BBB Accredited Business since

Neches Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 722-1174 Fax: (409) 721-9838 View Additional Phone Numbers 776 Magnolia Ave, Port Neches, TX 77651 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.nechesfcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Neches Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Neches Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Neches Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1941 Business started locally: 01/01/1941
Business Management
Jason Landry, President/CEO Kristen Butler, Assistant Vice President of Consumer Lending Kelly Chatelain, Nall Branch Manager Vickie Conkle, VP of Operations Jason Duplant, VP of Marketing Dawn Fournier, Assistant Vice President of Business Development Alta Frazier, Assistant VP of Research and Product Development Scarlett Garsea, VP of Human Resources/Training Kelly Hellweg, Dowlen Branch Manager Destiny Malbrough, HR Assistant Melody Patterson, Training Specialist Nancy Pattie, EVP/Branch Manager Jill Sandberg, Assistant Vice President of Accounting Keisha Smith, HR/Admin. Asst. Lisa Smith, HR Assistant Kristen Stewart, Asst Branch Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Vickie Conkle, VP of Operations
Principal: Jason Landry, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Services Banks Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Neches Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1254 Pearl St

    Beaumont, TX 77701 (409) 749-6329 (409) 832-4936

  • 1955 Dowlen Rd

    Beaumont, TX 77706 (409) 860-0800

  • 2239 Nall St

    Port Neches, TX 77651 (409) 727-1639

  • 2623 Nederland Ave

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 729-2831

  • 299 Country Lane Dr

    Lumberton, TX 77657 (409) 299-5277

  • 7080 Calder Ave

    Beaumont, TX 77706

  • 776 Magnolia Ave

    Port Neches, TX 77651 (409) 749-6338 (409) 749-6352 (409) 749-6304 (409) 749-6537 (409) 722-1174

  • Nederland High School

    Nederland, TX 77627

  • PO Box 1118

    Port Neches, TX 77651

  • Port Neches-Groves High School

    Port Neches, TX 77651

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of Neches Federal Credit Union for about 5 years now, my husband has been a member over 15 years, all 3 of my children have saving accounts at Neches, every member of my husbands family is a Neches member.....needless to say we have been loyal members! I haven't had any real problems while banking at Neches FCU until recently. On 10/23/2014 me and my husband went into a Verizon Wireless store to look for a phone for my daughter for Christmas and while we were there my husband went ahead and paid our bill, which was $343.45. While we were waiting for the receipt, my husband told the Verizon customer rep to please remove the automated payment off my account, he handed us the receipt and said "I have that all taken care of for you, is there anything else I can help you with today?" My husband made sure he asked him again "ok so you took the automated payment off my account?" Verizon rep said "yes sir!" We said thank you and left. Well on 10/31/2014 I noticed that another $343.45 (duplicate payment) was taken back out of my account by verizon, apparently they took it out on 10/24/2014 but it was holding for a few days, that's why I didn't see it until the 31st, I thought they might have been other bills that that money was for was coming through, but it finally showed up Friday the 31st. I immediately called verizon and explain to them what is going on and was told "no problem we will issue a refund it will take up to 24 - 48 hours". I wasn't upset because I understand accidents happen and as long as my money is put back in my account and my other bills get paid without going into the negative, all would be ok. Well it was Friday the 31st when all that happened, so I waited until the following Monday 11-3-14 to check my account and the money wasn't put back yet. So now I'm starting to worry because that money was to pay other bills and they are going through, so I call verizon back and talked to a different verizon rep and the lady said that the verizon rep I spoke to on Friday the 31st didn't issue a refund but she is doing it now, I was upset because first I was lied to by the verizon rep I spoke to on Friday and second, now we have to wait another 24-48 hours. So both me and my husband called Neches FCU to explain in great detail what was going on, and is there any way to hold off on charging us the over draft fees until that money is put back into our account? They were very understanding and sympathized with us and said "they will do any and everything they can for us since we were clearly not at fault!" They will see what they can do. But just to be sure my husband got off work early and went into the Neches FCU Nall branch and spoke with a member service rep. My husband again explained in great detail what was going on, the member service rep stated "that shouldn't be a problem but let me go speak to my manager." So he went and talk to his boss and she stated that "when the money got put back into our account, they would reverse the overdraft fees." When they told us that we had a better piece of mind everything would be ok. So by Wednesday 11/5/14 I check my account and the money is still not in there. So I call verizon again and speak to 2 verizon rep and 1 verizon supervisor, and they stated I was miss informed, that is takes up to 24-48 hours for them to get a response back about the refund, not the actual refund, but that the whole refund was approved and it could take up 5-15 business days to get back to our account. I was very upset at this point, me and my husband work hard for our money, we have 3 children all still in school and live paycheck to paycheck. I don't have an excess amount of money in my account to pay for all the over draft fees that they have caused us over a $343 bill that I've already paid. I explained that to verizon as well. So again both me and my husband call Neches FCU back and updated them on what verizon told us. They said once the money is back in our account we can go over all the over draft fees. So that Friday 11-7-14 rolls around, and I check my checking account and still no refund. I check my verizon account online and noticed that it said "Thank you for your $223.98 payment!" I was panicking thinking they done took out more money out of my account, so I called Neches FCU and they said "No, no money has been returned or taken out by verizon wireless." So I call verizon and they reassure me again that autopay is off my account but can't explain where that $223.98 payment came from but reassured me that the whole refund of $343 has been processed and it should be in my account no later than Monday. I called Neches FCU again just to update them and tell them what verizon told me. So now Monday 11-10-14 comes around and I check my account at 8:00 in the morning and still no money, I immediately call Verizon and they told me to wait until my bank open at nine and then check it. So I did exactly that, and at 9:00 am, there was a credit to my account.......of only $119.47 from verizon. So by now I'm so upset, I call verizon and ask them why was I lied to and only $119.47 of my money returned to me? That's where that $223.98 comes in at, they decided to apply $223.98 towards my bill and refund the remaining amount. How is it their decision on how much of my money I get returned back to me? I called verizon several times that day talking to different reps and supervisors about it and all they "could do" for me was credit $30 to my account for the over draft fees that they have caused me and take $2 off my account for the next 12 months, but that's it. All day Monday and Tuesday I was on the phone with verizon and got no where. There was nothing else they could do for me for the mistake they made. So if that is all they can do for causing me and my family to go through this, I do not need or want their service. I can't even explain how upset I was. So first thing Wednesday 11-12-14 I call Neches again because at this point I don't know what else to do, and they told us that they would take care of us and they stated at the beginning of all this that once the money was back in our account they would reverse the over draft fees, so I explained to them what verizon said and the member service rep said I could come in to Neches FCU and file a "unauthorized ACH", (which the member service rep explained to me how it works. If it is approved they go ahead and put the money back in our account and they dispute it with verizon) and that's exactly what I did. I went into the Nall Branch at 2239 Nall Street Port Neches, TX and spoke with a member service rep and filed a "unauthorized ACH", and provided proof of everything we have been talking about and going through. The member service rep was very nice and helpful and wanted to help us in any way she could. The member service rep stated that after I file the unauthorized ACH, someone in a different department reviews it and either approves it or declines it but if it does get approved the money should be returned to me between 2-5 days and after the money is returned to our account, I can call her back and we can take care of the overdraft fees. Which she went over and counted all of them during the course of all this and it totaled up to 13 overdraft fees and each overdraft fee is $30, which in total was $390. So the total verizon cost us was $733. On Thursday 11-13-14 the whole $343 was put back in our account, so I called back to Neches to speak to the same member service rep that I filed the ACH with to discuss the overdraft fees. The member service rep spoke to her supervisor and all they could return back to me was half the overdraft fees they charged me, $180. Why? I don't understand when we were told that they would return the over draft fees since we are clearly not at fault. So the next day I called to speak with the branch manager, and I wished I wouldn't of!!! Everyone else that has helped us has been so very nice and kind, but then I spoke to her. She made it out like they don't normally give back overdraft fees period but when they do it's normally half. Half? I understand they are not at fault as well, but they didn't lose any money off of us either! Neches actually gained $390 extra off of us over something that was not our fault. So why not return the whole $390? This isn't right! Like I said before they didn't lose any money! They already got the money back from the dispute with verizon plus gained more money off me! In the end I still lost money on something that was not my fault, and I explained to her that I understand it isn't Neches fault either but where are they out money? No where! I feel like that is my money that I work hard for and I trust these people who claim to "take care of us" but all the while they are sticking their hands in there and getting some out for themselves. But the way that the branch manager spoke to me was very rude and very unprofessional. I lost all hope that all the money that was taken from me would be returned, but I didn't think it would be my bank that would return the money they clearly gained off me!

Desired Settlement: I want them to return the remaining amount of $210 that they charged us in overdraft fees please.

Business Response:

Neches will issue a refund in the amount of $210.00 to ***** *******.

 

****** ******

Sr. VP of Operations 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10314431, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Thank you. 

Sincerely,

***** *******

3/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel like I was not protected as a member and now I am being treated like a criminal. On Tuesday February 25th I went to neches FCU to cash some checks. I had 15 dollars in my acct and I presented 2 checks totaling 2000 to cash. The teller did not hesitate to cash the checks. I asked the teller if I could cash more and she said yes. I cashed a total of 5984 and now I am being told that the checks are coming back and I am responsible for the money. The teller did not have any problem cashing these checks. I do not have the money because I cashed the checks for a friend. The checks could have been verified before they were cashed and I would not be out the money. I did not keep any of the money that was cashed except 1100 that was instructed by the person I cashed them for to pay a bill.

Desired Settlement: I do. It feel like I am responsible to pay this amount back because I was a victim of fraud and my credit union did not take the steps in protecting me against fraud. The type of checks that were cashed were bill pay checks and could have been verified by the teller or placed on a hold.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/10) */ Mrs. ***** I called and spoke with ***** ******* on Friday March 7, 2014 and she understands that she is responsible for the $5984.00 worth of checks that she cashed that were made payable to her. She told me during our conversation that she was cashing these checks for a guy that she only knew for a year. She told me that she had even talked to someone from the bill pay company that told her that the checks were fraud so Neches is not the only one that has told her about these checks. I explained to her that she needed to report this to the police department so they can open a case on this. I explained to her and she understood that when we get the original checks back that I would be giving her a call so she can come in and take care of the fraudulent checks. So at this point we are waiting for the checks to come back from the Federal Reserve. ****** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never said I would be taking care of the checks. I did not know the checks were fraud when I presented these checks to cash. I don't have the money to pay the balance when these checks are returned. I was not protected by my credit union and this should have never happened. Yes I am going to the police because I am a victim but I do not have the money nor did I keep the money. I only told ****** what was told to me after I had already cashed the checks. The teller should have placed the checks on hold or called to verify that the checks were good. There is no way I am able to pay this amount back to the credit union. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/18) */ ********, This case is at a standstill as of now until we get the return checks in our hand and then we will follow our collection procedures as we would with any other collection item we receive. Thanks ****** ****** Neches FCU Sr. VP of Operations *******@nechesfcu.org (XXX) XXX-XXXX office


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Neches Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart