BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MCT Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MCT Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 03, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Business Management
Thad Angelle, President/CEO Kathy Buescher, Business Development Officer Jill Forse, Vice President Human Resources Karen Frederick, Chief Operating Officer Amanda LeBlanc, Branch Manager - Orange Virginia Reece, Branch Manager - Nederland Christina Sterling, Bridge City Brian Turpen, Financial Advisor
Contact Information
Principal: Thad Angelle, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Karen Frederick, Chief Operating Officer
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans

Alternate Business Names
Mid-County Teachers Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 2736 Nall St

    Port Neches, TX 77651 (409) 727-1446

  • 4837 Highway 87 S

    Orange, TX 77630 (409) 735-8777

  • 524 N Highway 69

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 722-9133

  • 5401 16th St

    Orange, TX 77632 (409) 883-5506

  • 94 N Lhs Dr

    Lumberton, TX 77657

  • PO Box 279

    Port Neches, TX 77651

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 779-9129(Phone)
  • (800) 846-1751(Phone)
  • (409) 722-9185 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lost sale of home due to inadequate/incompetent loan officer at MCT. We had a contract to sell our home to the *******. Their lender was MCT Credit Union on Nall Street, Port Neches. Closing date was April 5, 2013. After that date had passed **** no explanation as to why they did not meet their obligation to close, MCT requested another closing date of 4/26/13 (an additional three weeks) which we granted. After the second closing date had passed, there was not another closing date set but we were told survey had been ordered (which is final step for "set to close" process). Several days later we were told the ******* had backed out due to personal reasons. Our house had been off the market since mid-February due to the contract with the *******. ***********, loan office at MCT was handling paperwork. During the process, my husband had spoken with her and I had spoken with her. In each case, she was to get us an update on why we were not closing and was to call us back. Neither time did she return our calls. Our real estate agent also tried on several occasions to contact her for a status. ****** never answered her calls nor did she return them when our agent left messages. We had movers vacate our house on 4/2, based on the 4/5 closing date. We no longer have use of the house in Nederland as it is empty. We also have incurred additional mortgage payments, taxes, insurance, and utilities that should have ended on 4/5. The person handling their loan, in my opinion, is incompetent/incapable of getting the paperwork processed in a timely manner plus her failure to return phone calls is unacceptable in the capacity she serves. She should not have been allowed to continue handling the contract - it should have been referred to someone else that could meet the deadline set forth by the contract. We have been done an injustice and have lost valuable time for marketing the house due to the breach of contract and inadequacies. My husband and I are both retired and live at the lake. We have been unable to build our dream retirement home, awaiting the sale of the house in Nederland. This has postponed our plans indefinitely.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recoup monies for costs we are having to incur due to the deal not closing on time, or at all. MCT should have to take some type of financial responsibility since they have caused us to incur unnecessary expenses and hardships! We have no idea how long this will continue until the house is - once again - sold. Also, we are now encountering negative reactions from potential clients regarding our house being placed back on the market. People tend to think there are faults with the house since its been off the market so long - when that is simply not true. The real truth is it would have been sold had MCT been capable of processing the loan on time. Since I know MCT will take NO responsibility for this "mess", in all fairness to other clients, the loan officer needs to be removed from her position as she is incapable of processing paperwork in a timely manner. Also, the loan officer provides lousy customer service - she can't even manage something as simple as returning phone calls. I'd rather have her tell me she will not call me back instead of lying to me - which she did to my husband and me!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/30) */ The party making the claim is the seller. Timeline is as follows: February 20, 2013 Date of contract March 4, 2013 Contract received from Realtor/Application made for FHA loan and disclosures sent to borrower March 18, 2013 Disclosures & check for appraisal brought in by borrower - FHA Case # ordered March 20, 2013 Received FHA case number March 22, 2013 Title work received from the title company April 1, 2013 FHA appraisal received April 1-18, 2013 Ongoing requests for additional information and completeness of documentation required for FHA lender underwriting including but not limited to asset verification, employment verification and credit April 10, 2013 Disposition of current home issues, lease agreement on current home executed April 19, 2013 Submitted to underwriting after all correct documentation was accumulated April 22, 2013 Received notice of 10 day underwriting turnaround from FHA lender May 2, 2013 Received underwriting conditions including request for new appraisal on current home May 3, 2013 Received appraisal on current home and sent to underwriter May 7, 2013 Received "Clear to Close" from FHA lender and borrower was notified. Borrower stated that he had an unexpected issue and canceled closing Typical turnaround time for FHA loans is from 45 - 60 days from date of receipt of contract and completed application. The length of time in processing depends on documents required by FHA lender underwriting. This file was complete in approximately 60 days, which is typical for a file of this intensity. Our response to the seller was limited to the extent of requirements under the Privacy Act. We did inform them that the borrowers were kept up to date of the status and they could relay any information as they deemed necessary. The complaint was filed prior to a meeting we had with the sellers. We have since met with them to address their concerns. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Original closing date was 4/5/13 (which is omitted from above timeline). Second closing date was 4/26 (also excluded from timeline). The buyer's current home issues should not have entered into this transaction as we did NOT have a contingency contract. Our agent was told upfront that buyers did not have to sell their current home in order for this purchase to be completed. Obviously those issues delayed our closing date again and again. None of this was conveyed to us until we went to the MCT to voice our concerns after the deal was lost. We should have been told this so we could have made the decision whether or not to continue with the deal or nullify it and get our house back on the market. Also, why was the closing date set at 45 days if MCT knew FHA could take up to 60 days? That was misleading to us - even though they couldn't get the deal closed in 60 days either! In my opinion, MCT bears just as much responsibility in costing us this home sale as the buyers do! We've spent monies that should not have incurred had this happened in a timely manner plus we lost market time on our home due to this fiasco! We are now back where we were prior to this contract offer, which was the end of January. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/06/13) */ In response to Case #XXXXXXXX: The issue of the disposition of a current home is a factor in the underwriting of any home loan. In this case, the borrower was to lease their existing house. The file could not be submitted to underwriting without a lease agreement on the current home. The lease agreement was not executed by the borrowers until April 10th, which was 5 days after the initial closing date in the contract. The closing date set in the contract was determined by the realtors, sellers and buyers. MCT made every effort to meet the initial closing date in the contract. However, due to the borrowers' lack of urgency to cooperate with documentation requirements in a timely manner, the loan process took longer than expected. Even after the contract closing date was extended, required documents were not provided on time. A clear to close was received once all documentation was approved by FHA underwriting; however, the buyers decided to cancel due to extenuating personal issues ********** Vice President Real Estate Lending NMLS #XXXXXX MCT CREDIT UNION