BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G. & D. Construction and Builders LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for G. & D. Construction and Builders LLC include:

  • Government action(s) against the business

Factors that raised the rating for G. & D. Construction and Builders LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ruben Dorantes, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ruben Dorantes, General Manager
Business Category

Home Builders Roofing Contractors Remodeling Services Contractor - Commercial Contractors - General New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
G. & D. Construction and Roofing G. & D. Roofing and Construction
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Contractors BBB Tips on Foundation Repair

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 399

    Orange, TX 77631

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 779-1342(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner of G&D Construction not honoring roof repair contract, I employed to complete patio stated 3 or 4 days paid 1/2 down on 6/12/14 not completed In 2009, ******, Owner of G&D Construction was asked to replace a roof. By contract I have a 10 year factory warranty on labor and 30 year factory warranty on materials. I reported a leak to him a week ago, today is 6.26.14 he came out looked at it and told me if I have any more problems he would go into attic, I had to call him back 6.24.14 he gave me a time he would return never showed up. Also, he started a patio for me around 6.15.14, I gave him 1/2 down on 6.12.14 and this project was suppose to be completed by 6.19.14 (3-4 days) I made several appointments with him he would say he was coming and he never showed up. I am recently widowed and my patio is not completed he has my money and my roof has a leak which is covered by contract. Recently, he came back and ask me for 800 dollars more. **Second complaint received 7/7/14, BBB is attaching it to the original complaint. Mr. ****** ******** from G&D Construction refused to complete work in a timely manner, refused to give my money back (phone call made 7.7.14),etc. Date: 7.7.14 ***** ******* *** ******** Avenue ******, Texas ***** Phone: (***) ***-**** Police Report: My name is ***** *******, I am recently widowed, I called G & D Construction owner, ****** ******** to come out in June around the 12th to check my roof because it was leaking inside of my house. On 2.27.10, ******'s company put a roof on my house and my roofing proposal/contract indicated that I had 30 year shingles that I had a 10 year factory warranty on labor and 30 year factory warranty on materials. Mr. ****** came out around the 12th and walked my roof and at the time had a can of some sort of substance telling me he was patching the leak and if I had any more problems call him and he would go up in the attic and fix it. I did sign another bid proposal for a patio to be built at the time and gave him a $1600.00 check (check #****) to complete a patio within 3-4 days starting on or around 17th of June. After the next rain, I continued to have problems with the leaky roof and spoke with ****** when it was raining and asked him to fix it. Mr. ****** told me he would come and check the attack and never showed up. Then Mr. ****** told me when the sun was shining it needed to be raining when he checked for the leak, he never showed up. ****** continued to send his laborer sporadically throughout the next few weeks to work a little hear and a little there. On June 26, I turned him into the Better Business Bureau along with a report of what had transpired during the time that I had hired him. I continually had to stay on him. Mr. ****** promised me a Gabriel roof, 3 double windows, a fan, shingles on the roof, a 3 year promise to make sure nothing went wrong with any of his work, along with other miscellaneous items when we started with our verbal agreement. I ended up getting a flat roof, 2 double windows, one-single window, and the work not completed. On June 30, 2014, I retrieved a letter from Mr.****** stating he got the windows and would finish the job. He also stated his worker would show up at 1:00 p.m. and the worker did not show. On July 1, 2014 a cease and desist letter was taped to my fence asking him to cease and desist from all work. Mr. ******'s workers (2) did show on this day read the letter and proceeded to come and look over the work on the patio they had previously finished. The City of Orange Inspector was contacted and was suppose contact Mr. ****** on around the 2nd of July to try and come out to my house which did not happen. No permit was issued for this work.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the completion of the job without leaks on the patio roof. I am seeking him to fix my roof that I have a contract on. I am seeking him to honor his contracts and if he can't I am seeking monetary damages to complete my patio and fix my roof. I would like job to be completed as agreed upon or my money returned. He has not provided the work and materials I paid for.

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues