BBB Accredited Business since

Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 212-5000 Fax: (409) 212-6071 View Additional Phone Numbers 3080 College St, Beaumont, TX 77701 http://www.bhset.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 10/01/1949 Business started locally: 10/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Health Services
110 West 49th Street, Austin TX 78756
https://vo.dshs.state.tx.us/datamart/selSearchTypeTXRAS.do?from=loginPage
Phone Number: (800) 228-1570
infoplcd@dshs.state.tx.us

Business Management
Mary Poole, Corporate Communication Adrian Olvera, MD David Parmer, President/CEO Shari Pratt, Administrative Asstistant/PR/Marketing Alicia Satre, Mary's Asst April Seymour, Human Resource Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mary Poole, Corporate Communication
Business Category

Hospitals General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)

Alternate Business Names
Baptist Beaumont Hospital Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas School of Radiologic Technology Baptist School of Radiology

Additional Locations

  • 3080 College St

    Beaumont, TX 77701 (409) 212-5000 (409) 212-5725 (409) 212-5002 (409) 212-7323

  • PO Box 1591

    Beaumont, TX 77704

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well, the hospital offered me a discount relative to charges for a date of service (3/18/2014). The original charge was $5,608.00; I was given an adjustment credit of $4,374.24, which left a balance of $1,233.76. I was given a 50% discount on that amount; I paid the resulting balance in full and obtained a receipt which reflected a zero balance. Subsequent to that, Baptist Hospital rescinded the agreement, when its attorneys became aware that it had discounted my bill and that I would be recovering a small settlement from a third-party insurance carrier. Baptist Hospital has allowed their attorneys to manipulate them. Whom (their attorneys) I will be bringing action against under Texas Penal Code 32.49, and Texas Government Code 51.903(a), respectively, for filing fraudulent documents, and for failing to release a hospital lien which has become invalid in the wake of the account in question being paid in full. Technically, my association with Baptist with respect to my treatment there, was contractual in nature. Thus, any resulting payment arrangements would be binding. Also, on 11/19/2014, hospital security was called on me for showing up at the hospital's business office to discuss the $4,989.12, it claims is owing. I wasn't rude with anyone there and did not comport myself in a threatening manner that would warrant security being called. I am hopeful that the BBB will call the hospital to account for its actions.

Desired Settlement: Would like for the hospital to be held accountable for its actions. As I am concerned that the systematic, unscrupulous actions of its attorneys will lead them to further unlawful behavior.

Consumer Response: Ms. *********,

Thanks for your response to my complaint against Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas. Per your request for clarification, my response is as follows:

1. Attached as "Document 3" is a receipt reflecting a zero balance, which was acknowledged with a signature of ******* in the business office.

2. The only thing I have as for as a discount being given on the initial amount of $5,608.00, are "Document 1" which shows a $4,374.24 credit, and "Document 3" reflecting $618.88 which settled the account. I was given a 50% discount on the $1,233.76.

3. I wish for a threefold outcome:
 
a) Remove lien. There was a hospital lien filed with the County Clerk's Office on 4/8/2014, for the  3/18/2014 date of service. At which time, the lien was justly filed given that I was treated within 72 hours of the accident (Per Texas Property Code, Sec. 55.002). However, the account has since been paid in full, obviously.  The hospital's attorneys refuse to discharge the lien;

b) Remove "Dummy Release" or "Bogus Release." The attorneys for the hospital have filed a release which is not specific as to which lien it releases (See attached as "Questionable - Lien Release). In addition to the lien in question being on file, there are two prior liens for past dates of service. It is very suspect that the attorneys would file the release without clarity. This is in direct violation of Texas Penal Code, 32.49. I am concerned that maybe the hospital has written the accounts off for charity or has received some other benefit or tax credit and their attorneys are attempting to double dip. And have filed the "dummy release" so as to confuse anyone reviewing the recorded documents; and

c) Remove lien. I received a Notice of Lien dated 11/14/2014, from the hospital's attorneys (See attached as 'Letter from law firm regarding 4/1/2014 date of service"). The lien has no legal basis in that the visit stemmed from injuries sustained in the 3/18/2014, which said visit did not take place within 72 hours of the accident (Texas Property Code, Sec. 55.002). In an effort to get around the law, the attorneys indicate in the lien that the accident happened on or about 4/1/2014. I submit that they were well aware of the actual date of the accident. All in all, their actions amount to an illegal systematic attempt to get money out of unsuspecting consumers.

I have attached a range of receipts and/or invoices depicting some of the activity of the account. Notably, the discrepancies in the post-final-payment, balance. Since paying off the account, I have been verbally given a number of versions as to what the dollar amount of the balance was. This would come from the attorneys, a collection agency, and Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas.

I hope this information will suffice. Please let me know if more information is require.

Thanks,

******* *****

Business Response:

******* **** ***** presented to the Baptist Beaumont Hospital on March 18, 2014

 

The usual and customary charges for the medical care and treatment, nursing care, supplies and equipment provided to Mr. ***** by Baptist Beaumont Hospital on March 18, 2014 totaled $5,608.00. 

Hospital personnel spoke with Mr. ***** regarding payment for the treatment rendered to him.  Mr. ***** indicated that he was uninsured and had no third party, accident or group health insurance to pay for the services rendered to him by BHSET on March 18, 2014.

 

On April 8, 2014, BHSET filed a Notice of Hospital Lien in Jefferson County securing the hospital’s interest in being paid for the treatment provided to Mr. ***** out of the proceeds of any settlement or judgment paid by the individual who caused the accident in which he was injured on March 18, 2014. 

 

BHSET relied on Mr. *****’ representations and granted him a substantial discount offered to uninsured patients who do not have the financial means to pay for the medical services rendered to them.  Chief among the representations relied upon by BHSET was Mr. *****’ assertion that he did not have either health insurance or a third party claim against the individual who caused the accident in which he was injured on March 18, 2014.  On November 11, 2014, Mr. ***** paid $618.88 to BHSET for the treatment rendered to him at Baptist Beaumont Hospital on March 18, 2014.

 

Two days later, on November 13, 2014, BHSET received credible information indicating that Mr. ***** had misrepresented material facts and withheld information regarding the existence of a third party claim against the individual who caused the accident in which he was injured on March 18, 2014.  Specifically, BHSET learned that Mr. ***** had a pending claim with *********** Insurance related to the March 18, 2014 motor vehicle accident. Since Mr. ***** has a third party claim arising from his car accident on March 18, 2014, he does not qualify for BHSET’s uninsured discount program.  Today, the outstanding balance for accident-related hospital services, medical care and treatment, nursing care, supplies and equipment provided to ******* **** ***** on March 18, 2014 is $4,989.12.

 

On April 1, 2014, ******* **** ***** presented to the Baptist Beaumont Hospital emergency room seeking continued treatment of the injuries he sustained in the car accident on March 18, 2014.  As before, Mr. ***** was admitted to the hospital’s emergency department for the further diagnosis and treatment of his accident-related injuries.  The usual and customary charges for the accident-related hospital services, medical care and treatment, nursing care, supplies and equipment provided to Mr. ***** by Baptist Beaumont Hospital on March 18, 2014 totaled $989.00. 

 

The Texas Hospital Lien statute provides that, in order for the lien to attach, the patient “must be admitted to a hospital not later than 72 hours after the accident.”  The statute also provides that “the lien extends to both the admitting hospital and a hospital to which the individual is transferred for treatment of the same injury.”  It is our understanding that the only Texas court who has considered these provisions ruled that charges for subsequent admissions for treatment of accident-related injuries are also protected by the hospital lien so long as there was an initial admission within 72 hours of the accident.  Since Mr. ***** was admitted to Baptist Beaumont Hospital on March 18, 2014, within 72 hours of the car accident, the lien filed in Jefferson County on April 8, 2014 extends to include the charges for treatment provided to Mr. ***** on April 1, 2014.  The lien filed in Jefferson County on November 19, 2014 stating that the accident was on April 1, 2014 was filed by mistake and will be released.

 

The Release of Hospital Lien referenced in Mr. *****’ complaint relates to a lien filed in Jefferson County for an emergency room admission on October 30, 2013 following a motor vehicle accident on that date.  The Release was filed after the hospital wrote off the debt.

 

It is my understanding that Texas Penal Code § 32.49 and Texas Government Code § 51.903(a) pertain to fraudulent liens.  The hospital lien filed in Jefferson County by BHSET on April 8, 2014 is decidedly not a fraudulent lien.  The lien filed in Jefferson County on November 19, 2014 stating that the accident was on April 1, 2014 is also not a fraudulent lien; rather, it was filed by mistake.

 

Mr. *****, by virtue of his third party claim against ************* insured, has adequate financial resources to fulfill his financial obligations to BHSET for the accident-related hospital services, medical care and treatment, nursing care, supplies and equipment provided to Mr. ***** by Baptist Beaumont Hospital on March 18, 2014 and again on April 1, 2014.  It appears to BHSET that Mr. ***** is attempting to realize a financial windfall at the hospital’s expense by not providing factual information regarding his third party claim against ************* insured.  Mr. *****’ BBB complaint seems calculated to force BHSET to file a Release of Hospital Lien pertaining to the March 18, 2014 accident so that *********** will pay settlement funds to him alone, without fairly compensating the hospital for the emergency healthcare services provided to him.  BHSET only seeks reasonable reimbursement for medically necessary services rendered to Mr. *****.

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: 10316325

I am rejecting this response because:

 

******* *****

**** ******** STREET

********, TEXAS *****

(***) ***-****

 

 

December 6, 2014

 

 

 

Dear Ms. *********:

I am in receipt of BHSET’s response to my complaint, wherein it makes several claims in support of its stance.

First and foremost, BHSET alleges that I misrepresented facts and/or withheld information during my initial visit at its facility on March 18, 2014. What must be understood is that, at that point and time, there had not been a claim filed and I had no knowledge of whether the other driver had any insurance. Thus, my inability to provide information that wasn’t available to me does not constitute withholding  “…information regarding the existence of a third party claim…” as BHSET and its attorneys state. It was a bit early for a claim at that juncture.

Subsequent to that, I recall being contacted by someone from BHSET by phone inquiring about whether there was a third party carrier involved. By which time, a claim had in fact been filed; however, I advised the individual that I was driving and that the information wasn’t readily available.

BHSET further alleges that the discount it extended to me was based upon material misrepresentations that I made to it. More specifically, in its response, it states “Chief among the misrepresentations relied upon by BHSET was Mr. *****’ assertion that he did not have either health insurance or a third party claim…” This raises a crucial question: when did the alleged misrepresentation happen? Was it on March 18, 2014? Or was it at a later time? If so, on what date(s)? In order for BHSET to prove credible or correct in its claims of misrepresentation it needs to provide concrete evidence.

At this point, BHSET and/or its attorneys are claiming that, had it not been for the alleged misrepresentations, it would not have granted the discount. Well, that claim in and of itself is a misrepresentation. In that BHSET was well aware that the third party carrier -- *********** Insurance Company – existed in the matter prior to the final payment I made, which resulted in receipt reflecting a zero balance.  Here are the facts in that regard:

1)      On 11/10/2014, *********** Insurance adjuster, ***** *****, in an attempt to ascertain whether the $5,608.00 initial balance had been discounted, called the financial office of BHSET. He spoke with someone by the name of *******. A discussion was had regarding the account. (Obviously, the adjuster identified himself); and

 

2)       On 11/11/2014, while at the financial or business office of BHSET, preparing to make t payment, I was asked by ******* “Do you want to file this on your insurance or pay with cash?” This clearly establishes that BHSET had prior knowledge of the third party claim when it accepted the $618.88 (made in two payments -- $300.00 and 318.88 respectively) from me as a full and final payment. I had a witness there with me.

BHSET vicariously closed the deal through its employee, *******. The bottom-line here is that a legally binding agreement was entered into between myself and BHSET and was later rescinded by BHSET. This is the type of prohibited unconscionable action that is identified by consumer protection laws such as the DTPA and other such laws.   

BHSET and its attorneys also callously stated that I am “… attempting to realize a windfall at the hospital’s expense…” This is far from the truth. I have a great deal of respect for hospitals and understand that they must be paid for the services that they render; however, an agreement is an agreement. Besides, there is nothing uncommon about hospital bills being negotiated down, especially when there are multiple providers involved as in my case. Attorneys do it for their clients all the time. Moreover, hospitals anticipate that discounts will be sought.

I honestly believe that BHSET per se, is a good and morally conscious system, and is truly concerned for the greater good of the citizens of the community it serves. And I understand that it has to have a mechanism in place for securing its money for services rendered. However, its attorneys are without question abusing the Texas Property Code. As demonstrated in the lien filed on 11/19/2014, which BHSET, (presumably) on the advice of its counsel, claims was a mistake. When you consider the fact that information about the account which was privy to the person who drew up the lien at the point it was actually composed, and the effort involved, how could a mistake escape his/her detection?

As a further indication that the lien filed on 11/19/2014 was not a mistake; I received a phone call from ***** ******* (attorney with the Lien Recovery Unit) on 11/17/2014 regarding the same (I have phone records showing an incoming call from his office to my phone). During which he attempted to use the lien in question as leverage. He indicated he would release the lien for the 3/18/2014 date of service if I paid the balance in connection with the 11/19/2014 lien. This clearly underscores the element of deception.

In sum, obviously, on the advice of its attorneys, BHSET avers that the lien in connection with the 3/18/2014 date of service isn’t fraudulent. To the contrary, the lien is indeed fraudulent in that there isn’t a debt involved.  According to Parnell v. Adventist Health System West 35 Cal.4th 595 (2005), a lien cannot be valid without an underlying debt. The Court decidedly concluded: "Because Parnell no longer owes a debt to the hospital for its services, we conclude that the hospital may not assert a lien under the HLA against Parnell’s recovery from the third party tortfeasor."

Although the above-cited case is from another jurisdiction, it is nonetheless relevant in this case:

                Business and Commerce Code, 17.46 (c) (2),

                     In construing this subchapter the court shall not be prohibited from considering relevant and pertinent decisions of courts in other jurisdictions.

 

The fact that the status of the account associated with the lien has changed since the lien was filed, as evidenced by a receipt depicting a zero balance, the lien is thus invalid. And given that the individual with the authority to discharge the same has knowledge of the change in status and refuses to release the lien, he/she is guilty of unconscionable action as defined by Sec. 17.45 (5), Business and Commerce Code.

As a further effort to expose the acts complained of in this complaint, on 12/05/14, at my request, the County Clerk’s office has agreed to forward the issues set out in this complaint, along with supporting documents to the District Attorney’s Office. As prescribed by Texas Government Code 59.901.

                                                                                                                                                Yours truly,

                                                                                                                                                ******* *****

/ol

 

11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to respond to a requested account audit after multiple attempts. Failed to protect patient privacy resulting in a breach of patient privacy information. I am writing this complaint in regards to the billing department of Baptist Hospital Beaumont. On February 22, XXXX (XXXXXXX) and on June 7, XXXX (XXXXXXX) my wife had spinal injections performed at Baptist Beaumont. These procedures were the same type of injection and both were performed by Dr. ******. On June 17, 2013 I received a bill for the injection performed on June 7, 2013 and I noticed the bill was $3946 more than the procedure she had performed on February 22, 2013. After noticing this, I contacted the Business Services Department and spoke with ***** regarding this dramatic increase in price. ***** notified me she will mail an itemized statement for both procedures. Upon receiving and reviewing the itemized statements for both procedures I did not agree with the charges that were on these itemized statements. On July 25, 2013 I notified ***** and requested to have an audit on these accounts. ***** reported she will have the audit request form for both procedures in the mail by the end of the day. On August 1, 2013 I called ***** to verify the audit request forms had been mailed. ***** confirms they were mailed and can take up to 7-10 business days to arrive. On August 5, 2013 I received in the mail a letter for the procedure on June 17, 2013 and after opening and reviewing I noticed the top portion of this letter was a billing statement and payment request for the June 17th procedure. The lower portion of this statement stated that the audit process will begin once the attached audit request form is signed, dated, and returned to the Patient Account Representative. No audit form accompanied this letter. I again contacted the Business Services Department on August 5, 2013 and spoke with ****. I reported to **** of what I just received and that I have received none of the documents that I had requested on July 25, 2013. **** informed me that no audit form was ever mailed for the procedure on February 22, 2013. **** stated to me that she will re-send the appropriate documents requested for the procedures performed on February 22, 2013 and June 7, 2013. I received the audit request forms and itemized statements only 2 days after speaking with ****. After opening and reviewing the documents for the procedure performed on February 22, 2013 I noticed that directly attached to my demand bill was the demand bill for another individual exposing all of this individuals personal, financial, and medical health information. On August 8, 2013 both audit requests forms were signed, dated and mailed to the Patient acct. Representative as well as a letter regarding the above timeline and events. I left the other individuals demand bill attached just as it was when I received it. On September 18, 2013 I called the patient account representative to check on the status of the audit I requested. I was transferred to the audit nurse, ****. **** reported to me that she noticed a discrepancy in the type and amount of epidural trays used in the procedures and has been waiting on a return call from surgery to question this issue. I was told by **** that if I didn't hear back from her before the week was over to call her the following week. On September 26, 2013 I attempted to get in touch with **** but was unsuccessful. A voice message was left and I never received a return phone call. I am extremely dissatisfied with this experience and with Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas. The staff that I have been dealing with has been very unprofessional and careless. These issues not only affect me from fulfilling my financial responsibility but it also affects the privacy of the individual whose personal information was carelessly exposed. No individual should have their personal information breached due to another's mistake. This clearly violates HIPPA rules as well as the Joint Notice of Privacy Practices set forth by Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas. I am continuing to receive bills in the mail threatening to fwd my acct. to a bad debt agency.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is: -disciplinary action and further training against the individuals who did not follow hospital and/or HIPPA rules -disciplinary action and further training for the individuals who lacked the responsibility to investigate and respond to my request for an account audit -notify the other individual that his Demand Bill was sent to an unauthorized person and his privacy was breached. -account balance write-off

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/12) */ A letter was received from the consumer and responded to on 11/7/13 addressing their complaint. Based on the information provided by the consumer, the facility has conducted necessary audits and investigations. All remediations have been completed with a written follow up response to the consumer. Baptist Hospital sincerely thanks consumers who take the time to share concerns with us. It is through this feedback process that we are able to improve upon the care provided to all of our patients.

8/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Set up payment arrangement- paid payments - was turned over to collection agency for full amount. Had emergency procedure on 4.23.13 bill was decided at $683.26 which included the $50.00 that I paid at the Hospital that day. I made weekly payments of $25.00 as promised. 7.12.13 I received a collection letter from CMRE Financial Services Inc. for $654.00 which did not take into account the $175.00 had been paid. I called the billing department and spoke with ****** ******* she said that she was the business office manager. I told her the problem as outlined above she said that the bill was not turned over to a collection agency that CMRE Financial Services was the payment center the Hospital uses. I explained to her that it clearly states that the account had been assigned to CMRE for collection Ms. ******* was very biligerant in telling me that I did not understand. That, and I quote "did not have an open mind". Ms. ******* also stated that I had not paid the 175.00 but she did have a record for a lower amount. She then insisted I give her proof of payment at which time I asked for her email which is : *************@bhset.net. I asked to speak with her supervisor as all I was trying to do was to have my account credited for the payments that I had made as of that date as well as have it removed from CMRE as a collection account due to the fact that I had paid as promised. Ms. ******* said "There is no one above me." I have since emailed Ms. ******* and the CEO of Baptist with no response from either party since July 12. I waited 30 days before notifying BBB. Since the initial Collection letter I have received another collection letter dated Aug. 14th. I would like to state that I did stop making payments effective July 12 until this matter has been cleared up.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ms. ******* to recognize that CMRE Financial is in fact a collection agency. I would think if she is in fact the business manager this would be a no-brainer. I would also appreciate if all the payments that I have made to date be credited as they should have been. I would further request that the account be pulled from CMRE and again resume making payments to finish paying the debt I owe.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/19) */ Contacted customer and let her know that the bill she is receiving is not for the hospital.