BBB Accredited Business since

Balboa Company

Phone: (409) 838-1636 Fax: (409) 866-2266 View Additional Phone Numbers 7270 Highway 105, Beaumont, TX 77713 http://www.balboacompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Balboa Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Balboa Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Balboa Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1971 Business started: 05/01/1968 Business started locally: 05/01/1968
Business Management
Nick O'Neill, Owner Mary O'Neill Roxanne O'Neill
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mary O'Neill
Principal: Nick O'Neill, Owner
Business Category

Fireplaces Furniture - Outdoor Advertising Specialties


Additional Locations

  • 7270 Highway 105

    Beaumont, TX 77713 (409) 838-1636

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a faulty fireplace system for a propane fireplace. It never worked right. My contractor went to him for a replacement system and he advised using a natural gas replacement system. I understand it is illegal for him to sell a nat gas system that he knows is going into propane unit. **** the manager is a liar and a crook.

Desired Settlement: Replace system so that it operates as it should or refund.

Business Response:

On 10/14 we installed two gas log assemblies in Mr. **** houses, one natural gas system at his home on *** road, and one LP burner system at some other home he has not far from his *** residence.

The LP system we sold and installed for him in the second home has a push button ignition safety pilot system on it required for LP gas log sets. He choose to only let us install the burner and he used an older log set to go on it which was fine and would not be an issue.

At the time he did not really care for the new system and I explained that since it was LP that it was required, even though we were replacing one he already had that did not have this safety pilot on it. About the 13th of this month I received a call from a man (I assume it’s the contractor he mentioned, I did not get the name) he identified himself as Mr. **** when he called and told me he was having trouble lighting the pilot. I offered to service the unit but he insisted on going back with the system he had before, even though he knew it was unsafe. So we discussed what items he would need to put it back the way it was before and that was what he wanted to do, and at that time I told him it was not safe, but he insisted.

The items came in and when he came to pick them up on a Thursday I think, he told me he was not Mr. **** but that Mr. **** was a good friend and he was taking care of it for him. He paid cash and was on his way. This contractor must have took out the system we had put in and installed what he picked up. That Monday when I came in my service technician told me Mr. **** was on the phone and was not happy, so I took it over for him. I offered again to service the unit for him, but the only way I could do that was if it was installed into the fireplace. We do not have a way to service inside of the showroom. Mr. **** wanted us to take out what the contractor had installed and re-install the system we had originally installed for him, and do it all for no charge. I offered at that point to let him bring it to me and we would figure out a way to work on it in the showroom. Well needless to say, that was not what he wanted.  

The same day (Monday) that Mr. **** called, the contractor called to ask me about part of the installation he was doing, I let him know that Mr. **** had called me that morning and that he was not happy with any of the work he had done to Mr. **** gas logs.  I asked the contractor if he had talked to Mr. **** and he told me he had spoken to him over the weekend, he had no idea about Mr. **** calling.  Then we received the letter from the BBB.  

Since the system was uninstalled/serviced by someone other than us it would be a big risk/liability on our part to even try to work on it for fear that it may have incurred other issues or broken parts when removed.  All of our warranty and products warranty are now voided, it’s basically out of our hands at this point.

 

Balboa Company

**** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Balboa Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)