BBB Accredited Business since

EducationFirst Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 898-3770 Fax: (409) 898-7426 View Additional Phone Numbers 6885 Eastex Fwy, Beaumont, TX 77706 http://www.educationfirstfcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that EducationFirst Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for EducationFirst Federal Credit Union include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for EducationFirst Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on EducationFirst Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration (NCUA)

http://cuonline.ncua.gov/CreditUnionOnline/CU/FindCreditUnions.aspx

Business Management
Jimmy Lackey *Retired*, President/Chief Executive Officer Nita Campbell, Branch Manager, Silsbee Dee Dee Leger, VP of Branches Jared Mason, Jasper Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Keith Brenek, President CEO
Principal: Jimmy Lackey *Retired*, President/Chief Executive Officer
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)


Additional Locations

  • 1005 S Margaret Ave

    Kirbyville, TX 75956 (409) 896-8774

  • 1125 S Wheeler St

    Jasper, TX 75951 (409) 896-8766 (409) 896-8763

  • 1380 N Main St

    Vidor, TX 77662 (409) 896-8746

  • 333 Highway 96 S

    Silsbee, TX 77656 (409) 896-8754

  • 3831 Phelan Blvd

    Beaumont, TX 77707 (409) 896-8750

  • 4695 Rolfe Christopher Dr

    Beaumont, TX 77705 (409) 898-3770

  • 520 S Magnolia St

    Woodville, TX 75979 (409) 896-8761

  • 6885 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77706 (409) 781-3201 (409) 896-8503

  • 90 W Monroe St

    Kountze, TX 77625 (409) 896-8760

  • PO Box 26751

    Beaumont, TX 77720

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with this bank for years and I have always had a problem with them keeping track of where exactly my money is going. I have a checking and savings with them but I put just enough to keep them open, because I have my car finance thru them and a credit card. You can't leave money in your account it will disappear, then can't nobody in the bank tell you what just happened. I pay my car note every month. Then one day you go to the bank they tell you you behind a note. You go to the main bank they dig and dig to see when you was late. Then they tell you you was late like three months ago. Then you ask them why know one didn't tell you this the other two months you been coming in paying your note. Three months later this late payment mysteriously appears. Then you keep calling to speak with the person over finance, they never answer their phone and never return your call, after leaving them message after message. I been a member of other banks, but I've never seen one as unprofessional as this one. You have my money in your bank and all I want as a customer is to be treated with respect as such. I can't even get anyone from the financing department to even return my call about my money that I'm spending. Going in the bank and talking to the people at the desk is not working. When I get there, they tell me something different at every bank. I'm tired of dealing with them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with the head personell over the financing department to at least return my call and speak with me about my matter. After all this is my hard earned money that I'm spending. I have a problem EVERYtime I go in the bank to pay my truck note. I been had insurance with ******* ****** for over a year. Yet the bank still charging me insurance and need to know why, by the top man himself.

Business Response:

****** R ***** financed an auto with the credit union in February, 2014. In October of 2014, after several notifications, the credit union added insurance to the loan balance. The monthly payment was increased by 1/12 of the premium  amount. (The insurance would be paid in 12 equal installments and then the loan payment would return to the original amount.) Mr. ***** did provide proof of insurance and was refunded the unused portion of the insurance in October, 2014. The monthly payments from November, 2014 thru November, 2015 were not consistent and as a courtesy to Mr. *****, the credit union approved an extension (due date moved forward by one month) in November, 2015.

Thanks,

***** ******

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inside information being passed out by employees to family and public. Funds being abused. Complaints neglected, wrong people filling in for legitimate titled personnel of no official title. Not performing advertised and written business actions, retaliatory fraudulent hostile lenders tactics to cease: several people there told me If I didn't like treatment to leave, "Go". Ms ***** & Ms ******.

Desired Settlement: Negotiable true advertised written oral services, duties. I want to negotiate with then to get my auto loan and another loan for $700 and get my over draft fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ I completed an investigation to Mr. ******** complaint. I did not find evidence that supported his complaint. Mr. ***** has not maintained loans and accounts are not maintained in a satisfactory manner. We do not extend credit to members who are not in good standing. I will write Mr. ***** to let him know I have investigated his complaint, and found nothing that supported his position. ***** ******, President Education First Federal Credit Union

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had issues with getting someone to be patient and kind with me regarding payments for vehicle. I purchased my vehicle at Education First Federal Credit union, originally I had electronic payments and it was never an issue when I would have a third payroll of the month in other wise if we had three pay periods I would call and ask to credit my card back because I had paid the car note amount for the month. August 2013 I had a situation with a creditor at the bank she was very rude and decided that it should have been taken out every 14 days so, I had to call every pay period because they stop taken the electronic payments out so in turn my credit failed in August,September and October of 2013. I have been paying on my account and when I would go into the Bank once the Teller openly spoken to me in front of other customers that my account had been locked out and I was very upset and couldn't believe she had jut spoken that in front of all of the guest, Then the collectors when I would call asked as if I was inconviencing them and I actually work in Patient Collection in the company I work for and even if they are deliquent I am courteous and I do everything I can to help! I am very dissapointed because I only have 8 payments left before I pay off my car and just recently paid off another account at this same business. So again I called two weeks ago for someone to call me and it didn't happen so I called back because one of the Supervisors said she would call me and go over my account I waited a month and still didn't get a call. I just think it's just poor Customer Service.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a resolve and understanding of why poor and customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/02/21) */ I reviewed Mrs. *****'s complaint. I found we did not respond as stated in the complaint. I called Ms. ***** on February 19, 2014 and listened to her concerns. I followed up with our staff and expressed my concern on the way we handled this account. We corrected Ms. *****'s payment history with the credit bureau for the months of August, September, and October. I promised to monitor account to ensure payments are made properly. ***** ****** President Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/02/25) */ I wanted to let you know this has been resolved. The lady at the bank who was originally very rude called me and apologized. Also the President of the bank said he would follow up on my account and make sure everything in the future is fine. I appreciate the BBB for all your help and the bank for being so courteous and helpful as well.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on EducationFirst Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)