BBB Accredited Business since

The Gourmet Cupboard

Phone: (409) 287-4447 18003 Highway 105, Sour Lake, TX 77659 http://www.TheGourmetCupboard.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Gourmet Cupboard meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Gourmet Cupboard include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Gourmet Cupboard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 2005 Business started: 07/01/2002 Business started locally: 07/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Melissa Holmes, Owner Judy Baker
Contact Information
Principal: Melissa Holmes, Owner
Business Category

Food Products

Alternate Business Names
Gourmet to Go

Additional Locations

  • 18003 Highway 105

    Sour Lake, TX 77659 (409) 287-4447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sometime in early November I made a purchase in the amount of 26.48. As of 12/7 I had not received any goods. I spoke with the owner ******** who said the shipment came back. I advised her of the address I used on my order and she said she had a different address. What they did was pulled an address from my PAYPAL account and NOT the address I used on my order form. Since there is no mailbox, nor do I live there the package was returned. Today she advised she was refunding my money, but did NOT refund the shipping charges I paid. This is not acceptable. The error is on the part of Gourmet Cupboard. THEY used the paypal address on the order and not the correct address. I was only refunded an amount of 16.69 instead of the full amount of 26.48. I do not feel that it is MY responsibility since I did NOT provide the address they used. THEY pulled it directly from Paypal and that is THEIR ordering system error NOT mine. Not to mention that no one CONTACT ME regarding the returned package, it was almost 4 weeks later when I began to inquire where my purchase was. She refused to accept responsibility and eventually hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the additional 9.79 for shipping charges that were taken for good that were never received.

Consumer Response: This refund should be returned the way it was paid, via PayPal at **********************

Business Response:

******** ***** ordered from our company on Nov. 19th, we shipped out the order on Nov.23rd using the only address that was on her order through Paypal.  We drop ship orders on a daily basis that are being shipped to someone else besides the person who is ordering the products.  You can see below that ******** has even confirmed her address.   She states that there is not a place on our order form for alternate shipping addresses, and there certainly always has been.

Hello The Gourmet Cupboard, You received a payment of $26.48 USD from ******** *****(**********************)

 

Seller Protection -Eligible

 

Buyer ******** ***** **********************

Instructions to merchant The buyer hasn't entered any instructions.

Shipping address -confirmed

******** ****** **** ***** **** ** ********************** United States

Shipping details Ground

Description

Unit price

Qty

Amount

Dill Dip Mix Item# Online Party Order - ****** ******* - ******** ****

$3.75 USD

1

$3.75 USD

Baked Potato Soup Mix Item# Online Party Order - ****** ******* - ******** ****

$4.75 USD

1

$4.75 USD

Beef Stroganoff Mix Item# Online Party Order - ****** ******* - ******** ****

$5.00 USD

1

$5.00 USD

Sweet Corn Chowder Mix Item# Online Party Order - ****** ******* - ******** ****

$4.00 USD

1

$4.00 USD

Subtotal

$17.50 USD

Shipping and handling

$8.98 USD

Total

$26.48 USD

Payment

$26.48 USD

Payment sent toorders@thegourmetcupboard.com

 

 

 

The package was returned to us on the evening of Dec. 7th, and we contacted her on the 8th for shipping payment to resend her order to her. We spoke to her on the 9th, and she stated that we did not ship it to her new address, but there was NO other address entered on her order besides the one on her order.  We agreed to refund the money for her products, but not the shipping. We immediately refunded the 17.50 for products, but not the 8.98 shipping, since she had confirmed the shipping address where the products were to be shipped. Anytime that it is our company’s fault, we ALWAYS honor our mistake and reship for free, plus send something free to the customer.

After further conversations with the customer, we later refunded her shipping costs on December, 17th.  To date, all costs attributed to Mrs. *****’s order have been refunded despite the fact that while speaking to her about this issue, she repeatedly yelled at us and used extremely foul language through the phone and threatened to bad mouth our company on direct sales sites.

 

 

The Gourmet Cupboard

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10988386, and disagree with the statement. While yes they refunded the money it wasn't from additional contact, as I did not speak with anyone after my initial contact,  it was from opening the BBB complaint. I never confirmed the ***** **** road address it is a confirmed address in PayPal. There is a huge difference. This could potentially cause more problems with their orders in the future  Additionally they never took responsibilty for the error. While the issue is resolved it took 3 party involvement to do so and I fully intend to speak truthfully about the horrible customer service,lack of taking responsibility and involvement of the BBB to fully resolve the issue. 

 

Thank you for your help in resolving this situation. I feel without the involvement of the BBB this issue would not have been resolved. 


Sincerely,

******** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Gourmet Cupboard
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)