814 plus $825 because I underpaid the first surgery. I paid that amount ($1639). Receipts for both surgeries can be provided upon request. My insurance company sent papers showing that I owed $924.80 for each surgery. I went to Christus Hospital because they said I underpaid for the surgeries. The receptionist told me that I overpaid and to call Houston Central Billing office (###-###-####). Receipts 2453.00 Insurance 1849.60 Overpayment $603.40 When I called the billing office this was verified ###-###-####. I called on 7/3/14, 8/11/14, 9/3/14, 9/15/14, and 9/18/14. Each time I called someone told me that the refund would be processed and sent within 2 weeks and so far there has been no results.

Desired Settlement: All I ask for is to get a refund on my overpayment. These people should be investigated for not doing their jobs. The hospital visits were excellent.

Business Response:

First, I would like to apologize for the delay in sending your refund.  I have spoke to the Driector of Business Services for CHRISTUS Hospital and he has processed the refund.  You can expect the refund in the next 7-10 days.  Again, I apologize for the delay.  I hope this takes care of your concern.  I am happy that the hospital visits were excellent.

Have a blessed day,

******** ********

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my one year old son to St. Elizabeth Emergency Room on Tuesday October 7, 2014 at 11:00 pm becasue he had a 101.7 fever and his doctor's office was closed. At my arrival the front desk receptionist in the emergency room took his temperature, gave him ibuprofen and asked me to have a seat and I would be called in "soon". As time passed more people arrived to the emergency room, I noticed that people that arrived after I did were called before my son. After four hours of waiting I politely asked the receptionist why the wait and some other patients were called before my son and not in order as they arrived. She replied "we are waiting on a room for the baby so he wont be placed with the rest of the patients, but we are getting one cleaned already". Finally around 4:00am of October 8, 2014 they finally call my son. The same receptionist that told me they were getting a room cleaned up for him took my son and I to a room were three other adult patients were being treated. This really got me upsest for the staff made me wait so long(5hours) for my son to get a room "so he wont be placed with the rest of the patients" and he still end up in a room with three other patients. I believed this was very unsanitary for my son is a 12 month baby and the other patients were all adults, who guarantees me my son can't get an inffection or anything from another sick patient? On top of that the Doctor that showed up to see what was causing my son the fever was rude, unprofessinal and sarcastic about the situation. The Docotor showed up and asked "what make you bring the child?" I respond that he had an on and off fever. He did NOT even bother to check my son at all, once he heard my response he said "ok well I will order a chest xray to see whats wrong". He order me to take my son's clothes off so the fever decreased, as I was doing so my son was asleep and the Doctor said "we are all tired...I'm tired too... but you know whats the difference?... that I get off in 25 minutes and you still get to stay here." That was so sarcastic and unprofessional of him to make that type of comment, when all I wanted to know is what was causing my son the fever and I had already been there for five long hours. The Doctor walked off and never returened, a nurse came in took my son's chest xray, at about 5:05am another nurse walks in and tells me that "the xrays came out clear you are free to go" and since I have no medical insurance for my son the nurse just said "you will recieve a bill for the services". That was it, my son was not checked to see how his temperature was before being released, but the staff sound very concerned to get paid for their "services". I left the hospital with my son still running a fever and my mother in-law who witnessed everything, we were very disappointed. I know for sure that I will NOT return to St. Elizabeth Emergency Room ever again and will NOT recommend it to anyone else. On Wednesday October 8, 2014 at 10:00 am I made an appointment with my son's pediatric to see what was wrong with him, his pediatrician did some test and it turned out that he had strep throat and that was causing his fever. If it was something so simple to just test and see what was wrong why coundn't St. Elizabeth ER took care of that? So I called St. Elizabeth customer/patient service to put a complaint on 10/08/14, to my surprise the staff informed me that there wasn't any one to take my call in that department to try agian later. So I called twice that same day without any success. On today Thursday October 9, 2014 I called three different times to speak to someone and put the complaints. The first time I was transferred to the wrong department and two out of the three attempts the staff hung the phone call on me. I belive that is unacceptable of a hospital to have this type of rude manners with the patients/customers. I would like to have some answers from all the unprofessional service concerns I have, I will be waiting.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a letter with answers to my concerns.

Business Response:

Mr. ****,

We are still in the investigation phase.  I will be responding to the patient’s mother via certified letter responding to her request and answering the questions posted in her report.

Thank you,

******** ********

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10259296, I will be waiting on the certified letter and evaluate if any further attention is required.

Sincerely,

***** *******

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I overpaid a bill to Christus. i immediately called on 7/28/14 and advised that I overpaid a bill online. I was told that a note was put in the system that I requested a refund and to call back in a couple of days to confirm it went through. I called back on 8/1/14 and was told that I would receive a refund in 14 business days, which I did not. On 9/2/14, I called back and was told that my refund would be mailed that day. I called back on 9/10/14 and was told my request was sitting on a "log" and that my request would be forwarded to a supervisor. It has been 1 1/2 months since I have called about my refund and still have not received it. Every time I call I get a different story about the status.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund of $67.90 returned immediately.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau called and verified the consumer has received the refund and this case is resolved.

Business Response: CHRISTUS Hospital St. Elizabeth has contacted the patient and the issues has been resolved.  The patient has received the refund.

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unprofessional representation of medical staff during ER room visit. Rude, errogant. 4/18/2014 I want to register a complaint against Mr. *** ***** of the emergency room staff of the Beaumont, Texas facilty. My son ******* ********* has cystic fibrosis and has had recent sinus surgery due to constant infections and headaches. He has begun experiencing strong headaches again, and was advised by the Houston team to go to the ER if they continue. Once my son was called into the room, he tried to explain to Mr. ***** that he had cystic fibrosis, and also had recent sinus surgery. He abruptly cut him short stating "what did that have to do with anything". My son tried to explain that he was almost blacking out due to the headaches, and that he felt the recent surgery might be the cause. Again Mr. ***** stated "what did that have to do with anything, and why are you here". Again, he tried to explain that he had cystic fibrosis, recent surgery and strong headaches. Mr. ***** kept asking why was he in there. At this point, my son asked if he could see someone else. At that time, Mr. ***** said " there's the door, goodbye". This is the most unprofessional treatment my son has had in his total ordeal with cystic fibrosis and its conditions that go with it. Mr. ***** was totally out of line, refusing to listen to what my son had to say. My son has recently gone back to Houston and seen the sinus surgeon. He does have some major infection in his cavities, causing pain and headaches, they were cleaned out and additional antibiodics given. So my son had to endure additional pain and suffering because St. Elizabeth failed to properly diagnose and treat my son. I want to know what St Elizabeth is going to do to resolve this issue. As a minimum, I do NOT expect to receive a billing for this service. I am contacting other state agencies and departments to see how I can elevate this type of behavior and that it will not be tolerated by my son or any other member of the public. Regards ***** *********

Desired Settlement: No billing for services not given. Reprimand to Mr. *** ****** Should be terminated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/07) */ We have entered the information provided into our system so the care can be reviewed and the behavior reported can be investigated. We will respond directly to the adult patient by a certified response letter within the next 30 days. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Elizabeth, Beaumont
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)