BBB Accredited Business since

Anthony S. Sala, DDS

Phone: (409) 833-2158 Fax: (409) 833-9984 3480 Fannin St Ste A, Beaumont, TX 77701


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anthony S. Sala, DDS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anthony S. Sala, DDS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Anthony S. Sala, DDS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1987 Business started: 10/03/1966 Business started locally: 10/03/1966
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners

Phone Number: (512) 463-6400

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Anthony Sala, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Anthony Sala, Owner
Business Category

Dentists Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)


Additional Locations

  • 3480 Fannin St Ste A

    Beaumont, TX 77701 (409) 833-2158

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into my appointment for a regular, routine checkup. Under my dental insurance, this is: D1110 Prophylaxis—adult, routine (once every 6 months). This was a no charge to me service covered by my insurance carrier. I was charged by Dr. Sala for: D4341 Periodontal scaling and root planing, requiring that I pay $84.00. The procedure he used to administer the scaling and root planning service was no different from a routine Prophylaxis. He removed tarter and cleaned my teeth. The procedure lasted ten minutes and did not involve an anesthetic that is typical for scaling and root planning, nor any specialized equipment.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the return of the $84 I paid and ask that Dr. Sala charge his services under code D1110 to my insurance carrier.

Business Response: In response to this complaint, I would like to say first that I was surprised.  I have been the original and only dentist in BBB for 50 years and have never had a complaint.  That being said, let me address the complaint.

When Mr ********* filled out his registration form, he listed that he had insurance with Humana-comp benefits.  I politely informed him that he did not have insurance but rather he had a "discount" policy.  Humana pays no part of any fee.  I have a schedule of the discounted code fees to charge him on what I do for him.  His group is C-250-TX-Z.  He appeared to understand this and I said that what I was going to do that day would cost a total of $84.  I asked if it was all right to proceed, he said yes it was.  My examination had revealed that Mr ********* had quite heavy deposits of tarter and I asked him why, he said he had been in the middle of a move, and had been unable to conform to his routine schedule of dental visits.  This made good sense to me, as he had very good teeth and only the heavy deposits of tarter.  I commented to him as I began to work in his mouth, that if he didn't want to get in this condition again that ***** (my assistant) could give him a six month recall, he agreed to this and made the recall appt. as he left the office.

Mr ********* stated that I worked on him ten minutes.  I respectfully say that this is a misstatement.  I worked on Mr ********* no less than 30 minutes.  Usually I try to talk to my patient as I am working, this seems to relax them better and they don't feel minor discomfort.  I can then, and did on Mr *********, scale quite deeply using a specially constructed scaler.  On some occasions I have had to use both anesthetic shots and/or anesthetic gels.  I did not need these on *********.  My experience of over 50 years and the use of the specially designed and quite expensive scaler; I knew would allow me to complete his scaling without much if any discomfort.  My assumption was correct, and when finished, I asked Mr ********* did his mouth feel better.  He commented that it did.  After Mr ********* was dismissed, I went back to recheck the discounted fee schedule and found that I undercharged him.  The fee was supposed to have been $125 instead of $84.  I told ***** not to worry about it, that his mouth was healthier now; and I was happy about this.

Sincerely,
A. S. Sala DDS

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10175653

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not have a "discount" policy, I have an insurance policy.  I was not made aware that Dr. Sala was rejecting my policy until I called hours after the appointment to inquire about my insurance.  I was then told by the assistant that they consider my insurance policy a "discount" policy.  When I spoke to my insurance company, they called on my behalf, indicating their readiness to pay for the services under D1110 on the covered schedule.  Humana does not consider my policy to be a "discount" policy. Humana still stands ready to cover for this preventative care.  This complaint can be resolved by returning my $84 and filing a claim with Humana under my insurance policy.  

Sincerely,

**** *********

Business Response: I feel that I have already addressed all of Mr *********'s complaints in my first letter dated /15/14.  I truly feel that Mr ********* is confused about what he has, and needs to speak with his company (Humana).