BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 212-5000 Fax: (409) 212-6071 View Additional Phone Numbers 3080 College St, Beaumont, TX 77701 http://www.bhset.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 10/01/1949 Business started locally: 10/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Health Services
110 West 49th Street, Austin TX 78756
https://vo.dshs.state.tx.us/datamart/selSearchTypeTXRAS.do?from=loginPage
Phone Number: (800) 228-1570
infoplcd@dshs.state.tx.us

Business Management
Mary Poole, Corporate Communication Christy Hardt, Development Officer Adrian Olvera, MD David Parmer, President/CEO Shari Pratt, Administrative Asstistant/PR/Marketing Alicia Satre, Mary's Asst April Seymour, Human Resource Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mary Poole, Corporate Communication
Business Category

Hospitals

Alternate Business Names
Baptist Beaumont Hospital Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas School of Radiologic Technology Baptist School of Radiology

Additional Locations

  • 3080 College St

    Beaumont, TX 77701 (409) 212-5000 (409) 212-5725 (409) 212-5002 (409) 212-7323

  • PO Box 1591

    Beaumont, TX 77704

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 212-5002(Phone)
  • (409) 212-5725(Phone)
  • (409) 212-5955(Phone)
  • (409) 212-7323(Phone)
  • (409) 654-5922(Phone)
  • (409) 654-6136(Phone)
  • (409) 654-6145(Phone)
  • (409) 833-0308(Phone)
  • (409) 833-1411(Phone)
  • (409) 835-3781(Phone)
  • (409) 839-5938(Phone)
  • (409) 212-5000 (Fax)
  • (409) 212-5854 (Fax)
  • (409) 212-5943 (Fax)
  • (409) 654-5008 (Fax)
  • (409) 654-5262 (Fax)
  • (409) 654-5900 (Fax)
  • (409) 654-6071 (Fax)
  • (409) 654-6108 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to respond to a requested account audit after multiple attempts. Failed to protect patient privacy resulting in a breach of patient privacy information. I am writing this complaint in regards to the billing department of Baptist Hospital Beaumont. On February 22, XXXX (XXXXXXX) and on June 7, XXXX (XXXXXXX) my wife had spinal injections performed at Baptist Beaumont. These procedures were the same type of injection and both were performed by Dr. ******. On June 17, 2013 I received a bill for the injection performed on June 7, 2013 and I noticed the bill was $3946 more than the procedure she had performed on February 22, 2013. After noticing this, I contacted the Business Services Department and spoke with ***** regarding this dramatic increase in price. ***** notified me she will mail an itemized statement for both procedures. Upon receiving and reviewing the itemized statements for both procedures I did not agree with the charges that were on these itemized statements. On July 25, 2013 I notified ***** and requested to have an audit on these accounts. ***** reported she will have the audit request form for both procedures in the mail by the end of the day. On August 1, 2013 I called ***** to verify the audit request forms had been mailed. ***** confirms they were mailed and can take up to 7-10 business days to arrive. On August 5, 2013 I received in the mail a letter for the procedure on June 17, 2013 and after opening and reviewing I noticed the top portion of this letter was a billing statement and payment request for the June 17th procedure. The lower portion of this statement stated that the audit process will begin once the attached audit request form is signed, dated, and returned to the Patient Account Representative. No audit form accompanied this letter. I again contacted the Business Services Department on August 5, 2013 and spoke with ****. I reported to **** of what I just received and that I have received none of the documents that I had requested on July 25, 2013. **** informed me that no audit form was ever mailed for the procedure on February 22, 2013. **** stated to me that she will re-send the appropriate documents requested for the procedures performed on February 22, 2013 and June 7, 2013. I received the audit request forms and itemized statements only 2 days after speaking with ****. After opening and reviewing the documents for the procedure performed on February 22, 2013 I noticed that directly attached to my demand bill was the demand bill for another individual exposing all of this individuals personal, financial, and medical health information. On August 8, 2013 both audit requests forms were signed, dated and mailed to the Patient acct. Representative as well as a letter regarding the above timeline and events. I left the other individuals demand bill attached just as it was when I received it. On September 18, 2013 I called the patient account representative to check on the status of the audit I requested. I was transferred to the audit nurse, ****. **** reported to me that she noticed a discrepancy in the type and amount of epidural trays used in the procedures and has been waiting on a return call from surgery to question this issue. I was told by **** that if I didn't hear back from her before the week was over to call her the following week. On September 26, 2013 I attempted to get in touch with **** but was unsuccessful. A voice message was left and I never received a return phone call. I am extremely dissatisfied with this experience and with Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas. The staff that I have been dealing with has been very unprofessional and careless. These issues not only affect me from fulfilling my financial responsibility but it also affects the privacy of the individual whose personal information was carelessly exposed. No individual should have their personal information breached due to another's mistake. This clearly violates HIPPA rules as well as the Joint Notice of Privacy Practices set forth by Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas. I am continuing to receive bills in the mail threatening to fwd my acct. to a bad debt agency.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is: -disciplinary action and further training against the individuals who did not follow hospital and/or HIPPA rules -disciplinary action and further training for the individuals who lacked the responsibility to investigate and respond to my request for an account audit -notify the other individual that his Demand Bill was sent to an unauthorized person and his privacy was breached. -account balance write-off

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/12) */ A letter was received from the consumer and responded to on 11/7/13 addressing their complaint. Based on the information provided by the consumer, the facility has conducted necessary audits and investigations. All remediations have been completed with a written follow up response to the consumer. Baptist Hospital sincerely thanks consumers who take the time to share concerns with us. It is through this feedback process that we are able to improve upon the care provided to all of our patients.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Set up payment arrangement- paid payments - was turned over to collection agency for full amount. Had emergency procedure on 4.23.13 bill was decided at $683.26 which included the $50.00 that I paid at the Hospital that day. I made weekly payments of $25.00 as promised. 7.12.13 I received a collection letter from CMRE Financial Services Inc. for $654.00 which did not take into account the $175.00 had been paid. I called the billing department and spoke with ****** ******* she said that she was the business office manager. I told her the problem as outlined above she said that the bill was not turned over to a collection agency that CMRE Financial Services was the payment center the Hospital uses. I explained to her that it clearly states that the account had been assigned to CMRE for collection Ms. ******* was very biligerant in telling me that I did not understand. That, and I quote "did not have an open mind". Ms. ******* also stated that I had not paid the 175.00 but she did have a record for a lower amount. She then insisted I give her proof of payment at which time I asked for her email which is : *************@bhset.net. I asked to speak with her supervisor as all I was trying to do was to have my account credited for the payments that I had made as of that date as well as have it removed from CMRE as a collection account due to the fact that I had paid as promised. Ms. ******* said "There is no one above me." I have since emailed Ms. ******* and the CEO of Baptist with no response from either party since July 12. I waited 30 days before notifying BBB. Since the initial Collection letter I have received another collection letter dated Aug. 14th. I would like to state that I did stop making payments effective July 12 until this matter has been cleared up.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ms. ******* to recognize that CMRE Financial is in fact a collection agency. I would think if she is in fact the business manager this would be a no-brainer. I would also appreciate if all the payments that I have made to date be credited as they should have been. I would further request that the account be pulled from CMRE and again resume making payments to finish paying the debt I owe.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/19) */ Contacted customer and let her know that the bill she is receiving is not for the hospital.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved