BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Elizabeth, Beaumont meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CHRISTUS Hospital-St. Elizabeth, Beaumont include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 05/01/1962 Business started locally: 05/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Health Services
110 West 49th Street, Austin TX 78756
https://vo.dshs.state.tx.us/datamart/selSearchTypeTXRAS.do?from=loginPage
Phone Number: (800) 228-1570
infoplcd@dshs.state.tx.us

Business Management
Paul Trevino, Administrator Nancy Bedair, Assistant to Paul Trevino Heather Boler, V.P Marketing & Stratigic Planning Charles Foster, Regional VP of HR Kimberly Franklin, Guest Services Bill Hecht, Regional CFO Ellen Jones, President/CEO Bill Klamfoth, Regional Director, Outpatient Operations Cheryl Larson, Executive Assistant Danielle Pardue, Marketing Manager Karen Stubblefield, Regional Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kimberly Franklin, Guest Services
Principal: Paul Trevino, Administrator
Business Category

Hospitals General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)

Alternate Business Names
Christus Health Foundation of Southeast Texas CHRISTUS Health Southeast Texas Region

Additional Locations

  • 2830 Calder St

    Beaumont, TX 77702 (409) 892-7171

  • 3010 Harrison St Ste 202

    Beaumont, TX 77702

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 Brazos St Ste 1050

    Austin, TX 78701

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 899-7044(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7077(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7078(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7102(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7187(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7189(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7275(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7294(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7557(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7763(Phone)
  • (409) 899-7999(Phone)
  • (713) 277-2431(Phone)
  • (866) 683-3627(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife ***** ***** had 2 visits to Dr. ****** at Beaumont Bone and Joint. The billing included 2 office visits and charges for a shot all done in the doctors office. The charges from Dr. ****** were reasonable and consistent compared to bills received from other doctors. the charges were paid in full. Christus is also billing for the same office visit and services that were paid for to Dr. ******. The dates of the service provided were 10-13-2014. The charges for the regular office visit and shot were $310, negotiated by Aetna to $190, which I paid in full. Christus Hospital is now charging another $205 and want the negotiated rate of $123 for the same service that I paid for to Dr. ******. This happened again on the follow up visit on 11-12-2014. This was a 5 minute follow up office visit. Dr. ****** billed $89 and I paid the negotiated insurance rate. Christus Hospital also billed $85 for the same services. The hospital claims they can double bill because they own the facility. Christus Hospital needs to remove the charges because they were already paid to Dr. ******. If Dr ****** owes Christus for his office space, he needs to pay that bill and Christus has no right to bill me.

Desired Settlement: Remove the charges on Account **0001613879.

Business Response:

Per phone conversation with BBB:

We are investigating this issue right now and will be in touch soon.

******** *******, CHRISTUS

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

In reference to complaint ID 10356694.  I had further conversation with ****** ****** of St Elizabeth Hospital and they have agreed to remove the $18.36 due from the service provided on 11/12/2015.  Although I agreed with this settlement, I am not happy with their overall billing process and the magnitude of their charges.  Mr. ****** also agreed to provide me with the cost of charges prior to providing future services if needed.  I appreciated being able to discuss my issues with Mr. ******.

Sincerely,

**** *****

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Christus on 2/24/14 for cataract surgery. I prepaid for surgery at the hospital. $814 on receipt and had the surgery. On March 24, 2014, I had another surgery on the other eye. When I prepaid for the surgery, I was told that I owed $814 plus $825 because I underpaid the first surgery. I paid that amount ($1639). Receipts for both surgeries can be provided upon request. My insurance company sent papers showing that I owed $924.80 for each surgery. I went to Christus Hospital because they said I underpaid for the surgeries. The receptionist told me that I overpaid and to call Houston Central Billing office (###-###-####). Receipts 2453.00 Insurance 1849.60 Overpayment $603.40 When I called the billing office this was verified ###-###-####. I called on 7/3/14, 8/11/14, 9/3/14, 9/15/14, and 9/18/14. Each time I called someone told me that the refund would be processed and sent within 2 weeks and so far there has been no results.

Desired Settlement: All I ask for is to get a refund on my overpayment. These people should be investigated for not doing their jobs. The hospital visits were excellent.

Business Response:

First, I would like to apologize for the delay in sending your refund.  I have spoke to the Driector of Business Services for CHRISTUS Hospital and he has processed the refund.  You can expect the refund in the next 7-10 days.  Again, I apologize for the delay.  I hope this takes care of your concern.  I am happy that the hospital visits were excellent.

