BBB Accredited Business since

FivePoint Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 726-8300 Fax: (409) 962-5067 View Additional Phone Numbers 1300 Highway 69 N, Nederland, TX 77627 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.5pointcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that FivePoint Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for FivePoint Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on FivePoint Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 08/01/1935 Business started locally: 08/01/1935
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration (NCUA)

http://cuonline.ncua.gov/CreditUnionOnline/CU/FindCreditUnions.aspx

Business Management
Erik Shaw, President/CEO Carol Beard, Community Development Coordinator Kristen Bellanger, Sr. Vice President of Operations Mandy Clayton, Director of Financial Education Linda Estes, Administrative Assistant Alaine LaBauve, Assistant VP of Marketing Glynda Manuel, Vice President of Lending Kenneth Miller, Executive Vice President Vicki Oubre, CSR. VP of Human Resources Brenda Richard Jennifer Webb, Senior Vice President of Lending
Contact Information
Principal: Erik Shaw, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Jennifer Webb, Senior Vice President of Lending
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Financial Services Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Alternate Business Names
5Point Credit Union Texaco PAW Employees Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 1300 Highway 69 N

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 726-8300

  • 141 N Lhs Dr

    Lumberton, TX 77657 (409) 751-5119

  • 4005 Dowlen Rd

    Beaumont, TX 77706 (409) 892-5363

  • 4401 Highway 73

    Port Arthur, TX 77642 (409) 962-8793

  • 715 Texas Ave Ste A

    Bridge City, TX 77611 (409) 738-2300

  • PO Box 1366

    Nederland, TX 77627

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought fraud to five point credit unions attention and they refused to help me get my money back because my husbands name wasn't on the account. The account was set up for my 16 year old child. Due to him being a minor and still learning life consequences we felt that we needed to take his card away. So i had mine with my name on it and at my home put away was our childs card. My husband would take it whenever my child needed something and would take him to where he needed to go. As I started to do five points job and investigate the card number had been stolen. I am now trying to contact every number listed on the bank statement. Not to my surprise the numbers were all linked together. Though the card is canceled because five point switched from being visa to discover cards 3 out of 9 numbers I called are depositing the money back. Five point refused to investigate because my husband had the card and said that it was implied consent for someone else to use it. They tried to cast doubt that he had used the card. For obvious fraud charges accumulating over $1300.00. It was easier for them to say implied consent then return our child's hard earned life savings then to investigate was depleted to an internet hacker.

Desired Settlement: I feel like they should help me get his money back. All 1392.29.

Business Response: Due to regulatory requirements, we are only allowed to discuss personal, private information with the account owners.  Therefore, we could not disclose any detailed account information to Ms. ******* husband when he contacted us.  Ms. ******* indicated the card had been taken away where the 16 year old could not access it.  However, the husband was allowed to access the card.  This is considered implied consent.  The Credit Union is under no legal obligation to refund the charges in question.  Allowing anyone to use a card other than the person whose name appears on the card is a violation of their account agreement.  This card was cancelled upon notification and Ms. ***** took the appropriate action by contacting some merchants who promptly agreed to return the funds.  The Credit Union is monitoring the situation and has agreed to reimburse Ms. *****s for any amounts that the merchants refuse to reimburse.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10468125, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
As of right now they have put most (90%) of the money back in the account, but they did state that if they find witch they won't if my child gave permission they would take the money back. We have taken our money to another credit union and as soon as we are cleared we will be closing this account also. 
Sincerely,

******* *****

9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have to pay unnecessary court cost!!!! I had a balance on a credit card I have had for over a year and today a sheriff comes to my home (which by the way is very embarrassing) with a paper saying that I'm being sued by a credit union whom I have been a member for some time now for the amount of $540.02. I understand the credit union wanting the card paid but when I went to the credit union to pay it I find out I have to pay an addititional charge because **** *** the manager of the collection department wanted to send a sheriff to my house. So I had to pay over a $100 dollars more than what ****** Hebert the young lady who signed the citation I received today said was owed over the phobe prior to coming into the credit union. I talked to **** who was very very rude and was not pleased. ****** Hebert was also very rude to me why should I pay court costs? Why was I treated so rudely? I would like to be reimbursed for the additional court costs I paid and an apology from the persons involved in this whole matter I was very embarressed and so was my family. This has never happened and to be treated so bad after coming to pay the amount in full is what hurts I have tried reaching the store manager and got the run around everytime!

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for the court cost that I was told to pay because if I didn't they would send another officer to my house and I would have to pay even more money to settle this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/13) */ The court costs were unavoidable as the credit union sent 5 letters and made numerous phone calls in an attempt to reach Ms. *******. She was 144 days past due. Over the course of a five month period of us trying to make contact, she never once returned a call or reponded to our letters, forcing the credit union to take further action in order to remedy the account thus resulting in court costs. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You were trying to reach me and was unsuccessful and yes the account was 144 days past due but what if i had died or had moved away from that residence you would've still had to eat those court costs now wouldn't you? I also have read nothin in the response from the way I was treated on the phone by rude **** Cox and Ms. Rude ****** Hebert!! I received a notice today saying I still had to show up in court the end of this month because ****** hebert never even bothered to let them know that the issue was even resolved! Yes my account was past due because life happens and it happened to me I lost my job and I am in school and was unable to even come up with a payment at the time so now that you all have made it seem like I was going to get locked up and thrown in jail (which by the way the court let me know that that wasn't the case) I had to borrow and beg from other people and now you don't even want to reimbursement me not for the amount I owed but the unecessary court costs from 5 point trying to scare people into paying them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/17) */ When Ms. ******* spoke to **** he tried to explain to her what the court costs were and why they were incurred, and she hung up on him. She came in to our Nederland office and saw ******* Martinez, an FSR, who in turn called ****** Hebert in collections to speak with her on the phone. Ms. ******* threw the phone down on *******'s desk when ****** tried again to explain to her why there were legal fees incurred. At no time did Ms. ******* ever try to contact the credit union to let us know of her job situation as we would have been more than willing to sit down and look at possible payment solutions that might work for her. Unfortunately, as stated previously, our numersous attempts to contact her were ignored and we were left with no other option but to file suit. At 144 days, we allowed more time than reasonably acceptable for Ms. ******* to cure the delinquent account and therefore are not able to reimburse for the legal costs associated with this account.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on FivePoint Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)