BBB Accredited Business since

Boren Construction

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 735-5091 Fax: (409) 735-3493 View Additional Phone Numbers 235 Roberts Ave, Bridge City, TX 77611


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boren Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Boren Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boren Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/01/1993 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Suzanne Boren, Owner Barry Boren
Contact Information
Principal: Suzanne Boren, Owner
Business Category

Drywall Contractors Home Builders Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Remodeling Services Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall and Insulation Contractors (NAICS: 238310)

Alternate Business Names
Allen Michaels Construction, Inc.
Products & Services

This company installs drywall, metal framing, stucco/efits, acoustical ceiling systems, and fiberglass reinforced panels.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Contractors BBB Tips on Foundation Repair

Additional Locations

  • 235 Roberts Ave

    Bridge City, TX 77611 (409) 735-5091

  • PO Box 1212

    Bridge City, TX 77611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I recently contacted Boren Construction about 60/40 dirt to build the foundation for our new home. When we spoke to him he relayed to us that his rate was $90 per load. Since that is much cheaper than the going rate we were thrilled and asked when the company could begin delivery.. we were told the next day. At the time of said conversation we only requested 50 loads,however; due to unforseen complications we ended up needing a TOTAL of 78 loads. At which point we relayed this info to Borens delivery subcontractor, *****'s Truck. The subcontractor continued to delivery until he said we had reached our desired load request. Keep in mind that we were never asked to sign anything with either Boren or his associate (not even delivery slips). When we went to the office to make our payment we were told our total was $9090.00. (For 101 loads) but we only requested 78 and the subcontractor turned in to Borens that he delivered 101 loads. So when we questioned the bill, the company said that they were going to watch a video of their site and see how many loads ***** ******** left his site with. After it was all said and done the owner called us back in and sat us down and informed us that after watching the video the amount of our bill had actually gone up even more... since ***** ******** used 16 yard trucks instead of 12 yard truck the price was now at $120 a load and that the video clearly showed him leaving the site with 101 loads that he "said" were delivered to our property for a grand total of $12240.00. We were never informed of a price increase due to truck size and our contractor only counted 78 loads delivered to our site.. however was not asked to sign any delivery slips until all was said and done and we were disputing the load count. The subcontractor from Boren called our contractor after hours pleading with him to meet him anywhere to have the slips signed.. our contractor denied his request since he did not know if in fact the slips that were needing to be signed were the ones for the actual loads that were delivered to our property. So in the end to avoid any type of lien being put against our land or home we decided to just pay the bill. We had only budgeted for 78 loads at $90 per load... yet instead had to pay for 101 loads at $120 per load.. and again I stress we were NEVER informed of a price increase.

Desired Settlement: We would like justification in the above matter. What this company did to us was fraud.. I can not say whether or not 101 loads were in fact delivered to our property or not, but in the same breathe neither can Boren Construction.. he has no signed delivery tickets from us or our Contractor. And furthermore, we should have been notified that we were receiving 16 yr. Trucks and that the price that was quoted to us would no longer be $90 per load but in fact $120 per load. There is no telling how many countless other individuals they have committed fraud against.

Consumer Response:

I would like to be notified when Boren Cobstruction responds to your request for response? 

Business Response:

MR ******** CONTACTED ME INITIALLY AND ASKED FOR A PRICE FOR A 12 YD LOAD OF 60/40

I TOLD HIM THAT A 12 YD LOAD WOULD BE 90.00 EACH AT 7.50 PER YD.

I ALSO TOLD HIM THAT THE TRUCKS THAT HAUL FOR US VARY IN SIZE BUT THE YARD PRICE WILL BE 7.50 PER YD

FOR COMPARISON PURPOSES TO HIS OTHER BIDS WE USED A 12YD TRUCK X 7.5 PER YARD

IF WE HAD USED 12YD TRUCKS IT WOULD HAVE TAKEN 135 LOADS AT 90 EACH VERSUS 101 LOADS AT 120 EACH

ITS STILL ALL 7.5 PER YD

I WILL NOT EVEN RESPOND TO THE ALLEGATIONS OF FRAUD
BUT WILL WARN OF THE LEGAL RAMIFICATIONS OF SUCH STATEMENTS

WE TAKE PRIDE IN OUR WORK AND WORK ETHIC   

EVEN THE BUILDER TOLD MY OFFICE THAT THERE WAS NO DISCREPANCIES TO THE LOADS FROM HIM, AND THAT THEY ARE GOING TO NEED MORE BEFORE ITS ALL OVER

REGRETTABLY THEY THOUGHT THAT THEY WERE ONLY GOING TO NEED X AMOUNT OF LOADS BASED UPON THE FIRST GUESS BY THE CONTRACTOR  AND IT TOOK A SUBSTANTIAL AMOUNT MORE

WE WERE HIRED TO DELIVER BASED UPON 7.5 PER YD AND TOLD TO STOP BRINGING LOADS WHEN THE DIRT CONTRACTOR THEY HIRED FELT THAT HE HAD ENOUGH.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Boren Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)