Have a blessed day,

******** ********

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my one year old son to St. Elizabeth Emergency Room on Tuesday October 7, 2014 at 11:00 pm becasue he had a 101.7 fever and his doctor's office was closed. At my arrival the front desk receptionist in the emergency room took his temperature, gave him ibuprofen and asked me to have a seat and I would be called in "soon". As time passed more people arrived to the emergency room, I noticed that people that arrived after I did were called before my son. After four hours of waiting I politely asked the receptionist why the wait and some other patients were called before my son and not in order as they arrived. She replied "we are waiting on a room for the baby so he wont be placed with the rest of the patients, but we are getting one cleaned already". Finally around 4:00am of October 8, 2014 they finally call my son. The same receptionist that told me they were getting a room cleaned up for him took my son and I to a room were three other adult patients were being treated. This really got me upsest for the staff made me wait so long(5hours) for my son to get a room "so he wont be placed with the rest of the patients" and he still end up in a room with three other patients. I believed this was very unsanitary for my son is a 12 month baby and the other patients were all adults, who guarantees me my son can't get an inffection or anything from another sick patient? On top of that the Doctor that showed up to see what was causing my son the fever was rude, unprofessinal and sarcastic about the situation. The Docotor showed up and asked "what make you bring the child?" I respond that he had an on and off fever. He did NOT even bother to check my son at all, once he heard my response he said "ok well I will order a chest xray to see whats wrong". He order me to take my son's clothes off so the fever decreased, as I was doing so my son was asleep and the Doctor said "we are all tired...I'm tired too... but you know whats the difference?... that I get off in 25 minutes and you still get to stay here." That was so sarcastic and unprofessional of him to make that type of comment, when all I wanted to know is what was causing my son the fever and I had already been there for five long hours. The Doctor walked off and never returened, a nurse came in took my son's chest xray, at about 5:05am another nurse walks in and tells me that "the xrays came out clear you are free to go" and since I have no medical insurance for my son the nurse just said "you will recieve a bill for the services". That was it, my son was not checked to see how his temperature was before being released, but the staff sound very concerned to get paid for their "services". I left the hospital with my son still running a fever and my mother in-law who witnessed everything, we were very disappointed. I know for sure that I will NOT return to St. Elizabeth Emergency Room ever again and will NOT recommend it to anyone else. On Wednesday October 8, 2014 at 10:00 am I made an appointment with my son's pediatric to see what was wrong with him, his pediatrician did some test and it turned out that he had strep throat and that was causing his fever. If it was something so simple to just test and see what was wrong why coundn't St. Elizabeth ER took care of that? So I called St. Elizabeth customer/patient service to put a complaint on 10/08/14, to my surprise the staff informed me that there wasn't any one to take my call in that department to try agian later. So I called twice that same day without any success. On today Thursday October 9, 2014 I called three different times to speak to someone and put the complaints. The first time I was transferred to the wrong department and two out of the three attempts the staff hung the phone call on me. I belive that is unacceptable of a hospital to have this type of rude manners with the patients/customers. I would like to have some answers from all the unprofessional service concerns I have, I will be waiting.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a letter with answers to my concerns.

Business Response:

Mr. ****,

We are still in the investigation phase.  I will be responding to the patient’s mother via certified letter responding to her request and answering the questions posted in her report.

Thank you,

******** ********

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10259296, I will be waiting on the certified letter and evaluate if any further attention is required.

Sincerely,

***** *******

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I overpaid a bill to Christus. i immediately called on 7/28/14 and advised that I overpaid a bill online. I was told that a note was put in the system that I requested a refund and to call back in a couple of days to confirm it went through. I called back on 8/1/14 and was told that I would receive a refund in 14 business days, which I did not. On 9/2/14, I called back and was told that my refund would be mailed that day. I called back on 9/10/14 and was told my request was sitting on a "log" and that my request would be forwarded to a supervisor. It has been 1 1/2 months since I have called about my refund and still have not received it. Every time I call I get a different story about the status.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund of $67.90 returned immediately.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau called and verified the consumer has received the refund and this case is resolved.

Business Response: CHRISTUS Hospital St. Elizabeth has contacted the patient and the issues has been resolved.  The patient has received the refund.

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unprofessional representation of medical staff during ER room visit. Rude, errogant. 4/18/2014 I want to register a complaint against Mr. *** ***** of the emergency room staff of the Beaumont, Texas facilty. My son ******* ********* has cystic fibrosis and has had recent sinus surgery due to constant infections and headaches. He has begun experiencing strong headaches again, and was advised by the Houston team to go to the ER if they continue. Once my son was called into the room, he tried to explain to Mr. ***** that he had cystic fibrosis, and also had recent sinus surgery. He abruptly cut him short stating "what did that have to do with anything". My son tried to explain that he was almost blacking out due to the headaches, and that he felt the recent surgery might be the cause. Again Mr. ***** stated "what did that have to do with anything, and why are you here". Again, he tried to explain that he had cystic fibrosis, recent surgery and strong headaches. Mr. ***** kept asking why was he in there. At this point, my son asked if he could see someone else. At that time, Mr. ***** said " there's the door, goodbye". This is the most unprofessional treatment my son has had in his total ordeal with cystic fibrosis and its conditions that go with it. Mr. ***** was totally out of line, refusing to listen to what my son had to say. My son has recently gone back to Houston and seen the sinus surgeon. He does have some major infection in his cavities, causing pain and headaches, they were cleaned out and additional antibiodics given. So my son had to endure additional pain and suffering because St. Elizabeth failed to properly diagnose and treat my son. I want to know what St Elizabeth is going to do to resolve this issue. As a minimum, I do NOT expect to receive a billing for this service. I am contacting other state agencies and departments to see how I can elevate this type of behavior and that it will not be tolerated by my son or any other member of the public. Regards ***** *********

Desired Settlement: No billing for services not given. Reprimand to Mr. *** ****** Should be terminated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/07) */ We have entered the information provided into our system so the care can be reviewed and the behavior reported can be investigated. We will respond directly to the adult patient by a certified response letter within the next 30 days. Thank you.

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues